DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show feature (58) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 11, 15-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gorman (US 7265291 hereinafter Gorman).
In regards to claim 1, Gorman discloses;” An electrical installation comprising: an electrical box having an interior cavity, a front opening through which the
interior cavity is exposed, a back wall opposite the front opening, and at least a first aperture in the back wall (Fig. 28B, Text Col.1, Lines 28-43); an electrical distribution unit (Fig. 32A (3200)) disposed in the electrical box adjacent the back wall thereof, the electrical distribution unit having a front side, a back side oppositely disposed from the front side, front connectors exposed on the front side, and rear connectors exposed on the back side, wherein at least some of the front connectors are electrically connected to the rear connectors through an interior of the electrical distribution unit (Fig. 32A, Col, 18, lines 12-29), at least some of the rear connectors being accessible through the first aperture in the back wall of the electrical box; an electrical component installed on the electrical box, the electrical component having component connectors that are electrically connected to the front connectors of the electrical distribution unit to electrically connect the electrical component to the electrical
distribution unit (Fig. 32A, Col, 18, lines 12-29); and an electrical connector unit removably connected to the rear connectors of the electrical distribution unit through the first aperture in the back wall of the electrical box, the electrical connector unit having connector unit connectors electrically connected to the rear connectors of the electrical distribution unit, the electrical connector unit being configured to connect electrical wires to the connector unit connectors; wherein the front connectors and the rear connectors of the electrical distribution unit conduct electricity between the electrical wires and the electrical component (Col. 5, Lines 34-67, Col. 6, Lines 1-17).”
In regards to claim 3, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1, wherein the electrical distribution unit is a separate component relative to the electrical box and adapted to be installed and removed from the electrical box (Fig. 28B shows the structure being attached to the electrical box).”
In regards to claim 4, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1, wherein the front connectors of the electrical distribution unit are female connectors and the component connectors of the electrical component are male connectors inserted into the front connectors (Fig. 23B shows the male connection used to connect to the electrical distribution unit).”
In regards to claim 6, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1, wherein the front connectors and the rear connectors are features of at least a first busbar disposed in the electrical distribution unit (Fig. 17B shows an example of a bus bar connection structure).”
In regards to claim 7, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 6, wherein the first busbar has oppositely disposed first and second edges, the front connectors of the electrical distribution unit being defined by a slot in the first edge and the rear connectors of the electrical distribution unit being defined by individual flanges protruding from the second edge (Fig. 17B (shown)).”
In regards to claim 9, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 8, wherein the electrical distribution unit has a body, and the body and the housing of the electrical component have identical peripheral shapes (Fig. 1B).”
In regards to claim 11, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1, wherein the rear connectors on the back side of the electrical distribution unit are arranged in sets within separate sockets defined in the back side of the electrical distribution unit (Fig. 32B (shown)).”
In regards to claim 15, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1, wherein the component connectors of the electrical component and the front connectors of the electrical distribution unit physically secure the electrical component to the electrical distribution unit (Fig. 2A shows the tow structures shown in Fig. 1B mounted together).”
In regards to claim 16, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1, wherein the electrical component is an electrical outlet adapted to electrically connect with an electrical plug (Fig. 1B).”
In regards to claim 17, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1, wherein the electrical component is an electrical switch adapted as a means by which a user may open and close an electrical circuit containing the electrical switch (Fig. 2B).”
In regards to claim 19, Gorman discloses;” A method of using the electrical installation of claim 1, the method comprising the following steps in any order: connecting the electrical wires to the connector unit connectors of the electrical connector unit; installing the electrical distribution unit into the interior cavity of the electrical box; plugging the electrical connector unit into the back side of the electrical box to connect the electrical wires to the rear connectors of the electrical distribution unit; installing the electrical box on a structure of a building; and plugging the electrical component connectors of the electrical component into the front connectors of the electrical distribution unit such that an electrical circuit is formed by the electrical wires, the electrical connector unit, the electrical distribution unit, and the electrical component (disclosed in summary of invention).”
In regards to claim 20, Gorman discloses;” The method of claim 19, wherein the electric component is an outlet, a switch, or a light fixture (Col. 5, Lines 34-67, Col. 6, Lines 17).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorman (US 7265291 hereinafter Gorman).
In regards to claim 2, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1”, but does not directly disclose “wherein the electrical distribution unit is incorporated into the electrical box as an inseparable part of the electrical box.”
Gorman discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the electrical distribution unit is incorporated into the electrical box as an inseparable part of the electrical box. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the distribution unit as part of the electrical box, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art, Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U. S. 164 (1893). Therefore, claim 2 is disclosed.
In regards to claim 8, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1”, but does not directly disclose “wherein the electrical component comprises a housing and the component connectors protrude from the housing.
Gorman discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the electrical component comprises a housing and the component connectors protrude from the housing. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to increase the size of the connection pins to extend pass an enclosure, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being, within the level of ordinary skill in the art. \ In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Therefore the claim is disclosed.
In regards to claim 18, Gorman discloses;” The electrical installation of claim 1”, but does not directly disclose “wherein the electrical component is a light fixture.”
it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (1987). Therefore, any adaption of electrical fixtures used with the structure is within the capabilities of a skilled artisan, and the claimed invention is disclosed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL F MCALLISTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847