1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
obviousness or nonobviousness.
4. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller US et al. 4,029,165 ion view of Rhoden US 6,308,785. Miller discloses a paving machine (10) comprising:
A width adjustable frame (12), see Figs. 1, 314.
A plurality of propulsive steerable tracks (140) disposed at the corners of the frame.
A platform (28), see Figs. 18, 19 configured to support a power unit (26) and an
operator console (30). Col. 3, ln. 30-Col. 4, ln. 30, Col. 9, ln. 65-Col. 10, ln. 30, Col. 14, ln. 42-Col. 15. ln. 13. Wherein the power unit (26) provides propulsion power to the tracks (14) and to concrete finishing tools, such as a fixed length auger/vibrator/screed assembly (351) configured to spread and compact a paved layer onto a prepared subgrade (290). What Miller does not disclose is a variable width screed assembly. However, Rhoden teaches a width adjustable paving assembly (13) comprising:
Left & right height adjustable, ground engaging skis (38, 40), a 3-point hitch assembly (12), left & right screed plates (24, 28) supported on left & right side plates (32, 33) which are supported by the Left & right skis (38, 40). A slope sensor (72) configured for measuring and controlling a cross slope of the paving assembly. Left & right independently adjustable width frames (14, 16) being configured to adjust the width between skis (38, 40) to control the width and height of the paved surface. See Figs. 1-9; Col. 2, ln. 60-Col. 5, ln. 65. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the width adjustable slipform paver of Miller with a width adjustable screed assembly as taught by Rhoden in order to facilitate variable width paving projects.
With respect to claims 4-6, 11, 17-19 Miller et al. and Rhoden both disclose the use of hydraulic motors and actuators configured to raise/lower widen/narrow and drive the slipform paver and adjustable width paving assembly. See Miller et al. Cols. 4, 6; Rhoden Abstract.
With respect to claims 7, 12, 20 Miller et al. discloses a fixed width, removably mounted paving assembly (351) but do not disclose a width adjustable paving assembly. However, Rhoden teaches it is known to use a 3-point hitch to mount a width adjustable paving assembly (10) to a prime mover such as a farm tractor. Although neither
reference teaches the use of a pintle hitch, Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the slipform paver of Miller et al. with a pintle hitch or other commonly known hitch assembly simply as a matter of design choice.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Sebesta can be reached on 571-272-0547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need help from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RAYMOND W ADDIE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 7/16/2026