DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-11, 13, 16-18, 20, 25-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (U.S. Publication US 2023/0188304 A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 16, Lim et al. discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first wireless communication device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured, individually or collectively, to cause the first wireless communication device to perform a method for wireless communication (See the abstract, paragraphs 47-48, paragraphs 53-55, and Figure 1 of Lim et al. for reference to a first station, which is a first wireless communication device that may be an AP, comprising a memory and a processor coupled to the memory performing an operation intended by the AP including wirelessly transmitting a PPDU). Lim et al. also discloses communicating with a second wireless communication device using a single resource unit (RU) allocation from multiple RUs in a first multiple user (MU) transmission, the single RU allocation being allocated to the second wireless communication device (See paragraphs 47-48, paragraph 134, paragraphs 217-223, paragraph 237, and Figures 1 and 10 of Lim et al. for reference to the AP communicating with a second station, which is a second wireless communication device that may be a non-AP STA, wherein the communication may be a multi-user mode PPDU using a single-RU, SRU, allocation from multiple RUs based on a MSB 1 bit of RU allocation bit set to 0 used to indicate a single RU allocation). Lim et al. further discloses transmitting an indication that specifies activation of multiple RU (M-RU) MU communications (See paragraphs 217-223 and paragraph 237, of Lim et al. for reference to transmitting another MU PPDU having a MSB 1 bit of RU allocation bit set to 1 used to indicate a multiple RU allocation, which is an activation of MRU MU communications). Lim et al. also discloses communicating with the second wireless communication device using the M-RU MU communications based at least in part on the activation of the M-RU MU communications, the M-RU communications comprising at least one of at least two RUs of a second MU transmission that are allocated to the second wireless communication device (See paragraph 50, paragraphs 86-89, paragraphs 217-223, paragraph 237, and Figures 1 and 4 of Lim et al. for reference to the AP communicating with the non-AP STA using a PPDU having a data field including user data allocated based on the MSB 1 bit of RU allocation bit set to 1 used to indicate a multiple RU allocation, such that the communication of data is via at least one of the allocated MRUs).
With respect to claims 2 and 17, Lim et al. discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: change, based at least in part on the activation, at least one of: a number of RUs allocated to the second wireless communication device, or one or more transmission parameters associated with the M-RU MU communications (See paragraphs 217-223 and paragraph 237, of Lim et al. for reference to changing the number or RUs allocated to the non-AP STA based on the MSB 1 bit of RU allocation, such that a single RU is allocated with the bit is set to 0 and multiple RUs are allocated with the bit is set to 1).
With respect to claims 3 and 18, Lim et al. discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: indicate, to the second wireless communication device, deactivation of the M-RU MU communications (See paragraphs 217-223 and paragraph 237, of Lim et al. for reference to activation or deactivation of MRU allocation of the MU PPDU being indicated based on the MSB 1 bit of RU allocation, such that MRU allocation is deactivated when the MSB 1 bit of RU allocation is set to 0 indicating a SRU allocation).
With respect to claims 5 and 20, Lim et al. discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) that indicates that the at least two RUs associated with the second MU transmission are allocated to the second wireless communication device communications (See paragraphs 86-89, paragraphs 217-223, paragraph 237, and Figure 4, of Lim et al. for reference to the AP transmitting a MU PPDU with a MSB 1 bit of RU allocation set to 1 indicating that multiple RUs are allocated to non-AP STA).
With respect to claims 10 and 25, Lim et al. discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a second wireless communication device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the second wireless communication device to perform a method for wireless communication (See the abstract, paragraphs 47-48, paragraphs 56-57, and Figure 1 of Lim et al. for reference to a second station, which is a second wireless communication device that may be a non-AP STA, comprising a memory and a processor coupled to the memory performing an operation intended by the AP including wirelessly receiving a PPDU). Lim et al. also discloses communicating with a first wireless communication device using a single resource unit (RU) allocation from multiple RUs included in a first multiple user (MU) transmission, the single RU allocation being allocated to the second wireless communication device (See paragraphs 47-48, paragraph 134, paragraphs 217-223, paragraph 237, and Figures 1 and 10 of Lim et al. for reference to the non-AP STA communicating with a first station, which is a second wireless communication device that may be an AP, wherein the communication may be a multi-user mode PPDU using a single-RU, SRU, allocation from multiple RUs based on a MSB 1 bit of RU allocation bit set to 0 used to indicate a single RU allocation). Lim et al. further discloses receiving a first indication that specifies activation of multiple RU (M-RU) MU communications (See paragraphs 217-223 and paragraph 237, of Lim et al. for reference to receiving another MU PPDU having a MSB 1 bit of RU allocation bit set to 1 used to indicate a multiple RU allocation, which is an activation of MRU MU communications). Lim et al. also discloses communicating with the first wireless communication device using the M-RU MU communications based at least in part on the activation of the M-RU MU communications, the M-RU communications comprising at least one of at least two RUs of a second MU transmission that are allocated to the second wireless communication device (See paragraph 50, paragraphs 86-89, paragraphs 217-223, paragraph 237, and Figures 1 and 4 of Lim et al. for reference to the AP communicating with the non-AP STA using a PPDU having a data field including user data allocated based on the MSB 1 bit of RU allocation bit set to 1 used to indicate a multiple RU allocation, such that the communication of data is via at least one of the allocated MRUs).
With respect to claims 11 and 26, Lim et al. discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: receive a second indication that specifies deactivation of the M-RU MU communications (See paragraphs 217-223 and paragraph 237, of Lim et al. for reference to activation or deactivation of MRU allocation of the MU PPDU being indicated based on the MSB 1 bit of RU allocation, such that MRU allocation is deactivated when the MSB 1 bit of RU allocation is set to 0 indicating a SRU allocation).
With respect to claims 13 and 28, Lim et al. discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) that indicates that the at least two RUs associated with the second MU transmission are allocated to the second wireless communication device (See paragraphs 86-89, paragraphs 217-223, paragraph 237, and Figure 4, of Lim et al. for reference to the non-AP STA receiving a MU PPDU with a MSB 1 bit of RU allocation set to 1 indicating that multiple RUs are allocated to non-AP STA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9, 14-15, 21-24, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. in view of Jang et al. (U.S. Publication US 2023/0081649 A1).
With respect to claims 6 and 21, Lim et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: obtain M-RU capability information associated with the second wireless communication device, wherein transmitting the indication that specifies activation of the M-RU MU communications is based at least in part on the M-RU capability information.
With respect to claims 7 and 22, Lim et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the M-RU capability information indicates the second wireless communication device supports the M-RU MU communications.
With respect to claims 8 and 23, Lim et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: select a number of RUs associated with the second MU transmission to allocate to the second wireless communication device based at least in part on the M-RU capability information.
With respect to claims 9 and 24, Lim et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the M-RU capability information indicates device capabilities associated with at least one of: duplicate transmission support, a maximum number of decodable physical layer service data units (PSDUs), or a performance condition.
With further respect to claims 6-9 and 21-24, Jang et al., in the field of communications, discloses an AP receiving an indication of a MRU capability of a STA indicating whether or not the STA has the MRU capability, such that the AP allocates multiple RUs to a STA having the MRU capability and does not allocate multiple RUs to a STA not having the MRU capability thereby selecting a number of RUs allocated to the STA based on the MRU capability, wherein the MRU capability further indicates a transmission capability when a RU of the multiple RUs is in a busy state, which is a performance condition (See paragraphs 355-361 and Figure 36 of Jang et al.). Using an indicated MRU capability of a STA to determine RU allocation of the STA has the advantage of only allowing allocation of MRUs to stations capability of communicating via MRUs. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Jang et al., to combine using an indicated MRU capability of a STA to determine RU allocation of the STA, as suggested by Jang et al., within the system and method of Lim et al., with the motivation being to only allow allocation of MRUs to stations capability of communicating via MRUs.
With respect to claims 14 and 29, Lim et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the second wireless communication device to: transmit M-RU capability information that indicates support for the M-RU MU communications.
With respect to claims 15 and 30, Lim et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the M-RU capability information indicates device capabilities associated with at least one of: duplicate transmission support, a maximum number of decodable physical layer service data units (PSDUs), or a performance condition.
With further respect to claims 14-15 and 29-30, Jang et al., in the field of communications, discloses a STA transmitting an indication of a MRU capability of the STA to the AP indicating whether or not the STA has the MRU capability, such that the AP allocates multiple RUs to a STA having the MRU capability and does not allocate multiple RUs to a STA not having the MRU capability, wherein the MRU capability further indicates a transmission capability when a RU of the multiple RUs is in a busy state, which is a performance condition (See paragraphs 355-361 and Figure 36 of Jang et al.). Using an indicated MRU capability of a STA to determine RU allocation of the STA has the advantage of only allowing allocation of MRUs to stations capability of communicating via MRUs. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Jang et al., to combine using an indicated MRU capability of a STA to determine RU allocation of the STA, as suggested by Jang et al., within the system and method of Lim et al., with the motivation being to only allow allocation of MRUs to stations capability of communicating via MRUs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12, 19, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 4, 12, 19, and 27 would be allowable since the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious enabling multi-link operations with based at least in part on the deactivation of the M-RU MU communication, as claimed. The closest prior art of record is Lin et al. (U.S. Publication US 2026/0025867 A1), which discloses multiple resource unit allocation used in a system wherein an Enhanced Multi-Link Multi-Radio mode may be enabled or disabled in a set of EMLMR links (See paragraph 2 of Lin et al.); however, Lin et al. does not disclose or render obvious the claimed enabling multi-link operations with based at least in part on the deactivation of the M-RU MU communication.
Conclusion
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461