Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claim 11 lines 3-4: It is unclear what is meant by “identify one or more target network devices for association with the network device based on the predicted roaming event”. Association is performed between the device and the network device, as claimed in claim 1. It is unclear in claim 11 why association is performed between network devices (target network devices and the network device).
b) Claim 12 lines 2-3: It is unclear what is meant by “transmit a sounding schedule of each of the one or more target network devices to the network device”. Association is performed between the device and the network device, as claimed in claim 1, so the sounding schedule should be transmitted between the device and the network device. It is unclear in claim 12 why the sounding schedule is transmitted between network devices (target network devices and the network device).
c) Claim 13 lines 2-5: It is unclear what is meant by “receive new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices from the network device; and transmit the new channel state information to each of the one or more target network devices”. Association is performed between the device and the network device, as claimed in claim 1, so the channel state information should be transmitted between the device and the network device. It is unclear in claim 13 why the channel state information is transmitted between network devices (target network devices and the network device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 62536413) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al.
Referring to claim 1, Vermani et al disclose in Figures 1-17 a device (AP), comprising:
A processor (TX data processor 210, RX data processor 242, and controller 230).
At least one network interface controller (Sections 0135 and 0137-138; interface to a network) configured to provide access to a network.
A memory (memory 232) communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a association sounding logic (Sections 0010, 0011, and 0119: AP transmits a plurality of sounding frames to user terminal to solicit CSI feedback from user terminal; wherein AP and user terminal are in association with each other) that is configured to:
… a network device (user terminal; Section 0043: a wireless node can be a user terminal) …
Transmit (steps 702, 802) a plurality of sounding frames to the network device. Steps 702, 802: AP transmits a plurality of sounding frames, which can be NDPs, to user terminal to solicit CSI feedback from user terminal. Sections 0044, 0045, 0089-0099, and 0118-121: AP performs a sounding procedure to gather feedback information from user terminal about the wireless channel between AP and user terminal; AP uses the feedback information to perform beamforming. Section 0088: “In accordance with one or more cases, a variety of sounding options may be implemented to enable the generation and feedback of CSI”.
Receive (steps 704, 804-806) channel state information (CSI) from the network device based at least on the plurality of sounding frames. Steps 704, 804-806: User terminal generates CSI feedback based on the sounding frames; AP obtains the CSI feedback solicited from user terminal.
Beamform (steps 706 and 708) at least one transmission to the network device based on the channel state information. Step 706: AP generates data frames for user terminal and selects beamforming vectors for transmitting the data frames, based on at least the CSI feedback solicited from user terminal. Step 708: AP outputs the data frames for beamformed transmission to user terminal using the selected beamforming vectors. Refer to Sections 0046-0143.
Vermani et al do not disclose … a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a pre-association sounding logic that is configured to: receive, from a network device, an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability …
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0024 wherein STA requests non-associated APs to initiate channel sounding operations with STA prior to association with the non-associated APs; STA broadcasts a probe request including a request for non-associated APs to initiate a channel sounding operation with STA. So: STA transmits a probe request (claimed “indication”) to non-associated APs indicating that STA is requesting a pre-association sounding operation and is capable of performing a pre-association sounding operation (claimed “receive, from a network device, an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability”). Non-associated APs send NDPs, which are sounding frames, to STA. STA uses the received NDPs to determine a goodput value for each of the non-associated APs. STA uses the determined goodput values to select one of the non-associated APs. STA then initiates an association operation with the selected AP. Sections 0050-0066: non-associated AP includes a memory 340 and processor 330 to perform the initiation of channel sounding operations with STA prior to association (claimed “a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a pre-association sounding logic”). Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a pre-association sounding logic that is configured to: receive, from a network device, an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability … One would have been motivated to do so so that a STA can perform sounding operations with non-associated APs before association, thereby allowing STA to determine channel conditions of a plurality of non-associated APs to determine an optimal AP for association.
Referring to claim 2, Vermani et al do not disclose wherein the transmission of the plurality of sounding frames is conducted in advance of an association.
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0024 wherein STA requests non-associated APs to initiate channel sounding operations with STA prior to association with the non-associated APs; STA broadcasts a probe request including a request for non-associated APs to initiate a channel sounding operation with STA. Non-associated APs send NDPs, which are sounding frames, to STA (claimed “the transmission of the plurality of sounding frames is conducted in advance of an association”; association is done after STA selects a non-associated AP to associate with). STA uses the received NDPs to determine a goodput value for each of the non-associated APs. STA uses the determined goodput values to select one of the non-associated APs. STA then initiates an association operation with the selected AP. Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the transmission of the plurality of sounding frames is conducted in advance of an association. One would have been motivated to do so so that non-associated APs can transmit sounding frames to STA before association, thereby allowing STA to determine channel conditions of a plurality of non-associated APs to determine an optimal AP for association.
Referring to claim 3, Vermani et al disclose in Figures 1-17 wherein the transmission of the plurality of sounding frames is to a user device (user terminal). Steps 702, 802: AP transmits a plurality of sounding frames, which can be NDPs, to user terminal to solicit CSI feedback from user terminal. Sections 0044, 0045, 0089-0099, and 0118-121: AP performs a sounding procedure to gather feedback information from user terminal about wireless channels between AP and user terminal; AP uses the feedback information to perform beamforming. Section 0088: “In accordance with one or more cases, a variety of sounding options may be implemented to enable the generation and feedback of CSI”. Refer to Sections 0046-0143.
Referring to claim 4, Vermani et al disclose in Figures 1-17 wherein the association is between the device and the user device. Sections 0077, 0079, 0092, 0095, 0108, and 0119: an association is between AP and user terminal. Refer to Sections 0046-0143.
Referring to claim 5, Vermani et al do not disclose wherein the receiving of the channel state information is conducted in advance of the association.
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0024 wherein STA requests non-associated APs to initiate channel sounding operations with STA prior to association with the non-associated APs; STA broadcasts a probe request including a request for non-associated APs to initiate a channel sounding operation with STA. Non-associated APs send NDPs, which are sounding frames, to STA. STA uses the received NDPs to determine a goodput value for each of the non-associated APs. STA uses the determined goodput values to select one of the non-associated APs. STA then initiates an association operation with the selected AP. Sections 0022, 0039, 0047, 0058, 0066, and 0104: STA also uses the received NDPs from non-associated APs to determine the CSI of the non-associated APs; STA then transmits the CSI in a feedback frame to non-associated APs (claimed “the receiving of the channel state information is conducted in advance of the association”, since the CSI feedback frame to transmitted to non-associated APs). STA uses the CSI to select a non-associated AP for association. Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the receiving of the channel state information is conducted in advance of the association. One would have been motivated to do so so that STA can transmit CSI to non-associated APs before association, thereby allowing STA to determine channel conditions of a plurality of non-associated APs to determine an optimal AP for association.
Referring to claim 6, Vermani et al do not disclose wherein the indication associated with the pre-association sounding capability is received in one of a probe request, an authentication request, or an association request.
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0024 wherein STA requests non-associated APs to initiate channel sounding operations with STA prior to association with the non-associated APs; STA broadcasts a probe request including a request for non-associated APs to initiate a channel sounding operation with STA. So: STA transmits a probe request (claimed “indication”) to non-associated APs indicating that STA is requesting a pre-association sounding operation and is capable of performing a pre-association sounding operation. Non-associated APs send NDPs, which are sounding frames, to STA. STA uses the received NDPs to determine a goodput value for each of the non-associated APs. STA uses the determined goodput values to select one of the non-associated APs. STA then initiates an association operation with the selected AP. Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the indication associated with the pre-association sounding capability is received in one of a probe request, an authentication request (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or an association request (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so so that a STA can perform sounding operations with non-associated APs before association using a probe request, thereby allowing STA to determine channel conditions of a plurality of non-associated APs to determine an optimal AP for association.
Referring to claim 7, Vermani et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a probe request from the network device; generate a probe response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request; and transmit the probe response to the network device.
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0024, 0039-0043, 0046, 0058-0062, 0070-0077, 0080, 0084, and 0088 wherein STA transmits probe request 401 to AP to initiate a channel sounding operation (claimed “receive a probe request from the network device”). Sections 0061, 0098, and 0100: In response to the probe request 401, AP generates a probe response 403 to STA; preamble 630 of Figure 6 is the PHY header of the probe response 403, wherein NDPs/sounding frames are appended to the end of the preamble 630 of the probe response 403 or inserted into the data field 639 of the preamble 630 of the probe response 403 (claimed “generate a probe response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request”); AP then transmits the probe response 403 to STA (claimed “transmit the probe response to the network device”). Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a probe request from the network device; generate a probe response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request; and transmit the probe response to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that STA can initiate a channel sounding operation with AP using a probe request, and then AP can transmit sounding frames in a probe response to STA, thereby allowing STA to use the sounding frames to determine channel conditions.
Referring to claim 8, Vermani et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a probe request from the network device; and transmit, to the network device, a probe response followed by the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request.
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0024, 0039-0043, 0046, 0058-0062, 0070-0077, 0080, 0084, and 0088 wherein STA transmits probe request 401 to AP to initiate a channel sounding operation (claimed “receive a probe request from the network device”). Sections 0061, 0073, and 0102: In response to the probe request 401, AP transmits a probe response 403 to STA; the probe response 403 includes an NDPA informing STA that AP is to subsequently send one or more NDPs/sounding frames to STA (claimed “transmit, to the network device, a probe response followed by the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request”). Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a probe request from the network device; and transmit, to the network device, a probe response followed by the plurality of sounding frames based on the probe request. One would have been motivated to do so so that STA can initiate a channel sounding operation with AP using a probe request, and then AP can transmit sounding frames after transmitting a probe response to STA, thereby allowing STA to use the sounding frames to determine channel conditions.
Referring to claim 14, Vermani et al disclose in Figures 1-17 a device (user terminal), comprising:
A processor (TX data processor 288, RX data processor 2270, and controller 280).
At least one network interface controller (Sections 0135 and 0137-138; interface to a network) configured to provide access to a network.
A memory (memory 282) communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a association sounding logic (Sections 0010, 0011, and 0119: AP transmits a plurality of sounding frames to user terminal to solicit CSI feedback from user terminal; wherein AP and user terminal are in association with each other) that is configured to:
… a network device (AP; Section 0043: a wireless node can be an AP) …
Receive (steps 702, 802) a plurality of sounding frames from the network device. Steps 702, 802: AP transmits a plurality of sounding frames, which can be NDPs, to user terminal to solicit CSI feedback from user terminal. Sections 0044, 0045, 0089-0099, and 0118-121: AP performs a sounding procedure to gather feedback information from user terminal about the wireless channel between AP and user terminal; AP uses the feedback information to perform beamforming. Section 0088: “In accordance with one or more cases, a variety of sounding options may be implemented to enable the generation and feedback of CSI”.
Transmit (steps 704, 804-806) channel state information (CSI) to the network device based at least on the plurality of sounding frames. Steps 704, 804-806: User terminal generates CSI feedback based on the sounding frames; AP obtains the CSI feedback solicited from user terminal.
Receive (steps 706 and 708) at least one beamformed transmission from the network device based on the channel state information. Step 706: AP generates data frames for user terminal and selects beamforming vectors for transmitting the data frames, based on at least the CSI feedback solicited from user terminal. Step 708: AP outputs the data frames for beamformed transmission to user terminal using the selected beamforming vectors. Refer to Sections 0046-0143.
Vermani et al do not disclose … a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a pre-association sounding logic that is configured to: transmit, to a network device, an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability …
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0024 wherein STA requests non-associated APs to initiate channel sounding operations with STA prior to association with the non-associated APs; STA broadcasts a probe request including a request for non-associated APs to initiate a channel sounding operation with STA. So: STA transmits a probe request (claimed “indication”) to non-associated APs indicating that STA is requesting a pre-association sounding operation and is capable of performing a pre-association sounding operation (claimed “transmit, to a network device, an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability”). Non-associated APs send NDPs, which are sounding frames, to STA. STA uses the received NDPs to determine a goodput value for each of the non-associated APs. STA uses the determined goodput values to select one of the non-associated APs. STA then initiates an association operation with the selected AP. Sections 0026 and 0032-0045: STA includes a memory 240 and processor 230 to perform the initiation of channel sounding operations with non-associated APs prior to association (claimed “a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a pre-association sounding logic”). Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a pre-association sounding logic that is configured to: transmit, to a network device, an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability … One would have been motivated to do so so that a STA can perform sounding operations with non-associated APs before association, thereby allowing STA to determine channel conditions of a plurality of non-associated APs to determine an optimal AP for association.
Referring to claim 20, Vermani et al disclose in Figures 1-17 a method for performing sounding (performed by AP), comprising:
… a network device (user terminal; Section 0043: a wireless node can be a user terminal) …
Transmitting (steps 702, 802) a plurality of sounding frames to the network device. Steps 702, 802: AP transmits a plurality of sounding frames, which can be NDPs, to user terminal to solicit CSI feedback from user terminal. Sections 0044, 0045, 0089-0099, and 0118-121: AP performs a sounding procedure to gather feedback information from user terminal about the wireless channel between AP and user terminal; AP uses the feedback information to perform beamforming. Section 0088: “In accordance with one or more cases, a variety of sounding options may be implemented to enable the generation and feedback of CSI”.
Receiving (steps 704, 804-806) channel state information (CSI) from the network device based at least on the plurality of sounding frames. Steps 704, 804-806: User terminal generates CSI feedback based on the sounding frames; AP obtains the CSI feedback solicited from user terminal.
Beamforming (steps 706 and 708) at least one transmission to the network device based on the channel state information. Step 706: AP generates data frames for user terminal and selects beamforming vectors for transmitting the data frames, based on at least the CSI feedback solicited from user terminal. Step 708: AP outputs the data frames for beamformed transmission to user terminal using the selected beamforming vectors. Refer to Sections 0046-0143.
Vermani et al do not disclose … receiving, from a network device, an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability …
Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0024 wherein STA requests non-associated APs to initiate channel sounding operations with STA prior to association with the non-associated APs; STA broadcasts a probe request including a request for non-associated APs to initiate a channel sounding operation with STA. So: STA transmits a probe request (claimed “indication”) to non-associated APs indicating that STA is requesting a pre-association sounding operation and is capable of performing a pre-association sounding operation (claimed “receiving, from a network device, an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability”). Non-associated APs send NDPs, which are sounding frames, to STA. STA uses the received NDPs to determine a goodput value for each of the non-associated APs. STA uses the determined goodput values to select one of the non-associated APs. STA then initiates an association operation with the selected AP. Refer to Sections 0014-0113. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … receiving, from a network device, an indication associated with a pre-association sounding capability … One would have been motivated to do so so that a STA can perform sounding operations with non-associated APs before association, thereby allowing STA to determine channel conditions of a plurality of non-associated APs to determine an optimal AP for association.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20140247746 to You et al.
Vermani et al and Jia et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive an authentication request from the network device; generate an authentication response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the authentication request; and transmit the authentication response to the network device.
You et al disclose in Figures 1-12 and Sections 0049, 0050, 0066-0083, and 0111-0116 wherein STA transmits an authentication request to AP (claimed “receive an authentication request from the network device”) and in response to the authentication request, AP transmits an authentication response to STA (claimed “transmit the authentication response to the network device”). Sections 0036, 0085, 0098, 0102, 0114-0116, and 0125: AP generates the authentication response, wherein the authentication response is based on sounding feedback information which can include the NDP frames exchanged during the authentication process (claimed “generate an authentication response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the authentication request”); AP then transmits the authentication response to STA (claimed “transmit the authentication response to the network device”). Refer to Sections 0028-0152. Similarly, Jia et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0024, 0039-0043, 0046, 0058-0062, 0070-0077, 0080, 0084, 0088, 0098, and 0100 wherein STA transmits probe request 401 to AP to initiate a channel sounding operation; in response to the probe request 401, AP generates a probe response 403 to STA; preamble 630 of Figure 6 is the PHY header of the probe response 403, wherein NDPs/sounding frames are appended to the end of the preamble 630 of the probe response 403 or inserted into the data field 639 of the preamble 630 of the probe response 403 (claimed “generate a … response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the … request”); AP then transmits the probe response 403 to STA. So, both the authentication response of You et al and the probe response of Jia et al are used in the sounding operation and can be augmented with sounding frames. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive an authentication request from the network device; generate an authentication response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the authentication request; and transmit the authentication response to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that STA can initiate an authentication process with AP using an authentication request, and then AP can transmit sounding frames in an authentication response to STA, thereby allowing STA to use the sounding frames to determine channel conditions.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20140112246 to Park et al.
Vermani et al and Jia et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive an association request from the network device; generate an association response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the association request; and transmit the association response to the network device.
Park et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0055-0056 wherein STA transmits an association request to AP (claimed “receive an association request from the network device”). Sections 0025, 0028, 0039, 0042, 0055-0056: In response to the association request, AP generates an association response to STA; the association response includes information on the sounding period wherein AP transmits sounding packets during the sounding period to STA (claimed “generate an association response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the association request”); AP then transmits the association response to STA (claimed “transmit the association response to the network device”). Refer to Sections 0009-0100. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive an association request from the network device; generate an association response augmented with the plurality of sounding frames based on the association request; and transmit the association response to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that STA can initiate an association with AP using an association request, and then AP can transmit sounding frames in an association response to STA, thereby allowing STA to use the sounding frames to determine channel conditions.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20100061335 to Kannan et al.
Vermani et al and Jia et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: predict a roaming event for the network device based on telemetry data; and identify one or more target network devices for association with the network device based on the predicted roaming event.
Kannan et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0028 and 0039 wherein a detector AP tracks the roaming location of UE using sensors as UE roams through the network (claimed “predict a roaming event for the network device based on telemetry data”; the claimed “roaming event” is the roaming location of UE). Sections 0006-0010, 0028-0038, and 0049-0051: UE is initially associated with a first AP; as UE roams and changes its roaming location to another AP as determined by the sensors, first AP determines neighboring APs for UE to associate with; if UE roams to a location near a second AP of the neighboring APs, UE can associate with the second AP (claimed “identify one or more target network devices for association with the network device based on the predicted roaming event”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: predict a roaming event for the network device based on telemetry data; and identify one or more target network devices for association with the network device based on the predicted roaming event. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can associate with a near AP as UE roams through the network, thereby ensuring UE has uninterrupted data communication as UE roams through the network.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20100061335 to Kannan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al.
Vermani et al, Jia et al, and Kannan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to transmit a sounding schedule of each of the one or more target network devices to the network device.
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0028, 0029, and 0032-0038 wherein each AP schedules the sounding window for UEs in its coverage area, and transmits the sounding window to UE’s in its coverage area. If the APs are neighbors and utilize the same frequency bands, then the APs may communicate with each other to jointly schedule sounding periods so that APs and their UEs 120 do not experience negative consequences from interference caused by multiple simultaneous transmissions on the same frequency band. So: when APs jointly develop sounding schedules with other APs, each AP transmits the sounding schedule of AP and other APs to UE (claimed “transmit a sounding schedule of each of the one or more target network devices to the network device”). Refer to Sections 0016-0044.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to transmit a sounding schedule of each of the one or more target network devices to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can receive the sounding schedules of APs in order to receive the sounding frames from the APs.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20100061335 to Kannan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20150043450 to Ariyavisitakul et al.
Vermani et al, Jia et al, and Kannan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices from the network device; and transmit the new channel state information to each of the one or more target network devices.
Ariyavisitakul et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0047 and 0053 wherein a first UE and a second UE estimate the interference due to each other and generates an updated CSI (claimed “receive new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices from the network device”). The first UE then sends the updated CSI to BS (claimed “transmit the new channel state information to each of the one or more target network devices”). Refer to Sections 0016-0064. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices from the network device; and transmit the new channel state information to each of the one or more target network devices. One would have been motivated to do so to inform AP’s of the channel state information so AP’s can perform data communication according to the channel state.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20180035292 to Soundararajan et al.
Vermani et al and Jia et al do not disclose wherein to transmit the channel state information, the pre-association sounding logic is configured to: generate an association request augmented with the channel state information; and transmit the association request to the network device.
Soundararajan et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0026-0032 wherein UE generates an association request with a CSI (Section 0032) and then transmits the association request to AP. Refer to Sections 0014-0054. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein to transmit the channel state information, the pre-association sounding logic is configured to: generate an association request augmented with the channel state information; and transmit the association request to the network device. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can associate with AP using an association request indicating CSI and AP can perform data communication according to the channel state.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al.
Vermani et al and Jia et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to receive a sounding schedule of one or more target network devices from the network device associated with the device.
Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0028, 0029, and 0032-0038 wherein each AP schedules the sounding window for UEs in its coverage area, and transmits the sounding window to UE’s in its coverage area. If the APs are neighbors and utilize the same frequency bands, then the APs may communicate with each other to jointly schedule sounding periods so that APs and their UEs 120 do not experience negative consequences from interference caused by multiple simultaneous transmissions on the same frequency band. So: when APs jointly develop sounding schedules with other APs, each AP transmits the sounding schedule of AP and other APs to UE (claimed “receive a sounding schedule of one or more target network devices from the network device associated with the device”). Refer to Sections 0016-0044. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to receive a sounding schedule of one or more target network devices from the network device associated with the device. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can receive the sounding schedules of APs in order to receive the sounding frames from the APs.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20150327265 to Lee et al.
Vermani et al, Jia et al, and Ma et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to scan one or more channels based on the sounding schedule.
Lee et al disclose in Figures 1-57 and Section 0300 wherein STA searches for a sounding frame in a channel (claimed “scan one or more channels based on the sounding schedule …”). Although Lee et al do not disclose the claimed “… based on the sounding schedule”, Ma et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0028, 0029, and 0032-0038 wherein each AP schedules the sounding window for UEs in its coverage area, and transmits the sounding window to UE’s in its coverage area. By applying Ma et al to Lee et al: STA of Lee et al searches for a sounding frame in a channel according to a sounding window (claimed “scan one or more channels based on the sounding schedule.”). Refer to Sections 0067-0556. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to scan one or more channels based on the sounding schedule. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can scan the channels for sounding frames according to the sounding schedule, thereby facilitating reception of sounding frames.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150327265 to Lee et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20100061335 to Kannan et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20140056204 to Suh et al.
Vermani et al, Jia et al, Ma et al, and Lee et al do not disclose … the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and … each of the one or more target network devices ….
Kannan et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0006-0010, 0028-0038, and 0049-0051: UE is initially associated with a first AP; as UE roams and changes its roaming location to another AP as determined by the sensors, first AP determines neighboring APs for UE to associate with; if UE roams to a location near a second AP of the neighboring APs, UE can associate with the second AP (claimed “the one or more target network devices”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and … each of the one or more target network devices …. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can associate with a near AP as UE roams through the network, thereby ensuring UE has uninterrupted data communication as UE roams through the network.
Vermani et al, Jia et al, Ma et al, Lee et al, and Kannan et al do not disclose wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a plurality of new sounding frames from the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and determine new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices based on the plurality of new sounding frames.
Suh et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0005, 0006, 0015, 0024, 0032-0034, 0039, 0053, 0059, and 0067 wherein each of the APs in the network transmit sounding frames to STA; STA generates CSI based on the sounding frames from each of the APs, respectively, and transmits the CSI to each of the APs, respectively. Refer to Sections 0019-0073. By applying Suh et al to Kannan et al: since Suh et al disclose that each of the APs transmit sounding frames to STA and STA respectively transmits CSI to each of the APs based on the sounding frames, all APs perform the sounding operation with STA, which includes the new APs of Kannan et al that STA roams to (claimed “receive a plurality of new sounding frames from the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and determine new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices based on the plurality of new sounding frames”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the pre-association sounding logic is further configured to: receive a plurality of new sounding frames from the one or more target network devices on the one or more channels; and determine new channel state information for each of the one or more target network devices based on the plurality of new sounding frames. One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can associate with a near AP as UE roams through the network, thereby ensuring UE has uninterrupted data communication as UE roams through the network and perform an updated sounding operation with the new AP by using new sounding frames and generating a new CSI.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20190028168 to Vermani et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20160316424 to Jia et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150055525 to Ma et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20150327265 to Lee et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20140204823 to Merlin et al.
Vermani et al, Jia et al, Ma et al, and Lee et al do not disclose do not disclose wherein the device is a Multi-link Device that comprises a plurality of transceivers, and is configured to communicate with the network device via one of the plurality of transceivers and concurrently scan the one or more channels via another transceiver of the plurality of transceivers.
Merlin et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0035, 0054, 0048, 0093, and 0094 wherein a multi-link device has a plurality of transceivers to allow for distribution of load among the plurality of transceivers and allow for the concurrent transmission of packets on multiple links to balance the communication load. Sections 0018, 0029, 0032, 0035, 0036, 0042, 0045, 0048, 0050, 0065, 0106, and 0107: one of the plurality of transceivers is assigned to communication with a network node, which can be an AP (Section 0111). Sections 0029 and 0051: another one of the plurality of transceivers is assigned to channel scanning. So, the transceiver for communication with AP operates concurrently with the transceiver for channel scanning on the multi-link device. Refer to Sections 0012-0114. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the device is a Multi-link Device that comprises a plurality of transceivers, and is configured to communicate with the network device via one of the plurality of transceivers and concurrently scan the one or more channels via another transceiver of the plurality of transceivers. One would have been motivated to do so since a multi-link device has a plurality of transceivers to allow for load distribution among the plurality of transceivers, wherein a transceiver is used for AP communication and another transceiver is used for channel scanning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20150117325 to Ponnuswamy et al disclose in Figures 1-5 and Sections 0006, 0031, 0032, and 0036 wherein a beamformer transmits a sounding frame, and a beamformee receives the sounding frame, estimates the channel from the frame, generates channel state information and sends the information back to the beamformer; the beamformer then utilizes this information to generate and weight streams of data of the beamforming technique. Refer to Sections 0016-0051.
U.S. Publication No. 20170238286 to Chun et al disclose in Figures 1-53 and Sections 0251, 0294, 0295, 0297, and 0303 wherein a beamformer transmits a NDP, and then a beamformee receives the NDP and generates CSI feedback to the beamformer. Refer to Sections 0070-0900.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
February 10, 2026