DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 22, 2025, with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valliere (US 2022/0053899) in view of Hwang et al. (US 8,011,623; hereinafter Hwang), Kim et al. (US 7,766,288; hereinafter Kim) and Yun (US 7,669,812).
Regarding claim 1, Valliere discloses a display device comprising:
a display module comprising a display panel (270, fig. 15A);
an arm (560, fig. 15B) including an upper arm (592) coupled to a rear of the display module (see par. [0256]) and a lower arm (596 and 594) hinge-connected to the upper arm (592);
a bottom case (20)(see fig. 15D) to which the lower arm (596 and 594) is pivotally connected; and
a top case (30) hinge-connected to the bottom case (20),
wherein the arm (560) further comprises a bottom mount (570, fig. 15E) coupled to the bottom case (20) and the lower arm (596, 594).
Valliere fails to specifically disclose the lower arm comprises: a lower inner frame hinge-connected to the bottom mount; and
a lower outer cover covering the lower inner frame, the lower outer cover forming an outer surface of the lower arm,
wherein the upper arm comprises:
an upper inner frame hinge-connected to the lower inner frame; and
an upper outer cover covering the upper inner frame, the upper outer cover forming an outer surface of the upper arm,
wherein the lower outer cover comprises a storage groove formed as an outer surface of the lower outer cover is recessed, and the upper arm is received in the storage groove when the upper arm is folded,
wherein the lower inner frame comprises:
a lower part pivotally connected to the bottom mount;
an upper part extending from the lower part and hinge-connected to the upper inner frame,
wherein the upper part of the lower inner frame comprises:
a first connecting portion hinge-connected to the upper inner frame; and
a second connecting portion facing the first connecting portion, the second connecting portion being spaced apart from the first connecting portion, and
wherein the second connecting portion comprises:
a holder mount; and
a finger extending and bent from one side of the holder mount.
Hwang teaches a display device (fig. 2) wherein a lower arm (500) comprises: a lower inner frame (510) hinge-connected to a bottom mount (633); and
a lower outer cover (551) covering the lower inner frame (510), the lower outer cover (551) forming an outer surface of the lower arm (500),
wherein an upper arm (300) comprises:
an upper inner frame (310) hinge-connected to the lower inner frame (510); and an upper outer cover (351) covering the upper inner frame (310), the upper outer cover (351) forming an outer surface of the upper arm (300),
wherein the lower inner frame (510) comprises:
a lower part (see bottom half of 510 comprising 531, 533) pivotally connected to the bottom mount (633); an upper part (see upper half of 510 comprising 521, 523) extending from the lower part and hinge-connected to the upper inner frame (310), wherein the upper part of the lower inner frame (510) comprises:
a first connecting portion (521) hinge-connected to the upper inner frame (310); and a second connecting portion (523) facing the first connecting portion (521), the second connecting portion (523) being spaced apart from the first connecting portion (521).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make Valliere's display device with the lower arm comprising: a lower inner frame hinge-connected to the bottom mount; and a lower outer cover covering the lower inner frame, the lower outer cover forming an outer surface of the lower arm, wherein the upper arm comprises: an upper inner frame hinge-connected to the lower inner frame; and an upper outer cover covering the upper inner frame, the upper outer cover forming an outer surface of the upper arm, wherein the lower inner frame comprises: a lower part pivotally connected to the bottom mount; an upper part extending from the lower part and hinge-connected to the upper inner frame, wherein the upper part of the lower inner frame comprises: a first connecting portion hinge-connected to the upper inner frame; and a second connecting portion facing the first connecting portion, the second connecting portion being spaced apart from the first connecting portion as taught by Hwang, in order to enhance the outer appearance of the arm and in order to firmly tilt the arm and therefore the display relative to the bottom case.
The modified Valliere fails to specifically disclose the lower outer cover comprises a storage groove formed as an outer surface of the lower outer cover is recessed, and the upper arm is received in the storage groove when the upper arm is folded and wherein the second connecting portion comprises: a holder mount; and a finger extending and bent from one side of the holder mount.
Kim teaches (figs. 1 and 8) a display device wherein a lower outer cover (140) comprises a storage groove (141) formed as an outer surface of the lower outer cover is recessed, and an upper arm (130) is received in the storage groove when the upper arm (130) is folded.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with the lower outer cover comprising a storage groove formed as an outer surface of the lower outer cover is
recessed, and the upper arm is received in the storage groove when the upper arm is
folded as taught by Kim, in order to minimize the size of the device (col 9, lines 40-41).
The modified Valliere fails to specifically disclose wherein the second connecting portion comprises: a holder mount; and a finger extending and bent from one side of the holder mount.
Yun teaches a display device wherein a second connecting portion comprises: a holder mount (extension of 23 attached to arm 13); and a finger (23) extending and bent from one side of the holder mount (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device wherein the second connecting portion comprises: a holder mount; and a finger extending and bent from one side of the holder mount as taught by Yun, in order to allow the display panel to rotate with respect to the upper arm (col 4, lines 54-65).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valliere in view of Hwang, Kim and Yun (US 7,669,812), and further in view of Davis (US 11,507,142).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 1.
Valliere further discloses the bottom case (20) comprises:
an outer shell providing an accommodation space, the outer shell forming an outer surface of the bottom case (fig. 15).
Valliere fails to specifically disclose a frame disposed in the accommodation
space and coupled to an inside of the outer shell.
However, Valliere teaches (see par. [0099-0100]) the bottom case (20) can be made of multiple materials.
Furthermore, Davis teaches a display device (fig. 1) wherein a bottom case comprises a frame (129, see col 3, lines 59-67) disposed in an accommodation space
(128a, 128b) and coupled to an inside of an outer shell (106a or 106b).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with a frame disposed in the accommodation space and coupled to an inside of the outer shell as taught by Davis, in order to protect the display.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 3.
Valliere fails to specifically disclose wherein the lower part of the lower inner frame comprises a wiring groove recessed inward and elongated in a lengthwise direction of the arm, and wherein the wiring groove extends from the bottom mount toward the upper part of the lower inner frame and bent such that the wiring groove is disposed at a lateral side of the lower part of the lower inner frame closer to the upper part of the lower inner frame than the bottom mount.
However, Hwang teaches wherein the lower part (see bottom half of 510 comprising 531, 533) of the lower inner frame comprises a wiring groove (grove in 633 and groove 560a) recessed inward and elongated in a lengthwise direction of the arm, and wherein the wiring groove (560a) extends from the bottom mount (633, see fig. 2) toward the upper part of the lower inner frame and bent such that the wiring groove (560a) is disposed at a lateral side (see fig. 3)) of the lower part of the lower inner frame closer to the upper part of the lower inner frame than the bottom mount (633).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device wherein the lower part of the lower inner frame comprises a wiring groove recessed inward and elongated in a lengthwise direction of the arm, and wherein the wiring groove extends from the bottom mount toward the upper part of the lower inner frame and bent such that the wiring groove is disposed at a lateral side of the lower part of the lower inner frame closer to the upper part of the lower inner frame than the bottom mount as taught by Hwang, in order to guide the cable from the bottom to the display.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 4.
Valliere fails to specifically disclose a cable holder coupled to the second connecting portion of the upper part of the lower inner frame, wherein the cable holder comprises: a mounting block fixed to the holder mount; and a holder tip extending and bent from one side of the mounting block, the holder tip providing a circle shape together with the finger.
However, Hwang teaches (figs. 2, 3) a cable holder (330) coupled to the second
connecting portion (320b) of the upper part of the upper inner frame, wherein the cable holder (330) comprises: a mounting block (base of 330 that receives 331) fixed to the holder mount (320c); and a holder tip extending and bent from one side of the mounting block, the holder tip providing a circle shape together with the finger.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Hwang and make the modified Valliere's display device with a cable holder coupled to the second connecting portion of the upper part of the lower inner frame, wherein the cable holder comprises: a mounting block fixed to the holder mount; and a holder tip extending and bent from one side of the mounting block, the holder tip providing a circle shape together with the finger, in order to accommodate the cable in the lower inner frame and through the hinge.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 4.
Valliere fails to specifically disclose a cable routed in the arm, wherein the cable extends from the bottom mount and is disposed in the wiring groove.
However, Hwang teaches (fig. 3) a cable (890) routed in the arm, wherein the cable (890) extends from the bottom mount and is disposed in the wiring groove (560a).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with a cable routed in the arm, wherein the cable extends from the bottom mount and is disposed in the wiring groove as taught by Hwang, in order to accommodate the cable in the lower inner frame.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 6.
Valliere fails to specifically disclose a cable routed in the arm, wherein the cable extends to be disposed in the wiring groove and is inserted into the circle shape provided by the holder tip and the finger.
However, Hwang teaches (fig. 3) a cable (890) routed in the arm (310), wherein the cable (890) extends to be disposed in the wiring groove (311a) and is inserted into the circle shape provided by the holder tip and the finger (see fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with a cable routed in the arm, wherein the cable extends to be disposed in the wiring groove and is inserted into the circle shape provided by the holder tip and the finger as taught by Hwang, in order to accommodate the cable in the lower inner frame and through the hinge.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valliere in view of Hwang, Kim, Yun, Davis, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2004/0012917; hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 8.
Valliere further discloses the upper inner frame (592) comprises: an elongated rod body (see fig. 15B).
Valliere fails to specifically disclose an opening formed through a portion of the
rod body;
a first connecting portion hinged-connected to the first connecting portion of the upper part of the lower inner frame; and
a second connecting portion disposed facing the first connecting portion of the upper inner frame, the second connecting portion of the upper inner frame including at least a portion of a cylinder shape to be inserted into the circle shape at the upper part of the lower inner frame into which the cable is inserted, and
wherein the cable is inserted into the portion of the cylinder shape of the second connecting portion of the upper inner frame and extends to be inserted into the opening of the rod body.
Kim teaches (fig. 2) an upper inner frame (150) comprising a first connecting portion (end of 151) hinged-connected to the first connecting portion of an upper part
(upper part of 130) of a lower inner frame; and
a second connecting portion (other end 157) disposed facing the first connecting portion (end of 151) of the upper inner frame(150), the second connecting portion (other end 157) of the upper inner frame (150) including at least a portion of a cylinder shape to be inserted into a circle shape (end 135 where 131 is located), and
wherein a cable is inserted into the portion of the cylinder shape of the second connecting portion of the upper inner frame (see col 6 lines 11-12).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with a first connecting portion hinged-connected to the first connecting portion of the upper part of the lower inner frame; and a second connecting portion disposed facing the first connecting portion of the upper inner frame, the second connecting portion of the upper inner frame including at least a portion of a cylinder shape to be inserted into the circle shape at the upper part of the lower inner frame into which the cable is inserted, and wherein the cable is inserted into the portion of the cylinder shape of the second connecting portion of the upper inner frame as taught by Kim, in order to accommodate the cable in the upper inner frame and through the hinge.
The modified Valliere fails to specifically disclose an opening formed through a portion of the rod body and the cable extends to be inserted into the opening of the rod body.
Jung teaches a display device comprising an upper inner frame (170) comprising an opening (171) formed through a portion of the upper inner frame (170) and a cable extends to be inserted into the opening (see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with an opening formed through a portion of the rod body and the cable extends to be inserted into the opening of the rod body as taught by Kim, in order to connect the cable with the display.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 9. Jung further teaches the cable is electrically connected to the display panel (see fig. 2).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valliere in view of Hwang, Kim, Yun, Davis, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2006/0201098; hereinafter Jung ‘098).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 3.
The modified Valliere fails to specifically disclose the bottom mount comprises: a first piece hinge-connected to a first side of the lower inner frame, the first piece being fixed to the frame of the bottom case; and a second piece hinge-connected to a second side of the lower inner frame, the second piece being fixed to the frame of the bottom case, and wherein the first piece is spaced apart from the second piece.
Jung ‘098 (fig. 3) teaches a display device wherein a bottom mount (30) comprises: a first piece (37) hinge-connected to a first side (51) of a lower inner frame (50), the first piece (37) being fixed to the frame of a bottom case (20); and a second piece (33) hinge-connected to a second side (51) of the lower inner frame (50), the second piece (33) being fixed to the frame of the bottom case (20), and wherein the first piece (51) is spaced apart from the second piece (33).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with the bottom mount comprising: a first piece hinge-connected to a first side of the lower inner frame, the first piece being fixed to the frame of the bottom case; and a second piece hinge-connected to a second side of the lower inner frame, the second piece being fixed to the frame of the bottom case, and wherein the first piece is spaced apart from the second piece as taught by Jung ‘098, in order to support the arm and attach the display to the base.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 11.
The modified Valliere fails to specifically disclose a cable routed in the arm, wherein the cable passes between the first piece and the second piece of the bottom mount.
However, Jung ‘098 (fig. 3) teaches a cable (15) routed in the arm (50 and 80), wherein the cable passes between the first piece (37) and the second piece (33) of the bottom mount (30).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date
of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with a cable routed in the
arm, wherein the cable passes between the first piece and the second piece of the bottom mount as taught by Jung ‘098, in order to create a passage for the cable.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valliere in view of Hwang, Kim, Yun, Davis, Jung, and further in view of WU et al. (US 2012/0248048; hereinafter WU).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 9.
Valliere fails to specifically disclose an arm hinge to connect the first connecting portion of the upper part of the lower inner frame and the first connecting portion of the upper inner frame, wherein the arm hinge comprises: a hinge shaft connected to the first connecting portion of the upper part of the lower inner frame; a hinge cam rotating on the hinge shaft, the hinge cam being fixed to the first connecting portion of the upper inner frame; and an elastic member providing an elastic force to the hinge cam with respect to the hinge shaft.
WU teaches an arm hinge (4) to connect a first connecting portion (10) of an upper part (1) and a first connecting portion (31) of an upper inner frame (3), wherein the arm hinge (4) comprises: a hinge shaft (40) connected to the first connecting portion (10) of the upper part; a hinge cam (41) rotating on the hinge shaft (40), the hinge cam (41) being fixed to the first connecting portion (31) of the upper inner frame; and an elastic member (45a) providing an elastic force to the hinge cam (41) with respect to the hinge shaft (40)(fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with an arm hinge to connect the first connecting portion of the upper part of the lower inner frame and the first connecting portion of the upper inner frame, wherein the arm hinge comprises: a hinge shaft connected to the first connecting portion of the upper part of the lower inner frame; a hinge cam rotating on the hinge shaft, the hinge cam being fixed to the first connecting portion of the upper inner frame; and an elastic member providing an elastic force to the hinge cam with respect to the hinge shaft, as taught by WU in order to synchronize the move with the upper inner frame (see par. [0033]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Valliere discloses the display device of claim 14.
Valliere fails to specifically disclose a link to connect the arm hinge and the bottom mount.
However, WU teaches a link (6) to connect the arm hinge (4) and a bottom mount (20)(see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the modified Valliere's display device with a link to connect the arm hinge and the bottom mount as taught by WU, in order to link the hinges in the arm.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845