DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s amendment filed 7/21/2026.
In the amendment, Applicant amended claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 11, and 13-20 and cancelled claim 10.
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 7/21/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and they are persuasive. Examiner has withdrawn the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 7/21/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 but they are not persuasive. Applicant generally asserts that the Jiang reference does not disclose the amended claim limitations. As indicated below, Jiang discloses the second of two limitations claimed in the alternative in [0070], which discloses an intended load for the UE (predicted) being used to operate the modem clock at a first or second frequency.
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 17 of claim 19 and line 19 of claim 20, “the apparatus operates” should be changed to “operating”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al (US 2020/0092818).
Regarding claim 1: Jiang discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a modem clock (disclosed throughout; see [0075], for example, which discloses changing a clock frequency and thus requires a clock for the UE, which includes a modem (see elements 354, 356, 358, and 368 of Figure 3, for example)); and
one or more processors, coupled to the modem clock, configured to (disclosed throughout; see controller/processor 359, for example):
receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, an RRC configuration of one or more first parameters (disclosed throughout; see the set of operating modes and CSI process configuration in step 524 of Figure 5; as disclosed throughout, the CSI process configuration may include at least a spectrum efficient mode and a power efficient mode; in one example, the UE is first configured with the spectrum efficient mode; as indicated in [0086]-[0087], the UE may be configured to operate in a spectrum efficient mode – “the base station may not allow the UE to operate in the power efficient mode and the indication from the base station (at 610) may indicate that the UE should operate in the spectrum efficient mode for operation…the indication may be provided to the UE, e.g., semi-statically through RRC signaling”); and
while the apparatus is configured according to the RRC configuration:
operate the modem clock at a first frequency (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0075], for example, the UE may change its clock frequency; clearly, the clock frequency is operating at a first frequency before the change); and
operate the modem clock at a second frequency (disclosed throughout; as indicated in Figure 5 and [0074]-[0075], when a dynamic DCI, for example, indicating that the UE transition to a power efficient mode (from a spectrum efficient mode), the UE first adjusts parameters (see 518 of Figure 5) and then later switches to power efficient mode (see 520 of Figure 5); the adjusted parameters include a clock frequency (changing to a second frequency); thus, the clock is changed to a second frequency when operating according to the semi-static configuration (the spectrum efficient mode) before switching to the dynamically configured power efficient mode), wherein one or more of:
to operate the modem clock at the second frequency comprises, based on a first criteria, to switch operation of the modem clock from the first frequency to the second frequency for a first time period, wherein the first criteria comprises the apparatus being scheduled to receive one or more channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RSs) in one or more CSI-RS resources during the first time period, and wherein the first time period begins at one of: a first slot in time of one or more slots including the one or more CSI-RS resources, or a first slot in time after reception of a downlink control information configuring the one or more CSI-RS resources (claimed in the alternative; the second of the two alternatives is anticipated by Jiang as indicated below); or
the apparatus operates the modem clock at the first frequency or the second frequency based on one or more criteria predicted at the apparatus (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0070], for example, the one or more criteria predicted at the apparatus is, for example, the amount of data intended for the UE, which is a prediction of the load on the UE).
Regarding claim 19: Jiang discloses a method for wireless communications by an apparatus comprising:
receiving, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, an RRC configuration of one or more first parameters (disclosed throughout; see the set of operating modes and CSI process configuration in step 524 of Figure 5; as disclosed throughout, the CSI process configuration may include at least a spectrum efficient mode and a power efficient mode; in one example, the UE is first configured with the spectrum efficient mode; as indicated in [0086]-[0087], the UE may be configured to operate in a spectrum efficient mode – “the base station may not allow the UE to operate in the power efficient mode and the indication from the base station (at 610) may indicate that the UE should operate in the spectrum efficient mode for operation…the indication may be provided to the UE, e.g., semi-statically through RRC signaling”); and
while the apparatus is configured according to the RRC configuration:
operating a modem clock of the apparatus at a first frequency (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0075], for example, the UE may change its clock frequency; clearly, the clock frequency is operating at a first frequency before the change); and
operating the modem clock at a second frequency (disclosed throughout; as indicated in Figure 5 and [0074]-[0075], when a dynamic DCI, for example, indicating that the UE transition to a power efficient mode (from a spectrum efficient mode), the UE first adjusts parameters (see 518 of Figure 5) and then later switches to power efficient mode (see 520 of Figure 5); the adjusted parameters include a clock frequency (changing to a second frequency); thus, the clock is changed to a second frequency when operating according to the semi-static configuration (the spectrum efficient mode) before switching to the dynamically configured power efficient mode), wherein one or more of:
operating the modem clock at the second frequency comprises, based on a first criteria, to switch operation of the modem clock from the first frequency to the second frequency for a first time period, wherein the first criteria comprises the apparatus being scheduled to receive one or more channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RSs) in one or more CSI-RS resources during the first time period, and wherein the first time period begins at one of: a first slot in time of one or more slots including the one or more CSI-RS resources, or a first slot in time after reception of a downlink control information configuring the one or more CSI-RS resources (claimed in the alternative; the second of the two alternatives is anticipated by Jiang as indicated below); or
the apparatus operates the modem clock at the first frequency or the second frequency based on one or more criteria predicted at the apparatus (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0070], for example, the one or more criteria predicted at the apparatus is, for example, the amount of data intended for the UE, which is a prediction of the load on the UE).
Regarding claim 20: Jiang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising (disclosed throughout; see memory 360 and controller/processor 369 of Figure 3 as well as [0047], for example):
receiving, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, an RRC configuration of one or more first parameters (disclosed throughout; see the set of operating modes and CSI process configuration in step 524 of Figure 5; as disclosed throughout, the CSI process configuration may include at least a spectrum efficient mode and a power efficient mode; in one example, the UE is first configured with the spectrum efficient mode; as indicated in [0086]-[0087], the UE may be configured to operate in a spectrum efficient mode – “the base station may not allow the UE to operate in the power efficient mode and the indication from the base station (at 610) may indicate that the UE should operate in the spectrum efficient mode for operation…the indication may be provided to the UE, e.g., semi-statically through RRC signaling”); and
while the apparatus is configured according to the RRC configuration:
operating a modem clock of the apparatus at a first frequency (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0075], for example, the UE may change its clock frequency; clearly, the clock frequency is operating at a first frequency before the change); and
operating the modem clock at a second frequency (disclosed throughout; as indicated in Figure 5 and [0074]-[0075], when a dynamic DCI, for example, indicating that the UE transition to a power efficient mode (from a spectrum efficient mode), the UE first adjusts parameters (see 518 of Figure 5) and then later switches to power efficient mode (see 520 of Figure 5); the adjusted parameters include a clock frequency (changing to a second frequency); thus, the clock is changed to a second frequency when operating according to the semi-static configuration (the spectrum efficient mode) before switching to the dynamically configured power efficient mode), wherein one or more of:
operating the modem clock at the second frequency comprises, based on a first criteria, to switch operation of the modem clock from the first frequency to the second frequency for a first time period, wherein the first criteria comprises the apparatus being scheduled to receive one or more channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RSs) in one or more CSI-RS resources during the first time period, and wherein the first time period begins at one of: a first slot in time of one or more slots including the one or more CSI-RS resources, or a first slot in time after reception of a downlink control information configuring the one or more CSI-RS resources (claimed in the alternative; the second of the two alternatives is anticipated by Jiang as indicated below); or
the apparatus operates the modem clock at the first frequency or the second frequency based on one or more criteria predicted at the apparatus (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0070], for example, the one or more criteria predicted at the apparatus is, for example, the amount of data intended for the UE, which is a prediction of the load on the UE).
Regarding claim 2: Jiang discloses the limitations that the one or more first parameters comprise one or more of: an envelope mode, a number of active component carriers, a subcarrier spacing configuration per carrier (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0037]-[0038], for example, the configuration further includes subcarrier spacing parameters that are semi-statically configured), a control channel configuration per carrier (see [0071], for example, which discloses that the configuration includes a number of blind decoding attempts of the PDCCH the UE can perform), an aggregate bandwidth per carrier (disclosed throughout; see [0071] and [0078], for example which disclose the number of RBs associated with each configuration), a demodulation reference signal configuration per carrier (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0037] and [0040], for example, the configuration further includes DM-RS parameters that are semi-statically configured), or a channel state feedback configuration per carrier (disclosed throughout; see the spectrum efficient CSI and power efficient CSI configured for each mode described in [0078], for example).
Regarding claim 9: Jiang discloses the limitations wherein: to operate the modem clock at the second frequency comprises, based on the first criteria, to switch operation of the modem clock from the first frequency to the second frequency for the first time period (disclosed throughout; see [0072] and [0083], for example; the UE may switch the modem clock frequency from a first frequency to a second frequency to provide “power efficient CSI” to the network).
Regarding claim 12: Jiang discloses the limitation of switch operation of the modem clock from the second frequency to the first frequency based on transmission of a channel state feedback report based on the one or more CSI-RSs (disclosed throughout; see [0072] and [0083], which indicate that the switch of the clock frequency is temporary and after reporting the CSI, the frequency is switched back (“the UE 404 may temporarily adjust one or more parameters to be in power efficient mode, determine the CSI while being in the power efficient mode, and report the determined CSI (referred to as the power efficient CSI) to the base station”).
Regarding claim 13: Jiang discloses the limitations that to operate the modem clock at the first frequency comprises to operate the modem clock at the first frequency for a second time period (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0070], for example, the spectrum efficient and power efficient modes (corresponding to the first and second clock frequencies) are set for an amount of time based on conditions); and the first frequency is based on a predicted configuration of one or more second parameters associated with the second time period, the one or more second parameters being different than the one or more first parameters (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0070], for example, the predicted configuration of one or more parameter associated with the time frame are different from the first parameters; for example, the amount of data intended for the UE is a prediction of the load on the UE).
Regarding claim 14: Jiang discloses the limitations that the one or more processors are configured to predict the predicted configuration of the one or more second parameters based on one or more of: a network load; an uplink buffer status of the apparatus; a time division duplexing configuration of the apparatus; a frequency division duplex configuration of the apparatus; channel conditions between the apparatus and a network entity; or a multi-user multiple-input and multiple-output (MU-MIMO) mode of operation during the second time period (disclosed throughout; see [0070], for example, which indicates that the predicted second parameters include at least network loading).
Regarding claim 15: Jiang discloses the limitations that the one or more second parameters comprise one or more of: whether the second time period is configured for uplink or downlink communications; a rank used for communication during the second time period; a modulation and coding scheme used for communication during the second time period; or a number of resource blocks scheduled for the apparatus for communication during the second time period (disclosed throughout; see at least the maximum rank and MCS disclosed in [0071]).
Regarding claim 16: Jiang discloses the limitations that the one or more processors are configured to send signaling indicating a request for a power level mode; and the first frequency is based on the power level mode (disclosed throughout; see Figure 5 and [0074]-[0075], for example, which disclose that the UE may receive an indication of a power level mode (either a spectrum efficient mode or a power efficient mode from a network entity such as the base station; the clock frequency is adjusted based on the power level mode) in response to sending capability information, which is interpreted as a request for the mode).
Regarding claim 17: Jiang discloses the limitations that the one or more processors are configured to: send a maximum capability for one or more parameters for each of a plurality of power level modes including the power level mode (disclosed throughout; see [0070], for example, which discloses that the UE informs the base station of the UE capability in regard to the various modes/configurations regarding power efficient and spectrum efficient modes).
Regarding claim 18: Jiang discloses the limitations that the signaling further indicates: a second time period to operate according to the power level mode; and a second power level mode to operate according to after the second time period (disclosed throughout; see [0072] and [0083], which indicate that the switch of the clock frequency is temporary (for a period of time) and after reporting the CSI, the frequency is switched back to the first frequency (“the UE 404 may temporarily adjust one or more parameters to be in power efficient mode, determine the CSI while being in the power efficient mode, and report the determined CSI (referred to as the power efficient CSI) to the base station”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-8 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 August 18, 2026