DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s amendment filed 6/24/2026.
In the amendment, Applicant amended claims 1, 10, 14, and 19.
Claims 1-20 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 6/24/2026, with respect to the objections to the specification and they are persuasive. Examiner has withdrawn the objections to the specification.
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-14, filed 6/24/2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 but they are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the Tsai reference (previously cited in form PTO-892) for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2020/0084791) in view of Tsai et al (US 2025/0212045).
Regarding claim 1: Lee discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see memory 12 of Figure 9, for example; see also [0114], [0115] and [0123], for example); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (see processor 11 of Figure 9, for example; see also [0114]-[0116] and [0123], for example):
receive first control signaling that indicates a first configuration for a first scheduling request, the first configuration indicating the first scheduling request is to report an availability of retransmission traffic currently available for transmission (disclosed throughout; see [0099], for example, which discloses that the UE receives control signaling (S801 of Figure 8) that indicates a first configuration for a scheduling request (see the “condition to trigger an SR for retransmission (i.e., rSR)”; this configuration requests the UE (when the condition is met) to send a scheduling request (the rSR) that reports the availability of retransmission traffic currently available for transmission (see the “amount of data to be retransmitted” in [0105], for example));
transmit the first scheduling request indicating the availability of retransmission traffic based at least in part on the first configuration (disclosed throughout; see the rSR transmitted in S805 of Figure 8 and [0105] and [0111], for example; as indicated in [0105], the rSR includes the “amount of data to be retransmitted”; as indicated in [0098] and [0105], the rSR is transmitted at least in part based on the first configuration (the condition));
receive a first grant for at least a first portion of the retransmission traffic responsive to the first scheduling request (disclosed throughout; see [0098], for example, which indicates that “In response to the rSR, the network (e.g. BS) allocates an uplink resource for retransmission to the UE, and transmits resource allocation information indicating the uplink resource to the UE”; the resource allocation information is a first grant for at least a first portion of the retransmission traffic and is transmitted in response to the scheduling request (rSR)); and
transmit the first portion of the retransmission traffic based at least in part on the first grant (disclosed throughout; see [0098], for example, which discloses that “in response to the rSR, the UE receives the uplink resource for retransmission of the data from the network, and performs the retransmission of the data by using the uplink resource”; that is, the UE transmits the retransmission traffic (which includes at least a first portion) based on the grant (uplink resource allocation)).
To the extent that Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the retransmission traffic comprises one or more radio link control (RLC) packet data units (PDUs) and that the first scheduling request is transmitted via a first set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention. First, not that Lee discloses in [0094] that transmitted data may comprise one or more RLC PDUs. Further, consider Tsai, for example, which discloses a similar system and method for reliably transmitting uplink data from a UE to a network. Tsai discloses in [0201] that “[t]he UE may transmit uplink control signaling (e.g., uplink control information (UCI) to a base station… [u]plink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR)…[t]he UE may transmit a UCI (e.g., HARQ acknowledgements (HARQ-ACK), CSI report, SR, and the like) via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”. Further, as indicated in [0424], the uplink data may be “one or more PDU[s], one or more PDU sets…[t]he PDU may be a DAP PDU, PDCP PDU, RLC PDU, MAC PDU…”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to explicitly utilize RLC PDUs for transmitting the retransmission traffic and to transmit the scheduling request via a PUCCH as suggested by Tsai. The rationale for doing so would have been to improve the interoperability of the devices in Lee by utilizing international standards such as those described in Tsai in [0049] and [0053], for example.
Regarding claim 14: Lee discloses a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving first control signaling that indicates a first configuration for a first scheduling request, the first configuration indicating the first scheduling request is to report an availability of retransmission traffic currently available for transmission (disclosed throughout; see [0099], for example, which discloses that the UE receives control signaling (S801 of Figure 8) that indicates a first configuration for a scheduling request (see the “condition to trigger an SR for retransmission (i.e., rSR)”; this configuration requests the UE (when the condition is met) to send a scheduling request (the rSR) that reports the availability of retransmission traffic currently available for transmission (see the “amount of data to be retransmitted” in [0105], for example));
transmitting the first scheduling request indicating the availability of retransmission traffic based at least in part on the first configuration (disclosed throughout; see the rSR transmitted in S805 of Figure 8 and [0105] and [0111], for example; as indicated in [0105], the rSR includes the “amount of data to be retransmitted”; as indicated in [0098] and [0105], the rSR is transmitted at least in part based on the first configuration (the condition));
receiving a first grant for at least a first portion of the retransmission traffic responsive to the first scheduling request (disclosed throughout; see [0098], for example, which indicates that “In response to the rSR, the network (e.g. BS) allocates an uplink resource for retransmission to the UE, and transmits resource allocation information indicating the uplink resource to the UE”; the resource allocation information is a first grant for at least a first portion of the retransmission traffic and is transmitted in response to the scheduling request (rSR)); and
transmitting the first portion of the retransmission traffic based at least in part on the first grant (disclosed throughout; see [0098], for example, which discloses that “in response to the rSR, the UE receives the uplink resource for retransmission of the data from the network, and performs the retransmission of the data by using the uplink resource”; that is, the UE transmits the retransmission traffic (which includes at least a first portion) based on the grant (uplink resource allocation)).
To the extent that Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the retransmission traffic comprises one or more radio link control (RLC) packet data units (PDUs) and that the first scheduling request is transmitted via a first set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention. First, not that Lee discloses in [0094] that transmitted data may comprise one or more RLC PDUs. Further, consider Tsai, for example, which discloses a similar system and method for reliably transmitting uplink data from a UE to a network. Tsai discloses in [0201] that “[t]he UE may transmit uplink control signaling (e.g., uplink control information (UCI) to a base station… [u]plink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR)…[t]he UE may transmit a UCI (e.g., HARQ acknowledgements (HARQ-ACK), CSI report, SR, and the like) via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”. Further, as indicated in [0424], the uplink data may be “one or more PDU[s], one or more PDU sets…[t]he PDU may be a DAP PDU, PDCP PDU, RLC PDU, MAC PDU…”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to explicitly utilize RLC PDUs for transmitting the retransmission traffic and to transmit the scheduling request via a PUCCH as suggested by Tsai. The rationale for doing so would have been to improve the interoperability of the devices in Lee by utilizing international standards such as those described in Tsai in [0049] and [0053], for example.
Regarding claim 19: Lee discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to (see memory 12 and processor 11 of Figure 9, for example; see also [0114]-[0116] and [0123], for example):
receive first control signaling that indicates a first configuration for a first scheduling request, the first configuration indicating the first scheduling request is to report an availability of retransmission traffic currently available for transmission (disclosed throughout; see [0099], for example, which discloses that the UE receives control signaling (S801 of Figure 8) that indicates a first configuration for a scheduling request (see the “condition to trigger an SR for retransmission (i.e., rSR)”; this configuration requests the UE (when the condition is met) to send a scheduling request (the rSR) that reports the availability of retransmission traffic currently available for transmission (see the “amount of data to be retransmitted” in [0105], for example));
transmit the first scheduling request indicating the availability of retransmission traffic based at least in part on the first configuration (disclosed throughout; see the rSR transmitted in S805 of Figure 8 and [0105] and [0111], for example; as indicated in [0105], the rSR includes the “amount of data to be retransmitted”; as indicated in [0098] and [0105], the rSR is transmitted at least in part based on the first configuration (the condition));
receive a first grant for at least a first portion of the retransmission traffic responsive to the first scheduling request (disclosed throughout; see [0098], for example, which indicates that “In response to the rSR, the network (e.g. BS) allocates an uplink resource for retransmission to the UE, and transmits resource allocation information indicating the uplink resource to the UE”; the resource allocation information is a first grant for at least a first portion of the retransmission traffic and is transmitted in response to the scheduling request (rSR)); and
transmit the first portion of the retransmission traffic based at least in part on the first grant (disclosed throughout; see [0098], for example, which discloses that “in response to the rSR, the UE receives the uplink resource for retransmission of the data from the network, and performs the retransmission of the data by using the uplink resource”; that is, the UE transmits the retransmission traffic (which includes at least a first portion) based on the grant (uplink resource allocation)).
To the extent that Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations that the retransmission traffic comprises one or more radio link control (RLC) packet data units (PDUs) and that the first scheduling request is transmitted via a first set of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention. First, not that Lee discloses in [0094] that transmitted data may comprise one or more RLC PDUs. Further, consider Tsai, for example, which discloses a similar system and method for reliably transmitting uplink data from a UE to a network. Tsai discloses in [0201] that “[t]he UE may transmit uplink control signaling (e.g., uplink control information (UCI) to a base station… [u]plink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR)…[t]he UE may transmit a UCI (e.g., HARQ acknowledgements (HARQ-ACK), CSI report, SR, and the like) via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)”. Further, as indicated in [0424], the uplink data may be “one or more PDU[s], one or more PDU sets…[t]he PDU may be a DAP PDU, PDCP PDU, RLC PDU, MAC PDU…”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to explicitly utilize RLC PDUs for transmitting the retransmission traffic and to transmit the scheduling request via a PUCCH as suggested by Tsai. The rationale for doing so would have been to improve the interoperability of the devices in Lee by utilizing international standards such as those described in Tsai in [0049] and [0053], for example.
Regarding claims 2, 15, and 20: Lee, modified, discloses the limitation that transmitting the first scheduling request is based at least in part on one or more of a duration that the retransmission traffic has been waiting for retransmission, a quantity of unsuccessful transmissions associated with the retransmission traffic, or a quantity of unsuccessful hybrid automatic repeat feedbacks associated with the retransmission traffic (disclosed throughout; see [0105], for example, which discloses that the rSR includes “an amount of data to be retransmitted”; as indicated in at least [0098], this data is retransmitted when “the UE continuously fails transmission of the data” and thus the retransmission data is associated with unsuccessful transmissions; the amount of data is a “quantity of” these unsuccessful transmissions).
Regarding claim 10: Lee, modified, discloses the limitation that the retransmission traffic is associated with a quantity of unsuccessful transmissions or a delay duration without an acknowledgment feedback or a new data indicator toggle (disclosed throughout; see [0105], for example, which discloses that the rSR includes “an amount of data to be retransmitted”; as indicated in at least [0098], this data is retransmitted when “the UE continuously fails transmission of the data” and thus the retransmission data is associated with unsuccessful transmissions; the amount of data is a “quantity of” these unsuccessful transmissions).
Regarding claim 11: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of receive third control signaling that indicates a retransmission configuration, the retransmission configuration indicating a threshold quantity (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0100]-[0102], the “condition to trigger the rSR” may be one or both of “the UE does not successfully transmit data using the shared radio resource consecutively for a certain period of time” and “the UE does not successfully transmit data using the shared radio resource consecutively for a certain number of times”; the first control signaling is interpreted here as the certain period of time (milliseconds or subframes) and the third control signaling is interpreted here as the certain number (“an integer value”); this integer value is a threshold quantity of unsuccessful transmissions); and transmit at least a portion of the retransmission traffic based at least in part on a quantity of retransmissions associated with the retransmission traffic being greater than the threshold quantity of the retransmission configuration (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0123]-[0124], for example, “if the transmission of the uplink data using the first radio resource is not successful for a certain number of transmissions…perform retransmission of the uplink data using the second radio resource”).
Claims 4, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2020/0084791) in view of Tsai et al (US 2025/0212045) in view of Dev et al (WO 2016/209896).
Regarding claim 4: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1 as indicated above. Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 4 of receive second control signaling that indicates a second configuration for a second scheduling request, the second configuration indicating the second scheduling request is to report a quantity of new traffic available for transmission; transmit the second scheduling request indicating the quantity of new traffic based at least in part on the second configuration; receive a second grant for at least a portion of the new traffic responsive to the second scheduling request; and transmit the portion of the new traffic based at least in part on the second grant. However, Dev discloses a system that includes a first configuration (for preemptive SR/BSR – see [0045], which indicates “the mobile device 140 can be configured to initiate a preemptive scheduling request(SR)/ buffer status report (BSR) procedure. For example, the mobile device 140 can be configured to initiate a SR/BSR (e.g., SR/BSR 460) in response to an unsuccessful HARQ retransmission procedure without receiving a RLC status PDU.”) Further, Dev discloses a system that includes a second configuration (for initial transmission – see [0032], for example, which indicates “The mobile device 140 can also be configured to generate a schedule request and provide the schedule request to the base station 120”). Based on this context and Figure 4, Dev discloses the limitations of receive second control signaling that indicates a second configuration for a second scheduling request, the second configuration indicating the second scheduling request is to report a quantity of new traffic available for transmission (see [0032], [0034], which disclose configuring a UE to transmit a second scheduling request; as indicated in [0032]-[0035], the network schedules resources and transmits a transmission grant based on the scheduling request, which clearly includes the amount of new traffic available for transmission); transmit the second scheduling request indicating the quantity of new traffic based at least in part on the second configuration (see [0032], [0034], and 408 of Figure 4; 408 is the transmitted scheduling request); receive a second grant for at least a portion of the new traffic responsive to the second scheduling request (disclosed throughout; see [0035] and 410 of Figure 4, for example; which disclose the UE receiving a transmission grant 410 that authorizes uplink transmission to the base station); and transmit the portion of the new traffic based at least in part on the second grant (disclosed throughout; see [0035] and 415 of Figure 4, for example, which discloses the uplink transmission data 415 in response to the grant 410).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to utilize a scheduling request and grant procedure for establishing the resources for the initial/new data transmission. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide the UE with additional mechanisms for transmitting the initial data in addition to the shared resources of Lee; this improves the reliability of the transmission in cases where the shared resources are contested by other users.
Regarding claim 12: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 12 that the retransmission traffic comprises a hybrid automatic repeat process identification of an original transmission associated with retransmission traffic. However, Dev discloses the retransmitted traffic transmitted after the preemptive SR/BSR procedure uses a same HARQ process identification (the sequence number/SN is an identifier used as part of the HARQ process). For example, see [0045], which indicates that “The mobile device 140 can be configured to prioritize lost data over other data and retransmit the lost data with the same RLC sequence number (SN) using a new uplink grant”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to utilize the same HARQ identification/sequence number for the retransmission as suggested by Dev. The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure the receiver/base station knows the context of the data received in the retransmission.
Regarding claim 13: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 13 of receive third control signaling that indicates a hybrid automatic repeat process identifier associated with high priority transmission or retransmission traffic; and transmit at least a portion of the retransmission traffic based at least in part on the hybrid automatic repeat process identifier being associated with the portion of the retransmission traffic. However, Dev discloses the retransmitted traffic transmitted after the preemptive SR/BSR procedure uses a same HARQ process identification (the sequence number/SN is an identifier used as part of the HARQ process) and that this identifier prioritizes the lost/to be retransmitted data over other data. For example, see [0045], which indicates that “The mobile device 140 can be configured to prioritize lost data over other data and retransmit the lost data with the same RLC sequence number (SN) using a new uplink grant”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to utilize the same HARQ identification/sequence number for the retransmission as suggested by Dev. The rationale for doing so would have been to minimize the latency for the data that is to be retransmitted by prioritizing the transmission of the remaining/lost data to ensure it is transmitted as soon as possible.
Claims 3, 6-9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2020/0084791) in view of Tsai et al (US 2025/0212045) in view of Kang et al (WO 2020/197218).
Regarding claim 3: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 3 that the first scheduling request is associated with a first logical channel identifier. However, Kang discloses (see at least [102], [104]-[105]) distinguishing initial transmission data and retransmission data by using separate logical channels for each. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to associate the first scheduling request with a first logical channel identifier as suggested by Kang. The rationale for doing so would have been to more efficiently manage transmission resources as suggested by Kang in [102], for example.
Regarding claims 6 and 16: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claims 1 and 14 as indicated above. Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 6 and 16 of receive third control signaling that indicates a third configuration associated with a buffer status report, the third configuration indicating the buffer status report is to comprise one or more of a duration that the retransmission traffic has been waiting for retransmission, a hybrid automatic repeat identifier associated with the retransmission traffic, or a logical channel group associated with the retransmission traffic. However, Kang discloses transmitting a BSR after transmitting an SR and including buffer size information related to retransmission data (see [8], for example – “the BSR received after the SR is received may include an indicator indicating whether data is retransmitted in the sidelink and buffer size information related to data retransmission”. Further, as indicated in [118]-[119] and Figure 7, for example, the BSR for retransmission data may include at least a logical channel group (LCG) associated with the retransmission traffic. For example, see [119], which discloses that the base station may “identify that the sidelink BSR is for retransmission when the LCID value or the LCG value indicates the sidelink BSR for retransmission”. Further, the base station configures this BSR as indicated in at least step 430 of Figure 4, which indicates that the base station schedules resources for the BSR that is then transmitted in step 440. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to include a BSR after the SR for retransmission that includes at least an LCG associated with the retransmission traffic as suggested by Kang. The rationale for doing so would have been to more efficiently manage transmission resources as suggested by Kang in [102], for example.
Regarding claims 7 and 17: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claims 6 and 16 as indicated above. Lee, modified, further discloses the limitations of claims 7 and 17 of transmit the buffer status report, subsequent to transmitting the retransmission traffic based at least in part on the first grant, based at least in part on the third configuration (disclosed throughout; see [8], for example – “the BSR received after the SR is received may include an indicator indicating whether data is retransmitted in the sidelink and buffer size information related to data retransmission”; see also step 430 and 440 of Figure 4, for example); receive a third grant for at least a second portion of the retransmission traffic responsive to the buffer status report (disclosed throughout; see at least step 450 of Figure 4, which discloses an UL grant transmitted in response to the BSR for retransmission traffic); and transmit the second portion of the retransmission traffic based at least in part on the third grant (disclosed throughout; see at least step 460 of Figure 4, where the UE transmits the data after receiving the grant).
Regarding claims 8 and 18: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claims 1 and 14 as indicated above. Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 6 and 16 of receive third control signaling that indicates a third configuration associated with a buffer status report, the third configuration indicating the buffer status report is to report a quantity of retransmission traffic associated with a first logical channel group and a quantity of new traffic associated with a second logical channel group. However, Kang discloses transmitting a BSR after transmitting an SR and including buffer size information related to retransmission data (see [8], for example – “the BSR received after the SR is received may include an indicator indicating whether data is retransmitted in the sidelink and buffer size information related to data retransmission”. Further, as indicated in [118]-[119] and Figure 7, for example, the BSR for retransmission data may include at least a logical channel group (LCG) associated with the retransmission traffic. For example, see [119], which discloses that the base station may “identify that the sidelink BSR is for initial transmission when the LCID value or LCG value …indicates the sidelink BSR” and may “identify that the sidelink BSR is for retransmission when the LCID value or the LCG value indicates the sidelink BSR for retransmission”. Further, the base station configures this BSR as indicated in at least step 430 of Figure 4, which indicates that the base station schedules resources for the BSR that is then transmitted in step 440. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to include a BSR after the SR for retransmission that includes at least an LCG associated with the retransmission traffic and an LCG associated with the initial/new traffic as suggested by Kang. The rationale for doing so would have been to more efficiently manage transmission resources as suggested by Kang in [102], for example.
Regarding claim 9: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 8 as indicated above. Lee, modified, further discloses the limitations of claim 9 of transmit the buffer status report, based at least in part on the third configuration (disclosed throughout; see [8], for example – “the BSR received after the SR is received may include an indicator indicating whether data is retransmitted in the sidelink and buffer size information related to data retransmission”; see also step 430 and 440 of Figure 4, for example); receive a third grant for at least a second portion of the retransmission traffic, a portion of the new traffic, or both based at least in part on the buffer status report (disclosed throughout; see at least step 450 of Figure 4, which discloses an UL grant transmitted in response to the BSR for retransmission traffic); and transmit the second portion of the retransmission traffic, the portion of the new traffic, or both based at least in part on the third grant (disclosed throughout; see at least step 460 of Figure 4, where the UE transmits the data after receiving the grant).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2020/0084791) in view of Tsai et al (US 2025/0212045) in view of Dev et al (WO 2016/209896) in view of Kang et al (WO 2020/197218).
Regarding claim 5: Lee, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above. Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 5 that the first scheduling request is associated with a first logical channel identifier. However, Kang discloses (see at least [102], [104]-[105]) distinguishing initial transmission data and retransmission data by using separate logical channels for each. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee to associate the first scheduling request with a first logical channel identifier as suggested by Kang. The rationale for doing so would have been to more efficiently manage transmission resources as suggested by Kang in [102], for example.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 August 3, 2026