DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on June 8, 2026 have been entered. Applicant amended claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 17-19. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on June 8, 2026 in response to the Final Office Action dated January 7, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, in page 7 of the Remarks, “Johnson does not describing at least: (a) generating a data stream comprising changes to at least one image of a speaker (claims 1 and 9) or an object (claim 17), wherein the generating of the data stream is based at least in part on a stored range of physical movements for the speaker or object; and (b) generating for display, at a client device, a real-time digital twin of the speaker or object based on the data stream and the at least one image of the speaker or object, as required by amended claims 1, 9, and 17.”
In response, Col. 8, lines 18-27, of Johnson discloses generation of location data stream depicting change of facial movement of the speaker. Fig. 8 shows generating replacement frames by animating changes of the image of the speaker based on the location data.
Applicant argues, in page 8 of the Remarks, “Generating replacement frames at a receiving device is not the same as generating a data stream comprising changes to at least one image of a speaker or object and then generating a digital twin of the speaker or object based on the data stream and the at least one image. Specifically, Johnson simply describes recreating received video frames by using the location data to render a speaker's face back onto the frame when the original video data is lost or degraded. Simply recreating received video frames to replace lost or degraded video data is not the same as generating a real-time streaming digital twin based on a data stream comprising changes to at least one image of a speaker or object.”.
In response, , the replacement frame is generated based on image of the frame and location data to render as the animated representation of the speaker. Col. 3, lines 57-63, disclose the replacement image frames are consistent video depiction of the person’s face. Fig. 1 shows the receiving node also can generate consistent video depiction of the person’s face based on the image of the video stream and movement information in the location data stream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “generating for display, at the client device, a real-time streaming digital twin of the speaker based on the data stream and the at least one image of the speaker”, in lines 15-16 of claim 1. This limitation is unclear. The claim recites a client device and a video service node. It does not clarify performance of the steps in terms of the client device and the video service node i.e. which node performs which step. This lack of clarity renders the limitation indefinite and to some extent contradictory. Firstly, it is not clear whether the client device itself generates the real-time steaming twin. If the client device generates the real-time steaming twin, the claim should be amended to clarify that generating the real-time steaming twin by the client device. Secondly, the at least one image of the speaker is not captured by the client device. Therefore, transmission of only the data stream to the client device is not sufficient to enable the client device to generate the real-time streaming digital twin of the speaker based on the data stream and the at least one image of the speaker. Transmission of the at least one image of the speaker to the client device is also necessary. The claim is silent about it. Therefore, ambiguity exists whether the data stream itself contains the at least one image of the speaker. In such case generating, by the client device, a real-time streaming digital twin of the speaker based the data stream and the at least one image of the speaker is indefinite.
Independent claim 9 recites similar limitations.
Dependent claim 2-8 and 10-16 inherit the same deficiency.
Examiner’s Note about the Format of 35 U.S.C. 102/103 Rejections
Generally, limitations of a claim are reproduced identically and followed by examiner’s explanation with citation from prior art in Italic enclosed by a parenthesis, (), for each limitation. In examiner’s explanation, the mapping of the key elements of a limitation to the disclosed elements of prior art is shown by stating the disclosed element immediately followed by the claimed element inside a parenthesis. Specific quotation from prior art is delineated with quotation mark, ““. If primary art fails to teach a limitation or part of the limitation, the limitation or the part of the limitation is placed inside double square brackets, [[]], for better understandability, and appropriate secondary art(s) is/are applied later addressing the deficiency of the primary art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by over Johnson et al. (US Patent No. 11368652), hereinafter, Johnson.
Regarding claim 1:
Johnson teaches:
A method comprising:
capturing at least one image of a speaker in a video stream (Col. 10, lines 22-25, discloses image frames of first video content (video stream) as stated “The process of FIG. 8 is initiated at operation 810, at which played image frames included in first video content (e.g., captured video 172 of FIG. 1) are received over one or more networks.” . Col. 10, lines 37-39, discloses the image frames include a face of the person (speaker) as stated “As described above, the played image frames and the replaced image frame may include a face of a person.”);
determining that a network condition between a client device and a video service node is insufficient when compared to a threshold level (Fig. 4, graph 420, shows monitoring bandwidth (network condition) of the connection as explained in Col. 7, lines 19-46. Col. 10, lines 62-67, and Col. 11, lines 1-22, disclose the bandwidth is insufficient compared to a threshold);
capturing movement data for the speaker based at least in part on the determining that the network condition between the client device and the video service node is insufficient when compared to the threshold level (as shown Fig 4, step 816, the reduction of bandwidth is determined. In response, a replacement image frame is generated as shown in step 818. To generate the replacement image frame, the location data of the speaker is retrieved as stated Col, 11, lines 53-63. Col. 10, lines 1-7, discloses the location data includes the person’s head movement as stated “In some examples, data from a given frame, as well as auxiliary data (e.g., audio data and/or location data) corresponding to a given frame, may be used to make a prediction regarding the contents of future frames. For example, the auxiliary data may be used to make a prediction about a person's head movement and positions and orientations of facial features (e.g., lips, eyes, nose, etc.)”);
storing a range of physical movements for the speaker based on the movement data for the speaker (Col. 10, lines 51-58, discloses storing the facial features of the person in location data stream as stated “For example, as shown in FIG. 1, user node 162 may receive location data 173 over one or more network(s) 150 via location data stream 103. The location data may indicate locations of facial features of the face of the person within the replaced image frame. For example, as shown in FIG. 5, the location data 173 includes a data set 503, which indicates locations of facial features of a face of the person within a corresponding replaced frame (frame 403)”);
generating a data stream comprising changes to the at least one image of the speaker, wherein generating the data stream is based at least in part on the stored range of physical movements for the speaker (Col. 8, lines 18-27, disclose generation of location data stream depicting change of facial movement of the speaker as stated “The locations of a person's facial features in the replacement frame 413 may be determined based on the locations of the person's facial features in the corresponding replaced frame (frame 403), and these locations may be specified in the data set 503. In particular, the data set 503 may indicate locations of designated points on the person's face that were detected in frame 403, and the person's corresponding facial features may then be rendered at these locations in the replacement frame 413.” );
stopping transmission of video data to the client device and beginning transmission of the data stream; and generating for display, at the client device, a real-time streaming digital twin of the speaker based on the data stream and the at least one image of the speaker (Col. 13, lines 39-46, discloses replacement frames are transmitted to be displayed on the user node instead of the video content as stated “For example, in some cases, location data 173 (and optionally captured video 172) may be streamed from the user node 161 to a cloud service (or other service or node). The cloud service could then generate the replacement frames 143 using the techniques described above. The cloud service could then send the replacement frames 143 to the user node 162 to be played at the user node 162.”. As shown above, the replacement frame is generated based on image of the frame and location data to rendered as the animated representation of the speaker).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Johnson further teaches further comprising: analyzing the captured movement data with corresponding audio data received from the speaker, wherein the analysis identifies correlations between the range of physical movements of the speaker and audio characteristics of the speaker, and wherein the generating of the data stream is further based at least in part on audio characteristics of the speaker (Col. 8, lines 52-67, and Col. 9, lines 1-7, disclosing correlating audio data with facial expression of the user ).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as shown above.
Johnson further teaches further comprising: determining a correlation between physical movements of the speaker and audio characteristics associated with speech patterns, wherein each physical movement corresponds to a speech pattern (see at least Col. 11, line 67, and Col. 12, lines 1-9, stating “The frame generator may then determine positions indicated by the portion of the audio content, which may include lip positions associated with the one or more sounds. The facial features may then be rendered at the positions indicated by the portion of the audio content, such as the lip positions associated with the one or more sounds. As also described above, output from a machine learning model may indicate a correlation between the sounds spoken by the person and the lip positions associated with the one or more sounds.”).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Johnson further teaches wherein the generating for display, at the client device, the real-time digital twin of the speaker comprises: providing a real-time streaming digital representation of a head of the speaker, wherein control circuitry generates vectors describing different portions of the at least one image, including at least one of eyes, a mouth, or a nose; and partially modifying the video data such that only a facial region of the speaker within the video stream is replaced (se Fig. 3 showing a person’s frame. Also see Col. 12, lines 47-66).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Johnson further teaches wherein the capturing the at least one image of the speaker in the video stream comprises: storing a video frame from the video stream in which the speaker is depicted (Col. 5, lines 45-51, states “Specifically, as shown in FIG. 2, a frame 200, which is included in captured video 172, is provided to object recognition components 112. The object recognition components 112 perform an object recognition analysis on frame 200 to identify facial features 210 of a person's face that is shown in frame 200.”).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Johnson further teaches wherein the determining that the network condition between the client device and the video service node is insufficient when compared to the threshold level comprises: monitoring available bandwidth for the client device; and determining, based at least in part on the monitoring, that the available bandwidth is below a threshold bandwidth (Fig. 4, graph 420, showing monitoring bandwidth (network condition) of the connection as explained in Col. 7, lines 19-46. Col. 10, lines 62-67, and Col. 11, lines 1-22, discloses the bandwidth is insufficient compared to a threshold ).
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 is directed towards a system performing method of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 10 is directed towards a system performing method of claim 2. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 11 is directed towards a system performing method of claim 3. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 is directed towards a system performing method of claim 4. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 13 is directed towards a system performing method of claim 5. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is directed towards a system performing method of claim 6. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17:
Johnson teaches:
A method comprising:
capturing at least one image of an object in a video (Col. 10, lines 22-25, discloses image frames of first video content (video) as stated “The process of FIG. 8 is initiated at operation 810, at which played image frames included in first video content (e.g., captured video 172 of FIG. 1) are received over one or more networks.” . Col. 10, lines 37-39, discloses the image frames include a face of the person (object) as stated “As described above, the played image frames and the replaced image frame may include a face of a person.”);
accessing a network condition; comparing the accessed network condition to a set threshold (Fig. 4, graph 420, shows monitoring bandwidth (network condition) of the connection as explained in Col. 7, lines 19-46. Col. 10, lines 62-67, and Col. 11, lines 1-22, disclose the bandwidth is insufficient compared to a threshold;
collecting movement data based at least in part on the accessed network condition being below the set threshold (as shown Fig 4, step 816, the reduction of bandwidth is determined. In response, a replacement image frame is generated as shown in step 818. To generate the replacement image frame, the location data of the speaker is retrieved as stated Col, 11, lines 53-63. Col. 10, lines 1-7, discloses the location data includes the person’s head movement as stated “In some examples, data from a given frame, as well as auxiliary data (e.g., audio data and/or location data) corresponding to a given frame, may be used to make a prediction regarding the contents of future frames. For example, the auxiliary data may be used to make a prediction about a person's head movement and positions and orientations of facial features (e.g., lips, eyes, nose, etc.)”);
storing a range of movements of the object based on the movement data (Col. 10, lines 51-58, discloses storing the facial features of the person in location data stream as stated “For example, as shown in FIG. 1, user node 162 may receive location data 173 over one or more network(s) 150 via location data stream 103. The location data may indicate locations of facial features of the face of the person within the replaced image frame. For example, as shown in FIG. 5, the location data 173 includes a data set 503, which indicates locations of facial features of a face of the person within a corresponding replaced frame (frame 403)”);
generating a data stream comprising changes to the at least one images of the object wherein the generating of the data stream is based at least in part on the stored range of movements of the object (Col. 8, lines 18-27, disclose generation of location data stream depicting change of facial movement of the speaker as stated “The locations of a person's facial features in the replacement frame 413 may be determined based on the locations of the person's facial features in the corresponding replaced frame (frame 403), and these locations may be specified in the data set 503. In particular, the data set 503 may indicate locations of designated points on the person's face that were detected in frame 403, and the person's corresponding facial features may then be rendered at these locations in the replacement frame 413.” );
switching from video stream transmission to data stream transmission; and generating for display a real-time streaming digital twin of the object based on the data stream and the at least one image of the object (Col. 13, lines 39-46, discloses replacement frames are transmitted to be displayed on the user node instead of the video content as stated “For example, in some cases, location data 173 (and optionally captured video 172) may be streamed from the user node 161 to a cloud service (or other service or node). The cloud service could then generate the replacement frames 143 using the techniques described above. The cloud service could then send the replacement frames 143 to the user node 162 to be played at the user node 162.”. As shown above, the replacement frame is generated based on image of the frame and location data to rendered as the animated representation of the speaker).
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Johnson further teaches wherein the generated data stream comprises a video stream of the real-time streaming digital twin, and wherein the real-time streaming digital twin comprises a life-like recreation of the speaker (Col. 3, lines 57-63, disclose the replacement image frames are generated based on the facial location data and consistent video depiction of the person’s face as stated “Thus, by generating the replacement frames based on auxiliary data, such as the location data and/or audio data described above, the techniques described herein may allow high quality video depictions of a person's face to be consistently displayed to users, even during periods of reduced bandwidth and while videoconferencing with large quantities of other participants.).
As to claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated. Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as shown above.
Johnson further teaches wherein the real-time streaming digital twin appears to move in real-time (Col. 3, lines 57-63, discloses the person’s face video depiction is rendered based on the real time facial location and audio data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Lohmar et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190173935), hereinafter, Lohmar.
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Johnson does not teach wherein the determining that the network condition between the client device and the video service node is insufficient when compared to the threshold level comprises: determining that a video buffer depth is below a threshold buffer depth.
Lohmar teach wherein the determining that the network condition between the client device and the video service node is insufficient when compared to the threshold level comprises: determining that a video buffer depth is below a threshold buffer depth (paragraph 0058 discloses switching to low quality encoding when the buffer size falls below a threshold ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson to incorporate the teaching of Lohmar about switching to low quality encoding when the buffer size falls below a threshold. One would be motivated to do that to maintain satisfactory live streaming QoS parameters (see paragraph 0058 of Lohmar).
Claim 15 is directed towards a system performing method of claim 7. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Liu et al. (US PGPUB No. 20200274641), hereinafter, Liu.
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Johnson does not teach wherein the determining that the network condition between the client device and the video service node is insufficient when compared to the threshold level comprises: monitoring latency of the video stream; and determining, based on the monitoring, that the latency exceeds a threshold latency.
Liu teaches wherein the determining that the network condition between the client device and the video service node is insufficient when compared to the threshold level comprises: monitoring latency of the video stream; and determining, based on the monitoring, that the latency exceeds a threshold latency (paragraph 0019 discloses switching to low quality video when the latency exceeds a threshold. Also see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnson to incorporate the teaching of Liu about switching to low quality video when the latency exceeds a threshold. One would be motivated to do that to prevent QoE degradation in delay-sensitive network-based communication (see paragraphs 0001 and 0020 of Liu).
Claim 16 is directed towards a system performing method of claim 8. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
June 26, 2026
/KAMAL M HOSSAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444