DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/7/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/7/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is substantial overlap with regard to the subject matter of Groups I and II such that the search and examination process with respect to both identified Groups is likely to involve overlapping search terms and related secondary classifications. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require different fields of search and search strategies. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Purchase et al. (WO 01/67166 A1).
In Re claim 1, ‘166 teaches an electro-optic modulator (fig. 8b), comprising: a substrate (802); and a dielectric layer (805), disposed on a side of the substrate, wherein an organic waveguide (804, polymer such as PMMA, pg. 9 of spec.) and electrodes (801) on two sides of the organic waveguide are disposed in the dielectric layer, a refractive index of the organic waveguide (pg. 22 of spec) is greater than a refractive index of the dielectric layer, and a material of the organic waveguide is an organic material having electro-optic effect (pg. 24 of the spec).
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 6, 8 – 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lebby et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2022/0187637 A1).
In Re claim 1, ‘637 teaches an electro-optic modulator (figs. 2B and 10), comprising: a substrate (54); and a dielectric layer (70, silicon nitride or silica), disposed on a side of the substrate, wherein an organic waveguide (66, EO polymer, par. 0040) and electrodes (42) on two sides of the organic waveguide are disposed in the dielectric layer, a refractive index of the organic waveguide (1.8, par. 0038) is greater than a refractive index of the dielectric layer (1.45 – 1.7, par. 0038), and a material of the organic waveguide is an organic material having electro-optic effect (EO means electro-optic, par. 0038).
In Re claim 2, ‘637 teaches wherein a dielectric waveguide (60) is disposed in the organic waveguide (fig. 10), the dielectric waveguide and the organic waveguide form a composite waveguide, and a refractive index of the dielectric waveguide (3.5 for Si, or 2.0 or SiN, par. 0035) is greater than the refractive index of the organic waveguide (1.8, par. 0039).
In Re claim 3, ‘637 teaches wherein a material of the dielectric waveguide is one of the following: silicon nitride, hydrogenated amorphous silicon, or titanium dioxide (SiN, par. 0035).
In Re claim 5, ‘637 teaches wherein the dielectric layer further comprises: a transmission waveguide (22), wherein a refractive index of the transmission waveguide (Si, par. 0033) is greater than the refractive index of the dielectric layer (SiN or silica), and the transmission waveguide is connected to an input end and/or an output end of the composite waveguide (par. 0039).
In Re claim 6, ‘637 teaches wherein a material of the transmission waveguide is consistent with the material of the dielectric waveguide (fig. 2B, pars. 0033), the transmission waveguide is connected to the dielectric waveguide, and a width of the transmission waveguide is greater than a width of the dielectric waveguide (fig. 2B).
In Re claim 8, ‘637 teaches a coupling structure (taper 11 to thin active portion, par. 0033), wherein the coupling structure is connected to the transmission waveguide and the composite waveguide (fig. 2B).
In Re claim 9, ‘637 teaches wherein the coupling structure is located in the organic waveguide (pars. 0033, 0039), and is connected to the dielectric waveguide and the transmission waveguide, and widths of the coupling structure gradually increase from an end connected to the dielectric waveguide to an end connected to the transmission waveguide (fig. 2B).
In Re claim 10, ‘637 teaches wherein a material of the coupling structure is consistent with the material of the dielectric waveguide (fig. 2, par. 0033).
In Re claims 12 and 13, ‘637 teaches the claimed structures (figs. 2B, 10, par. 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 11, 14, 15 and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lebby et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2022/0187637 A1).
In Re claims 4, 7, 11, 14 and 15, ‘637 teaches the claimed modulator but is silent to the claimed widths, heights, length and spacing.
However, its is well known in the art to design optical circuits such as modulators and connecting waveguides to guide commonly used optical wavelengths so as to allow for use of the optical circuits in a multitude of applications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘637 to make the dimensions as claimed so as to allow for use of the modulator in commonly used telecom systems where the dimensions as claimed allow for compact yet efficient modulation and coupling of the light traversing the modulator, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
In Re claim 17, ‘637 teaches an optical communication system, comprising an electro-optic modulator (figs. 2B and 10), comprising: a substrate (54); and a dielectric layer (70, silicon nitride or silica), disposed on a side of the substrate, wherein an organic waveguide (66, EO polymer, par. 0040) and electrodes (42) on two sides of the organic waveguide are disposed in the dielectric layer, a refractive index of the organic waveguide (1.8, par. 0038) is greater than a refractive index of the dielectric layer (1.45 – 1.7, par. 0038), and a material of the organic waveguide is an organic material having electro-optic effect (EO means electro-optic, par. 0038).
‘637 is expressly silent to a laser, a photodetector, wherein the electro-optic modulator is disposed between the laser and the photodetector, the laser is configured to transmit an optical signal, and the photodetector is configured to detect the optical signal obtained through the electro-optic modulation.
However, it is well known in the art to use a laser as a source to transmit an optical signal to a EO modulator that modulates the signal and a photodetector that receives the modulated optical signal so as to allow for detection of information such as radio frequency transmissions.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘637 to add a laser that transmits information and a photodetector as claimed so as to allow for detection of information such as radio frequency transmissions thus creating a useful, compact and reliable communications system as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
In Re claim 18, ‘637 teaches wherein a dielectric waveguide (60) is disposed in the organic waveguide (fig. 10), the dielectric waveguide and the organic waveguide form a composite waveguide, and a refractive index of the dielectric waveguide (3.5 for Si, or 2.0 or SiN, par. 0035) is greater than the refractive index of the organic waveguide (1.8, par. 0039).
In Re claim 19, ‘637 teaches wherein a material of the dielectric waveguide is one of the following: silicon nitride, hydrogenated amorphous silicon, or titanium dioxide (SiN, par. 0035).
In Re claim 20, ‘637 teaches the claimed modulator but is silent to the claimed widths, heights, length and spacing.
However, its is well known in the art to design optical circuits such as modulators and connecting waveguides to guide commonly used optical wavelengths so as to allow for use of the optical circuits in a multitude of applications.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘637 to make the dimensions as claimed so as to allow for use of the modulator in commonly used telecom systems where the dimensions as claimed allow for compact yet efficient modulation and coupling of the light traversing the modulator, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874