DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama U.S. Patent Application 2005/0116692 (hereinafter “Sugiyama”) and further in view of Nakatani et al. U.S. Patent Application 2008/0203986 (hereinafter “Nakatani”).
Regarding claim 1, Sugiyama teaches a switch device (i.e. switching regulator 200)(fig.3), comprising: a switch element (i.e. switching transistor M1)(fig.3), including: a first end (implicit) to which an input voltage is applicable (refer to Vin)(fig.3); a second end (implicit) to which an output voltage is applicable (refer to Vout)(fig.3); and a control terminal (implicit); a DA converter; and an output voltage control unit (refer to DAC control circuit 202, DAC1, CMP1, PWM control circuit 201 and switching transistor M1)(fig.3), including the switch element (implicit) and configured to control the output voltage (refer to [0030]), wherein the output voltage control unit is configured to generate a control voltage applicable to the control terminal such that the output voltage is gradually increased according to a ramp-like change in an output of the DA converter (refer to abstract and figure 4B); however, Sugiyama does not teach the output voltage control unit is configured to generate the control voltage to have a value higher than the input voltage based on the output voltage reaching the input voltage. However, Nakatani teaches the output voltage control unit is configured to generate the control voltage to have a value higher than the input voltage based on the output voltage reaching the input voltage (refer to comparator circuit 4)(fig.1)(refer also to [0023]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sugiyama to include the control voltage magnitude of Nakatani to provide the advantage of ensuring proper switch operation (i.e. full turn on/off of the switch) when the output voltage is boosted above the input voltage (refer to Nakatani abstract).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama and Nakatani as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shida et al. U.S. Patent Application 2014/0118583 (hereinafter “Shida”).
Regarding claim 2, Sugiyama and Nakatani teach the switch device of Claim 1; however, they do not teach the device further comprising: a counter, configured to count clocks and output a count value to the DA converter. However, Shida teaches the device further comprising: a counter (i.e. counter 321)(fig.4), configured to count clocks and output a count value to the DA converter (implicit)(refer to fig.4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch device of Sugiyama and Nakatani to replace DAC control circuit 202 and DAC1 with the ramp generator 320 of Shida to provide the advantage of creating a smoother ramp signal, thereby minimizing overshoot.
Regarding claim 3, Sugiyama, Nakatani, and Shida teach the switch device of Claim 2, wherein a frequency of the clocks is variable (refer to Shida [0066]).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama and Nakatani as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jordanger et al. U.S. Patent Application 2019/0393697 (hereinafter “Jordanger”).
Regarding claim 4, Sugiyama and Nakatani teach the switch device of Claim 1, wherein the output voltage control unit includes a component (i.e. Sugiyama CMP1 and PWM control circuit 201)(fig.3) configured to receive a feedback voltage (refer to Sugiyama divided voltage Vd)(fig.3) obtained by dividing the output voltage (implicit) and an input signal based on the output of the DA converter (implicit)(refer to Sugiyama Vref)(fig.3), and output the control voltage (implicit); however, they do not teach wherein the component is an error amplifier. However, Jordanger teaches the component being an error amplifier (refer to driver circuit 704)(fig.7)(refer also to [0034]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sugiyama and Nakatani to include the error amplifier of Jordanger to provide the advantage of outputting a smoothly ramping control signal to the gate of the switching element in order to prevent overshoot.
Regarding claim 5, Sugiyama, Nakatani and Jordanger teach the switch device of Claim 4, wherein the output voltage at a time the input signal reaches a maximum voltage is less than the input voltage (implicit)(refer to Jordanger fig 7).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama, Nakatani, and Jordanger as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Shida.
Regarding claim 9, Sugiyama, Nakatani, and Jordanger teach the switch device of Claim 4; however, they do not teach the device further comprising: a low-pass filter, disposed at an output side of the DA converter and configured to generate the input signal. However, Shida teaches the device further comprising: a low-pass filter (i.e. low-pass filter 323)(fig.4), disposed at an output side of the DA converter (implicit)(refer to DAC 322)(fig.4) and configured to generate the input signal (implicit). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch device of Sugiyama, Nakatani, and Jordanger to replace DAC control circuit 202 and DAC1 with the ramp generator 320 of Shida to provide the advantage of creating a smoother ramp signal, thereby minimizing overshoot.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 6-8 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 6, especially a booster circuit, configured to boost the output voltage to generate a boosted power supply voltage, wherein the boosted power supply voltage is suppliable to an output stage of the error amplifier, and when the output voltage reaches the input voltage before the input signal reaches a maximum voltage, the error amplifier is configured to be switched from an amplifying operation to a comparing operation, thereby turning the switch element to a full-on state. Sugiyama, Nakatani, Shida, and/or Jordanger do not teach a booster circuit, configured to boost the output voltage to generate a boosted power supply voltage, wherein the boosted power supply voltage is suppliable to an output stage of the error amplifier, and when the output voltage reaches the input voltage before the input signal reaches a maximum voltage, the error amplifier is configured to be switched from an amplifying operation to a comparing operation, thereby turning the switch element to a full-on state. Lin U.S. Patent Application 2013/0002224 (hereinafter “Lin”) teaches a similar device (refer to Lin figure 5); however, Lin does not teach a booster circuit, configured to boost the output voltage to generate a boosted power supply voltage, wherein the boosted power supply voltage is suppliable to an output stage of the error amplifier, and when the output voltage reaches the input voltage before the input signal reaches a maximum voltage, the error amplifier is configured to be switched from an amplifying operation to a comparing operation, thereby turning the switch element to a full-on state.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838