DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 12/31/2025. The objections to the Specification have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding Claim 1, the claimed invention is directed to an air conditioner without significantly more. The claim recites an air conditioner comprising a plurality of sensors and a controller “…the controller being configured to: obtain a first temperature, the first temperature being obtained according to the ambient temperature; obtain a second temperature, the second temperature being obtained according to the first current temperature; in a case where the compressor is in the running state, determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order if the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature and the second temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold; and determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal if the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature and the second temperature is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold”.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the controller does not use the results from the determination to functionally affect the way the air conditioner operates or change and implement new parameters or run settings.
Regarding Claim 11, the claimed invention is directed to a control method of an air conditioner without significantly more. The claim recites a control method of an air conditioner comprising a plurality of sensors and a controller “…obtaining a first temperature, the first temperature being obtained according to the ambient temperature; obtaining a second temperature, the second temperature being obtained according to the first current temperature; in a case where the compressor is in the running state, determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order if the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature and the second temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold; and determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal if the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature and the second temperature is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold”.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the controller does not use the results from the determination to functionally affect the way the system operates or change and implement new parameters or run settings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 6, 7, 9, 11, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR20010028950A) in view of Huang (CN113251572A).
Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches an air conditioner [0012], comprising:
an outdoor unit [outdoor unit 60, Figure 1] including a compressor [compressor 20, Figure 1];
an indoor unit [indoor unit 50, Figure 1] connected to the outdoor unit to provide a refrigerant cycle [where pipe 40 circulates refrigerant between indoor unit 50 and outdoor unit 60; 0012, Figure 1];
a plurality of temperature sensors [a plurality of sensing means determines an operation state of the air conditioner; 0016] including a first temperature sensor [outdoor temperature detection unit; 0019], and the first temperature sensor being configured to detect an ambient temperature [where outdoor temperature detection unit is for outdoor temperature; 0019] in a case where the compressor is in a standby state [where the temperature sensor includes an outdoor temperature sensor; 0019; where the temperature sensor is checked when operation is stopped, step 218, annotated Figure 3; 0037];
a temperature sensor to-be-detected being any one of the plurality of temperature sensors [0019] and configured to detect a first current temperature of a corresponding region in a case where the compressor is in a running state [where the temperature sensor senses temperature during operation; 0027];
wherein the temperature sensor to-be-detected has an allowable measurement interval [where if the temperature sensor is out of a range of a preset value the air conditioner determines the temperature sensor is in an abnormal state; 0026], the allowable measurement interval includes a first threshold and a second threshold [T1 and T2; 0039], and the first threshold is less than the second threshold [where the input value of the temperature sensor is between T1 and T2, step 202 and 210, Figure 3; 0039]; and
a controller [a microcomputer; 0013] coupled with the plurality of temperature sensors and the compressor [where the microcomputer controls each component in the indoor unit 50 and outdoor unit 60 and also transmits and receives data in order to control the indoor unit and outdoor unit; 0013; 0015], and the controller being configured to:
obtain a first temperature [where the microcomputer transmits and receives data necessary for controlling the outdoor unit; 0013], the first temperature being obtained according to the ambient temperature [outdoor temperature sensor; 0019];
obtain a second temperature [via the temperature sensor; 0019], the second temperature being obtained according to the first current temperature [sensed temperature, step 102; 0020];
in a case where the compressor is in the running state [where if the air conditioner is operational the value of the temperature sensor is compared to T1 and T2, see annotated Figure 3 below], determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the second temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [where when the input value is out of range the air conditioner determines the sensor is abnormal during operation of the air conditioner; 0026]; and
determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the second temperature is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold [where the input value of the temperature sensor is within a range the air conditioner determines a normal state; 0026].
Park further teaches checking when the air conditioner is in an abnormal state [0039; 0040] but does not teach where the controller is configured to determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order in a case where the compressor is in the running state, when the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature and determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature.
However, Huang teaches an exhaust sensor fault detection method for an air conditioner [0001] where the controller is configured to determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [exhaust sensor;0047] is out of order in a case where the compressor is in the running state [where, ST4, when the heating operation is on, ST11, perform real-time sampling of the exhaust temperature sensor, ST12, when the exhaust temperature sensor value is less than a value, ST15, set exhaust sensor fault warning; 0083;0090-0092], when the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature [where when the outdoor evaporator temperature is greater than a threshold value, execute conventional gas sensor fault detection; 0050] and determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal [where, ST12,exhaust temperature sensor value is not less than a preset value F, ST5, continue evaluating the outdoor evaporator temperature;0091;0084] when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature [0050], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the controller is configured to determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order in a case where the compressor is in the running state, when the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature and determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature in view of the teachings of Huang where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003]
Regarding Claim 6, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the temperature sensor to-be-detected [the temperature sensor; 0019] is further configured to detect a second current temperature of the corresponding region [where the state of the temperature sensor is compared again, step 214, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035] in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the operation of the air conditioner is stopped; 0035];
the controller [a microcomputer; 0013] is further configured to:
obtain a third temperature [where the air conditioner considers the state of the temperature sensor again, step 214, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035], the third temperature being obtained according to the second current temperature [step 214, annotated Figure 3 below];
in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the air conditioner is stopped; 0035], determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the third temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [step 218, see annotated Figure 3; 0037]; and
determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the third temperature is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold [step 216, annotated Figure 3 below; 0036].
Regarding Claim 7, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 6 and further teaches where the controller [a microcomputer; 0013] is further configured to:
determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [the temperature sensor; 0019] is out of order [S218, annotated Figure 3] when the third temperature [where S214 the air conditioner considers the state of the temperature sensor again, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035] is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [S216, annotated Figure 3 below; 0036], in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the air conditioner is stopped; 0035].
Park does not teach where the controller is further configured to: determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature.
However, Huang teaches an exhaust sensor fault detection method for an air conditioner [0001] where the controller is configured to determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [exhaust sensor;0047] is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature [where when the heating is on, ST4, the exhaust temperature, real-time sampling of the exhaust temperature sensor, ST11, when the exhaust temperature sensor value is less than F, ST12, set exhaust sensor fault warning, ST15; 0084;0090-0092] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the controller is configured to determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order in a case where the controller is further configured to: determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature in view of the teachings of Huang where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003]
Regarding Claim 9, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the first temperature sensor [outdoor temperature detection unit; 0019] is configured to the detect the current ambient temperature in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the temperature sensor includes an outdoor temperature sensor; 0019; where the temperature sensor is checked when operation is stopped, step 218, annotated Figure 3; 0037].
Regarding Claim 11, Park teaches a control method of an air conditioner [0012], the air conditioner including:
an outdoor unit [outdoor unit 60, Figure 1] including a compressor [compressor 20, Figure 1];
an indoor unit [indoor unit 50, Figure 1] connected to the outdoor unit to provide a refrigerant cycle [where pipe 40 circulates refrigerant between indoor unit 50 and outdoor unit 60; 0012, Figure 1];
a plurality of temperature sensors [a plurality of sensing means determines an operation state of the air conditioner; 0016] including a first temperature sensor [outdoor temperature detection unit; 0019], and the first temperature sensor being configured to detect an ambient temperature [where outdoor temperature detection unit is for outdoor temperature; 0019] in a case where the compressor is in a standby state [where the temperature sensor includes an outdoor temperature sensor; 0019; where the temperature sensor is checked when operation is stopped, step 218, annotated Figure 3; 0037];
a temperature sensor to-be-detected being any one of the plurality of temperature sensors [0019] and configured to detect a first current temperature of a corresponding region in a case where the compressor is in a running state [where the temperature sensor senses temperature during operation; 0027];
wherein the temperature sensor to-be-detected has an allowable measurement interval [where when the temperature sensor is out of a range of a preset value the air conditioner determines the temperature sensor is in an abnormal state; 0026], the allowable measurement interval includes a first threshold and a second threshold [T1 and T2; 0039], and the first threshold is less than the second threshold [where the input value of the temperature sensor is between T1 and T2, step 202 and 210, Figure 3; 0039]; and
a controller [a microcomputer; 0013] coupled with the plurality of temperature sensors and the compressor [where the microcomputer controls each component in the indoor unit 50 and outdoor unit 60 and also transmits and receives data in order to control the indoor unit and outdoor unit; 0013; 0015] wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining a first temperature [where the microcomputer transmits and receives data necessary for controlling the outdoor unit; 0013], the first temperature being obtained according to the ambient temperature [outdoor temperature sensor; 0019];
obtaining a second temperature [via the temperature sensor; 0019], the second temperature being obtained according to the first current temperature [sensed temperature, step 102; 0020];
in a case where the compressor is in the running state [where when the air conditioner is operational the value of the temperature sensor is compared to T1 and T2, see annotated Figure 3 below], determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the second temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [where when the input value is out of range the air conditioner determines the sensor is abnormal during operation of the air conditioner; 0026]; and determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the second temperature is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold [where the input value of the temperature sensor is within a range the air conditioner determines a normal state; 0026].
Park further teaches checking when the air conditioner is in an abnormal state [0039; 0040] but does not teach where the controller determines that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order in a case where the compressor is in the running state, when the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature and determines that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature.
However, Huang teaches an exhaust sensor fault detection method for an air conditioner [0001] where the controller determines that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [exhaust sensor;0047] is out of order in a case where the compressor is in the running state [where, ST4, when the heating operation is on, ST11, perform real-time sampling of the exhaust temperature sensor, ST12, when the exhaust temperature sensor value is less than a value, ST15, set exhaust sensor fault warning; 0083;0090-0092], when the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature [where when the outdoor evaporator temperature is greater than a threshold value, execute conventional gas sensor fault detection; 0050] and determines that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal [where, ST12,exhaust temperature sensor value is not less than a preset value F, ST5, continue evaluating the outdoor evaporator temperature;0091;0084] when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature [0050], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have where the controller is configured to determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order in a case where the compressor is in the running state, when the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature and determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature in view of the teachings of Huang where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003]
Regarding Claim 6, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 and further teaches where the temperature sensor to-be-detected [the temperature sensor; 0019] is further configured to detect a second current temperature of the corresponding region [where the state of the temperature sensor is compared again, step 214, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035] in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the operation of the air conditioner is stopped; 0035];
the method further comprises: obtaining a third temperature [where the air conditioner considers the state of the temperature sensor again, step 214, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035], the third temperature being obtained according to the second current temperature [step 214, annotated Figure 3 below];
in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the air conditioner is stopped; 0035], determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the third temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [step 218, see annotated Figure 3; 0037]; and
determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the third temperature is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold [step 216, annotated Figure 3 below; 0036].
Regarding Claim 17, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 16 and further teaches determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [the temperature sensor; 0019] is out of order [S218, annotated Figure 3] when the third temperature [where S214 the air conditioner considers the state of the temperature sensor again, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035] is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [S216, annotated Figure 3 below; 0036], in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the air conditioner is stopped; 0035].
Park does not teach determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature.
However, Huang teaches an exhaust sensor fault detection method for an air conditioner [0001] including determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [exhaust sensor;0047] is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature [where when the heating is on, ST4, the exhaust temperature, real-time sampling of the exhaust temperature sensor, ST11, when the exhaust temperature sensor value is less than F, ST12, set exhaust sensor fault warning, ST15; 0084;0090-0092] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature in view of the teachings of Huang where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003]
Regarding Claim 19, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 and further teaches where the first temperature sensor [outdoor temperature detection unit; 0019] is configured to the detect the current ambient temperature in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the temperature sensor includes an outdoor temperature sensor; 0019; where the temperature sensor is checked when operation is stopped, step 218, annotated Figure 3; 0037].
Claim 2-5, 10, 12-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR20010028950A) in view of Huang (CN113251572A) and in further view of Li et al. (CN111197836A).
Regarding Claim 2, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and teaches where the controller is configured to determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is less than the preset reference temperature [refer to Huang as applied to the rejection of claim 1 above] and the second temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold, in a case where the compressor is in the running state [where when the input value is out of range the air conditioner determines the sensor is abnormal during operation of the air conditioner; 0026] but does not teach where the controller is further configured to:
obtain an operating time of the compressor; wherein the operating time is a time of the compressor operating from an end moment of the standby state before the running state to a current moment of the running state; and determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order, the operating time is greater than or equal to a preset time.
However, Li teaches an intelligent detection method for sensor shedding of an air conditioner [0002] where the controller [where the air conditioner control system needs to control the compressor to stop and start protective measures; 0074] is further configured to: obtain an operating time of the compressor [where compressor operation time is compared to first preset time X, Step 2; 0026]; wherein the operating time is a time of the compressor operating from an end moment of the standby state before the running state to a current moment of the running state [0026] and determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order, when the operating time is greater than or equal to a preset time [where, S31, when the compressor operation time is greater than a first preset time X, S2, obtain real-time outer tube temperature T, S32,and when the difference between the real-time temperature and initial temperature is less than E, S4, the machine shuts down due to a fault; 0044; 0045;0064], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., determining whether the fault in a temperature sensor would impact the performance of the air conditioner by evaluating the operating conditions of the compressor [Li, 0123].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings have where the predefined temperature range includes a lower limit above the temperature required for maintaining the cryogenic fuel in the liquid phase in view of the teachings of Li where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., determining whether the fault in a temperature sensor would impact the performance of the air conditioner by evaluating the operating conditions of the compressor [Li, 0123].
Regarding Claim 3, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 and further teaches where the temperature sensor to-be-detected [the temperature sensor; 0019] is further configured to detect a second current temperature of the corresponding region in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the operation of the air conditioner is stopped; 0035];
the controller [a microcomputer; 0013] is further configured to:
obtain a third temperature [where the air conditioner considers the state of the temperature sensor again, step 214, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035], the third temperature being obtained according to the second current temperature [step 214, annotated Figure 3 below];
in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the air conditioner is stopped; 0035], determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the third temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [step 218, see annotated Figure 3; 0037]; and
determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the third temperature is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold [step 216, annotated Figure 3 below; 0036].
Regarding Claim 4, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 and further teaches where the controller [a microcomputer; 0013] is further configured to:
determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [the temperature sensor; 0019] is out of order when the third temperature [where the air conditioner considers the state of the temperature sensor again, step 214, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035] is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [step 216, annotated Figure 3 below; 0036], in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the air conditioner is stopped; 0035].
Park does not teach where the controller is further configured to: determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature.
However, Huang teaches an exhaust sensor fault detection method for an air conditioner [0001] where the controller is configured to determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [exhaust sensor;0047] is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature [where when the heating is on, ST4, the exhaust temperature, real-time sampling of the exhaust temperature sensor, ST11, when the exhaust temperature sensor value is less than F, ST12, set exhaust sensor fault warning, ST15; 0084;0090-0092] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the controller is further configured to: determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature in view of the teachings of Huang where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003]
Regarding Claim 5, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of Claim 2 and does not teach where the controller is further configured to: determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the operating time of the compressor is less than the preset time.
However, Li teaches an intelligent detection method for sensor shedding of an air conditioner [0002] where the controller [where the air conditioner control system needs to control the compressor to stop and start protective measures; 0074] is configured to: determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the operating time of the compressor is less than the preset time [where, S31, when the compressor operation time is less than a first preset time X, then exit the fault detection process; 0044] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., minimizing fault errors by preemptively determining whether the fault in a temperature sensor would impact the performance of the air conditioner by evaluating the operating conditions of the compressor [Li, 0123].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings have where the controller is further configured to: determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the operating time of the compressor is less than the preset time in view of the teachings of Li where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., minimizing fault errors by preemptively determining whether the fault in a temperature sensor would impact the performance of the air conditioner by evaluating the operating conditions of the compressor [Li, 0123].
Regarding Claim 10, Park, as modified, teaches the air conditioner of claim 1 and further teaches where the indoor unit [indoor unit 50, Figure 1] includes a first heat exchanger [heat exchanger 10, Figure 1], and the outdoor unit [outdoor unit 60, Figure 1] further includes a second heat exchanger [heat exchanger 30, Figure 1];
the plurality of temperature sensors [0019] further include a second temperature sensor [outdoor temperature pipe detection unit ; 0019] and a third temperature sensor [a compressor dome temperature detection unit; 0019] and the temperature sensor to-be-detected is any one of the first temperature sensor, the second temperature sensor, or the third temperature sensor [where the temperature sensor senses the temperature of the air conditioner during operation portions that detect temperature of the air conditioner include an outdoor temperature pipe detection unit, an outdoor temperature detection unit, a compressor dome temperature detection unit, and the like; 0019];
the first temperature sub-sensor includes: a first temperature sub-sensor configured to detect a temperature of an indoor environment [where the indoor unit 50 has detection means and signals when the indoor temperature reaches the set temperature, implying a temperature sensor for the indoor environment; 0013-0015]
a second temperature sub-sensor configured to detect a temperature of an outdoor environment [outdoor temperature detection unit;0019];
the second temperature sensor includes:
a fourth temperature sub-sensor configured to detect a temperature of a coil of the second heat exchanger [outdoor temperature pipe detection unit; 0019]; and
a third temperature sensor is configured to detect an exhaust temperature of the compressor [compressor dome temperature detection unit; 0019]
Park does not teach where a third temperature sub-sensor is configured to detect a temperature of a coil of the first heat exchanger.
However, Li teaches an intelligent detection method for sensor shedding of an air conditioner [0002] where a third temperature sub-sensor [an indoor coil temperature sensor where the system has a compressor exhaust temperature sensor, an indoor coil temperature sensor and an outdoor coil temperature sensor; 0004; 0008] is configured to detect a temperature of a coil of the first heat exchanger [inner coil temperature sensor; 0008] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improve the monitoring of compressor conditions with an indoor coil temperature sensor to detect the initial inner tube temperature at the time of compressor startup [Li, 0096].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where a third temperature sub-sensor is configured to detect a temperature of a coil of the first heat exchanger in view of the teachings of Li where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improve the monitoring of compressor conditions with an indoor coil temperature sensor to detect the initial inner tube temperature at the time of compressor startup [Li, 0096]
Regarding Claim 12, Park, as modified teaches the invention of claim 11 and teaches determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is less than the preset reference temperature [refer to Huang as applied to the rejection of claim 1 above] and the second temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold, in a case where the compressor is in the running state [where when the input value is out of range the air conditioner determines the sensor is abnormal during operation of the air conditioner; 0026] but does not teach obtaining an operating time of the compressor; wherein the operating time is a time of the compressor operating from an end moment of the standby state before the running state to a current moment of the running state; and determining the operating time is greater than or equal to a preset time.
However, Li teaches an intelligent detection method for sensor shedding of an air conditioner [0002] where an operating time of the compressor is obtained [where compressor operation time is compared to first preset time X, Step 2; 0026]; wherein the operating time is a time of the compressor operating from an end moment of the standby state before the running state to a current moment of the running state [0026] and determining the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order, when the operating time is greater than or equal to a preset time [where, S31, when the compressor operation time is greater than a first preset time X, S2, obtain real-time outer tube temperature T, S32,and when the difference between the real-time temperature and initial temperature is less than E, S4, the machine shuts down due to a fault; 0044; 0045;0064], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., determining whether the fault in a temperature sensor would impact the performance of the air conditioner by evaluating the operating conditions of the compressor [Li, 0123].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings have obtaining an operating time of the compressor; wherein the operating time is a time of the compressor operating from an end moment of the standby state before the running state to a current moment of the running state; and determining the operating time is greater than or equal to a preset time in view of the teachings of Li where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., determining whether the fault in a temperature sensor would impact the performance of the air conditioner by evaluating the operating conditions of the compressor [Li, 0123].
Regarding Claim 13, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and further teaches where the temperature sensor to-be-detected [the temperature sensor; 0019] is further configured to detect a second current temperature of the corresponding region in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the operation of the air conditioner is stopped; 0035];
the method further comprises:
obtaining a third temperature [where the air conditioner considers the state of the temperature sensor again, step 214, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035], the third temperature being obtained according to the second current temperature [step 214, annotated Figure 3 below];
in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the air conditioner is stopped; 0035], determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the third temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [step 218, see annotated Figure 3; 0037]; and
determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the third temperature is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold [step 216, annotated Figure 3 below; 0036].
Regarding Claim 14, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 13 and further teaches determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [the temperature sensor; 0019] is out of order when the third temperature [where the air conditioner considers the state of the temperature sensor again, step 214, annotated Figure 3 below; 0035] is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold [step 216, annotated Figure 3 below; 0036], in a case where the compressor is in the standby state [where the air conditioner is stopped; 0035].
Park does not teach determining the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature.
However, Huang teaches an exhaust sensor fault detection method for an air conditioner [0001] including determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected [exhaust sensor;0047] is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature [where when the heating is on, ST4, the exhaust temperature, real-time sampling of the exhaust temperature sensor, ST11, when the exhaust temperature sensor value is less than F, ST12, set exhaust sensor fault warning, ST15; 0084;0090-0092] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have determining the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature in view of the teachings of Huang where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., avoiding a false alarm of a faulty temperature sensor in an extreme low environment [Huang, 0003]
Regarding Claim 15, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and does not teach determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the operating time of the compressor is less than the preset time.
However, Li teaches an intelligent detection method for sensor shedding of an air conditioner [0002] including determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the operating time of the compressor is less than the preset time [where, S31, when the compressor operation time is less than a first preset time X, then exit the fault detection process; 0044] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., minimizing fault errors by preemptively determining whether the fault in a temperature sensor would impact the performance of the air conditioner by evaluating the operating conditions of the compressor [Li, 0123].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings have determining that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the operating time of the compressor is less than the preset time in view of the teachings of Li where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., minimizing fault errors by preemptively determining whether the fault in a temperature sensor would impact the performance of the air conditioner by evaluating the operating conditions of the compressor [Li, 0123].
Regarding Claim 20, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 and further teaches where the indoor unit [indoor unit 50, Figure 1] includes a first heat exchanger [heat exchanger 10, Figure 1], and the outdoor unit [outdoor unit 60, Figure 1] further includes a second heat exchanger [heat exchanger 30, Figure 1];
the plurality of temperature sensors [0019] further includes a second temperature sensor [outdoor temperature pipe detection unit ; 0019] and a third temperature sensor [a compressor dome temperature detection unit; 0019]; the temperature sensor to-be-detected is any one of the first temperature sensor, the second temperature sensor, or the third temperature sensor [where the temperature sensor senses the temperature of the air conditioner during operation portions that detect temperature of the air conditioner include an outdoor temperature pipe detection unit, an outdoor temperature detection unit, a compressor dome temperature detection unit, and the like; 0019];
the first temperature sub-sensor includes: a first temperature sub-sensor configured to detect a temperature of an indoor environment [where the indoor unit 50 has detection means and signals when the indoor temperature reaches the set temperature, implying a temperature sensor for the indoor environment; 0013-0015]
a second temperature sub-sensor configured to detect a temperature of an outdoor environment [outdoor temperature detection unit;0019];
the second temperature sensor includes:
a fourth temperature sub-sensor configured to detect a temperature of a coil of the second heat exchanger [outdoor temperature pipe detection unit; 0019]; and
a third temperature sensor is configured to detect an exhaust temperature of the compressor [compressor dome temperature detection unit; 0019]
Park does not teach where a third temperature sub-sensor is configured to detect a temperature of a coil of the first heat exchanger.
However, Li teaches an intelligent detection method for sensor shedding of an air conditioner [0002] where a third temperature sub-sensor [an indoor coil temperature sensor where the system has a compressor exhaust temperature sensor, an indoor coil temperature sensor and an outdoor coil temperature sensor; 0004; 0008] is configured to detect a temperature of a coil of the first heat exchanger [inner coil temperature sensor; 0008] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improve the monitoring of compressor conditions with an indoor coil temperature sensor to detect the initial inner tube temperature at the time of compressor startup [Li, 0096].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have where a third temperature sub-sensor is configured to detect a temperature of a coil of the first heat exchanger in view of the teachings of Li where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improve the monitoring of compressor conditions with an indoor coil temperature sensor to detect the initial inner tube temperature at the time of compressor startup [Li, 0096].
Claim 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR20010028950A) in view of Huang (CN113251572A) and in further view of Xie (CN206972496U)
Regarding Claim 8, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 6 and does not teach where the controller is further configured to: obtain the first temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the ambient temperature; obtain the second temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the first current temperature; and obtain the third temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the second current temperature.
However, Xie teaches a an online fault detection device for an air conditioning compressor [0002] where the controller [microprocessor 4; 0029] is further configured to: obtain the first temperature [where temperature sensor 2 is used to collect ambient temperature; 0010] by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the ambient temperature [where microprocessor 3 is used to generate real time data model based on the temperature information from the two sensors; 0027; 0029]; obtain the second temperature [where temperature sensor 1 is used to collect the temperature of the evaporator in the air conditioner; 0009] by performing analog-to-digital conversion [where microprocessor 3 is used to generate real time data model based on the temperature information from the two sensors; 0027; 0029] on the first current temperature [where the temperature sensor 1 data is collected a first time when the compressor is normal; 0034]; and obtain the third temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the second current temperature [where the temperature sensor 1 data is collected a second time when the performance of the air conditioning compressor is to be tested; 0034] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, analog to digital conversion, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., providing more convenient real-time data online by converting analog temperature readings to digital data [Xie, 0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the controller is further configured to: obtain the first temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the ambient temperature; obtain the second temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the first current temperature; and obtain the third temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the second current temperature in view of the teachings of Xie where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., providing more convenient real-time data online by converting analog temperature readings to digital data [Xie, 0007].
Regarding Claim 18, Park, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 16 and does not teach obtaining the first temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the ambient temperature; obtaining the second temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the first current temperature; and obtaining the third temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the second current temperature.
However, Xie teaches a an online fault detection device for an air conditioning compressor [0002] obtaining the first temperature [where temperature sensor 2 is used to collect ambient temperature; 0010] by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the ambient temperature [where microprocessor 3 is used to generate real time data model based on the temperature information from the two sensors; 0027; 0029]; obtaining the second temperature [where temperature sensor 1 is used to collect the temperature of the evaporator in the air conditioner; 0009] by performing analog-to-digital conversion [where microprocessor 3 is used to generate real time data model based on the temperature information from the two sensors; 0027; 0029] on the first current temperature [where the temperature sensor 1 data is collected a first time when the compressor is normal; 0034]; and obtaining the third temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the second current temperature [where the temperature sensor 1 data is collected a second time when the performance of the air conditioning compressor is to be tested; 0034] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, analog to digital conversion, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., providing more convenient real-time data online by converting analog temperature readings to digital data [Xie, 0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the combined teachings to have obtaining the first temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the ambient temperature; obtaining the second temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the first current temperature; and obtaining the third temperature by performing analog-to-digital conversion on the second current temperature in view of the teachings of Xie where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., providing more convenient real-time data online by converting analog temperature readings to digital data [Xie, 0007].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 20-22 of the remarks filed 12/31/2025 Applicant argues in regard to claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 that when evaluating the criteria for subject matter eligibility the claims do not recite an abstract idea, Prong One of Step 2A. Specifically, Applicant argues that the temperature is obtained when the compressor is in a certain state and the human mind lacks the capacity for simulating a compressor. Applicant further argues the limitation “a controller coupled with the plurality of temperature sensors and the compressor” cannot be practically applied as a human mind, because the limitation recites the coupling of physical components, which is essential to the implementation of the air conditioner and its control method. Further Applicant argues “the controller being configured to obtain a first temperature, the first temperature being obtained according to the ambient temperature; obtain a second temperature, the second temperature being obtained according to the first current temperature” cannot be practically applied as a human mind, because the human mind lacks the capacity for simulating a controller, therefore the human mind lacks the capacity to obtain the first temperature and the second temperature. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In particular, claimed inventions that fall within statutory categories must include significantly more than any recited judicial exceptions and the recitation of “An air conditioner, comprising: an outdoor unit including a compressor; an indoor unit connected to the outdoor unit to provide a refrigerant cycle; a plurality of temperature sensors including a first temperature sensor, and the first temperature sensor being configured to detect an ambient temperature in a case where the compressor is in a standby state; a temperature sensor to-be-detected being any one of the plurality of temperature sensors and configured to detect a first current temperature of a corresponding region in a case where the compressor is in a running state; wherein the temperature sensor to-be-detected has an allowable measurement interval, the allowable measurement interval includes a first threshold and a second threshold, and the first threshold is less than the second threshold; and a controller coupled with the plurality of temperature sensors and the compressor” is drawn to the structure of a generic air conditioner where the components of an outdoor unit, an indoor unit, a plurality of temperature sensors, a compressor, and a controller are not considered to be significantly more than the judicial exception. See pertinent art below.
The recitation “the controller being configured to: obtain a first temperature, the first temperature being obtained according to the ambient temperature; obtain a second temperature, the second temperature being obtained according to the first current temperature;” does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions and the recited hardware is purely functional and generic. MPEP § 2106.05(d) as a well-understood, routine, conventional configuration where obtaining temperature according to the ambient temperature and another temperature via a controller is well-known in the art. See pertinent art below.
Claim 1 recites “in a case where the compressor is in the running state, determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out of order when the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature and the second temperature is less than the first threshold or greater than the second threshold; and determine that the temperature sensor to-be-detected is normal when the first temperature is greater than or equal to the preset reference temperature and the second temperature is greater than or equal to the first threshold and less than or equal to the second threshold” where determination of whether a sensor is out-of-order or normal is an abstract idea. A claim that can be practically performed with or without the use of a physical aid, falls under mental processes MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2). III. A human has the ability to determine whether the air conditioner compressor is running, (e.g. noise, heat, vibration). A human has the ability to evaluate temperature by comparing a temperature reading to temperature thresholds while the air conditioner compressor is running. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
On pages 22-25, Applicant argues in regard to claims 1 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 that when evaluating the criteria for subject matter eligibility claim 1 and claim 11 recite integration into a practical application, Prong Two of Step 2A. Applicant argues the claimed subject matter relates to an improved air conditioner/control method of an air conditioner for detecting temperature sensor malfunctions where the air conditioner/control method of the air conditioner is more accurate, reducing the probability of malfunction misjudgments of the temperature sensor to-be detected, improving reliability of the air conditioner. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, the determination of whether the temperature sensor to-be-detected is out-of-order or normal is not used to improve the recited air conditioner or a method of use. The claimed subject matter does not describe the controller controlling a structure of the air conditioner or using the determination of whether a temperature sensor is normal or out-of-order to affect the operation of the air conditioner (e.g., settings, parameters, functions) such that the air conditioner/control method is improved. The claimed subject matter does not recite limitations indicative of integration into a practical application by using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception, determination of whether a sensor is normal or out-of-order, to a particular field of use, air conditioning. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
On page 23 -25, Applicant argues in regards to claim 1 and claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 that when evaluating the criteria for subject matter eligibility, Step 2B, the claimed subject matter amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements “a plurality of temperature sensors”, “a controller”, and “a compressor” associated with the controller and other steps incorporated into claim 1 and claim 11 and temperature acquisition in a certain state of the physical components and the coupling relationships between these physical components are not well-understood, routine, or conventional. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, obtaining temperatures of a generic corresponding region while an air conditioner is operating is well-understood, routine, or conventional and a controller being configured to obtain temperatures from a plurality of temperature sensors is well-understood, routine, or conventional, as well. Refer to pertinent art below. Further, the claimed subject matter describes a generic relationship between the compressor and the controller where they are coupled. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
On pages 25-29, Applicant argues in regards to amended claim 1 that the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest distinguishing technical features of claim 1. In particular, Applicant argues that the method of determining an abnormal state of the temperature sensor in Park and Huang, alone or in combination, involves only one judgment condition, judging the status of the temperature sensor only based on the result of comparing the sensed temperature with the present temperature value of the air conditioner. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that Huang involves only one judgment condition. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., detecting whether a device to-be-detected is out of order based on two judgment conditions simultaneously, where Applicant seems to argue the judgments should be made at the same time) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The first judgment condition in Huang is where the outdoor evaporator temperature is compared to a preset threshold and when the evaporator temperature is greater than the preset threshold, when the first temperature is greater than or equal to a preset reference temperature as claimed, the exhaust sensor fault detection begins, see S3 Figure 1 and 0009 of Huang. The second judgment condition is where the AD value of the exhaust sensor compared to a preset threshold value, see 0016 of Huang. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Claim 11 includes technical features similar to those amended in claim 1. Applicant does not separately argue the rejection of claims 2-10 and 12-20 except for their dependence upon claim 1 and claim 11. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kubba, Sam. LEED Practices, Certification, and Accreditation Handbook - 9.3 Active Mechanical Systems: Zoning and Control Systems, 2010. Elsevier. Retrieved from <https://app.knovel.com/hotlink/pdf/id:kt007CR6R2/leed-practices-certification/active-mechanical-systems> . Kubba discusses the basics of HVAC systems including an indoor section, outdoor section and thermostat, Figure 9.4,on p.303. Kubb discusses how refrigerant gas is pumped through a compressor to the outdoor condenser unit, p.314, and sensors include temperature sensors, p.302, such as an outdoor temperature sensor, Figure 9.13 on p. 321, to ensure comfort. Kub further discusses how HVAC systems are controlled by thermostats to prevent overheating and control the temperature of circulating water, p.302 . Therefore, an outdoor unit, an indoor unit, a plurality of temperature sensors, a compressor, and a controller are not considered to be significantly more than the judicial exception. In addition, obtaining a first temperature according to the ambient temperature and obtaining a temperature of a generic corresponding region while an air conditioner is operating is well-understood, routine, or conventional and a controller being configured to obtain temperatures from a plurality of temperature sensors is well-understood, routine, or conventional.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763