This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 12/15/2025.
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are currently pending and have been examined below. Claim 12 is cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 6 of claim 20, “the ground” should read --a ground--. Perhaps applicant meant --the surface--.
Appropriate correction is required. Above provides non-limiting examples, the applicant(s) must find and correct all issues similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Viner (US 4433505).
Claim 1
(Viner discloses) A system (figure 1) for controlling access to a cavity (Annotated figure 1 below) recessed below a surface (Annotated figure 1 below) during ground operations (intended use; the system of Viner can be used to close other enclosures such as underground cavities or the like), the system comprising:
a cover (1) configured to span the cavity (figure 1) and to support at least a portion of a weight of a vehicle (Viner’s invention is directed to a vehicle [see abstract] such that the cover 1 is capable of supporting a portion of a weight of the vehicle as it is directly connected to the entirety of the vehicle), wherein the cover comprises one or more wheels on one side of the cover (Annotated figure 1 below; lines 60-65 of col. 2 discussing the roller/wheel of bracket 16) and a second pivot axis (pivot axis at 8; Annotated figure 1 below) on an opposite side of the cover (Annotated figure 1 below);
a first lift arm (9) rotationally coupled to the cover at the second pivot axis (figure 1 showing arm 9 rotationally coupled to the cover 1 at pivot axis 8); and
a support structure (11) comprising a first pivot axis (pivot axis at 10; Annotated figure 1 below), wherein the first lift arm is rotationally coupled to the support structure at the first pivot axis (figure 1), wherein the support structure, via the first lift arm, is configured to move the cover between a generally horizontal orientation in a fully closed position (as shown in solid lines when the cover is closed in figure 1) and a generally horizontal orientation in a fully open position (as shown in the dashed projected lines when the cover is fully opened in figure 1), and wherein the one or more wheels roll along the surface while the cover moves to and from the fully open position (see dashed/projected lines of the wheel as it rolls along the surface; Annotated figure 1 below).
Annotated figure 1
Claim 2
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 1, wherein the support structure is configured to move the cover between the fully open position and the fully closed position in less than 2 minutes (intended use; the cover can be manually operated to close or open in less than 2 minutes).
Claim 4
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 1, wherein the first pivot axis is spaced away from the second pivot axis (figure 1), and wherein rotation of the first lift arm about the first pivot axis in a first direction (clockwise direction) lifts the cover out of the cavity and moves the cover horizontally away from the cavity (Annotated figure 1 above).
Claim 5
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 4, wherein rotation of the first lift arm about the first pivot axis in a second direction (counter-clockwise direction) moves the cover horizontally toward the cavity and lowers the cover into the cavity (Annotated figure 1 above), and where the second direction is opposite the first direction (Annotated figure 1 above).
Claim 6
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 1, wherein the support structure is configured to move the cover from the fully closed position to the fully open position in less than 2 minutes (intended use; the cover can be manually operated to close or open in less than 2 minutes).
Claim 7
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 1, wherein the support structure comprises a frame (12), and wherein the first lift arm is rotationally coupled to the frame at the first pivot axis that is spaced away from both a first end and a second end of the first lift arm (both first and second ends shown in Annotated figure 1 above).
Claim 8
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 7, wherein the first end of the first lift arm is rotationally coupled to the opposite side of the cover at the second pivot axis (Annotated figure 1 above; this is taught in light of the modification above).
Claim 10
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 8, wherein rotation of the first lift arm about the first pivot axis moves the cover between the fully closed position and either a partially open position or the fully open position (figure 1; note that the “either…or” only requires one of the two options to be taught by the prior art).
Claim 11
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 10, wherein the fully closed position locates the cover vertically above the cavity (when viewed in figure 1), and wherein the fully open position locates the cover horizontally spaced away from the cavity (dashed and projected lines of the cover shown in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viner, as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-11 above, in further view of Hoshino et al. (US 11623823) (hereinafter “Hoshino”).
Claim 3
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 1.
Viner fails to disclose:
(i) further comprising a robotic arm with a ground operation tool coupled to one end and the robotic arm rotationally coupled to the support structure;
(ii) wherein the cover is configured to move to the fully closed position when the robotic arm is rotated into a stowed position in the cavity.
(However, Hoshino teaches) comprising a robotic arm (2806; Hoshino figure 28A) with a ground operation tool (2808) coupled to one end and the robotic arm rotationally coupled to a support structure (base of the robotic arm), wherein the robotic arm is inside a cavity (2807) of a vehicle (2800).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the vehicle of Viner such that it houses within its cavity a robotic arm of Hoshino, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable and expected benefits of converting the modified vehicle as a workstation/portable service vehicle which can provide services from remote locations.
(Viner, as modified above, discloses) wherein the cover is configured to move to the fully closed position when the robotic arm is rotated into a stowed position in the cavity (this is taught in light of the combination above).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viner, as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-11 above, in view of Reiter et al. (US 11466504) (hereinafter “Reiter”).
Claim 9
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 8.
Viner fails to disclose further comprising a first motor fixedly coupled to the frame and configured to rotate the first lift arm about the first pivot axis in either a clockwise or a counter clockwise direction.
(However, Reiter teaches) further comprising a first motor (60; Reiter figure 3) fixedly coupled to a frame (26) and configured to rotate a first lift arm (124) about a first pivot axis in either a clockwise or a counter clockwise direction (Reiter figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the first lift arm of Viner with the first motor of Reiter, with a reasonable expectation of success, for providing automation to the actuation of the first lift arm thus providing ease of operation and convenience for the users and/or passengers.
Claims 13-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viner, as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-11 above, in view of Heinrich et al. (US 4731886) (hereinafter “Heinrich”).
Claim 13
(Viner discloses) The system of claim 7.
Viner only shows a top view of the cover thus it is silent regarding further comprising a second lift arm, wherein the second lift arm is rotationally coupled to the frame at the first pivot axis that is spaced away from both a first end and a second end of the second lift arm.
(However, Heinrich teaches) a system (Heinrich figure 1) comprising:
a cover (5);
a first lift arm (6) and a second lift arm (7) coaxial with the first lift arm (Heinrich figure 1);
wherein the second lift arm is rotationally coupled to a frame (1) at a first pivot axis (axis of rotation at 1; Heinrich figure 2) that is spaced away from both a first end and a second end of the second lift arm (Annotated figure 1 (II) below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the system of Viner with the second lift arm to support the movement of the cover as taught by Heinrich, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable and expected benefits of providing a balanced rotation of the cover from its top end to bottom end as it moves between the fully closed position and fully opened position.
Annotated figure 1 (II)
Claim 14
(Viner, as modified above, discloses) The system of claim 13, wherein the first end of the first lift arm and the first end of the second lift arm are rotationally coupled to the opposite side of the cover at the second pivot axis (Annotated figure 1 and Annotated figure 1 (II) above; this is taught via the combination above; note that both arms are coaxial of each other such that they both share the same pivot axis).
Claim 16
(Viner, as modified above, discloses) The system of claim 14, wherein rotation of the first lift arm and the second lift arm about the first pivot axis moves the cover between the fully closed position and either a partially open position or the fully open position (figure 1).
Claim 17
(Viner, as modified above, discloses) The system of claim 16, wherein the fully closed position locates the cover vertically above the cavity (figure 1).
Claim 18
(Viner, as modified above, discloses) The system of claim 16, wherein the fully open position locates the cover horizontally spaced away from the cavity (figure 1).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viner in view of Heinrich, as applied to claims 13-14 and 16-18 above, in further view of Reiter.
Claim 15
(Viner, as modified above, discloses) The system of claim 14.
Modified Viner fails to disclose:
(i) a first motor fixedly coupled to the frame and configured to rotate the first lift arm about the first pivot axis in either a clockwise or a counterclockwise direction; and
(ii) a second motor fixedly coupled to the frame and configured to rotate the second lift arm about the first pivot axis in the either the clockwise or the counterclockwise direction.
(However, Reiter teaches)
(i) a first motor (left 60; Reiter figure 3) fixedly coupled to a frame (26) and configured to rotate a first lift arm (124) about a first pivot axis in either a clockwise or a counterclockwise direction; and
(ii) a second motor (right 60) fixedly coupled to a frame (26) and configured to rotate a second lift arm (24) about a first pivot axis in either the clockwise or the counterclockwise direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide each of the first lift arm and second lift arm of modified Viner with the respective first motor and second motor as taught by Reiter, with a reasonable expectation of success, for providing automation to the actuation of both lift arms thus providing ease of operation and conveniency for the users and/or people.
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viner in view of Hoshino.
Claim 19
(Viner discloses) A method (figure 1) for controlling access to a cavity (the cavity that the cover 1 is covering when closed as shown in figure 1) recessed below a surface (Annotated figure 1 above) during ground operations (intended use; the system of Viner can be used to close other enclosures such as a cavity underground; for this claim, the cavity can be in the interior i.e., below the surface s viewed in Annotated figure 1 above), the method comprising:
a cover (1; figure 1) disposed over the cavity, the cover comprising a first pivot axis on one side of the cover (pivot axis at 8 on an inner side of the cover) and one or more wheels (Annotated figure 1 above) disposed on an opposite side of the cover (Annotated figure 1 above);
rotationally coupling an end of a lift arm (end of lift arm 9 at the pivot axis at 8) to the first pivot axis and rotationally coupling the lift arm to a support structure (11) at a second pivot axis (pivot axis at 10), wherein the first pivot axis is spaced away from the second pivot axis, and wherein the support structure is disposed in the cavity,
rotating the lift arm to move the cover to a fully open position (dashed and projected lines of the cover in figure 1), wherein the one or more wheels roll along the surface when the cover moves to the fully open position (see dashed/projected lines of the wheel as it rolls along the surface; Annotated figure 1 above).
Viner fails to disclose:
(i) stowing a robotic arm in a stowed position in the cavity;
(ii) rotating the lift arm to move the cover to a fully open position away from the cavity allowing deployment of the robotic arm;
(iii) extending the robotic arm from the cavity by rotating the robotic arm.
(i) (However, Hoshino teaches) a cavity (2807; Hoshino figure 28A) and stowing a robotic arm (2806) in a stowed position in the cavity (Hoshino figure 28A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the vehicle of Viner such that it houses within its cavity a robotic arm of Hoshino, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable and expected benefits of converting the modified vehicle as a workstation/portable service vehicle which can provide services from remote locations.
(Viner, as modified above, discloses)
(ii) rotating the lift arm to move the cover to a fully open position away from the cavity allowing deployment of a robotic arm (this is taught via the combination above as the fully open position of the cover allows deployment of the robotic arm);
(iii) extending the robotic arm from the cavity by rotating the robotic arm (as noted above, this is also taught via the combination above).
Claim 20
(Viner, as modified above, discloses) The method of claim 19, further comprising:
rotating the lift arm about the second pivot axis in a first direction (clockwise direction) relative to the support structure;
lifting the cover out of the cavity in response to rotating the lift arm in the first direction (see dashed and projected lines of the cover in figure 1); and
moving the cover horizontally along the surface away from the cavity to the fully open position (figure 1).
Claim 21
(Viner, as modified above, discloses) The method of claim 20, further comprising returning the robotic arm to the stowed position in the cavity and horizontally moving the cover from the fully open position to a fully closed position over the cavity by rotating the lift arm in a second direction (counter-clockwise direction) about the second pivot axis (this is taught via the combination in claim 19 above; note that stowage of the robotic arm in the stowed position inside the cavity would allow the movement of the cover from the fully opened position to the fully closed position).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments directed to the claim objections and 112(b) rejections have been considered.
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/15/2025 have been fully considered. Note these responses below are directed to applicant’s arguments set forth on pages 2-5 of the Remarks section.
Regarding “Referring to the figure below, the Office Action erroneously indicates that the pivot 8 is on an opposite side of the cover 1 from the "one side" at numeral 3. However, the pivot 8 is more than halfway away from the "opposite side" of the cover. It is not on the opposite side of the cover, as is required in claim 1”, this is found moot as the rejection above was relying on the teachings of Kozak regarding the location of the pivot axis. Examiner notes that it is well-known in the art to have an arm on the furthest end of the cover (see rejection above) as such this argument is also found unpersuasive.
Regarding “and that the one or more wheels roll along the surface while the cover moves to and from the fully open position. Therefore, Viner cannot anticipate claim 1, and withdrawal of the anticipation rejections of this claim and its dependents is respectfully requested”, this was found unpersuasive as Viner does disclose a surface (see rejection above) to which the wheel rolls along as the cover moves to and from the fully open position.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634