DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Statement of Reason for Allowance
Claims 16-22 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record teaches supporting a wireline communication link between a wireline access network and an access device at least partially using a , for example Li et al (US20200053131A1, PCT Cont. Priority Date: Apr 17, 2017). However, the prior art of record fails to show the limitation of claim 12, “supporting a wireline communication link between a wireline access network and an access device at least partially using a second user plane function of the converged core communication network, the wireline access network being communicatively coupled with the common interface of the converged core communication network without use of the AMF by using one or more interfaces between the wireline access network and the converged core communication network”.
The main reason for allowance of these claims are applicant’s remarks filed on 09/18/2026.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 16-18 and 21 have been amended, and no claim has been cancelled or added. The status of claims 1-9 and 16-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant alleged that the cited combination fails to teach or suggest the element of " using a converged network exposure function (C-NEF) of the plurality of network functions to provide information on the wireline communication link between the wireline access network and the access device, to a network analysis function” of claim 3 and 4.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Girolamo et al (US20200107402A1, Pro PCT Priority Date: Mar 31, 2017) discloses:
FIG. 6… NEF… (par 0045);
interfaces in the next generation architecture may be designed to minimize dependencies between the Access Network (AN) and the Core Network (CN). Thus, the architecture is defined with a converged access-agnostic core network with a common AN-CN interface, which integrates different 3GPP and non-3GPP access types (par 0046);
FIG. 19, the M2M/IoT/WoT communication system 10 may include the Infrastructure Domain and the Field Domain. The Infrastructure Domain refers to the network side of the end-to-end M2M deployment, and the Field Domain refers to the area networks, usually behind an M2M gateway. The Field Domain and Infrastructure Domain may both comprise a variety of different nodes (e.g., servers, gateways, device, and the like) of the network. For example, the Field Domain may include M2M gateways 14 and devices 18. It will be appreciated that any number of M2M gateway devices 14 and M2M devices 18 may be included in the M2M/IoT/WoT communication system 10 as desired. Each of the M2M gateway devices 14 and M2M devices 18 are configured to transmit and receive signals, using communications circuitry, via the communication network 12 or direct radio link. A M2M gateway 14 allows wireless M2M devices (e.g., cellular and non-cellular) as well as fixed network M2M devices (e.g., PLC) to communicate either through operator networks, such as the communication network 12 or direct radio link (par 0116).
Therefore Girolamo’402 discloses: common AN-CN interface in converged access-agnostic core network for both wireless network and fixed network (according to Fig. 1 UE access CN through RAN or AN, and Fig. 19 M2M gateway 14 allows wireless M2M devices as well as fixed network M2M devices to communicate either through operator networks, and servers included in Field Domains behind M2M gateway).
Girolamo’402 further discloses:
FIG. 18, … a third party application 1802 uses the network exposure function 816 to retrieve LoRaWAN network status or end node status. At 1, …the third party application 1802 issues a Status request (e.g., LoRaWANStatusRequest) to the network exposure function (NEF) 816. The command at 1 may include an identity of the targeted network server(s), the device IDs for the list of targeted end nodes, and/or a request type. Example request types include, presented without limitation:
NetworkServerStatus: the third party application 1802 is requesting the status of the targeted network servers 812. This may include the number of end nodes they are serving, the number of outstanding UL and DL packets stored in the network server, the traffics statistics for UL and DL transmissions, etc.
endNodeLinkQuality: the link quality for the list of targeted end nodes 814.
endNodeDataRate: the data rate currently configured for the list of targeted end nodes 814.
endNodeTxPower: the current transmit power for the list of targeted end nodes.
endNodeRepetitionRate: the current repetition rate for the list of targeted end nodes (par 0101-0106).
Here third party application requesting status of the targeted network servers which may located inside Field Domain (refers to the area networks, usually behind an M2M gateway) and could located in wireless and fixed network field according to par 0116, and thus requested Status including NetworkServerStatus (traffic statistics), endNodeDataRate, endNodeTxPower and endNodeRepetitionRate could be status for either wireless network or fixed network or both.
In view of the above, the Examiner respectfully submits that the combination of Qiao’015, Li’131 and Girolamo’402 teaches and renders the claim limitations in claims 3-4 obviously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al (US20190159015A1, Pro 62587997 Priority Date: Nov 17, 2017) in view of Li et al (US20200053131A1, PCT Cont. Priority Date: Apr 17, 2017).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Qiao’015 discloses a method operable by a converged core communication network for supporting communication links (see, 5G system comprises converged 5G core network with access networks including NG-RAN and/or non-3GPP AN, par 0103, 0151), the method comprising:
supporting a wireless communication link between a wireless base station and a user equipment (UE) device using a plurality of network functions of the converged core communication network (see, Fig. 1, converged 5G core supports wireless link between UE and 3GPP-RAN, converged 5G core comprises UDM, AMF, SMF, PCF and UPFs with common interface, par 0113-0123, 0151), the plurality of network functions of the converged core communication network being logically linked via a common interface of the converged core communication network (see, Fig. 1, all network functions (UDM, AMF, SMF, PCF and UPFs) in converged CN connects through common interface, par 0103, 0113-0123, 0151), the plurality of network functions of the converged core communication network including an access management mobility function (AMF) (see, Fig. 1, converged 5G core network with network functions including AMF, par 0105, 0113-0123), wherein (i) the wireless base station (Fig. 1, RAN can be equated to wireless base station, par 0105) communicates with the converged core communication network via at least a logical link (Fig. 1, N2 can be equated to logical link between the AMF and the wireless base station, par 0105) between the AMF and the wireless base station (see, Fig. 1, UE communicates with converged CN including SMF through AMF via N2 interface between AMF and RAN, par 0105, 0151) and (ii) the UE device communicates with the converged core communication network via at least a logical link (see, Fig. 1, N1 can be equated to logical link between the AMF and the UE device, par 0105) between the AMF and the UE device (see, Fig. 1, UE communicates with converged CN including SMF via N1 interface between AMF and UE, par 0105, 0151);
supporting a wireline communication link between a wireline access network and an access device at least partially using the plurality of network functions of the converged core communication network (see, Fig. 1, converged 5G core supports non-3GPP access networks (wireline network) including non-3GPP AN, par 0103, 0106, 0253. Noted, non-3GPP AN can be equated to access device, par 0103, 0151. Noted further, system implemented by wireline or wireless system, par 0253),
using a converged network slice function (C-NSSF) (converged access-agnostic CN including NSSF can be equated to C-NSSF, par 0151, 0158) of the plurality of network functions of the converged core communication network (network functions of converged access-agnostic CN can be equated to plurality of network functions of the converged core communication network, par 0103, 0158) to form a single end-to-end (end-to-end, par 0139) network slice (Network Slice, par 0161) for a data session (PDU session, par 0139) traversing each of (a) the wireless communication link between the wireless base station and the UE device (5G access network including NG-RAN wireless connects UE, par 0103, 0162) and (b) the wireline communication link between the wireline access network and the access device (see, Fig. 1, NSSF in converged access-agnostic CN supporting selecting end-to-end network slice(s) for PDU session comprises CN Network Functions, 5G Radio Access Network (including NG-RAN wireless connects UE) and N3IWF functions to the non-3GPP Access Network (wireline system) including non-3GPP AN, par 0103, 0118, 0139, 0161-0162, 0253. Noted, network slice comprises CN Network Functions, 5G Radio Access Network and N3IWF functions to the non-3GPP Access Network can be equated to network slice traversing wireless and wireline communication links, par 0161, 0253).
Qiao’015 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: supporting a wireline communication link between a wireline access network and an access device at least partially using the plurality of network functions of the converged core communication network, the wireline access network being communicatively coupled with the common interface of the converged core communication network without use of the AMF by using one or more interfaces between the wireline access network and the common interface of the converged core communication network.
However Li’131 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, system architecture for accessing a fixed network with convergence of core network devices in the mobile network and the fixed network, par 0044, 0097) discloses: supporting a wireline communication link between a wireline access network (Fig. 1, fixed network including AGF and UPF, par 0098) and an access device (Fig. 1, AGF disposed on AN of the fixed network, par 0098) at least partially using the plurality of network functions of the converged core communication network (see, Fig. 1 and 5-6, UE attached to AGF and further authenticated with converged core network through AMF and establishing PDU session with converged core network through SMF and PCF, par 0128, 0159, 0170, 0173), the wireline access network (Fig. 1, fixed network including AGF and UPF, par 0098) being communicatively coupled with the common interface of the converged core communication network (Fig. 1, network functions in converged CN including AMF, SMF, PCF, AUSF, UDM, NEF, NRF and AF connected with common bus, par 0097, 0128) without use of the AMF (Fig. 1 and 6, path from UE, fixed network (AGF, UPF), SMF and PCF, this path doesn’t go through AMF, par 0098, 0173) by using one or more interfaces (Fig. 1, connection between UPF and SMF) between the wireline access network (Fig. 1, fixed network including AGF and UPF, par 0098) and the common interface of the converged core communication network (see, Fig. 1, fixed network (including AGF and UPF) coupled to common bus of network functions in converged CN through connection between UPF and SMF, par 0098, 0173. Noted, Fig. 1 and 6, SMF obtains QoS and charging policy from PCF in converged CN for PDU session through the logical path from UE, fixed network (AGF, UPF), SMF, common bus within CN and PCF, this path doesn’t go through AMF, par 0098, 0170, 0173. Noted further, Fig. 1-2, another path from UE, AGF, AMF with common bus within CN to other network functions also exists).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the method pertains to as taught by Li’131 into that of Qiao’015. The motivation would have been to access a fixed network and an access gateway network element (par 0005).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Qiao’015 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, 5G system comprises 5G core network with access networks including NG-RAN and/or non-3GPP AN, par 0103), further comprising bridging one or more interfaces (Fig. 1, N1 and N2 can be equated to interfaces, par 0120) of the wireline access network and the common interface (see, Fig. 1, N1 connects AMF and non-3GPP AN, N2 connects AMF and N3IWF of non-3GPP access network implemented by wireline system, par 0103, 0120, 0253).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Qiao’015 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, 5G system comprises 5G core network with access networks including NG-RAN and/or non-3GPP AN, par 0103), further comprising using a converged network repository function (C-NRF) of the plurality of network functions (NRF in converged access-agnostic CN network including network functions, par 0103, 0151, 0175) to identify a network service (NRF correlate all network functions for the same isolated network slice for network service can be equated to identify network service, par 0161, 0175) at least partially supported by the wireline communication link between the wireline access network and the access device (see, NRF in converged CN (comprises network functions) correlate all network functions for network service using the same isolated network slice including wireline network between N3IWF functions to non-3GPP Access Network, par 0151, 0161, 0175, 0253. Noted, non-3GPP AN can be equated to access device, par 0103).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao’015 in view of Li’131 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Girolamo et al (US20200107402A1, Pro PCT Priority Date: Mar 31, 2017).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Qiao’015 modified by Li’131 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, 5G system comprises 5G core network with access networks including NG-RAN and/or non-3GPP AN, par 0103), further comprising.
The combination of Qiao’015 and Li’131 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
using a converged network exposure function (C-NEF) of the plurality of network functions to provide information on the wireless communication link between the wireless base station and the UE device and the wireline communication link between the wireline access network and the access device, to a network analysis function.
However Girolamo’402 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 6, converged access-agnostic core network with a common AN-CN interface, which integrates different 3GPP and non-3GPP access types, par 0045-0046) discloses: using a converged network exposure function (C-NEF) of the plurality of network functions (Fig. 6, NEF in converged CN including network functions, par 0045-0046) to provide information (Status including NetworkServerStatus (traffic statistics), endNodeDataRate, endNodeTxPower and endNodeRepetitionRate, par 0101-0106) on the wireless communication link between the wireless base station and the UE device (Fig. 6-7, 3GPP access between UE and eNB, par 0046, 0048) and the wireline communication link between the wireline access network and the access device (Fig. 6 and 19, fixed network between M2M gateway and M2M devices (both belong to fixed network), network 12 can also be fixed network, par 0115-0116), to a network analysis function (see, Fig. 6 and 19, NEF in converged CN gather information on NetworkServerStatus (traffic statistics), endNodeDataRate, endNodeTxPower and endNodeRepetitionRate for server serving 3GPP access (between UE and RAN) and non-3GPP access types (fixed network between M2M gateway and M2M devices with both belong to fixed network), and provide status information to GUI network function (to provide user interested information and for scheduling), par 0045-0046, 0101-0110. Noted, GUI implemented as network function, par 0110. Noted further, GUI (network function) used to query and display the LoRaWAN network context of an end node, configure the schedule for the channel, or view the location of an end node can be equated to network analysis function, par 0110. Noted, Fig. 19-20, M2M Service Layer 22 comprises server, and thus go through both fixed and wireless access, par 0117).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the method pertains to as taught by Girolamo’402 into that of Qiao’015 modified by Li’131. The motivation would have been to allow third party applications to configure LoRaWAN network operating parameters and to view statuses concerning the LoRaWAN network and the end nodes (par 0092).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Qiao’015 modified by Li’131 discloses the method of claim 3 (see, 5G system comprises 5G core network with access networks including NG-RAN and/or non-3GPP AN, par 0103), further comprising.
The combination of Qiao’015 and Li’131 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: using the C-NEF to determine collective performance of the wireless communication link between the wireless base station and the UE device and the wireline communication link between the wireline access network and the access device.
However Girolamo’402 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 6, converged access-agnostic core network with a common AN-CN interface, which integrates different 3GPP and non-3GPP access types, par 0045-0046) discloses: using the C-NEF (Fig. 6, NEF in converged CN, par 0046) to determine collective performance (Status including NetworkServerStatus (traffic statistics), endNodeDataRate, endNodeTxPower and endNodeRepetitionRate, par 0101-0106) of the wireless communication link between the wireless base station and the UE device (Fig. 6-7, 3GPP access between UE and eNB, par 0046, 0048) and the wireline communication link (Fig. 6 and 19, fixed network between M2M gateway and M2M devices (both belong to fixed network), network 12 can also be fixed network, par 0115-0116) between the wireline access network and the access device (see, Fig. 6 and 19, NEF in converged CN gather information on NetworkServerStatus (traffic statistics), endNodeDataRate, endNodeTxPower and endNodeRepetitionRate for server serving 3GPP (between UE and RAN) and non-3GPP access types (fixed network between M2M gateway and M2M devices with both belong to fixed network), par 0045-0046, 0101-0106. Noted, Fig. 19-20, M2M Service Layer 22 comprises server, and thus go through both fixed and wireless access, par 0117).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the method pertains to as taught by Girolamo’402 into that of Qiao’015 modified by Li’131. The motivation would have been to allow third party applications to configure LoRaWAN network operating parameters and to view statuses concerning the LoRaWAN network and the end nodes (par 0092).
Claim(s) 6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao’015 in view of Li’131 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wong et al ( US 20190281522 A1, Priority Date: Mar 8, 2018).
Regarding claim 6 (Previously Presented), Qiao’015 modified by Li’131 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, 5G system comprises 5G core network with access networks including NG-RAN and/or non-3GPP AN, par 0103), wherein:
the wireless communication link between the wireless base station and the UE device operates according to at least one of a fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) protocol and a sixth generation (6G) protocol (see, Fig. 1, 5G access network including 3GPP access network between UE and NG-RAN, par 0103, 0106).
The combination of Qiao’015 and Li’131 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
the wireline communication link between the wireline access network and the access device operates according to a data over cable service interface specification (DOCSIS) protocol.
However Wong’522 from the same field of endeavor (see, fig. 4, communications system 400 including UEs serviced by 3GPP radio access, non-3GPP radio access network and Docsis network, par 0034) discloses: the wireline communication link (Fig. 4, coaxial cable can be equated to wireline communication link, par 0034) between the wireline access network and the access device (Cable Modem(CM) can be equated to access device, par 0023) operates according to a data over cable service interface specification (DOCSIS) protocol (see, Fig. 3-4, coaxial cable connects CM# 1 and Cable Modem Termination system (CMTS) using Docsis , par 0023, 0034).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the method pertains to as taught by Wong’522 into that of Qiao’015 modified by Li’131. The motivation would have been to differentiate multiple UEs that attached to the same cable modem within the cable network (par 0033).
Regarding claim 8 (Previously Presented), Qiao’015 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, 5G system comprises 5G core network with access networks including NG-RAN and/or non-3GPP AN, par 0103), wherein:
the wireless communication link between the wireless base station and the UE device operates according to at least one of a fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) protocol and a sixth generation (6G) protocol (see, Fig. 1, 5G access network including 3GPP access network between UE and NG-RAN, par 0103, 0106).
The combination of Qiao’015 and Li’131 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: the wireline communication link between the wireline access network and the access device serves a Wi-Fi wireless base station.
However Wong’522 from the same field of endeavor (see, fig. 4, communications system 400 including UEs serviced by 3GPP radio access, non-3GPP radio access network and Docsis network, par 0034) discloses: the wireline communication link (Fig. 4, coaxial cable can be equated to wireline communication link, par 0034) between the wireline access network (Cable Modem Termination system (CMTS) and the access device (Cable Modem(CM) can be equated to access device, par 0023) serves a Wi-Fi wireless base station (see, Fig. 4, non-3GPP radio access component WiFi base station coupled to CMTS through CM, par 0034, 0036. Noted, WiFi base station can be equated to Wi-Fi wireless base station, par 0034).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the method pertains to as taught by Wong’522 into that of Qiao’015 modified by Li’131. The motivation would have been to differentiate multiple UEs that attached to the same cable modem within the cable network (par 0033).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Qiao’015 modified by Li’131 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, 5G system comprises 5G core network with access networks including NG-RAN and/or non-3GPP AN, par 0103), further comprising.
The combination of Qiao’015 and Li’131 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: supporting (a) a wireless base station and (b) premises broadband access, using the wireline access network.
However Wong’522 from the same field of endeavor (see, fig. 4, communications system 400 including UEs serviced by 3GPP radio access, non-3GPP radio access network and Docsis network, par 0034) discloses: supporting (a) a wireless base station and (b) premises broadband access, using the wireline access network (Note, fig. 4, Internet of Things (IOT) device UEs connected to the same server 432 via Docsis cable from non-3GPP radio access by WIFI AP 408, par 0034-0036, 0091. Note: Docsis provide broadband internet through cable).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to implement the method pertains to as taught by Wong’522 into that of Qiao’015 modified by Li’131. The motivation would have been to differentiate multiple UEs that attached to the same cable modem within the cable network (par 0033).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao’015 in view of Li’131 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al (US20190223252A1, PCT Priority Date: Jul 21, 2017).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Qiao’015 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, 5G system comprises 5G core network with access networks including NG-RAN and/or non-3GPP AN, par 0103), wherein:
the wireless communication link between the wireless base station and the UE device operates according to at least one of a fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) protocol and a sixth generation (6G) protocol (see, Fig. 1, 5G access network including 3GPP access network between UE and NG-RAN, par 0103, 0106).
The combination of Qiao’015 and Li’131 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: the wireline communication link between the wireline access network and the access device operates according to a digital subscriber line (DSL) protocol.
However Zhou’252 from the same field of endeavor (see, fig. 1, FMC networking of a 5G network with mobile access network connection, fixed network connection, and both a mobile access network connection and a fixed network connection to support multi-connection established by using both 5G and a digital subscriber line (DSL), par 0004) discloses: the wireline communication link (Fig. 3, connection between CPE and DSLAM) between the wireline access network (Fig. 3, DSLAM) and the access device (Fig. 3, CPE, par 0004) operates according to a digital subscriber line (DSL) protocol (see, Fig. 3, DSL connection between CPE and DSLAM, par 0004).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Zhou’252 into that of Qiao’015 modified by Li’131. The motivation would have been to implement direct packet exchange between the terminal and the core network device (par 0017).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473