Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6,10 -12, 14-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view Qiu (US 20200356178 in view of Rao (US 20230039849 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11:
Regarding claim 1:
Qiu discloses an electronic device (in Figs.1-2) comprising:
a transceiver (270) configured to transmit and receive radar signals ([0057, 0065]); and a processor (processor corresponding to transceiver) operatively coupled to the transceiver (see abstract), the processor configured to: extract a plurality of feature vectors (i.e. gesture information, see Figs. 4b-4c) from a plurality of radar frames (radar signals; signature gesture) corresponding to the radar signals ([0035], [0042], [0050-0055, 0065], abstract); (a processor operably connected to a transceiver. The transceiver is configured to transmit and receive signals for measuring range and speed. The processor is configured to track movement of an object relative to the electronic device within a region of interest based on reflections of the signals received by the transceiver to identify range measurements and speed measurements with the object and further configured to identify a gesture based in part on the features from the reflected signals. Additionally, the processor is configured to perform an action indicated by the gesture).
identify an activity (activity corresponding to signature gesture) based on the plurality of feature vectors (i.e. gesture direction, see Fig. 4B-4C); determine whether the identified activity corresponds with a non-gesture (i.e. non-signature gesture) (see [0035-0036], After identifying a signature gesture, the electronic device performs an action (such as an operation with respect to an application). Alternatively, after identifying a signature , the electronic device notifies the user to perform a non-signature gesture, and upon identifying the non-signature gesture, the electronic device wilgatl perform an action (such as an operation with respect to an application); and
Note that Qiu discloses a non-gesture (i.e. non-signature gesture) ([0035-0036]).
However, Qiu does not specifically disclose determining whether the gesture fails any gating conditions of a gesture gating operation; and perform an action corresponding with the identified gesture when the gesture does not fail any gating conditions of the gesture gating operation.
Rao (US 20230039849 A1) discloses determining whether the gesture fails (see step 484) any gating conditions of a gesture gating operation (see step 492, [0117-0120]); and perform an action corresponding with the identified gesture when the gesture does not fail (490) any gating conditions of the gesture gating operation [0117-0120].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qiu with the teaching of Rao, thereby achieving a greater accuracy in terms of identifying a particular input information.
Regarding claims 2 and 12:
Qiu in view of Wang discloses wherein to determine whether the identified activity corresponds with a non-gesture (i.e. touch object), the processor is further configured to: determine whether the identified activity is an early detection (provide information for adjust weighting factors for the gesture) (see Qiu [0105-0107] and Rao [0211, 0250]); and if the identified activity is not an early detection: estimate a gesture start (enabling ) and a gesture end (disabling gesture) (see Qui, gesture recognition system may be configured to identify, from the received image and radio sensing signals, both a translational and a radial movement and/or radial distance for an object with respect to the apparatus and to determine therefrom the one or more predetermined gesture for controlling the first user interface function);
preprocess the plurality of feature vectors discloses ([0043-0045]); and perform an activity gating operation based on the preprocessed plurality of feature vectors (i.e. control the transmission and recieption of radar pulses, signal to pass through the selected time) ([0046-0047]). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 14:
Qiu discloses wherein to preprocess the plurality of feature vectors (see Qiu [0093]), the processor is further configured to: for each feature vector of the plurality of feature vectors:
if a value of the feature vector indicates a failure (i.e. no recognized vactor) to detect activity (see Fig. 5H, [0092-0095]), change the value indicating a failure to detect activity to a value of a closest neighbor feature vector ([0127]);
filter the feature vector with a median filter [0127]; and if the value of the feature vector is an abnormal value (invalid), change the abnormal value to a value of a closest neighbor having a normal value ([0127-0129]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15:
Qiu discloses wherein to perform the activity gating operation, the processor is further configured to: determine whether the identified activity corresponds with a non-gesture based on at least one of: a gesture length (gesture duration, [0149] ); a region of interest (ROI) (0101); a gesture start and gesture end (0100-0101); a gesture motion size [0179]; and a gesture slope signature .
Regarding claims 6 and 16:
Qiu discloses wherein to perform the activity gating operation, the processor is further configured to: determine that the identified activity corresponds with a gesture ([0037]); identify a gesture type corresponding with the identified activity ([0036-0038]); and perform a gesture gating operation based on the gesture type ([0037]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20:
Qui in view of wherein the gating conditions of the gesture gating operation include at least one of: a length of the gesture falling within a predetermined range; the gesture occurring within a region of interest (see Rao, [0045]); a start and end of the gesture occurring within a predetermined threshold of a position; a size of the gesture falling within a predetermined range; and the gesture having a single slope signature (Qui, [0036-0038]).
3. Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view Qiu (US 20200356178 in view of Rao (US 20230039849 A1) and further in view of Regani (US 20210232235 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 13:
Qiu in view of Wang discloses wherein to determine whether the identified activity is an early detection, the processor is further configured to: detect a gesture end (see Wang ([0069-0070]);
Qiu discloses determine angular features for a time-angle diagram (TAD) and a time-elevation diagram (TED) corresponding with the identified activity (see Qiu [0094-0095], Fig. 5G);
However, Qiu in view of Rao does not specifically disclose determine a dispersion metric based on the angular features; and determine whether the dispersion metric falls within a dispersion range, wherein if the dispersion metric falls within the dispersion range, the identified activity is an early detection.
Regani (US 20210232235 A1) discloses determine angular features for a time-angle diagram (TAD) and a time-elevation diagram (TED) corresponding with the identified activity (i.e. gesture) (see Fig. 5-6) [0275-0276]); determine a dispersion metric based on the angular features (different ranges and azimuth angless from the radar, also see [0190]); and determine whether the dispersion metric falls within a dispersion range, wherein if the dispersion metric falls within the dispersion range, the identified activity is an early detection (i.e. previously detected target) (see [0285]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Qiu with the teaching of Rao, and Regani, thereby providing high efficient data transmission in the input device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 7 and 17:
The closest art of record singly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitations “identify a segment of the input window with consecutive non-zero distance forward from the search pivot; trim the segment to exclude outside region of interest (ROI) frames from both ends of the segment; update the gesture start and the gesture end based on the trimmed segment; update the search pivot according to a trimmed segment start; and determine whether the search pivot has reached the input window start (see Fig. 2, and [0138-0139]).
Response to Applicant’s argument
5. Applicant’s argument filed on 06/25/2026 has been considered but are moot in view of new amendment. Applicant argues that Qui in view of Wang fails to discloses the subject matters as describe at claim 1. However, reference of Rao (US 20230039849 A1) has been added for further consideration.
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627