DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 32, 35, 37 and 39, 42, 48, 51, 52, 54, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al, (US 20220287142 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “A method for wireless communication, the method comprising: sending, with a first user device, a first message to a wireless access node, the first message comprising a second identification of a second user device;” as “A UE 115 may forward the UE's sidelink assistance information (e.g., from another UE 115) to a base station 105. The other UE 115 may be a UE 115 with which the UE 115 may establish PC5 connection and communicate on a PC5 link. A UE 115 may trigger a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration with UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message sent to base station 105-a.” [¶0130]. (The first UE sends a message to the base station containing information regarding another UE with which it will communicate.)
“receiving, with the first user device, a configuration of an aggregation link;” as “Base station 105-a may transmit control signaling, such as RRC message, a downlink control information (DCI) signal or a MAC-CE indication, or the like to UE 115-a, UE 115-b, or combination of any, if within a coverage area for base station 105-a. The control message or signaling may include a configuration, such as a timer configuration 215, which may include an indication of one or more parameters for the directional sidelink DRX cycle 220 at each UE 115. [¶0129]. (The first UE receives from the wireless access node a configuration ruling the UE-to-UE sidelink link.)
“starting, with the first user device, a timer in response to receiving the configuration of the aggregation link;” as “At 605, base station 105-b may transmit a configuration message to UE 115-c and UE 115-d that indicates a configuration for one or more timers. At 615 and 620, UE 115-c and UE 115-d may activate the first timer from the timer configuration, respectively. For example, UE 115-e may activate the active timer or the first timer after transmitting the sidelink control message or sidelink measurement signal. UE 115-f may activate the active timer or the first timer after receiving the sidelink control message or sidelink measurement signal. [¶0172, 0174, 0188] (The timer is started based on the node provided timer configuration for the UE-to-UE link)”.
“establishing, with the first user device, the aggregation link with the second user device according to the configuration;” as “In some cases, a PC5-RRC procedure may be designed per direction. The sidelink message may include RRC signaling, such as a PC5-RRC message or PC5 message 510. In some other cases, the sidelink control message may be a PC5 control message and the second timer may be an RRC timer or a PC5 sidelink timer. In some examples, the sidelink control message may be a direct communication request, a direct communication accept, a link identifier update request, a link identifier update response, a link identifier update feedback message, a disconnect request, a disconnect response, a link modification request, a link modification accept, a feedback message, a keep-alive message, an RRC configuration message, or a combination thereof.” [¶0127, 0163, 0183]. (Shows establishment of the signaling for the configured UE to UE PC5 link)
“and exchanging, with the first user device, data with the second user device over the aggregation link.” as “): UE 115-a my transmit control signaling or data to UE 115-b via sidelink communication link 210-a and UE 115-b may transmit control signaling or data to UE 115-a via sidelink communication link 210-b. [¶0124]. (UE to UE data transfer over the established sidelink/unicast link)
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 32. Accordingly, claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 35, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “(Currently amended) The method of claim [[34]]32, further comprising: in response to establishing the aggregation link, stopping, with the first user device, the timer.” as “Once the UE receives a sidelink response, which may be a feedback message 515 for the PC5 message 510 from the other UE (e.g., UE2), the UE may deactivate the active timer (e.g., PC5Res Timer) to end the reception (e.g., RX mode 540-a). UE 115-c may deactivate the second timer after receiving the sidelink response. UE 115-e may deactivate the active timer or the second timer after receiving the sidelink response.” [¶0166, 0180, 0193]. (Li teaches that after successful UE to UE sidelink link communication /response, the first UE stops or deactivates the timer.)
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 32. Accordingly, claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 35. Accordingly, claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 37, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “(Currently amended) The method of claim [[34]] 32, wherein the configuration comprises an expiration value for the timer.” as “The control message or signaling may include a configuration, such as a timer configuration 215, which may include an indication of one or more parameters for the directional sidelink DRX cycle 220 at each UE 115. In some examples, the timer may be configured based on different quality of service (QoS) parameters such as latency or packet delay budget, reliability, or priority. For example, the timer duration may be configured based on the latency requirement for a measurement report or response message. At 605, base station 105-b may transmit a configuration message to UE 115-c and UE 115-d that indicates a configuration for one or more timers.” [¶0129, 0136, 0172] (The transmitted timer configuration includes timer parameters, including timer duration/expiration value.)
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 37. Accordingly, claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 39, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “(Previously presented) The method of claim 32, further comprising: receiving, with the first user device, a second message comprising release configuration information from the wireless access node, the release configuration information comprising information that indicates to the first user device to release the aggregation link.” as “For example, base station 105-a may transmit control signaling, such as RRC message, a downlink control information (DCI) signal or a MAC-CE indication, or the like to UE 115-a, UE 115-b, or combination of any, if within a coverage area for base station 105-a. In some cases, a PC5-RRC procedure may be designed per direction. For example, UE 115-a may send a PC5-RRC configuration signaling from UE 115-a for UE 115-a to UE 115-b direction and PC5-RRC configuration signaling from UE 115-b is for UE 115-b to UE 115-a direction for transmitting at UE 115-b or receiving mode at UE 115-a. In some examples the sidelink control message includes a direct communication request, a direct communication accept, a link identifier update request, a link identifier update response, a link identifier update feedback message, a disconnect request, a disconnect response, a link modification request, a link modification accept, a feedback message, a keep-alive message, a radio resource control configuration message, or a combination thereof.” [¶0129, 0127, 0017]. (Li teaches that the wireless access node control/configuration signaling to the UE for the sidelink operation, including signaling associated with disconnect/ release type link control.)
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 39. Accordingly, claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 42, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “A method for wireless communication, the method comprising: receiving, with a wireless access node, a first message from a first user device, the first message comprising a second identification of a second user device;” as “A UE 115 may forward the UE's sidelink assistance information (e.g., from another UE 115) to a base station 105. a UE 115 may send UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message to a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration for another UE 115 with the sidelink assistance information from the other UE 115.” [¶0130] (The wireless access node receives from the first UE a message carrying information about another UE for configuring communication between them).
“and transmitting, with the wireless access node, a configuration of an aggregation link according to which the first user device is to establish with the second user device,” as “Base station 105- a may configure a pair of source and destination UEs 115 with directional sidelink DRX cycles 220 that may be either transmission centric or reception centric. At 605, base station 105-b may transmit a configuration message to UE 115-c and UE 115-d that indicates a configuration for one or more timers. At 705, base station 105-c may transmit a configuration message to UE 115-e and UE 115-f that indicates a configuration for one or more timers.” [¶0129, 0172, 0186]. (The wireless access node sends the configuration that control the UE-to-UE sidelink link to be established/used between the first and second UEs.)
“wherein the configuration comprises an expiration value for a timer” as “The timer configuration may indicate a first timer and a second timer, the first timer for switching communication direction on sidelink and the second timer for extending an active duration of a discontinuous cycle for sidelink communications for UE 115-c and UE 115-d. In some other aspects as illustrated in FIGS. 3A-5B, a first timer may be activated for switching communication direction and a second timer for extending an active duration for transmitting or receiving the response signal or message for UE 115-e and UE 115-f respectively after the switching.” [¶0172, 0186]. (The node transmits timer configuration and provided timer duration/expiration value.)
“that the first user device is to start upon receiving the configuration.” as “At 605, base station 105-b may transmit a configuration message to UE 115-c and UE 115-d that indicates a configuration for one or more timers. At 615 and 620, UE 115-c and UE 115-d may activate the first timer from the timer configuration, respectively.” [¶0172, 0174]. (The first UE starts/uses the timer based on the configuration delivered by the node).
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 42. Accordingly, claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 48, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “A wireless communications apparatus comprising: a memory storing a plurality of instructions; And a processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions,” as “The device 805 may include a receiver 810, a transmitter 815, and a communications manager 820. The device 805 may also include a processor. In some examples, a processor and memory coupled with the processor may be configured to perform one or more of the functions described herein (e.g., by executing, by the processor, instructions stored in the memory). The device 1105 may include a memory 1130, code 1135, and a processor 1140. The memory 1130 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1135 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1140, cause the device 1105 to perform various functions described herein.” [¶0197, 0201, 0232, 0235]. (Shows apparatus with memory, processor, and executable instructions.)
“wherein upon execution of the plurality of instructions, the processor is configured to cause the wireless communications apparatus to: send a first message to a wireless access node, the first message comprising a second identification of a second user device;” as “A UE 115 may forward the UE's sidelink assistance information (e.g., from another UE 115) to a base station 105. A UE 115 may trigger a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration with UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message sent to base station 105-a.” [¶0130]. (UE send a message to the node containing information regarding the second UE.)
“receive a configuration of an aggregation link;” as “The communications manager 820 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving a configuration message that indicates a directional discontinuous cycle configuration or a configuration for a first timer and a second timer for the first UE, the first timer for switching communication direction on sidelink and the second timer for extending an active duration of a discontinuous cycle for sidelink communications for the first UE. The configuration receiver 925 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving a configuration message that indicates a directional discontinuous cycle configuration or a configuration for a first timer and a second timer for the first UE, the first timer for switching communication direction on sidelink and the second timer for extending an active duration of a discontinuous cycle for sidelink communications for the first UE. The communications manager 1120 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving a configuration message that indicates a directional discontinuous cycle configuration or a configuration for a first timer and a second timer for the first UE.” [¶0204, 0211, 0237]. (The apparatus expressly receives the node-provided configuration controlling the UE-to-UE sidelink communication.)
“start a timer in response to receipt of the configuration of the aggregation link;” as “The communications manager 820 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for activating the first timer after transmitting the sidelink control message or sidelink measurement signal based on the configuration. The timer component 935 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for activating the first timer after transmitting the sidelink control message or sidelink measurement signal based on the configuration. The communications manager 1120 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for activating the first timer after transmitting the sidelink control message or sidelink measurement signal based on the configuration.” [¶0204, 0211, 0237]. (Starts/activates the timer according to the received configuration for the link.)
“establish the aggregation link with the second user device according to the configuration;” as “In some examples, the sidelink message may include RRC signaling, such as a PC5-RRC message or PC5 message 510. In some examples, the sidelink control message may be a direct communication request, a direct communication accept, a link identifier update request, a link identifier update response, a link identifier update feedback message, a disconnect request, a disconnect response, a link modification request, a link modification accept, a feedback message, a keep-alive message, an RRC configuration message, or a combination thereof.” [¶0163, 0183]. (The apparatus performs UE to UE link establishment using the configured PC5/direct communication signaling.)
“and exchange data with the second user device over the aggregation link.” as “UE 115-a my transmit control signaling or data to UE 115-b via sidelink communication link 210-a and UE 115-b may transmit control signaling or data to UE 115-a via sidelink communication link 210-b.” [¶0124]. (The apparatus exchange data with the second UE over the established sidelink/unicast link.)
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 48. Accordingly, claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 51, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “(Currently amended) The wireless communications apparatus of claim [[50]] 48, wherein the configuration comprises an expiration value for the timer.” as “The control message or signaling may include a configuration, such as a timer configuration 215, which may include an indication of one or more parameters for the directional sidelink DRX cycle 220 at each UE 115. In some examples, the timer may be configured based on different quality of service (QoS) parameters such as latency or packet delay budget, reliability, or priority. For example, the timer duration may be configured based on the latency requirement for a measurement report or response message. At 605, base station 105-b may transmit a configuration message to UE 115-c and UE 115-d that indicates a configuration for one or more timers.” [¶0129, 0136, 0172]. (The transmitted timer configuration includes timer parameters, including timer duration/expiration value.)
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 51. Accordingly, claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 52, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “(New) The method of claim 32, wherein the aggregation link is established in response to the configuration comprising the second identification of the second user device.” as “In some examples, a UE 115 may trigger a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration with UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message sent to base station 105-a. In some examples, a UE 115 may send UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message to a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration for another UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 with which the UE 115 may establish PC5 connection and communicate on PC5 link) with the sidelink assistance information from the other UE 115. if UE 115-a enters a RX mode, UE 115-b may enter a TX mode such that the on duration 225 of each cycle may align for directional communications on a sidelink communication link 210, which may be a unicast link. UE 115-a may transmit the sidelink signal or message 240 to UE 115-b via sidelink communication link 210-a. UE 115-b may receive the sidelink message 240 from UE 115-a during on duration 225-b and may activate the timer at time 255. [¶0130, 0129, 0133]. (The first UE sends information about the second UE to the base station and the resulting configuration is then used for establishing/operating the sidelink link with that identified second UE.)
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 52. Accordingly, claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 54, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “(New) The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: in response to establishing the aggregation link, stop the timer.” as “In some other examples, UE 115-a and UE 115-b may deactivate the timer for the extended active duration 225-a and active duration 225-b based on receiving or transmitting the sidelink response 260 respectively for the sidelink message 240. Once the UE receives the sidelink response, which may be a measurement report 315 from the other UE (e.g., UE2), the UE may deactivate the active timer (e.g., MeasRep Timer) to end the reception (e.g., RX mode 340-a). Once the UE receives a sidelink response, which may be a feedback message 515 for the PC5 message 510 from the other UE (e.g., UE2), the UE may deactivate the active timer (e.g., PC5Res Timer) to end the reception (e.g., RX mode 540-a). [¶0134, 0143, 0166]. (The timer is deactivated upon the successful receipt of the final signaling message (response/feedback) from the second device, it is deactivating the timer in response to the link being established.)
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 54. Accordingly, claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Regarding claim 57, Li et al (US 20220287142 A1) discloses “(New) The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the aggregation link is established in response to the configuration comprising the second identification of the second user device.” as “In some examples, a UE 115 may trigger a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration with UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message sent to base station 105-a. In some examples, a UE 115 may send UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message to a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration for another UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 with which the UE 115 may establish PC5 connection and communicate on PC5 link) with the sidelink assistance information from the other UE 115. That is, if UE 115-a enters a RX mode, UE 115-b may enter a TX mode such that the on duration 225 of each cycle may align for directional communications on a sidelink communication link 210, which may be a unicast link. The communications manager 820 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving a configuration message and transmitting, within the active duration of the discontinuous cycle, a sidelink control message or sidelink measurement signal to a second UE. [¶0130, 0129, 0204]. (The apparatus sends information about another UE to the base station, receives a resulting configuration, and then establish/uses the sidelink link with that second UE based on the configuration.)
As set forth above, Li discloses each and every limitation of claim 57. Accordingly, claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being anticipated by Li.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI [US 20220287142 A1] in view of OZTURK et al. [US 20220039186 A1].
Claim 38 is rejected over LI and OZTURK.
Li does not explicitly teach (Previously presented) The method of claim 32, wherein the first message further comprises a cell index of the second user device comprising a global cell identity.
However, OZTURK teaches “(Previously presented) The method of claim 32, wherein the first message further comprises a cell index of the second user device comprising a global cell identity.” as “The size may be reduced and security may be improved by using a short identifier (or index) which is only shared between the UE and the MN. Reporting a short identifier (or index), the correspondence between the actual identifiers for the secondary node cells and their indices for reporting can be configured for the UE by the master node, e.g., in the RRC Release message or prior to the release message. The UE receives, from a master node, a configuration comprising a mapping of cell identities for a plurality of secondary cells for reporting SN measurements. The mapping may map each cell identity to a corresponding index. The cell identity may include Cell Global Identity (CGI).” [¶0008, 0071, 0106, 0076]. (Ozturk teaches a UE transmitting message including an index mapped to cell identity, where the cell identity may comprise a global cell identity (CGI) corresponding to a cell index of a device.)
Li and Ozturk are analogous arts because they both teach wireless communication systems involving UE reporting and signaling with network nodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and OZTURK before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of OZTURK so that the first message sent by the first user device further includes a cell index corresponding to the second user device, where the cell identity comprises a global cell identity, with the motivation of reducing message size and improving security. [Ozturk, [¶0008].
Claim 46 is rejected over LI and OZTURK.
Li does not explicitly teach (Previously presented) The method of claim 42, wherein the first message further comprises a cell index of the second user device comprising a global cell identity.
However, OZTURK teaches “(Previously presented) The method of claim 42, wherein the first message further comprises a cell index of the second user device comprising a global cell identity.” as “The size may be reduced and security may be improved by using a short identifier (or index) which is only shared between the UE and the MN. Reporting a short identifier (or index), the correspondence between the actual identifiers for the secondary node cells and their indices for reporting can be configured for the UE by the master node, e.g., in the RRC Release message or prior to the release message. The UE receives, from a master node, a configuration comprising a mapping of cell identities for a plurality of secondary cells for reporting SN measurements. The mapping may map each cell identity to a corresponding index. The cell identity may include Cell Global Identity (CGI).” [¶0008, 0071, 0106, 0076]. (Ozturk teaches a UE transmitting message including an index mapped to cell identity, where the cell identity may comprise a global cell identity (CGI) corresponding to a cell index of a device.)
Li and Ozturk are analogous arts because they both teach wireless communication systems involving UE reporting and signaling with network nodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and OZTURK before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of OZTURK so that the first message received at the wireless access node from the first user device further includes a cell index corresponding to the second user device, where the cell identity comprises a global cell identity, with the motivation of reducing message and improving security.[Ozturk, [¶0008].
Claim(s) 40-41, 53 and 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI [US 20220287142 A1] in view of MA et al. [US 20190141771 A1].
Claim 40 is rejected over LI and MA.
Li does not explicitly teach (Currently amended) The method of claim 32, further comprising: determining, with the first user device, a radio link failure, and sending, with the first user device to the second user device, an indication used to notify the wireless access node that the first user device experienced the radio link failure.
However, MA teaches “(Currently amended) The method of claim 32, further comprising: determining, with the first user device, a radio link failure, and sending, with the first user device to the second user device, an indication used to notify the wireless access node that the first user device experienced the radio link failure.” as “The remote terminal device and the relay terminal device may be connected by using a terminal-to-terminal direct link. The terminal-to-terminal direct link is a D2D link. The relay terminal device is directly connected to the base station. when the D2D link between the remote terminal device and the relay terminal device fails, the failure may be found and reported by the relay terminal device to the base station. The relay terminal device sends a fourth indication message to the remote terminal device, then the remote terminal device sends, to the base station, a third indication message.” [¶127-0131, 0136-0138]. (First UE detects RLF and sends an indication via another UE to notify the network.)
LI and ma are analogous arts because they both teach wireless communication systems involving user devices, sidelink communication, and signaling associated with link conditions and network communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and MA before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of MA so that the first user device determines a radio link failure and sends an indication for notifying the wireless access node, with the motivation of improving failure reporting and recovery. [MA, ¶0127-0131].
Claim 41 is rejected over LI and MA.
Li does not explicitly teach (Previously presented) The method of claim 32, further comprising: receiving, with the first user device from the second user device, an indication that the second user device experienced a radio link failure.
However, MA teaches “(Previously presented) The method of claim 32, further comprising: receiving, with the first user device from the second user device, an indication that the second user device experienced a radio link failure.” as “The remote terminal device and the relay terminal device may be connected by using a terminal-to-terminal direct link. The relay terminal device is directly connected to the base station. Alternatively, when the relay terminal device detects that a downlink between the relay terminal device and the base station fails, the relay terminal device sends a fourth indication message to the remote terminal device. The relay terminal device sends, over the D2D link, the fourth indication message to the remote terminal device. The fourth indication message is used to indicate that the downlink between the relay terminal device and the base station fails.” [¶0127-0131, 0136-0138]. (First UE receives from the second UE an indication of the second UE’s RLF)
LI and MA are analogous arts because they both teach wireless communication systems involving sidelink communication between user devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and MA before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of MA so that the first user device receives from the second user device an indication that the second user device experienced a radio link failure, with the motivation of improving coordination and timely failure awareness. [MA, ¶0136].
Claim 53 is rejected over LI and MA.
Li does not explicitly teach (New) The method of claim 42, further comprising: receiving, with the wireless access node from the second user device, an indication that notifies the wireless access node that the first user device experienced a radio link failure.
However, MA teaches “(New) The method of claim 42, further comprising: receiving, with the wireless access node from the second user device, an indication that notifies the wireless access node that the first user device experienced a radio link failure.” as “The remote terminal device and the relay terminal device may be connected by using a terminal-to-terminal direct link. The relay terminal device is directly connected to the base station. When the relay terminal device detects that the D2D link between the relay terminal device and the remote terminal device fails, the relay terminal device sends a second indication message to the base station. The second indication message is used to indicate that the D2D link between the relay terminal device and the remote terminal device fails. The first RRC reestablishment request message carries at least the identifier (namely, the remote terminal device ID) of the remote terminal device that establishes a D2D connection to the relay terminal device.” [¶0127, 0141-0142, 0144]. (Access node receive from the second UE an indication of the first UE’s RLF.)
LI and MA are analogous arts because they both teach wireless communication systems involving UE signaling with network core.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and MA before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of MA so that the wireless access node receives from the second user device an indication of radio link failure of the first user device, with the motivation of improving network awareness of failure. [MA, ¶0142].
Claim 56 is rejected over LI and MA.
Li does not explicitly teach (New) The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: determine a radio link failure; and send, to the second user device, an indication used to notify the wireless access node that the wireless communications apparatus experienced the radio link failure.
However, MA teaches “(New) The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: determine a radio link failure; and send, to the second user device, an indication used to notify the wireless access node that the wireless communications apparatus experienced the radio link failure.” as “A first case is that a D2D link between the remote terminal device and relay terminal device fails. when the relay terminal device detects that a downlink between the relay terminal device and the base station fails, the relay terminal device sends a fourth indication message to the remote terminal device. After receiving the fourth indication message sent by the relay terminal device sends a third indication message to the base station.” [¶0131, 0136, 0138]. (Device detects RLF and sends an indication to another UE to notify the network.)
LI and MA are analogous arts because they both teach wireless communication systems involving UE signaling and link failure handling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and MA before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of MA so that the device determines a radio link failure and sends an indication to another device for notifying the wireless access node, with the motivation of improving reliability and recovery. [MA, ¶0138].
Claim(s) 44 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI [US 20220287142 A1] in view of CHEN et al. [US 20210368372 A1].
Claim 44 is rejected over LI and CHEN.
Li does not explicitly teach (Currently amended) The method of claim 42, further comprising: receiving, with the wireless access node from the first user device, a notification of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device, wherein the failure of establishing the aggregation link is notified when [[a]] the timer expires, and wherein the first user device started the timer in response to receiving the configuration of the aggregation link.
However, CHEN teaches “(Currently amended) The method of claim 42, further comprising: receiving, with the wireless access node from the first user device, a notification of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device, wherein the failure of establishing the aggregation link is notified when [[a]] the timer expires, and wherein the first user device started the timer in response to receiving the configuration of the aggregation link.” as “After receiving the sidelink measurement report of UE2, UE1 may send the measurement report information to the base station through the Uu interface. After the UE1 reports the sidelink measurement result to the gNB, the base station may further determine, according to the measurement result, whether to start or stop the PC5 unicast communication connection between UE1 and UE2. For example, if the measured sidelink link quality of the UE is less than the interface switching threshold, the UE switches the unicast data transmission with UE2 to the Uu interface. The UE starts a timer T, If the timer T times out, the link between the UE and the peer UE is considered to have an RLF. For example, the UE may receive or pre-configure PC5 RLM configuration information, such as N, T, and M values, from the base station.” [¶0070, 0075, 0076, 0079, 0080]. (The UE receives the PC5 link monitoring configuration from the base station, starts the timer T under that configuration, and when timer T expires the UE treats the link as failed and report that to the base station.)
LI and Chen are analogous arts because they both teach sidelink wireless communication with timer-based link monitoring and reporting to the base station
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and CHEN before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of CHEN so that the wireless access node receives a failure notification after timer expiry, to let the network detect link establishment failure and take action. [Chen, ¶0070, 0076, 0088].
Claim 47 is rejected over LI and CHEN.
Li does not explicitly teach (Previously presented) The method of claim 42, further comprising: sending, with the wireless access node to the first user device, a second message comprising release configuration information, the release configuration information comprising information that indicates to the first user device to release the aggregation link.
However, CHEN teaches “(Previously presented) The method of claim 42, further comprising: sending, with the wireless access node to the first user device, a second message comprising release configuration information, the release configuration information comprising information that indicates to the first user device to release the aggregation link.” as “The base station may send an interface switching indication to UE1, and inform UE1 to transmit the data traffic switch to the Uu interface sent to UE2. The base station may further determine, according to the measurement result, whether to start or stop the PC5 unicast communication connection between UE1 and UE2. For example, if the measured sidelink link quality of the UE is less than the interface switching threshold, the UE switches the unicast data transmission with UE2 to the Uu interface. When the PC5data inactivity timer expires, UE1 or UE2 can release the PC5 connection. when UE1 or UE2 detects RLF and cannot find a suitable carrier for PC5 communication, the UE releases the PC5 connection.” [¶0075, 0076, 0087, 0088]. (Base station sends an interface switching indication to UE1 that causes UE1 to stop using the PC5 link also its release the PC5 connection and together supporting the configuration.)
LI and Chen are analogous arts because they both teach wireless communication systems involving network-controlled communications between users’ devices, including signaling for maintaining, switching and releasing UE to UE links.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and CHEN before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of CHEN so that the wireless access node sends release related information to the first user device indicating that the aggregation link is to be released, with the motivation of allowing the network to control release of the sidelink/aggregation link when link conditions no longer support continued direct communication.[Chen, ¶0075, 0076, 0088].
Claim(s) 36 and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI [US 20220287142 A1] in view of WU et al. [US 20240107611 A1].
Claim 36 is rejected Over LI and WU.
Li does not explicitly teach (Currently amended) The method of claim [[34]]32, further comprising: when the timer expires, notifying, with the first user device, the wireless access node of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device.
However, WU teaches “Currently amended) The method of claim [[34]]32, further comprising: when the timer expires, notifying, with the first user device, the wireless access node of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device.” as “UE 701A may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message to UE 701B, and start a sidelink reconfiguration timer. The sidelink reconfiguration timer may expire before receiving any message from 701B. In response to the reception of the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message, or the expiry of the sidelink reconfiguration timer, or the expiry of the mobility timer, UE 701A may fall back to the source Uu link. In some embodiments of the present disclosure, UE 701A may transmit a path switch failure indication to BS 702. The UE may transmit a path switch failure indication to the BS; or the UE may transmit both the path switch failure indication and measurement results for at least one of one or more cells and one or more candidate relays to the BS in response to the reception of an RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message, or the expiry of the sidelink reconfiguration timer, or the expiry of the mobility timer. [¶0091, 0095-0096, 0117]. (When the sidelink reconfiguration timer expires UE 701A send s failure indication to BS 702 after attempting to establish a link with UE 701B.)
LI and WU are analogous arts because they both teach wireless communication systems involving UE to UE/sidelink link procedures, timer-based failure handling, and reporting failure information to a network node or base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and WU before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of WU so that failure notification upon timer expiry to inform the base station of link establishment failure and enable fallback or recovery and it is improving reliability. [WU, ¶0096, 0117].
Claim 55 is rejected over LI and WU.
Li does not explicitly teach (New) The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: when the timer expires, notify the wireless access node of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device
However, WU teaches “(New) The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: when the timer expires, notify the wireless access node of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device.” as “In response to the reception of the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message, or the expiry of the sidelink reconfiguration timer, or the expiry of the mobility timer, UE 701A may fall back to the source Uu link. UE 701A may transmit a path switch failure indication to BS 702. The UE may transmit a path switch failure indication to the BS. In response to the reception of an RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message, or the expiry of the sidelink reconfiguration timer, or the expiry of the mobility timer. An apparatus 900 with computer-executable instructions to cause a processor to implement the method with respect to the UEs.” [¶0096, 0117]. (UE apparatus configured so that when relevant timer expires, the UE notifies the BS by sending a path switch failure indication, which matches notifying the wireless access of failure.)
LI and WU are analogous arts because they both teach wireless communication systems involving UE to UE/sidelink link procedures, timer-based failure handling, and reporting failure information to a network node or base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of LI and WU before him/her, to modify the teachings of LI to include the teachings of WU so that when the timer expires the apparatus notifies the wireless access node of failure to establish the aggregation link, to let the network detect the failure and take recovery or fallback action.[WU, ¶0096, 0117].
Conclusion
/A.N.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473