Examiner’s Note
For applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 15 March, 2024 and 6 May, 2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2-9, and 15-19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “wherein each of the plurality of first swath durations is behind a corresponding one of the plurality of first pulse durations” which appears to contain a grammatical error. The term “behind” commonly suggests a physical spatial relationship. It is suggested to be amended to “wherein each of the plurality of first swath durations is [[behind]]after a corresponding one of the plurality of first pulse durations”.
Claims 4, 15, and 16 similarly recite the term “behind” and are objected to for the same reason(s) as claim 2.
Claim 19 recites “comprise at least one: of a number of samples” which contains typographical error. It is suggested to be amended to “comprise at least one of: a number of samples” for clarity.
Claims 3-9 and 17-18 are additionally objected to by virtue of their dependence on claims 2 and 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the number of first azimuth angles is equal to the number of second azimuth angles” which renders the claim indefinite because limitation “the number of first azimuth angles” and limitation “the number of second azimuth angles” lack antecedent basis, such that the scope of the claim would not be reasonably ascertainable by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the number of third azimuth angles is less than each of the number of first azimuth angles and the number of second azimuth angles” which renders the claim indefinite because limitation “the number of third azimuth angles”, limitation “the number of first azimuth angles”, and limitation “the number of second azimuth angles” lack antecedent basis, such that the scope of the claim would not be reasonably ascertainable by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hulbert (US 2007/0063889 A1 “HULBERT”), in view of Zaidi (US 2022/0308204 A1 “ZAIDI”).
Regarding claim 1, HULBERT discloses (Examiner’s note: What HULBERT does not disclose is ) a radar system, comprising:
a first subarray comprising a plurality of first antennas disposed along a first axis (a horizontal array 2, comprising multiple elements 3 [0016 & FIG. 1]). Examiner’s note: See snippet of annotated FIG.2 below with annotated “first subarray”.
a second subarray comprising a plurality of second antennas disposed along the first axis (a horizontal array 2, comprising multiple elements 3 [0016 & FIG. 1]). Examiner’s note: See snippet of annotated FIG. 2 below with annotated “second subarray”.
and a third subarray comprising a plurality of third antennas disposed along a second axis orthogonal to the first axis (a vertical array 1 comprising multiple elements 3 [0016 & FIG. 2]). Examiner’s note: See snippet of annotated FIG. 2 below with annotated “third subarray”.
wherein in a first scanning mode for scanning a radar coverage of the radar system, the radar system utilizes the first subarray and the second subarray as radio frequency (RF) signal transceivers (in the horizontal array, both transmit elements 8 and receive elements 9 are provided for each antenna element 6 of the array 2 [0017]) and utilizes the third subarray as a RF signal receiver (the horizontal array can transmit and receive, but the vertical array is only required to receive [0015 & claim 1]) to:
scan a first detection distance range the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth by transmitting 14 a radar beam [0020]). Examiner’s note: It is noted that a radar system such as one disclosed in HULBERT inherently has a detection distance range. It is further noted that the radar system disclosed in HULBERT also inherent scans with a signal parameter. However, HULBERT does not explicitly disclose a plurality of signal parameters.
Snippet of annotated FIG. 2
In a same or similar field of endeavor, ZAIDI relates to a beam steering radar for use in an autonomous vehicle. Specifically, ZAIDI teaches that a beam steering radar with a selective scanning mode in an autonomous vehicle used to detect and identify objects. The radar signal is transmitted according to a set of scan parameters that can be adjusted to result in multiple transmission beams 118 [0015 & FIG. 1]. Radar 300 also includes a Graphical User Interface (“GUI”) 358 to enable configuration of scan parameters such as the total angle of the scanned area defining the FoV, the beam width or the scan angle of each incremental transmission beam, the number of chirps in the radar signal, the chirp time, the chirp slope, the chirp segment time, and so on as desired [0043]. Furthermore, ZAIDI teaches that beam steering radar 106 is capable of detecting both vehicle 120 at a far range (e.g., >250 m) as well as bus 122 at a short range (e.g., <100 m). Detecting both in a short amount of time and with enough range and velocity. resolution is imperative for full autonomy of driving functions of the ego vehicle Radar 106 is capable of time-alternatively reconfiguring between long-range radar (“LRR”) and short-range radar (“SRR”) modes [0019].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HULBERT to include the teachings of ZAIDI, because doing so would enable capability to detect obstacles in dynamic environment, such as for city and highway driving, as recognized by ZAIDI. In addition, both of the prior art references, HULBERT and ZAIDI, teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, that is, array antenna for radiating RF signals.
Regarding claim 2, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the radar system of claim 1, wherein during a process of the radar system scanning the first detection distance range: the first subarray and the second subarray are configured to transmit a plurality of first RF beams toward a plurality of first azimuth angles in a plurality of first pulse durations respectively (a transmit scanning processor 12 is coupled to each transmit element 8, so that a radar pulse is transmitted from the transmit elements 8 of the horizontal array 2 [HULBERT 0019]); (the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth by transmitting 14 a radar beam [HULBERT 0020], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1); and the first subarray, the second subarray, and the third subarray are configured to receive a plurality of first incoming signals in a plurality of first swath durations to detect objects within the first detection distance range, wherein each of the plurality of first swath durations is behind a corresponding one of the plurality of first pulse durations (the radar returns 15 enter the receive function 9 of the horizontal array via a steered beam that is pointing in substantially the same direction as it was when the radar pulse was transmitted from the transmit units 8. The return(s) from the target(s) are also being received 16 by the antenna elements 6 of the vertical array 1 [HULBERT 0020]); (the signals received over the range of possible radar returns are captured 18 into digital memory 13 for each of the elements 6 of the vertical array 1. The output 19 of the steered azimuth beam is a number of delays corresponding to returns from possible targets for each azimuth angle [HULBERT 0021]); wherein the plurality of first azimuth angles are defined on a plane formed by the first axis and a third axis orthogonal to the first axis and the second axis (the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth by transmitting 14 a radar beam [HULBERT 0020], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, HULBERT, as modified, discloses the radar system of claim 2, the second axis (the first and second arrays are arranged as a crossed array formed of both horizontal and vertical arrays; and wherein the horizontal array scans in azimuth, so that the vertical array only needs to scan in elevation [HULBERT 0005]).
In a same or similar field of endeavor, ZAIDI teaches FIG. 4 that shows a fan-shaped beam area [FIG. 4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HULBERT to include the teachings of ZAIDI, because a fan-shaped beam would provide wide coverage and resolve angles efficiently.
Regarding claim 4, HULBERT/ ZALDI discloses the radar system of claim 2, wherein during a process of the radar system scanning the second detection distance range: the first subarray and the second subarray are configured to transmit a plurality of second RF beams toward a plurality of second azimuth angles in a plurality of second pulse durations respectively (the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth [HULBERT 0020], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1); and the first subarray, the second subarray, and the third subarray are configured to receive a plurality of second incoming signals in a plurality of second swath durations to detect objects within the second detection distance range, wherein each of the plurality of second swath durations is behind a corresponding one of the plurality of second pulse durations (the radar returns 15 enter the receive function 9 of the horizontal array via a steered beam that is pointing in substantially the same direction as it was when the radar pulse was transmitted from the transmit units 8. The return(s) from the target(s) are also being received 16 by the antenna elements 6 of the vertical array 1 [HULBERT 0020]); (the signals received over the range of possible radar returns are captured 18 into digital memory 13 for each of the elements 6 of the vertical array 1. The output 19 of the steered azimuth beam is a number of delays corresponding to returns from possible targets for each azimuth angle [HULBERT 0021]).
Regarding claim 5, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the radar system of claim 4, wherein the number of first azimuth angles is equal to the number of second azimuth angles (to enable configuration of scan parameters such as the total angle of the scanned area defining the FoV, the beam width or the scan angle of each incremental transmission beam, the number of chirps in the radar signal, the chirp time, the chirp slope, the chirp segment time, and so on as desired [ZAIDI 0043], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the radar system of claim 4, wherein in a second scanning mode for scanning at least one part of the radar coverage of the radar system: the first subarray and the second subarray are configured to transmit a plurality of third RF beams toward a plurality of third azimuth angles according to a position information of a target object derived in the first scanning mode; and the first subarray, the second subarray, and the third subarray are configured to receive a plurality of third incoming signals to detect the target object (a transmit scanning processor 12 is coupled to each transmit element 8, so that a radar pulse is transmitted from the transmit elements 8 of the horizontal array 2 [HULBERT 0019]); (the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth [HULBERT 0020], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1); wherein a one-round scan interval of the second scanning mode is shorter than a one-round scan interval of the first scanning mode (to enable configuration of scan parameters such as the total angle of the scanned area defining the FoV, the beam width or the scan angle of each incremental transmission beam, the number of chirps in the radar signal, the chirp time, the chirp slope, the chirp segment time, and so on as desired [ZAIDI 0043], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, HULBERT, as modified, discloses the radar system of claim 6, wherein the position information of the target object includes a detected position of the target object (the range to the target and the azimuth can be ascertained [HULBERT 0021])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, ZAIDI teaches that each chirp is sampled multiple times to give multiple range measurements and measure doppler velocity accurately [0052].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HULBERT to include the teachings of ZAIDI, because doing so would enable capability to detect obstacles in dynamic environment, such as for city and highway driving, as recognized by ZAIDI.
Regarding claim 8, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the radar system of claim 6, wherein the number of third azimuth angles is less than each of the number of first azimuth angles and the number of second azimuth angles (enable configuration of scan parameters such as the total angle of the scanned area defining the FoV, the beam width or the scan angle of each incremental transmission beam, the number of chirps in the radar signal, the chirp time, the chirp slope, the chirp segment time, and so on as desired [ZAIDI 0043], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, HULBERT, as modified, discloses the radar system of claim 6, radar 106 is capable of time-alternatively reconfiguring between long-range radar (“LRR”) and short-range radar (“SRR”) modes [ZAIDI 0019], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
In a same or similar field of endeavor, ZAIDI teaches that radar 300 also includes a Graphical User Interface (“GUI”) 358 to enable configuration of scan parameters such as the total angle of the scanned area defining the FoV, the beam width or the scan angle of each incremental transmission beam, the number of chirps in the radar signal, the chirp time, the chirp slope, the chirp segment time, and so on as desired [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HULBERT to include the teachings of ZAIDI, because doing so would enable capability to detect obstacles in dynamic environment, such as for city and highway driving, as recognized by ZAIDI.
Regarding claim 10, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the radar system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first signal parameters comprise at least one of: a number of samples per pulse duration, a number of samples per swath in a pulse repetition interval (PRI), a number of samples per the PRI, a number of PRIs per pulse averaging interval (PAI), a number of PAIs per coherent processing interval (CPI), a minimum detectable range of the first detection distance range, or a maximum detectable range of the first detection distance range (a short range (e.g., <100 m) [ZAIDI 0019], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1). It is further noted that the limitation “a number of samples per pulse duration, a number of samples per swath in a pulse repetition interval (PRI), a number of samples per the PRI, a number of PRIs per pulse averaging interval (PAI), a number of PAIs per coherent processing interval (CPI), a minimum detectable range of the first detection distance range, or a maximum detectable range of the first detection distance range” is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight. In this case, a short range (e.g., <100 m) as disclosed by ZAIDI corresponds to the claimed “a maximum detectable range of the first detection distance range”.
Regarding claim 11, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the radar system of claim 1, further comprising a resource scheduler configured to derive the plurality of first signal parameters and the plurality of second signal parameters by optimizing a one-round scan interval of the first scanning mode to be shortest while satisfying a plurality of constraints related to the plurality of first signal parameters and the plurality of second signal parameters (beam steering radar 106 is capable of detecting both vehicle 120 at a far range (e.g., >250 m) as well as bus 122 at a short range (e.g., <100 m). Detecting both in a short amount of time and with enough range and velocity resolution is imperative for full autonomy of driving functions of the ego vehicle [ZAIDI 0019], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, HULBERT, as modified, discloses the radar system of claim 1,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, ZAIDI teaches that once the received signals are received by transceiver 306, they are processed by processing engines 350. Processing engines 350 include perception engine 304 which detects and identifies objects in the received signal with neural network and artificial intelligence techniques, database 352 to store historical and other information for radar 300, and a Digital Signal Processing (“DSP”) engine 354 with an Analog-to-Digital Converter (“ADC”) module to convert the analog signals from transceiver 306 into digital signals that can be processed to determine angles of arrival and other valuable information for the detection and identification of objects by perception engine 304 [0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HULBERT to include the teachings of ZAIDI, because doing so would enhance the radar system to effectively resolve for targets in a dynamic environment, as recognized by ZAIDI.
Regarding claim 14, HULBERT discloses a method for scanning objects with a radar system comprising a first subarray, a second subarray, and a third subarray (Examiner’s note: See snippet of annotated FIG. 2 below with “first subarray”, “second subarray”, and “third subarray”), the method comprising:
arranging the first subarray comprising a plurality of first antennas to dispose the plurality of first antennas along a first axis (a horizontal array 2, comprising multiple elements 3 [0016 & FIG. 1]). Examiner’s note: See snippet of annotated FIG.2 below with annotated “first subarray”.
arranging the second subarray comprising a plurality of second antennas to dispose the plurality of second antennas along the first axis (a horizontal array 2, comprising multiple elements 3 [0016 & FIG. 1]). Examiner’s note: See snippet of annotated FIG.2 below with annotated “second subarray”.
arranging the third subarray comprising a plurality of third antennas to dispose the plurality of third antennas along a second axis orthogonal to the first axis (a vertical array 1 comprising multiple elements 3 [0016 & FIG. 2]). Examiner’s note: See snippet of annotated FIG. 2 below with annotated “third subarray”.
in a first scanning mode for scanning a radar coverage of the radar system, utilizing the first subarray and the second subarray as radio frequency (RF) signal transceivers (in the horizontal array, both transmit elements 8 and receive elements 9 are provided for each antenna element 6 of the array 2 [0017]) and utilizing the third subarray as a RF signal receiver (the horizontal array can transmit and receive, but the vertical array is only required to receive [0015 & claim 1]) to:
scan a first detection distance range the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth by transmitting 14 a radar beam [0020]). Examiner’s note: It is noted that a radar system such as one disclosed in HULBERT inherently has a detection distance range. It is further noted that the radar system disclosed in HULBERT also inherent scans with a signal parameter. However, HULBERT does not explicitly disclose a plurality of signal parameters.
Snippet of annotated FIG. 2
In a same or similar field of endeavor, ZAIDI relates to a beam steering radar. Specifically, ZAIDI teaches a beam steering radar with a selective scanning mode. The radar signal is transmitted according to a set of scan parameters that can be adjusted to result in multiple transmission beams 118 [0015 & FIG. 1]. Radar 300 also includes a Graphical User Interface (“GUI”) 358 to enable configuration of scan parameters such as the total angle of the scanned area defining the FoV, the beam width or the scan angle of each incremental transmission beam, the number of chirps in the radar signal, the chirp time, the chirp slope, the chirp segment time, and so on as desired [0043]. Furthermore, ZAIDI teaches that beam steering radar 106 is capable of detecting both vehicle 120 at a far range (e.g., >250 m) as well as bus 122 at a short range (e.g., <100 m). Detecting both in a short amount of time and with enough range and velocity resolution is imperative for full autonomy of driving functions of the ego vehicle. Radar 106 is capable of time-alternatively reconfiguring between long-range radar (“LRR”) and short-range radar (“SRR”) modes [0019].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HULBERT to include the teachings of ZAIDI, because doing so would enable capability to detect obstacles in dynamic environment, such as for city and highway driving, as recognized by ZAIDI.
Regarding claim 15, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the step to scan the first detection distance range according to the plurality of first signal parameters comprises: arranging the first subarray and the second subarray to transmit a plurality of RF beams toward a plurality of first azimuth angles in a plurality of first pulse durations (a transmit scanning processor 12 is coupled to each transmit element 8, so that a radar pulse is transmitted from the transmit elements 8 of the horizontal array 2 [HULBERT 0019]); (the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth [HULBERT 0020], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 14); and arranging the first subarray, the second subarray, and the third subarray to receive a plurality of first incoming signals in a plurality of first swath durations to detect objects within the first detection distance range, wherein each of the plurality of first swath durations is behind a corresponding one of the plurality of first pulse durations (the radar returns 15 enter the receive function 9 of the horizontal array via a steered beam that is pointing in substantially the same direction as it was when the radar pulse was transmitted from the transmit units 8. The return(s) from the target(s) are also being received 16 by the antenna elements 6 of the vertical array 1 [HULBERT 0020]); (the signals received over the range of possible radar returns are captured 18 into digital memory 13 for each of the elements 6 of the vertical array 1. The output 19 of the steered azimuth beam is a number of delays corresponding to returns from possible targets for each azimuth angle [HULBERT 0021]); wherein the plurality of first azimuth angles are defined on a plane formed by the first axis and a third axis orthogonal to the first axis and the second axis (the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth by transmitting 14 a radar beam [HULBERT 0020], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the step to scan the second detection distance range according to the plurality of second signal parameters comprises: arranging the first subarray and the second subarray to transmit a plurality of second RF beams toward a plurality of second azimuth angles in a plurality of second pulse durations (a transmit scanning processor 12 is coupled to each transmit element 8, so that a radar pulse is transmitted from the transmit elements 8 of the horizontal array 2 [HULBERT 0019]); (the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth [HULBERT 0020], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 14); and arranging the first subarray, the second subarray, and the third subarray to receive a plurality of second incoming signals in a plurality of second swath durations to detect objects within the second detection distance range, wherein each of the plurality of second swath durations is behind a corresponding one of the plurality of second pulse durations (the radar returns 15 enter the receive function 9 of the horizontal array via a steered beam that is pointing in substantially the same direction as it was when the radar pulse was transmitted from the transmit units 8. The return(s) from the target(s) are also being received 16 by the antenna elements 6 of the vertical array 1 [HULBERT 0020]); (the signals received over the range of possible radar returns are captured 18 into digital memory 13 for each of the elements 6 of the vertical array 1. The output 19 of the steered azimuth beam is a number of delays corresponding to returns from possible targets for each azimuth angle [HULBERT 0021]).
Regarding claim 17, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising in a second scanning mode for scanning at least one part of the radar coverage of the radar system: arranging the first subarray and the second subarray to transmit a plurality of third RF beams toward a plurality of third azimuth angles according a position information of a target object derived in the first scanning mode; and arranging the first subarray, the second subarray, and the third subarray to receive a plurality of third incoming signals to detect the target object (a transmit scanning processor 12 is coupled to each transmit element 8, so that a radar pulse is transmitted from the transmit elements 8 of the horizontal array 2 [HULBERT 0019]); (the horizontal array 2 of the radar operates in a conventional manner, scanning in azimuth [HULBERT 0020], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 14); wherein a one-round scan interval of the second scanning mode is shorter than a one-round scan interval of the first scanning mode (to enable configuration of scan parameters such as the total angle of the scanned area defining the FoV, the beam width or the scan angle of each incremental transmission beam, the number of chirps in the radar signal, the chirp time, the chirp slope, the chirp segment time, and so on as desired [ZAIDI 0043], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, HULBERT, as modified, discloses the method of claim 17, radar 106 is capable of time-alternatively reconfiguring between long-range radar (“LRR”) and short-range radar (“SRR”) modes [ZAIDI 0019], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 14).
In a same or similar field of endeavor, ZAIDI teaches that radar 300 also includes a Graphical User Interface (“GUI”) 358 to enable configuration of scan parameters such as the total angle of the scanned area defining the FoV, the beam width or the scan angle of each incremental transmission beam, the number of chirps in the radar signal, the chirp time, the chirp slope, the chirp segment time, and so on as desired [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HULBERT to include the teachings of ZAIDI, because doing so would enable capability to detect obstacles in dynamic environment, such as for city and highway driving, as recognized by ZAIDI.
Regarding claim 19, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the plurality of first signal parameters comprise at least one: of a number of samples per pulse duration, a number of samples per swath in a pulse repetition interval (PRI), a number of samples per the PRI, a number of PRIs per pulse averaging interval (PAI), a number of PAIs per coherent processing interval (CPI), a minimum detectable range of the first detection distance range, or a maximum detectable range of the first detection distance range (a short range (e.g., <100 m) [ZAIDI 0019], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1). It is further noted that the limitation “a number of samples per pulse duration, a number of samples per swath in a pulse repetition interval (PRI), a number of samples per the PRI, a number of PRIs per pulse averaging interval (PAI), a number of PAIs per coherent processing interval (CPI), a minimum detectable range of the first detection distance range, or a maximum detectable range of the first detection distance range” is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight. In this case, a short range (e.g., <100 m) as disclosed by ZAIDI corresponds to the claimed “a maximum detectable range of the first detection distance range”.
Regarding claim 20, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising arranging a resource scheduler to derive the plurality of first signal parameters and the plurality of second signal parameters by optimizing a one-round scan interval of the first scanning mode to be shortest while satisfying a plurality of constraints related to the plurality of first signal parameters and the plurality of second signal parameters (beam steering radar 106 is capable of detecting both vehicle 120 at a far range (e.g., >250 m) as well as bus 122 at a short range (e.g., <100 m). Detecting both in a short amount of time and with enough range and velocity resolution is imperative for full autonomy of driving functions of the ego vehicle [ZAIDI 0019], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 14).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HULBERT, in view of ZAIDI, and further in view of Culkin et al. (US 2010/0328157 A1 “CULKIN”).
Regarding claim 13, HULBERT/ ZAIDI discloses the radar system of claim 1,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, CULKIN relates to RF communication systems. Specifically, CULKIN teaches that the antenna elements maybe separated by a distance substantially equal to λ/2, where λ is the wavelength associated with carrier frequency of the transmitted beam [0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HULBERT to include the teachings of CULKIN, because doing so would configure the radar system to required off bore sight scan angle without the presence of grating lobes, as recognized by CULKIN. In addition, both of the prior art references, HULBERT and CULKIN, teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, that is, radar system that includes an antenna array for RF object detection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 2022/0120847 A1) is considered pertinent art for the disclosure overall, and in particular the details of a first one-dimensional (1D) (e.g., linear) subarray; a second 1D subarray positioned orthogonal to the first 1D subarray; and a two-dimensional (2D) subarray.
Tietjen et al. (US 2008/0291087 A1) is considered pertinent art for the disclosure of a phased array radar system comprising a plurality of radiating elements configured in a common array aperture for detecting and tracking targets; and a transmit and receive arrangement responsive to a first control signal for configuring the plurality of radiating elements to define a plurality of sub-apertures from the common array aperture for detecting and tracking short range targets, wherein the plurality of sub-apertures are independently steerable array apertures.
/Hailey R Le/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 January 22, 2026