Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections on page 8 line 26 to page 9 line 15, filed 5/20/2026, with respect to claims 11-13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 11-13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 9 line 16 to page 15 line 7, filed 5/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al. Refer to updated rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al.
Referring to claim 1, Nandagopalan et al disclose in Figures 1-15 a device (beamformer STA X), comprising:
A processor (Figure 1B, Sections 0039-0046, and Sections 0154-0157: beamformer STA X comprises a processor).
At least one network interface controller (Figure 1B, Sections 0039-0046, and Sections 0154-0157: beamformer STA X comprises radio circuitry with a transmitter and receiver to provide beamformer STA X access to a network) configured to provide access to a network.
A memory (Figure 1B, Sections 0039-0046, and Sections 0154-0157: beamformer STA X comprises a processor) communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a pre-association sounding logic (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109: memory of beamformer STA X stores instructions to transmit a plurality of sounding PPDUs to beamformee STA Y, receive channel state information from beamformee STA Y based on the sounding PPDUs, and then beamform transmissions prior to completion of association) that is configured to:
Receive, from a network device (beamformee STA Y), an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability. Figure 2; Sections 0047-0069, 0109, and 0132: when beamforming is employed, beamformee STA Y declares its capabilities during its attempted association with beamformer STA X (claimed “pre-association sounding capability”). Declared capabilities include beamformer capability, beamformee capability, implicit feedback capability, explicit feedback capability
omni-directional transmission capability of control PHY frames, omni-directional reception capability of control PHY frames, and class (e.g., A, B, or C). Specifically, beamformee STA Y declares its capability to beamformer STA X during its attempted association with beamformer STA X, wherein the capability includes the use of sounding PDDUs in beamforming and feedback (Sections 0063, 0069, and 0132; claimed “pre-association sounding capability”), wherein beamforming and feedback is done prior to completion of association between beamformer STA X and beamformee STA Y (Section 0172).
Transmit (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109) a plurality of sounding frames to the network device. Beamformer STA X transmits a plurality of sounding PPDUs to beamformee STA Y.
Receive (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109) channel state information from the network device based at least on the plurality of sounding frames. Beamformee STA Y uses the received sounding PPDUs to calculate channel state information and then transmits the channel state information to beamformer STA X.
Beamform (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109) at least one transmission to the network device based on the channel state information prior to completion of an association with the network device (Section 0172). Beamformer STA X uses the received channel state information to beamform transmissions to beamformee STA Y. Beamformer STA X can perform beamforming prior to completion of association with beamformee STA Y. Specifically, Section 0172: “… the beamforming can be performed in a regular (e.g. non-BFTT period) contention access period (CAP) using regular rules and in A-BFT for new STAs that intend to do beamforming prior to association (claimed “prior to completion of an association with the network device”).”. Refer to Sections 0031-0158.
Referring to claim 2, Nandagopalan et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the transmission of the plurality of sounding frames is conducted in advance of an association. Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109: Beamformer STA X transmits a plurality of sounding PPDUs to beamformee STA Y, beamformee STA Y then uses the received sounding PPDUs to calculate channel state information and transmits the channel state information to beamformer STA X, and beamformer STA X then uses the received channel state information to beamform transmissions to beamformee STA Y. Beamformer STA X can perform beamforming prior to completion of association with beamformee STA Y. Specifically, Section 0172: “… the beamforming can be performed in a regular (e.g. non-BFTT period) contention access period (CAP) using regular rules and in A-BFT for new STAs that intend to do beamforming prior to association (claimed “in advance of an association”).”. Since beamformer STA X can perform beamforming prior to completion of association with beamformee STA Y, beamformer STA X transmits a plurality of sounding PPDUs to beamformee STA Y before association with beamformee STA Y is complete (claimed “in advance of an association”). Refer to Sections 0031-0158.
Referring to claim 3, Nandagopalan et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the transmission of the plurality of sounding frames is to a user device (computers including laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, etc.). Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109: Beamformer STA X transmits a plurality of sounding PPDUs to beamformee STA Y. Section 0035: STA Y can be user devices such as computers including laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, etc. Refer to Sections 0031-0158.
Referring to claim 4, Nandagopalan et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the association is between the device and the user device. Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109: an association is formed between beamformer STA X and beamformee STA Y. Refer to Sections 0031-0158.
Referring to claim 5, Nandagopalan et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the receiving of the channel state information is conducted in advance of the association. Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109: Beamformer STA X transmits a plurality of sounding PPDUs to beamformee STA Y, beamformee STA Y then uses the received sounding PPDUs to calculate channel state information and transmits the channel state information to beamformer STA X, and beamformer STA X then uses the received channel state information to beamform transmissions to beamformee STA Y. Beamformer STA X can perform beamforming prior to completion of association with beamformee STA Y. Specifically, Section 0172: “… the beamforming can be performed in a regular (e.g. non-BFTT period) contention access period (CAP) using regular rules and in A-BFT for new STAs that intend to do beamforming prior to association (claimed “in advance of the association”).”. Since beamformer STA X can perform beamforming prior to completion of association with beamformee STA Y, beamformer STA X receives the channel state information from beamformee STA Y before association with beamformee STA Y is complete (claimed “in advance of the association”). Refer to Sections 0031-0158.
Referring to claim 14, Nandagopalan et al disclose in Figures 1-15 a device (beamformee STA Y), comprising:
A processor (Figure 1B, Sections 0039-0046, and Sections 0154-0157: beamformer STA Y comprises a processor).
At least one network interface controller (Figure 1B, Sections 0039-0046, and Sections 0154-0157: beamformer STA Y comprises radio circuitry with a transmitter and receiver to provide beamformer STA Y access to a network) configured to provide access to a network.
A memory (Figure 1B, Sections 0039-0046, and Sections 0154-0157: beamformer STA Y comprises a processor) communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a pre-association sounding logic (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109: memory of beamformee STA Ystores instructions to receive a plurality of sounding PPDUs from beamformer STA X, transmit channel state information from beamformer STA X based on the sounding PPDUs, and then receive beamformed transmissions prior to completion of association) that is configured to:
Transmit, to a network device (beamformer STA X), an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability. Figure 2; Sections 0047-0069, 0109, and 0132: when beamforming is employed, beamformee STA Y declares its capabilities during its attempted association with beamformer STA X (claimed “pre-association sounding capability”). Declared capabilities include beamformer capability, beamformee capability, implicit feedback capability, explicit feedback capability
omni-directional transmission capability of control PHY frames, omni-directional reception capability of control PHY frames, and class (e.g., A, B, or C). Specifically, beamformee STA Y declares its capability to beamformer STA X during its attempted association with beamformer STA X, wherein the capability includes the use of sounding PDDUs in beamforming and feedback (Sections 0063, 0069, and 0132; claimed “pre-association sounding capability”), wherein beamforming and feedback is done prior to completion of association between beamformer STA X and beamformee STA Y (Section 0172).
Receive (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109) a plurality of sounding frames to the network device. Beamformer STA X transmits a plurality of sounding PPDUs to beamformee STA Y.
Transmit (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109) channel state information from the network device based at least on the plurality of sounding frames. Beamformee STA Y uses the received sounding PPDUs to calculate channel state information and then transmits the channel state information to beamformer STA X.
Receive (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109) at least one beamformed transmission to the network device based on the channel state information prior to completion of an association with the network device (Section 0172). Beamformer STA X uses the received channel state information to beamform transmissions to beamformee STA Y. Beamformer STA X can perform beamforming prior to completion of association with beamformee STA Y. Specifically, Section 0172: “… the beamforming can be performed in a regular (e.g. non-BFTT period) contention access period (CAP) using regular rules and in A-BFT for new STAs that intend to do beamforming prior to association (claimed “prior to completion of an association with the network device”).”. Refer to Sections 0031-0158.
Referring to claim 20, Nandagopalan et al disclose in Figures 1-15 a method for performing sounding (performed by beamformer STA X), comprising:
Receiving, from a network device (beamformee STA Y), an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability. Figure 2; Sections 0047-0069, 0109, and 0132: when beamforming is employed, beamformee STA Y declares its capabilities during its attempted association with beamformer STA X (claimed “pre-association sounding capability”). Declared capabilities include beamformer capability, beamformee capability, implicit feedback capability, explicit feedback capability
omni-directional transmission capability of control PHY frames, omni-directional reception capability of control PHY frames, and class (e.g., A, B, or C). Specifically, beamformee STA Y declares its capability to beamformer STA X during its attempted association with beamformer STA X, wherein the capability includes the use of sounding PDDUs in beamforming and feedback (Sections 0063, 0069, and 0132; claimed “pre-association sounding capability”), wherein beamforming and feedback is done prior to completion of association between beamformer STA X and beamformee STA Y (Section 0172).
Transmitting (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109) a plurality of sounding frames to the network device. Beamformer STA X transmits a plurality of sounding PPDUs to beamformee STA Y.
Receiving (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109) channel state information from the network device based at least on the plurality of sounding frames. Beamformee STA Y uses the received sounding PPDUs to calculate channel state information and then transmits the channel state information to beamformer STA X.
Beamforming (Figure 4; Sections 0007, 0038, 0047, 0069-0072, 0076, and 0109) at least one transmission to the network device based on the channel state information prior to completion of an association with the network device (Section 0172). Beamformer STA X uses the received channel state information to beamform transmissions to beamformee STA Y. Beamformer STA X can perform beamforming prior to completion of association with beamformee STA Y. Specifically, Section 0172: “… the beamforming can be performed in a regular (e.g. non-BFTT period) contention access period (CAP) using regular rules and in A-BFT for new STAs that intend to do beamforming prior to association (claimed “prior to completion of an association with the network device”).”. Refer to Sections 0031-0158.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al.
Referring to claim 6, Nandagopalan et al do not disclose wherein the indication associated with the pre-association sounding capability is received in one of a probe request, an authentication request, or an association request.
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0024 wherein STA requests non-associated APs to initiate channel sounding operations with STA prior to association with the non-associated APs; STA broadcasts a probe request including a request for non-associated APs to initiate a channel sounding operation with STA. So: STA transmits a probe request (claimed “indication”) to non-associated APs indicating that STA is requesting a pre-association sounding operation and is capable of performing a pre-association sounding operation. Non-associated APs send NDPs, which are sounding frames, to STA. STA uses the received NDPs to determine a goodput value for each of the non-associated APs. STA uses the determined goodput values to select one of the non-associated APs. STA then initiates an association operation with the selected AP. Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the indication associated with the pre-association sounding capability is received in one of a probe request, an authentication request (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or an association request (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so so that a STA can perform sounding operations with non-associated APs before association using a probe request, thereby allowing STA to determine channel conditions of a plurality of non-associated APs to determine an optimal AP for association.
Referring to claim 7, Nandagopalan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a probe request from the network device; generate a probe response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request; and transmit the probe response to the network device.
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0024, 0039-0043, 0046, 0058-0062, 0070-0077, 0080, 0084, and 0088 wherein STA transmits probe request 401 to AP to initiate a channel sounding operation (claimed “receive a probe request from the network device”). Sections 0061, 0098, and 0100: In response to the probe request 401, AP generates a probe response 403 to STA; preamble 630 of Figure 6 is the PHY header of the probe response 403, wherein NDPs/sounding frames are appended to the end of the preamble 630 of the probe response 403 or inserted into the data field 639 of the preamble 630 of the probe response 403 (claimed “generate a probe response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request”); AP then transmits the probe response 403 to STA (claimed “transmit the probe response to the network device”). Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a probe request from the network device; generate a probe response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request; and transmit the probe response to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that STA can initiate a channel sounding operation with AP using a probe request, and then AP can transmit sounding frames in a probe response to STA, thereby allowing STA to use the sounding frames to determine channel conditions.
Referring to claim 8, Nandagopalan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a probe request from the network device; and transmit, to the network device, a probe response followed by the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request.
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0024, 0039-0043, 0046, 0058-0062, 0070-0077, 0080, 0084, and 0088 wherein STA transmits probe request 401 to AP to initiate a channel sounding operation (claimed “receive a probe request from the network device”). Sections 0061, 0073, and 0102: In response to the probe request 401, AP transmits a probe response 403 to STA; the probe response 403 includes an NDPA informing STA that AP is to subsequently send one or more NDPs/sounding frames to STA (claimed “transmit, to the network device, a probe response followed by the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request”). Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a probe request from the network device; and transmit, to the network device, a probe response followed by the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request. One would have been motivated to do so so that STA can initiate a channel sounding operation with AP using a probe request, and then AP can transmit sounding frames after transmitting a probe response to STA, thereby allowing STA to use the sounding frames to determine channel conditions.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140247746 to You et al.
Nandagopalan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive an authentication request from the network device; generate an authentication response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the authentication request; and transmit the authentication response to the network device.
You et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Sections 0049, 0050, 0066-0083, and 0111-0116 wherein STA transmits an authentication request to AP (claimed “receive an authentication request from the network device”) and in response to the authentication request, AP transmits an authentication response to STA (claimed “transmit the authentication response to the network device”). Sections 0036, 0085, 0098, 0102, 0114-0116, and 0125: AP generates the authentication response, wherein the authentication response is based on sounding feedback information which can include the NDP frames exchanged during the authentication process (claimed “generate an authentication response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the authentication request”); AP then transmits the authentication response to STA (claimed “transmit the authentication response to the network device”). Refer to Sections 0028-0152. Similarly, Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0024, 0039-0043, 0046, 0058-0062, 0070-0077, 0080, 0084, 0088, 0098, and 0100 wherein STA transmits probe request 401 to AP to initiate a channel sounding operation; in response to the probe request 401, AP generates a probe response 403 to STA; preamble 630 of Figure 6 is the PHY header of the probe response 403, wherein NDPs/sounding frames are appended to the end of the preamble 630 of the probe response 403 or inserted into the data field 639 of the preamble 630 of the probe response 403 (claimed “generate a … response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the … request”); AP then transmits the probe response 403 to STA. So, both the authentication response of You et al and the probe response of Jia et al are used in the sounding operation and can be augmented with sounding frames. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive an authentication request from the network device; generate an authentication response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the authentication request; and transmit the authentication response to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that STA can initiate an authentication process with AP using an authentication request, and then AP can transmit sounding frames in an authentication response to STA, thereby allowing STA to use the sounding frames to determine channel conditions.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view U.S. Publication No. 20140112246 to Park et al.
Nandagopalan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive an association request from the network device; generate an association response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the association request; and transmit the association response to the network device.
Park et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0055-0056 wherein STA transmits an association request to AP (claimed “receive an association request from the network device”). Sections 0025, 0028, 0039, 0042, 0055-0056: In response to the association request, AP generates an association response to STA; the association response includes information on the sounding period wherein AP transmits sounding packets during the sounding period to STA (claimed “generate an association response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the association request”); AP then transmits the association response to STA (claimed “transmit the association response to the network device”). Refer to Sections 0009-0100. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive an association request from the network device; generate an association response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the association request; and transmit the association response to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that STA can initiate an association with AP using an association request, and then AP can transmit sounding frames in an association response to STA, thereby allowing STA to use the sounding frames to determine channel conditions.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20100061335 to Kannan et al.
Nandagopalan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: predict a roaming event for the network device based on telemetry data; and identify one or more target network devices as candidates for a future association with the network device based on the predicted roaming event.
Kannan et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0028 and 0039 wherein a detector AP tracks the roaming location of UE using sensors as UE roams through the network (claimed “predict a roaming event for the network device based on telemetry data”; the claimed “roaming event” is the roaming location of UE). Sections 0006-0010, 0028-0038, and 0049-0051: UE is initially associated with a first AP; as UE roams and changes its roaming location to another AP as determined by the sensors, first AP determines neighboring APs for UE to associate with; if UE roams to a location near a second AP of the neighboring APs, UE can associate with the second AP in the future when UE roams to second AP (claimed “identify one or more target network devices as candidates for a future association with the network device based on the predicted roaming event”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: predict a roaming event for the network device based on telemetry data; and identify one or more target network devices as candidates for a future association with the network device based on the predicted roaming event. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can associate with a near AP as UE roams through the network, thereby ensuring UE has uninterrupted data communication as UE roams through the network.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20100061335 to Kannan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al.
Nandagopalan et al and Kannan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to transmit, from the device, a sounding schedule of each of the one or more target network devices to the network device.
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0028, 0029, and 0032-0038 wherein each AP schedules the sounding window for UEs in its coverage area, and transmits the sounding window to UE’s in its coverage area. If the APs are neighbors and utilize the same frequency bands, then the APs may communicate with each other to jointly schedule sounding periods so that APs and their UEs 120 do not experience negative consequences from interference caused by multiple simultaneous transmissions on the same frequency band. So: when APs jointly develop sounding schedules with other APs, each AP transmits the sounding schedule of AP and other APs to UE (claimed “transmit, from the device, a sounding schedule of each of the one or more target network devices to the network device”). Refer to Sections 0016-0044. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to transmit, from the device, a sounding schedule of each of the one or more target network devices to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can receive the sounding schedules of APs in order to receive the sounding frames from the APs.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20100061335 to Kannan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20150043450 to Ariyavisitakul et al.
Nandagopalan et al and Kannan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive, at the device, new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices from the network device; and transmit the new channel state information to each of the one or more target network devices.
Ariyavisitakul et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0047 and 0053 wherein a first UE and a second UE estimate the interference due to each other and generates an updated CSI (claimed “receive, at the device, new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices from the network device”). The first UE then sends the updated CSI to BS (claimed “transmit the new channel state information to each of the one or more target network devices”). Refer to Sections 0016-0064. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive, at the device, new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices from the network device; and transmit the new channel state information to each of the one or more target network devices. One would have been motivated to do so to inform AP’s of the channel state information so AP’s can perform data communication according to the channel state.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20180035292 to Soundararajan et al.
Nandagopalan et al do not disclose wherein to transmit the channel state information, the pre-association sounding logic is configured to: generate an association request augmented with the channel state information; and transmit the association request to the network device.
Soundararajan et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0026-0032 wherein UE generates an association request with a CSI (Section 0032) and then transmits the association request to AP. Refer to Sections 0014-0054. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein to transmit the channel state information, the pre-association sounding logic is configured to: generate an association request augmented with the channel state information; and transmit the association request to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can associate with AP using an association request indicating CSI and AP can perform data communication according to the channel state.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al.
Nandagopalan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to receive a sounding schedule of one or more target network devices from the network device associated with the device.
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0028, 0029, and 0032-0038 wherein each AP schedules the sounding window for UEs in its coverage area, and transmits the sounding window to UE’s in its coverage area. If the APs are neighbors and utilize the same frequency bands, then the APs may communicate with each other to jointly schedule sounding periods so that APs and their UEs 120 do not experience negative consequences from interference caused by multiple simultaneous transmissions on the same frequency band. So: when APs jointly develop sounding schedules with other APs, each AP transmits the sounding schedule of AP and other APs to UE (claimed “receive a sounding schedule of one or more target network devices from the network device associated with the device”). Refer to Sections 0016-0044. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to receive a sounding schedule of one or more target network devices from the network device associated with the device. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can receive the sounding schedules of APs in order to receive the sounding frames from the APs.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20150327265 to Lee et al.
Nandagopalan et al and Ma et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to scan one or more channels based on the sounding schedule.
Lee et al disclose in Figures 1-57 and Section 0300 wherein STA searches for a sounding frame in a channel (claimed “scan one or more channels based on the sounding schedule …”). Although Lee et al do not disclose the claimed “… based on the sounding schedule”, Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0028, 0029, and 0032-0038 wherein each AP schedules the sounding window for UEs in its coverage area, and transmits the sounding window to UE’s in its coverage area. By applying Ma et al to Lee et al: STA of Lee et al searches for a sounding frame in a channel according to a sounding window (claimed “scan one or more channels based on the sounding schedule.”). Refer to Sections 0067-0556. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to scan one or more channels based on the sounding schedule. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can scan the channels for sounding frames according to the sounding schedule, thereby facilitating reception of sounding frames.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150327265 to Lee et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20100061335 to Kannan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20140056204 to Suh et al.
Nandagopalan et al, Ma et al, and Lee et al do not disclose … the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and … each of the one or more target network devices ….
Kannan et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0006-0010, 0028-0038, and 0049-0051: UE is initially associated with a first AP; as UE roams and changes its roaming location to another AP as determined by the sensors, first AP determines neighboring APs for UE to associate with; if UE roams to a location near a second AP of the neighboring APs, UE can associate with the second AP (claimed “the one or more target network devices”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and … each of the one or more target network devices …. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can associate with a near AP as UE roams through the network, thereby ensuring UE has uninterrupted data communication as UE roams through the network.
Nandagopalan et al, Ma et al, Lee et al, and Kannan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a plurality of new sounding frames from the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and determine new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices based on the plurality of new sounding frames.
Suh et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0005, 0006, 0015, 0024, 0032-0034, 0039, 0053, 0059, and 0067 wherein each of the APs in the network transmit sounding frames to STA; STA generates CSI based on the sounding frames from each of the APs, respectively, and transmits the CSI to each of the APs, respectively. Refer to Sections 0019-0073. By applying Suh et al to Kannan et al: since Suh et al disclose that each of the APs transmit sounding frames to STA and STA respectively transmits CSI to each of the APs based on the sounding frames, all APs perform the sounding operation with STA, which includes the new APs of Kannan et al that STA roams to (claimed “receive a plurality of new sounding frames from the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and determine new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices based on the plurality of new sounding frames”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a plurality of new sounding frames from the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and determine new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices based on the plurality of new sounding frames. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can associate with a near AP as UE roams through the network, thereby ensuring UE has uninterrupted data communication as UE roams through the network and perform an updated sounding operation with the new AP by using new sounding frames and generating a new CSI.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Nandagopalan et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150327265 to Lee et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20140204823 to Merlin et al.
Nandagopalan et al, Ma et al, and Lee et al do not disclose do not disclose wherein the device is a Multi-link Device that comprises a plurality of transceivers, and is configured to communicate with the network device via one of the plurality of transceivers and concurrently scan the one or more channels via another transceiver of the plurality of transceivers.
Merlin et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0035, 0054, 0048, 0093, and 0094 wherein a multi-link device has a plurality of transceivers to allow for distribution of load among the plurality of transceivers and allow for the concurrent transmission of packets on multiple links to balance the communication load. Sections 0018, 0029, 0032, 0035, 0036, 0042, 0045, 0048, 0050, 0065, 0106, and 0107: one of the plurality of transceivers is assigned to communication with a network node, which can be an AP (Section 0111). Sections 0029 and 0051: another one of the plurality of transceivers is assigned to channel scanning. So, the transceiver for communication with AP operates concurrently with the transceiver for channel scanning on the multi-link device. Refer to Sections 0012-0114. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the device is a Multi-link Device that comprises a plurality of transceivers, and is configured to communicate with the network device via one of the plurality of transceivers and concurrently scan the one or more channels via another transceiver of the plurality of transceivers. One would have been motivated to do so since a multi-link device has a plurality of transceivers to allow for load distribution among the plurality of transceivers, wherein a transceiver is used for AP communication and another transceiver is used for channel scanning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20150117325 to Ponnuswamy et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0006, 0031, 0032, and 0036 wherein a beamformer transmits a sounding frame, and a beamformee receives the sounding frame, estimates the channel from the frame, generates channel state information and sends the information back to the beamformer; the beamformer then utilizes this information to generate and weight streams of data of the beamforming technique. Refer to Sections 0016-0051.
U.S. Publication No. 20170238286 to Chun et al disclose in Figures 1-53 and Sections 0251, 0294, 0295, 0297, and 0303 wherein a beamformer transmits a NDP, and then a beamformee receives the NDP and generates CSI feedback to the beamformer. Refer to Sections 0070-0900.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
June 4, 2026