DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 20, the limitation “wherein the second layer is between the first layer and the second layer” is unclear, as the second layer cannot be between itself. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted “wherein the second layer is between the first layer and the third layer.”
Appropriate clarification and correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1–5, 9, 12–15, and 17–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michal Mrnka et al., “Space squeezing optics: Performance limits and implementation at microwave frequencies”, APL Photonics, Volume 7, Issue 7, July 8, 2022 (cited in Applicant’s March 15, 2024, IDS, hereinafter “Mrnka) in view of Michael DelMastro, “Spaceplates: The Final Frontier in Compressing Optical Systems”, University of Ottawa, January 11, 2022 (cited in Applicant’s March 15, 2024, IDS, hereinafter “DelMastro).
Regarding Claim 1, Mrnka discloses (e.g., Fig. 1; Introduction and Discussion sections, though the whole document appears relevant) an optical lens (lens, Fig. 1); and a spaceplate (spaceplate, Fig. 1) configured to transmit light that has passed through the optical lens (Fig. 1), wherein the spaceplate comprises a plurality of layers configured to correct a chromatic aberration of the optical lens (page 2, upper left column, spaceplate design may include “non-local metamaterials consisting of a multi-layer stack of homogeneous and isotropic layer distributed along the optical axis” and the parameters “can be algorithmically optimized to approximate a spaceplate with a target set of performance characteristics”; also page 6, starting at the bottom of the left column, “coupling together a series of Fabry-Perot cavities” as the spaceplate overcomes issues with a single Fabry-Perot cavity based spaceplate, the design may include “a spaceplate consisting of up to 15 elements,” and using coupled Fabry-Perot cavities can optimize performance “in a similar manner to the way compound lenses are designed to suppress the chromatic and Seidel aberrations present in a single lens,” suggesting a plurality of layers for the spaceplate, and configuring the spaceplate to correct chromatic aberration).
Mrnka does not explicitly disclose that the above components comprise an optical imaging device.
DelMastro discusses the use of a combined metalens and spaceplate system in order to reduce thickness of the optical system (similar to the combined lens/spaceplate illustrated in Fig. 1 of Mrnka), and DelMastro teaches that an optical system to which the reduced thickness metalens / spaceplate combination can be applied is an imaging system such as a camera (e.g., Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Mrnka such that the components are used in an optical imaging device, which DelMastro teaches is a suitable configuration and use of those components (e.g., MPEP §§ 2144.06–07).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein the optical lens comprises a metalens (e.g., Abstract and section 1.4, Metalenses, of DelMastro, suggesting replacing traditional lenses with metalenses for reduced thickness and the ability to “alter[] the amplitude and phase of light in otherwise impossible ways”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein the metalens is configured to operate in a long-wave infrared (LWIR) spectral range (where selecting the operable range of the imaging system would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, based on desired function of the imaging system, such as for thermal imaging, which is known to operate in the LWIR spectral band).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein the plurality of layers comprises at least three layers that are stacked on each other (Discussion section of Mrnka, Page 6, upper right column, “locally optimal solution consisting of 3 Fabry-Perot cavities separated by two optimized (~λ/6) coupling regions”).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein a first thickness of a first layer of the at least three layers is based on a first relationship between a predetermined resonant wavelength and a first refractive index of the first layer, wherein a second thickness of a second layer of the at least three layers is based on a second relationship between the predetermined resonant wavelength and a second refractive index of the second layer, and wherein a third thickness of a third layer of the at least three layers is based on a third relationship between the predetermined resonant wavelength and a third refractive index of the third layer (page 6 of Mrnka, right column, “spaceplate designs will feature coupled Fabry-Perot cavities, which will be honed for specific applications – such as the optimization of performance around three distinct colour channels for colour imaging,” also page 2, upper left column, thickness and refractive indices of individual layers can be individually optimized to meet desired characteristics, the combination of these teachings suggesting three layers with three different thicknesses each optimized based on different wavelengths, e.g., RGB).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein each of the at least three layers is a dielectric layer (Fabry-Perot cavities of Mrnka, where air generally acts as a dielectric).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein the optical lens and the spaceplate contact each other (e.g., Fig. 1 of Mrnka, where it is described as an interface (or closely spaced interfaces), reasonably suggesting contact; also Pages 9–11 and Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro, describing the metalens and spaceplate as “monolithic”).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious (where, as discussed above with respect to Claim 1, Mrnka discloses features of a combined lens/spaceplate structure, and DelMastro teaches a suitable use of such configuration, e.g., Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro illustrating its use in a typical camera system, such that combining the teachings of Mrnka and DelMastro would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, see also MPEP §§ 2144.06–07) a camera module (e.g., camera as suggested by DelMastro, Abstract, Fig. 1.7 and pages 9–11) comprising: a metalens (Fig. 1 of Mrnka; Fig. 1.7(c) of DelMastro); an image sensor configured to convert light, that is emitted or reflected from an object and transmitted through the metalens, into an electrical signal (e.g., sensor, Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that camera sensors generally operate in the claimed manner, converting light into electrical signals representing a captured image); and a spaceplate (spaceplate, Fig. 1 of Mrnka; Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro) between the metalens and the image sensor, and configured to transmit light that has passed through the metalens (Fig. 1 of Mrnka; Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro), wherein the spaceplate comprises a plurality of layers configured to correct a chromatic aberration of the metalens (from Mrnka, page 2, upper left column, spaceplate design may include “non-local metamaterials consisting of a multi-layer stack of homogeneous and isotropic layer distributed along the optical axis” and the parameters “can be algorithmically optimized to approximate a spaceplate with a target set of performance characteristics”; also page 6, starting at the bottom of the left column, “coupling together a series of Fabry-Perot cavities” as the spaceplate overcomes issues with a single Fabry-Perot cavity based spaceplate, the design may include “a spaceplate consisting of up to 15 elements,” and using coupled Fabry-Perot cavities can optimize performance “in a similar manner to the way compound lenses are designed to suppress the chromatic and Seidel aberrations present in a single lens,” suggesting a plurality of layers for the spaceplate, and configuring the spaceplate to correct chromatic aberration; from DelMastro, page 10, desire to avoid aberrations introduced by the spaceplate).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein the spaceplate comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer that are stacked on each other (Discussion section of Mrnka, Page 6, upper right column, “locally optimal solution consisting of 3 Fabry-Perot cavities separated by two optimized (~λ/6) coupling regions”).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein a first thickness of the first layer is based on a first relationship between a predetermined resonant wavelength and a first refractive index of the first layer, wherein a second thickness of the second layer is based on a second relationship between the predetermined resonant wavelength and a second refractive index of the second layer, and wherein a third thickness of the third layer is based on a third relationship between the predetermined resonant wavelength and a third refractive index of the third layer (page 6 of Mrnka, right column, “spaceplate designs will feature coupled Fabry-Perot cavities, which will be honed for specific applications – such as the optimization of performance around three distinct colour channels for colour imaging,” also page 2, upper left column, thickness and refractive indices of individual layers can be individually optimized to meet desired characteristics, the combination of these teachings suggesting three layers with three different thicknesses each optimized based on different wavelengths, e.g., RGB).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein the metalens and the spaceplate contact each other (e.g., Fig. 1 of Mrnka, where it is described as an interface (or closely spaced interfaces), reasonably suggesting contact; also Pages 9–11 and Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro, describing the metalens and spaceplate as “monolithic”).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious (where, as discussed above with respect to Claim 1, Mrnka discloses features of a combined lens/spaceplate structure, and DelMastro teaches a suitable use of such configuration, e.g., Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro illustrating its use in a typical camera system, such that combining the teachings of Mrnka and DelMastro would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, see also MPEP §§ 2144.06–07) an electronic device (e.g., camera as suggested by DelMastro, Abstract, Fig. 1.7 and pages 9–11) comprising: a camera module (e.g., camera as suggested by DelMastro, Abstract, Fig. 1.7 and pages 9–11) comprising: a metalens (Fig. 1 of Mrnka; Fig. 1.7(c) of DelMastro); an image sensor configured to convert light, that is emitted or reflected from an object and transmitted through the metalens, into an electrical signal to generate image data (e.g., sensor, Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that camera sensors generally operate in the claimed manner, converting light into electrical signals representing a captured image); and a spaceplate (spaceplate, Fig. 1 of Mrnka; Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro) between the metalens and the image sensor, and configured to transmit light that has passed through the metalens (Fig. 1 of Mrnka; Fig. 1.7 of DelMastro); and a processor configured to perform one or more image processing operations on the generated image data (where a processor performing image processing on image data in a camera was well-known and predictable at the time of effective filing, yielding desired and predictable results, improving the functionality and versatility of the camera device), wherein the spaceplate comprises a plurality of layers configured to correct chromatic aberration of the metalens (from Mrnka, page 2, upper left column, spaceplate design may include “non-local metamaterials consisting of a multi-layer stack of homogeneous and isotropic layer distributed along the optical axis” and the parameters “can be algorithmically optimized to approximate a spaceplate with a target set of performance characteristics”; also page 6, starting at the bottom of the left column, “coupling together a series of Fabry-Perot cavities” as the spaceplate overcomes issues with a single Fabry-Perot cavity based spaceplate, the design may include “a spaceplate consisting of up to 15 elements,” and using coupled Fabry-Perot cavities can optimize performance “in a similar manner to the way compound lenses are designed to suppress the chromatic and Seidel aberrations present in a single lens,” suggesting a plurality of layers for the spaceplate, and configuring the spaceplate to correct chromatic aberration; from DelMastro, page 10, desire to avoid aberrations introduced by the spaceplate).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Mrnka and DelMastro would have rendered obvious wherein the spaceplate comprises a stack of at least three layers (Discussion section of Mrnka, Page 6, upper right column, “locally optimal solution consisting of 3 Fabry-Perot cavities separated by two optimized (~λ/6) coupling regions”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6–8, 10, 11, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871