Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected processing bowl and drip stop, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’loughlin (US2022/0202254 A1) in view of Topper et al (US 5,494, 194) and Mathias (US 2017/0202392 A1).
Regarding claim 9, O’loughlin discloses micro-puree machine (abstract) comprising: a base (100); a processing bowl (350).
O’loughlin does not explicitly disclose an extrusion nozzle configured to extrude processed ingredients from the processing bowl, the extrusion nozzle including an inlet arranged to receive the processed ingredient from the processing bowl and an outlet arranged to output the processed ingredients from the extrusion nozzle; and a drip stop, coupled to the extrusion nozzle, configured to close the outlet in a closed position to block extrusion of the processed ingredients and open the outlet in an open position to allow extrusion of the processed ingredients; and a drip tray configured to collect spillage from the extrusion nozzle, the drip tray positioned in an opening in the base, wherein the drip tray is configured to extend to a position underneath the extrusion to collect spillage.
However, same field of endeavor, Topper et al, discloses using an extrusion nozzle (188) configured to extrude processed ingredients from the processing bowl, the extrusion nozzle including an inlet (102) arranged to receive the processed ingredient from the processing bowl and an outlet (214) arranged to output the processed ingredients from the extrusion nozzle;; and a drip tray (31) configured to collect spillage from the extrusion nozzle, the drip tray positioned in an opening in the base, wherein the drip tray is configured to extend to a position underneath the extrusion to collect spillage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an extrusion nozzle configured to extrude processed ingredients from the processing bowl, the extrusion nozzle including an inlet arranged to receive the processed ingredient from the processing bowl and an outlet arranged to output the processed ingredients from the extrusion nozzle; and a drip stop, coupled to the extrusion nozzle, configured to close the outlet in a closed position to block extrusion of the processed ingredients and open the outlet in an open position to allow extrusion of the processed ingredients; and a drip tray configured to collect spillage from the extrusion nozzle, the drip tray positioned in an opening in the base, wherein the drip tray is configured to extend to a position underneath the extrusion to collect spillage, as taught by Topper into the machine taught by O’loughlin for the benefit of ensuring material is adequately dispensed in a cost effective method (column 1 lines 30-35).
Topper does not explicitly disclose drip stop, coupled to the extrusion nozzle, configured to close the outlet in a closed position to block extrusion of the processed ingredients and open the outlet in an open position to allow extrusion of the processed ingredients. However, it is conventionally well known to add drip stops. Analogous beverage art, Mathias, discloses using a drip stop to restrict a flow through the outlet [abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a drip stop, as taught by, Mathias into the machine taught by O’loughlin in order to control the flow of liquids.
Claim(s) 10-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’loughlin (EP4119017A1) in view of Topper et al (US 5,494, 194) and Mathias (US 2017/0202392 A1), as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Fonte (US2023/0016913 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Mathias teaches wherein the drip stop is coupled to the extrusion nozzle the drip stop being configured to pivot between the open and closed positions about an axis of rotation (claim 8, [0011]). Mathias does not explicitly disclose a hinge but it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a hinge since it is conventionally well known to incorporate hinges in order to increase the degree of rotation. Further analogous art, Fonte, discloses using hinges to rotate between an open and closed position [0068]. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 11, Fonte discloses wherein the drip stop coupled to the hinge at a first end [0068].
Regarding claim 12, Fonte teaches wherein the drip stop includes a second end opposing the first end, the drip stop including a finger grip positioned at the second end (evaporator shown in figure 21C [0180]).
Regarding claim 13, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 14, Fonte teaches wherein the hinge is biased to move the drip stop to the open position after the drip stop is rotated a portion of an arc of rotation from the closed position toward the open position [0180].
Regarding claim 15, Fonte teaches wherein the hinge is coupled to a wall of the extrusion nozzle (see figure 21C).
Regarding claim 16, O’loughlin teaches wherein the second end includes at least one magnet configured to activate a magnetic sensor of a micro-puree machine when the processing bowl is coupled to the micro puree machine and the drip stop is in the open position [0122]. Further, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Regarding claim 18, Topper teaches the drip tray is removable from the base for cleaning (column 4 lines 9-11).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’loughlin (EP4119017A1) in view of Topper et al (US 5,494, 194) and Mathias (US 2017/0202392 A1) in view of Fonte (US2023/0016913 A1), as applied to claim 13, and further in view of CN219460890U, herein referred to as ‘890.
Regarding claim 17, Topper et al teaches wherein the drip tray (31) but does not explicitly disclose comprising a grip for horizontally extending the drip tray to be positioned underneath the extrusion nozzle. However, same field of endeavor, coffee machine, teaches using finger grips (94) to remove the trap from the assembly (pg. 8, paragraph 7).
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754