DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 6/12/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 32, 35-42, 44, 46-48, and 51-57 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 32, 42, and 48 (pages 7-10) in a reply filed 6/12/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32, 35, 37, 39, 42, 48, 51, 52, 54, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US 20220287142 (hereinafter “Li”) in view of Wu et al. US 20250071660 (hereinafter “Wu”)
As to claim 32 and 48 (claim 32 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 48):
Li discloses:
A method for wireless communication, the method comprising: sending, with a first user device, a first message to a wireless access node, the first message comprising a second identification of a second user device; (“a UE 115 may forward the UE's sidelink assistance information (e.g., from another UE 115) to a base station 105. The other UE 115 may be a UE 115 with which the UE 115 may establish PC5 connection and communicate on a PC5 link. For example, UE 115-a may forward other UE's sidelink assistance information (e.g., from UE 115-b) to base station 105-a. Similarly, UE 115-b may forward other UE's sidelink assistance information (e.g., from UE 115-a) to base station 105-a. Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 may forward the directional sidelink DRX configuration to the other UE 115 which may be out of the coverage of base station 105. In some examples, a UE 115 may trigger a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration with UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message sent to base station 105-a. In some examples, a UE 115 may send UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message to a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration for another UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 with which the UE 115 may establish PC5 connection and communicate on PC5 link) with the sidelink assistance information from the other UE 115.”, Li [0130])
establishing, with the first user device, the aggregation link with the second user device according to the configuration; (“In some cases, a PC5-RRC procedure may be designed per direction. The sidelink message may include RRC signaling, such as a PC5-RRC message or PC5 message 510. In some other cases, the sidelink control message may be a PC5 control message and the second timer may be an RRC timer or a PC5 sidelink timer. In some examples, the sidelink control message may be a direct communication request, a direct communication accept, a link identifier update request, a link identifier update response, a link identifier update feedback message, a disconnect request, a disconnect response, a link modification request, a link modification accept, a feedback message, a keep-alive message, an RRC configuration message, or a combination thereof.” Li [0127, 0163, 0183])
and exchanging, with the first user device, data with the second user device over the aggregation link. (“For example, UE 115-a my transmit control signaling or data to UE 115-b via sidelink communication link 210-a and UE 115-b may transmit control signaling or data to UE 115-a via sidelink communication link 210-b.”, Li [0124])
Li as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving, with the first user device, a configuration of an aggregation link from the wireless access node; starting, with the first user device, a timer in response to receiving the configuration of the aggregation link from the wireless access node;
However, Wu further teaches receiving configuration for PC5 link from a wireless node which includes:
receiving, with the first user device, a configuration of an aggregation link from the wireless access node; (“In step 412 as shown in FIG. 4, BS 403 decides to add a further path based on the measurement result(s). Then, in step 413 as shown in FIG. 4, BS 403 transmits a RRC reconfiguration message to UE 401.”, Wu [0102])
starting, with the first user device, a timer in response to receiving the configuration of the aggregation link from the wireless access node; (“In step 414 as shown in FIG. 4, once UE 401 receives a RRC reconfiguration message for path addition, UE 401 starts the timer for path addition. In a case that UE 401 has a RRC connection with BS 403 via the direct path, the new addition path is an indirect path. UE 401 may start the timer, which is the same as the timer for path switching from the direct path to the indirect path. In a further case that UE 401 has a RRC connection with BS 403 via the indirect path, the new addition path is the direct path. UE 401 may start timer T304 (which is defined in 3GPP standard document TS38.331).”, Wu [0105])
Li and Wu are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving configuration for PC5 link from a wireless node as described in Wu into Li. By modifying the method to include receiving configuration for PC5 link from a wireless node as taught by Wu, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]) and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
As to claim 35:
Li discloses:
The method of claim 32, further comprising: in response to establishing the aggregation link, stopping, with the first user device, the timer. (“Once the UE receives a sidelink response, which may be a feedback message 515 for the PC5 message 510 from the other UE (e.g., UE2), the UE may deactivate the active timer (e.g., PC5Res Timer) to end the reception (e.g., RX mode 540-a). UE 115-c may deactivate the second timer after receiving the sidelink response. UE 115-e may deactivate the active timer or the second timer after receiving the sidelink response”, Li [0166, 0180, 0193])
As to claim 37 and 51 (claim 37 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 51):
Li discloses:
The method of claim 32, wherein the configuration comprises an expiration value for the timer. (“The control message or signaling may include a configuration, such as a timer configuration 215, which may include an indication of one or more parameters for the directional sidelink DRX cycle 220 at each UE 115. In some examples, the timer may be configured based on different quality of service (QoS) parameters such as latency or packet delay budget, reliability, or priority. For example, the timer duration may be configured based on the latency requirement for a measurement report or response message. At 605, base station 105-b may transmit a configuration message to UE 115-c and UE 115-d that indicates a configuration for one or more timers”, Li [0129, 0136, 0172])
As to claim 39:
Li discloses:
The method of claim 32, further comprising: receiving, with the first user device, a second message comprising release configuration information from the wireless access node, the release configuration information comprising information that indicates to the first user device to release the aggregation link. (“For example, base station 105-a may transmit control signaling, such as RRC message, a downlink control information (DCI) signal or a MAC-CE indication, or the like to UE 115-a, UE 115-b, or combination of any, if within a coverage area for base station 105-a. In some cases, a PC5-RRC procedure may be designed per direction. For example, UE 115-a may send a PC5-RRC configuration signaling from UE 115-a for UE 115-a to UE 115-b direction and PC5-RRC configuration signaling from UE 115-b is for UE 115-b to UE 115-a direction for transmitting at UE 115-b or receiving mode at UE 115-a. In some examples the sidelink control message includes a direct communication request, a direct communication accept, a link identifier update request, a link identifier update response, a link identifier update feedback message, a disconnect request, a disconnect response, a link modification request, a link modification accept, a feedback message, a keep-alive message, a radio resource control configuration message, or a combination thereof”, Li [0129, 0127, 0017])
As to claim 42:
Li discloses:
A method for wireless communication, the method comprising: receiving, with a wireless access node, a first message from a first user device, the first message comprising a second identification of a second user device; (“A UE 115 may forward the UE's sidelink assistance information (e.g., from another UE 115) to a base station 105. a UE 115 may send UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message to a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration for another UE 115 with the sidelink assistance information from the other UE 115”, Li [0130])
wherein the configuration comprises an expiration value for a timer that the first user device is to start upon receiving the configuration. (“The timer configuration may indicate a first timer and a second timer, the first timer for switching communication direction on sidelink and the second timer for extending an active duration of a discontinuous cycle for sidelink communications for UE 115-c and UE 115-d. In some other aspects as illustrated in FIGS. 3A-5B, a first timer may be activated for switching communication direction and a second timer for extending an active duration for transmitting or receiving the response signal or message for UE 115-e and UE 115-f respectively after the switching”, Li [0172, 0186])
Li as described above does not explicitly teach:
and transmitting, with the wireless access node, a configuration of an aggregation link according to which the first user device is to establish the aggregation link with the second user device
However, Wu further teaches transmitting configuration for PC5 link which includes:
and transmitting, with the wireless access node, a configuration of an aggregation link according to which the first user device is to establish the aggregation link with the second user device (“In step 412 as shown in FIG. 4, BS 403 decides to add a further path based on the measurement result(s). Then, in step 413 as shown in FIG. 4, BS 403 transmits a RRC reconfiguration message to UE 401.”, Wu [0102])(“In step 414 as shown in FIG. 4, once UE 401 receives a RRC reconfiguration message for path addition, UE 401 starts the timer for path addition. In a case that UE 401 has a RRC connection with BS 403 via the direct path, the new addition path is an indirect path. UE 401 may start the timer, which is the same as the timer for path switching from the direct path to the indirect path. In a further case that UE 401 has a RRC connection with BS 403 via the indirect path, the new addition path is the direct path. UE 401 may start timer T304 (which is defined in 3GPP standard document TS38.331).”, Wu [0105])
Li and Wu are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting configuration for PC5 link as described in Wu into Li. By modifying the method to include transmitting configuration for PC5 link as taught by Wu, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]) and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
As to claim 52:
Li discloses:
The method of claim 32, wherein the aggregation link is established in response to the configuration comprising the second identification of the second user device. (“In some examples, a UE 115 may trigger a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration with UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message sent to base station 105-a. In some examples, a UE 115 may send UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message to a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration for another UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 with which the UE 115 may establish PC5 connection and communicate on PC5 link) with the sidelink assistance information from the other UE 115. if UE 115-a enters a RX mode, UE 115-b may enter a TX mode such that the on duration 225 of each cycle may align for directional communications on a sidelink communication link 210, which may be a unicast link. UE 115-a may transmit the sidelink signal or message 240 to UE 115-b via sidelink communication link 210-a. UE 115-b may receive the sidelink message 240 from UE 115-a during on duration 225-b and may activate the timer at time 255”, Li [0130, 0129, 0133])
As to claim 54:
Li discloses:
The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: in response to establishing the aggregation link, stop the timer. (“In some other examples, UE 115-a and UE 115-b may deactivate the timer for the extended active duration 225-a and active duration 225-b based on receiving or transmitting the sidelink response 260 respectively for the sidelink message 240. Once the UE receives the sidelink response, which may be a measurement report 315 from the other UE (e.g., UE2), the UE may deactivate the active timer (e.g., MeasRep Timer) to end the reception (e.g., RX mode 340-a). Once the UE receives a sidelink response, which may be a feedback message 515 for the PC5 message 510 from the other UE (e.g., UE2), the UE may deactivate the active timer (e.g., PC5Res Timer) to end the reception (e.g., RX mode 540-a)”, Li [0134, 0143, 0166])
As to claim 57:
Li discloses:
The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the aggregation link is established in response to the configuration comprising the second identification of the second user device. (“In some examples, a UE 115 may trigger a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration with UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message sent to base station 105-a. In some examples, a UE 115 may send UE assistance information message or sidelink UE information message to a base station 105 for a directional sidelink DRX configuration for another UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 with which the UE 115 may establish PC5 connection and communicate on PC5 link) with the sidelink assistance information from the other UE 115. That is, if UE 115-a enters a RX mode, UE 115-b may enter a TX mode such that the on duration 225 of each cycle may align for directional communications on a sidelink communication link 210, which may be a unicast link. The communications manager 820 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving a configuration message and transmitting, within the active duration of the discontinuous cycle, a sidelink control message or sidelink measurement signal to a second UE”, Li [0130, 0129, 0204])
Claim(s) 38 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wu, as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Ozturk et al. US 20220039186 (hereinafter “Ozturk”)
As to claim 38:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 32, wherein the first message further comprises a cell index of the second user device comprising a global cell identity.
However, Ozturk further teaches global cell identity which includes:
The method of claim 32, wherein the first message further comprises a cell index of the second user device comprising a global cell identity. (“The size may be reduced and security may be improved by using a short identifier (or index) which is only shared between the UE and the MN. Reporting a short identifier (or index), the correspondence between the actual identifiers for the secondary node cells and their indices for reporting can be configured for the UE by the master node, e.g., in the RRC Release message or prior to the release message. The UE receives, from a master node, a configuration comprising a mapping of cell identities for a plurality of secondary cells for reporting SN measurements. The mapping may map each cell identity to a corresponding index. The cell identity may include Cell Global Identity (CGI)”, Ozturk [0008, 0071, 0106, 0076])
Li, Wu, and Ozturk are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include global cell identity as described in Ozturk into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include global cell identity as taught by Ozturk, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved communication efficiency (Ozturk [0008]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
As to claim 46:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 42, wherein the first message further comprises a cell index of the second user device comprising a global cell identity.
However, Ozturk further teaches global cell identity which includes:
The method of claim 42, wherein the first message further comprises a cell index of the second user device comprising a global cell identity. (“The size may be reduced and security may be improved by using a short identifier (or index) which is only shared between the UE and the MN. Reporting a short identifier (or index), the correspondence between the actual identifiers for the secondary node cells and their indices for reporting can be configured for the UE by the master node, e.g., in the RRC Release message or prior to the release message. The UE receives, from a master node, a configuration comprising a mapping of cell identities for a plurality of secondary cells for reporting SN measurements. The mapping may map each cell identity to a corresponding index. The cell identity may include Cell Global Identity (CGI)”, Ozturk [0008, 0071, 0106, 0076])
Li, Wu, and Ozturk are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include global cell identity as described in Ozturk into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include global cell identity as taught by Ozturk, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved communication efficiency (Ozturk [0008]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 40-41, 53, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wu, as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Ma et al. US 20190141771 (hereinafter “Ma”)
As to claim 40:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 32, further comprising: determining, with the first user device, a radio link failure, and sending, with the first user device to the second user device, an indication used to notify the wireless access node that the first user device experienced the radio link failure.
However, Ma further teaches radio link failure notification which includes:
The method of claim 32, further comprising: determining, with the first user device, a radio link failure, and sending, with the first user device to the second user device, an indication used to notify the wireless access node that the first user device experienced the radio link failure. (“The remote terminal device and the relay terminal device may be connected by using a terminal-to-terminal direct link. The terminal-to-terminal direct link is a D2D link. The relay terminal device is directly connected to the base station. when the D2D link between the remote terminal device and the relay terminal device fails, the failure may be found and reported by the relay terminal device to the base station. The relay terminal device sends a fourth indication message to the remote terminal device, then the remote terminal device sends, to the base station, a third indication message”, Ma [127-0131, 0136-0138])
Li, Wu, and Ma are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include radio link failure notification as described in Ma into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include radio link failure notification as taught by Ma, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved failure reporting and recovery (MA [0127-0131]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
As to claim 41:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 32, further comprising: receiving, with the first user device from the second user device, an indication that the second user device experienced a radio link failure.
However, Ma further teaches radio link failure notification which includes:
The method of claim 32, further comprising: receiving, with the first user device from the second user device, an indication that the second user device experienced a radio link failure. (“The remote terminal device and the relay terminal device may be connected by using a terminal-to-terminal direct link. The relay terminal device is directly connected to the base station. Alternatively, when the relay terminal device detects that a downlink between the relay terminal device and the base station fails, the relay terminal device sends a fourth indication message to the remote terminal device. The relay terminal device sends, over the D2D link, the fourth indication message to the remote terminal device. The fourth indication message is used to indicate that the downlink between the relay terminal device and the base station fails”, Ma [0127-0131, 0136-0138])
Li, Wu, and Ma are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include radio link failure notification as described in Ma into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include radio link failure notification as taught by Ma, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved failure reporting and recovery (MA [0127-0131]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
As to claim 53:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 42, further comprising: receiving, with the wireless access node from the second user device, an indication that notifies the wireless access node that the first user device experienced a radio link failure.
However, Ma further teaches radio link failure notification which includes:
The method of claim 42, further comprising: receiving, with the wireless access node from the second user device, an indication that notifies the wireless access node that the first user device experienced a radio link failure. (“The remote terminal device and the relay terminal device may be connected by using a terminal-to-terminal direct link. The relay terminal device is directly connected to the base station. When the relay terminal device detects that the D2D link between the relay terminal device and the remote terminal device fails, the relay terminal device sends a second indication message to the base station. The second indication message is used to indicate that the D2D link between the relay terminal device and the remote terminal device fails. The first RRC reestablishment request message carries at least the identifier (namely, the remote terminal device ID) of the remote terminal device that establishes a D2D connection to the relay terminal device”, Ma [0127, 0141-0142, 0144])
Li, Wu, and Ma are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include radio link failure notification as described in Ma into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include radio link failure notification as taught by Ma, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved failure reporting and recovery (MA [0127-0131]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
As to claim 56:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: determine a radio link failure; and send, to the second user device, an indication used to notify the wireless access node that the wireless communications apparatus experienced the radio link failure.
However, Ma further teaches radio link failure notification which includes:
The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: determine a radio link failure; and send, to the second user device, an indication used to notify the wireless access node that the wireless communications apparatus experienced the radio link failure. (“A first case is that a D2D link between the remote terminal device and relay terminal device fails. when the relay terminal device detects that a downlink between the relay terminal device and the base station fails, the relay terminal device sends a fourth indication message to the remote terminal device. After receiving the fourth indication message sent by the relay terminal device sends a third indication message to the base station”, Ma [0131, 0136, 0138])
Li, Wu, and Ma are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include radio link failure notification as described in Ma into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include radio link failure notification as taught by Ma, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved failure reporting and recovery (MA [0127-0131]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 44 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wu, as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Chen et al. US 20210368372 (hereinafter “Chen”)
As to claim 44:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 42, further comprising: receiving, with the wireless access node from the first user device, a notification of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device, wherein the failure of establishing the aggregation link is notified when the timer expires, and wherein the first user device started the timer in response to receiving the configuration of the aggregation link.
However, Chen further teaches radio link failure notification based on a timer which includes:
The method of claim 42, further comprising: receiving, with the wireless access node from the first user device, a notification of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device, wherein the failure of establishing the aggregation link is notified when the timer expires, and wherein the first user device started the timer in response to receiving the configuration of the aggregation link. (“After receiving the sidelink measurement report of UE2, UE1 may send the measurement report information to the base station through the Uu interface. After the UE1 reports the sidelink measurement result to the gNB, the base station may further determine, according to the measurement result, whether to start or stop the PC5 unicast communication connection between UE1 and UE2. For example, if the measured sidelink link quality of the UE is less than the interface switching threshold, the UE switches the unicast data transmission with UE2 to the Uu interface. The UE starts a timer T, If the timer T times out, the link between the UE and the peer UE is considered to have an RLF. For example, the UE may receive or pre-configure PC5 RLM configuration information, such as N, T, and M values, from the base station”, Chen [0070, 0075, 0076, 0079, 0080])
Li, Wu, and Chen are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include radio link failure notification based on a timer as described in Chen into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include radio link failure notification based on a timer as taught by Chen, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved failure handling process (Chen [0070, 0076, 0088]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
As to claim 47:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 42, further comprising: sending, with the wireless access node to the first user device, a second message comprising release configuration information, the release configuration information comprising information that indicates to the first user device to release the aggregation link.
However, Chen further teaches release configuration which includes:
The method of claim 42, further comprising: sending, with the wireless access node to the first user device, a second message comprising release configuration information, the release configuration information comprising information that indicates to the first user device to release the aggregation link. (“The base station may send an interface switching indication to UE1, and inform UE1 to transmit the data traffic switch to the Uu interface sent to UE2. The base station may further determine, according to the measurement result, whether to start or stop the PC5 unicast communication connection between UE1 and UE2. For example, if the measured sidelink link quality of the UE is less than the interface switching threshold, the UE switches the unicast data transmission with UE2 to the Uu interface. When the PC5data inactivity timer expires, UE1 or UE2 can release the PC5 connection. when UE1 or UE2 detects RLF and cannot find a suitable carrier for PC5 communication, the UE releases the PC5 connection”, Chen [0075, 0076, 0087, 0088])
Li, Wu, and Chen are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include release configuration as described in Chen into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include release configuration as taught by Chen, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved release process (Chen [0075, 0076, 0088]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 36 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wu, as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Wu et al. US 20240107611 (hereinafter “Wu2”)
As to claim 36:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 32, further comprising: when the timer expires, notifying, with the first user device, the wireless access node of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device.
However, Wu2 further teaches notification based on a timer which includes:
The method of claim 32, further comprising: when the timer expires, notifying, with the first user device, the wireless access node of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device. (“UE 701A may transmit an RRC reconfiguration sidelink message to UE 701B, and start a sidelink reconfiguration timer. The sidelink reconfiguration timer may expire before receiving any message from 701B. In response to the reception of the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message, or the expiry of the sidelink reconfiguration timer, or the expiry of the mobility timer, UE 701A may fall back to the source Uu link. In some embodiments of the present disclosure, UE 701A may transmit a path switch failure indication to BS 702. The UE may transmit a path switch failure indication to the BS; or the UE may transmit both the path switch failure indication and measurement results for at least one of one or more cells and one or more candidate relays to the BS in response to the reception of an RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message, or the expiry of the sidelink reconfiguration timer, or the expiry of the mobility timer”, Wu2 [0091, 0095-0096, 0117])
Li, Wu, and Wu2 are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include notification based on a timer as described in Wu2 into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include notification based on a timer as taught by Wu2, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved reliability (Wu2 [0096 and 0117]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
As to claim 55:
The combination of Li and Wu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: when the timer expires, notify the wireless access node of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device.
However, Wu2 further teaches notification based on a timer which includes:
The wireless communications apparatus of claim 48, wherein the processor, upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is further configured to: when the timer expires, notify the wireless access node of a failure to establish the aggregation link with the second user device. (“In response to the reception of the RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message, or the expiry of the sidelink reconfiguration timer, or the expiry of the mobility timer, UE 701A may fall back to the source Uu link. UE 701A may transmit a path switch failure indication to BS 702. The UE may transmit a path switch failure indication to the BS. In response to the reception of an RRC reconfiguration failure sidelink message, or the expiry of the sidelink reconfiguration timer, or the expiry of the mobility timer. An apparatus 900 with computer-executable instructions to cause a processor to implement the method with respect to the UEs.”, Wu2 [0096, 0117])
Li, Wu, and Wu2 are analogous because they pertain to sidelink communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include notification based on a timer as described in Wu2 into Li as modified by Wu. By modifying the method to include notification based on a timer as taught by Wu2, the benefits of improved network efficiency (Li [0079]), improved reliability (Wu2 [0096 and 0117]), and centralized configuration process (Wu [0102-0105]) are achieved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471