Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 51-53, 55-56, and 60-61 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
1/ claims 1, 52, and 61 recites “wherein at least one data packet is communicated on the UL path and/or the DL path between a package data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer entity of the first user device and a radio-link control (RLC) layer entity of the second user device”. It is not clear if the data packet is to be terminated at the RLC or is passed further up to PDC layer from The RLC layer. In the current form, it seems that the packet is terminated at the RLC layer. If it is terminated at the RLC, the disclosure does not explicitly indicate cross device mapping of PDCP layer packet to RLC packet and how it is performed provided that the two layers handle packets in distinct formats. In 3GPP LTE/NR architecture, PDCP and RLC are both intra-UE protocol layers. A packet flow downward from upper layer to PDCP layer and then to RLC layer, MAC layer and PHY later sequentially to be forwarded to receiving UE, and at the receiving UE, the packet goes up from PHY layer to MAC layer to RLC layer to PDCP layer. The specification does not provide a standardized cross-UE PDCP/RLC mapping and termination of packet between PDCP and RLC layers. Hence that making determining the boundary of the claims indeterminate.
2/ claim 3 recites “ sending the data packet from the PDCP layer entity of the first user device to the RLC layer entity of the second user device”. It is not clear if the data packet is to be terminated at the RLC or is passed further up to PDC layer from The RLC layer. In the current form, it seems that the packet is terminated at the RLC layer. If it is terminated at the RLC, the disclosure does not explicitly indicate cross device mapping of PDCP layer packet to RLC packet and how it is performed provided that the two layers handle packets in distinct formats. In 3GPP LTE/NR architecture, PDCP and RLC are both intra-UE protocol layers. A packet flow downward from upper layer to PDCP layer and then to RLC layer, MAC layer and PHY later sequentially to be forwarded to receiving UE, and at the receiving UE, the packet goes up from PHY layer to MAC layer to RLC layer to PDCP layer. The specification does not provide a standardized cross-UE PDCP/RLC mapping and termination of packet between PDCP and RLC layers. Hence that making determining the boundary of the claims indeterminate.
3/ claim 7 recites “receiving, with the PDCP layer entity of the first user device, the data packet from the RLC layer entity of the second user device” It is not clear if the data packet is to be terminated at the RLC or is passed further up to PDC layer from The RLC layer. In the current form, it seems that the packet is terminated at the RLC layer. If it is terminated at the RLC, the disclosure does not explicitly indicate cross device mapping of PDCP layer packet to RLC packet and how it is performed provided that the two layers handle packets in distinct formats. In 3GPP LTE/NR architecture, PDCP and RLC are both intra-UE protocol layers. A packet flow downward from upper layer to PDCP layer and then to RLC layer, MAC layer and PHY later sequentially to be forwarded to receiving UE, and at the receiving UE, the packet goes up from PHY layer to MAC layer to RLC layer to PDCP layer. The specification does not provide a standardized cross-UE PDCP/RLC mapping and termination of packet between PDCP and RLC layers. Hence that making determining the boundary of the claims indeterminate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 51-53, 56, and 60-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US pg. no. 20190215685), further in view of Luo (US pg. no. 20210068176).
Regarding claim 1. Wang discloses a method for wireless communication, the method comprising: establishing, with a first user device, an aggregation link between a physical layer entity of the first user device and a physical layer entity of a second user device(fig. 2 B discloses aggregation links established between the physical layer of the Tx side (first user device) and the physical layer of the Rx side (second user device); [0031] PC5 Carrier Aggregation (CA) is proposed to achieve high reliability and high data rate. CA denotes that two or more Component Carriers (CCs) are aggregated in order to support wider transmission bandwidths), wherein the aggregation link is for an uplink (UL) path and/or a downlink (DL) path ([0031] PC5 Carrier Aggregation (CA) is proposed to achieve high reliability and high data rate. CA denotes that two or more Component Carriers (CCs) are aggregated in order to support wider transmission bandwidths. When it comes to PC5 CA, it means that vehicle UE may simultaneously perform sidelink reception (UL) or transmission (DL) on one or multiple PC5 CCs), and wherein at least one data packet is communicated on the UL path and/or the DL path between a package data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer entity of the first user device and a radio-link control (RLC) layer entity of the second user device ([0045-0048] discloses when data packet arrives at the PDCP layer 220 from upper layer 210 at the Tx UE side 203, the PDCP entity delivers the PDCP PDU to RLC entity 230…[0047] the MAC entity 240 may be able to schedule the data packet buffered in the RLC entity 230 associated with RB (to be transmitted across aggregated carriers of fig. 2B from the physical layer of the Tx side)…[0048] for the Rx side 204 (UE2), since there is only one Rx RLC entity, the RLC SDU can be delivered to the same RLC entity for re-ordering and duplicate discard. That is, the re-ordering and duplicate discard in Rx PDCP entity is no longer necessary); and
Wang inherently discloses communicating, with the first user device¸ the at least one data packet with the second user device over the aggregation link ([0045-0048] discloses when data packet arrives at the PDCP layer 220 from upper layer 210 at the Tx UE side 203, the PDCP entity delivers the PDCP PDU to RLC entity 230…[0047] the MAC entity 240 may be able to schedule the data packet buffered in the RLC entity 230 associated with RB (to be transmitted across aggregated carriers of fig. 2B from the physical layer of the Tx side)…[0048] for the Rx side 204 (UE2), since there is only one Rx RLC entity, the RLC SDU can be delivered to the same RLC entity for re-ordering and duplicate discard. That is, the re-ordering and duplicate discard in Rx PDCP entity is no longer necessary).
But, Wang does not explicitly disclose: communicating, with the first user device¸ the at least one data packet with the second user device over the aggregation link;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Luo discloses communicating, with the first user device¸ the at least one data packet with the second user device over the aggregation link (fig. 9 discloses first terminal device and second terminal device establishing aggregated links at the PHY layer to transmit packets from PDCP layer through PDCP->RLC-> MAC -> PHY layers of first terminal device to corresponding reverse order layers of the second terminal device PHY->MAC->RLC->PDCP; [0151] S201: The first terminal device receives, through a first path, a first data packet sent by the second terminal device.[0152] For example, the second terminal device sends the first data packet to the first terminal device through the first path, so that the first terminal device receives the first data packet through the first path.[0153] The first path is borne on a first wireless interface, and the first wireless interface is a wireless communications interface for direct communication between the second terminal device and the first terminal device.[0154] S202: The first terminal device receives, through a second path, a second data packet sent by the second terminal device. Similarly the first terminal device ((first user device) can transmit to the second terminal device (second user device) using the aggregated paths).
Therefore, it would have been obvious stoa person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Wang with Lou. The modification would allow aggregated path transmission to enable increased bandwidth for faster rate of data communication.
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Wang discloses wherein a data packet of the at least one data packet is for an uplink transmission between the first user device and a wireless access node (fig. 1C discloses UE 136 communicating via UL to access node 138 to device 132 via DL).
Lou discloses, wherein a data packet of the at least one data packet is for an uplink transmission between the first user device (fig. 10A first terminal) and a wireless access node (fig. 10 A wireless network device); [0143] In the embodiments of this application, the wireless network device may be referred to as a radio access network (radio access network, RAN) device, and may be, for example, a base station, a transmit and receive point (transmit and receive point, TRP), or an access node), and wherein communicating the at least one data packet with the second user device over the aggregation link comprises: sending the data packet from the PDCP layer entity of the first user device to the RLC layer entity of the second user device (fig. 10A discloses a system configuration that a data packet from PDCP of first terminal device to be communicated via uplink to wireless network device layers to be transmitted to PHY layer of the second terminal to be forwarded to RLC layer and finally to PDCP layer for termination).
Regarding claim 7. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Wang discloses wherein a data packet of the at least one data packet is for a downlink transmission between the first user device and a wireless access node (fig. 1D discloses data being communicated from 141 (second device) through 148 ( access node through DL to UE 146).
Louo discloses, wherein a data packet of the at least one data packet is for a downlink transmission between the first user device (fig. 10A first terminal) and a wireless access node ((fig. 10 A wireless network device; [0143] In the embodiments of this application, the wireless network device may be referred to as a radio access network (radio access network, RAN) device, and may be, for example, a base station, a transmit and receive point (transmit and receive point, TRP), or an access node), and wherein communicating the data packet with the second user device over the aggregation link comprises: receiving, with the PDCP layer entity of the first user device, the data packet from the RLC layer entity of the second user device ((fig. 10A discloses a system configuration that a data packet from PDCP of second terminal device via RLC layer of the first terminal device to PHY layer through MAC layer to be communicated via uplink to wireless network device layers to be transmitted to PHY layer of the first terminal to be forwarded to RLC layer and finally to PDCP layer for termination).
Regarding claim 51. The combination discloses method of claim 1.
Luo further discloses, wherein a header of the data packet includes a source radio bearer index of a source radio bearer ([0068] sending, by a second terminal device, a first data packet to a first terminal device through a first path, where the first data packet carries an aggregation identifier, and the aggregation identifier is used to indicate a radio bearer (source radio bearer index) to which the first data packet belongs).
Regarding claim 52. Wang discloses a method for wireless communication, the method comprising:
establishing, with a second user device, an aggregation link between a physical layer entity of the second user device and a physical layer entity of a first user device (fig. 2 B discloses aggregation links established between the physical layer of the Tx side (first user device) and the physical layer of the Rx side (second user device); [0031] PC5 Carrier Aggregation (CA) is proposed to achieve high reliability and high data rate. CA denotes that two or more Component Carriers (CCs) are aggregated in order to support wider transmission bandwidths), wherein the variegation link is for an uplink (UL) path and/or a downlink (DL) path ([0031] PC5 Carrier Aggregation (CA) is proposed to achieve high reliability and high data rate. CA denotes that two or more Component Carriers (CCs) are aggregated in order to support wider transmission bandwidths. When it comes to PC5 CA, it means that vehicle UE may simultaneously perform sidelink reception (UL) or transmission (DL) on one or multiple PC5 CCs), and wherein at least one data packet is communicated on the UL path and/or the DL path between a package data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer entity of the first user device and a radio-link control (RLC) layer entity of the second user device ([0045-0048] discloses when data packet arrives at the PDCP layer 220 from upper layer 210 at the Tx UE side 203, the PDCP entity delivers the PDCP PDU to RLC entity 230…[0047] the MAC entity 240 may be able to schedule the data packet buffered in the RLC entity 230 associated with RB (to be transmitted across aggregated carriers of fig. 2B from the physical layer of the Tx side)…[0048] for the Rx side 204 (UE2), since there is only one Rx RLC entity, the RLC SDU can be delivered to the same RLC entity for re-ordering and duplicate discard. That is, the re-ordering and duplicate discard in Rx PDCP entity is no longer necessary); and
Wang inherently discloses communicating, with the second user device, at least one data packet with the first user device over the aggregation link ([0045-0048] discloses when data packet arrives at the PDCP layer 220 from upper layer 210 at the Tx UE side 203, the PDCP entity delivers the PDCP PDU to RLC entity 230…[0047] the MAC entity 240 may be able to schedule the data packet buffered in the RLC entity 230 associated with RB (to be transmitted across aggregated carriers of fig. 2B from the physical layer of the Tx side)…[0048] for the Rx side 204 (UE2), since there is only one Rx RLC entity, the RLC SDU can be delivered to the same RLC entity for re-ordering and duplicate discard. That is, the re-ordering and duplicate discard in Rx PDCP entity is no longer necessary).
But, Wang does not explicitly disclose: communicating, with the second user device, at least one data packet with the first user device over the aggregation link;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Luo discloses communicating, with the second user device, at least one data packet with the first user device over the aggregation link (fig. 9 discloses first terminal device and second terminal device establishing aggregated links at the PHY layer to transmit packets from PDCP layer through PDCP->RLC-> MAC -> PHY layers of first terminal device to corresponding reverse order layers of the second terminal device PHY->MAC->RLC->PDCP; [0151] S201: The first terminal device receives, through a first path, a first data packet sent by the second terminal device.[0152] For example, the second terminal device sends the first data packet to the first terminal device through the first path, so that the first terminal device receives the first data packet through the first path.[0153] The first path is borne on a first wireless interface, and the first wireless interface is a wireless communications interface for direct communication between the second terminal device and the first terminal device.[0154] S202: The first terminal device receives, through a second path, a second data packet sent by the second terminal device. Similarly the first terminal device ((first user device) can transmit to the second terminal device (second user device) using the aggregated paths).
Therefore, it would have been obvious stoa person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Wang with Lou. The modification would allow aggregated path transmission to enable increased bandwidth for faster rate of data communication.
Regarding claim 53. The combination discloses method of claim 52.
All other limitations of claim 53 are similar with the limitations of claim 3 rejected above
Regarding claim 56. The combination discloses method of claim 52.
All other limitations of claim 56 are similar with the limitations of claim 7 rejected above.
Regarding claim 60. The combination discloses method of claim 52.
All other limitations of claim 60 are similar with the limitations of claim 51.
Regarding claim 61. A first user device (fig. TX side UE 203)comprising:
a memory storing a plurality of instructions (fig. 2B discloses Tx side UE 203 that comprises processor and memory),; and
at least one processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions, wherein upon execution of the plurality of instructions (fig. 2B discloses Tx side UE 203 that comprises processor and memory), the at least one processor is configured to cause the first user device to:
All other limitations of claim 61 are similar with the limitations of claim 1 rejected above.
Claim(s) 6 and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wang (US pg. no. 20190215685), and Luo (US pg. no. 20210068176), further in view of Jo (US pg. no. 20220240142).
Regarding claim 6. The combination discloses method of claim 3.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose, further comprising: indicating, with the PDCP layer entity of the first user device, to a RLC layer entity of the first user device to discard a data packet delivered from the PDCP layer entity of the first user device to the RLC layer entity of the first user device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jo discloses further comprising: indicating, with the PDCP layer entity of the first user device, to a RLC layer entity of the first user device to discard a data packet delivered from the PDCP layer entity of the first user device to the RLC layer entity of the first user device ([0008] Preferably, the method further comprises the steps of switching an uplink transmission path of the PDCP entity from the at least one first RLC entity to the at least one second RLC entity, while a downlink reception path of the PDCP entity is related to both the at least one first RLC entity and the at least one second RLC entity. [0009] Preferably, a discard indication informing discard of the packets is transmitted from the PDCP entity to the at least one first RLC entity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Jo. The modification would allow effective switching of an uplink transmission path of the PDCP entity from the at least one first RLC entity to the at least one second RLC entity by stopping communication with the first RLC.
Regarding claim 55. The combination discloses method of claim 53.
All other limitations of claim 55 are similar with the limitations of claim 6 rejected above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445