Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted 03/15/2024, 12/11/2024, 05/30/2025, and 06/26/2025 were received and have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted 03/15/2024 were received and are approved by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Elastic Current Collecting Plate For A Rechargeable Battery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (KR 20220105146A; presented in IDS submitted 05/30/2025, Espacenet translation provided for reference).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First outward angle)][AltContent: textbox (First inward angle)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Concave groove)]
With respect to claim 1, Lim discloses a rechargeable battery (1 – cylindrical battery) (Fig. 1) comprising:
an electrode assembly (10) formed by spirally winding a first electrode, a separator, and a second electrode (Fig. 1, [0167]);
a case (20 – battery housing) accommodating the electrode assembly (10) (Fig. 1);
an electrode terminal (50 (T2) – terminal) in a first opening at one (lower) side of the case (20) and electrically insulated (using gasket G2) from the case (20) (Fig. 1; [0336]);
a first current collecting plate (60 – second current collector) electrically connecting the first electrode and the electrode terminal (Fig. 1; [0335]);
a vent plate (41 – venting part) closing and sealing a second opening at another (upper) side of the case (20) (Fig. 1);
a second current collecting plate (30 – first current collector) electrically connecting the second electrode and a beading portion (21) of the case (20) at an inner side of the vent plate (41) (Fig. 1; [0215]; [0222]; and
a gasket (G1) between the second current collecting plate (30) and the vent plate (41) and between the second current collecting plate (30) and the case (20) (Fig. 1), the gasket (G1) closing and sealing between a crimping portion (22 – crimping part) connected to the beading portion (21) (Fig. 1),
wherein the second current collecting plate (30) comprises:
a base portion (31) on an uncoated portion (11) of the second electrode (Fig. 1 and 11) ([0224]);
an elastic portion (33 - first housing coupling part) connected to the base portion (31) (Fig. 11); and
a wing welding portion (33a – first contact part) connected to the elastic portion (labeled) and welded to the beading portion (21) (Fig. 1 and 11; [0237]),
wherein the elastic portion (33) is bent at a first inward angle (labeled) toward a center of the base portion (31) in a radial direction thereof and at a first outward angle (labeled) toward an outer edge of the base portion (31) in the radial direction (Fig. 2 – above), and
wherein the first inward angle (formed at lowest B1) is an acute angle formed between the base portion (31) and the elastic portion (labeled) (Fig. 4 - below; [0237]).
With respect to claim 2, Lim discloses the second current collecting plate (30) further comprises a bottom welding portion (32 – tab coupling portion) extending outwardly in the radial direction from the base portion (31) and is welded to the uncoated portion (11) of the second electrode (Fig. 1 and 11; [0249]), and
wherein the elastic portion (33) is spaced apart from the bottom welding portion (32) in a circumferential direction of the base portion (31) and is connected to an outer edge of the base portion (31) in the radial direction (Fig. 11).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Gap)]
With respect to claim 3, Lim discloses a gap (labeled) is maintained between an outer end of the bottom welding portion (32) and an inner end of the beading portion (21) in the radial direction of the base portion (31) (Figs. 11 and 13 - above).
With respect to claim 4, Lim discloses the base portion (31) contacts the uncoated portion (11) of the second electrode across its entire area (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 5, Lim discloses the bottom welding portion (32) and the wing welding portion (33a) are each formed in plural and arranged alternately along the base portion (31) in a circumferential direction of the base portion (31) (Fig. 11).
With respect to claim 6, Lim discloses the bottom welding portion (32) and the elastic portion (33) are connected by a concave groove (labeled) in the base portion (31) (Fig. 11 – above).
The limitation which states “to disperse stress concentrated between the bottom welding portion and the elastic portion,” is an example of intended use. Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (MPEP [7.37.09]). In this instance, there is no structural difference between the structure of the prior art and the claimed structure, therefore the concave groove would inherently be able to perform the claimed intended use.
With respect to claim 7, Lim discloses the bottom welding portion (32) has a first welding line extending (W – welding bead) in the radial direction (Figs. 11 and 14), and
wherein the wing welding portion (33a) has a second welding line (W) extending in the circumferential direction (Figs. 11 and 14).
With respect to claim 8, Lim discloses the first inward angle (formed at lowermost B1) is smaller than the first outward angle (formed at middle B1) (Fig. 4 – below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Eleventh outward angle)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Eleventh inward angle)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First inward angle)][AltContent: textbox (First outward angle)]
With respect to claim 9, Lim discloses the wing welding portion (33a) extends farther in the circumferential direction than a width of the elastic portion (33) (Fig. 11).
With respect to claim 10, Lim discloses the elastic portion (33) bends upwardly and inwardly in the radial direction at the first inward angle (labeled, formed at lowermost B1) (Figs. 4 and 11),
wherein the elastic portion (33) bends upwardly and outwardly in the radial direction at the first outward angle (labeled, formed at middle B1) (Figs. 4 and 11), and
wherein the wing welding portion (33a) is bent outwardly at a distal end of the elastic portion (33) and is welded to the beading portion (21) (Fig. 1 and 11; [0237]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Curved portion)][AltContent: textbox (Flat portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Escape groove)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inner protrusion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (G1)]
With respect to claim 11, Lim discloses the gasket (G1) has an escape groove (labeled; described as a reduced thickness) to accommodate the wing welding portion (33a) (Fig. 19 - above) ([0333]),
wherein the escape groove (labeled) also accommodates the distal end of the elastic portion (33) (Fig. 19 - above), and
wherein an inner protrusion (labeled) in the escape groove (labeled) insulated between the distal end of the elastic portion (33) and the vent plate (41) (Fig. 19 – above).
With respect to claim 12, Lim discloses the beading portion (21) has a flat portion (labeled) at an upper side of a curved portion (labeled) curved convex inwardly (Fig. 19 – above), and
wherein the wing welding portion (33a) is welded to the flat portion (labeled) (Fig. 19 – above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. as applied to claim 1.
With respect to claim 13, Lim discloses the elastic portion (33) is bent at an eleventh inward angle (labeled, uppermost B1) toward a center of the base portion (31) in the radial direction after being bent at the first outward angle (labeled, middle B1) (Fig. 4 – above),
wherein the first outward angle (labeled) is an acute angle (Fig. 4 – above; [0238]), and
wherein the eleventh inward angle (labeled, uppermost B1) forms an obtuse angle at a portion of the elastic portion (33) after the first outward angle (labeled, middle B1) (Fig. 4 – above).
Although it appears in Fig. 4 that the first outward angle (labeled, middle B1) is an obtuse angle, it is explicitly stated that “When the first bending part B1 is provided, the angle between the first contact part 33a and the first connection part 33b may be an acute angle due to the first bending part B1,” [0238]). It is also taught that “… at least one bending part B1 may be bent at an obtuse angle so as not to overlap each other when viewed along the longitudinal axis of the battery housing 20,” [0265]). Therefore, it is clear to the examiner that the angles formed at the bent regions of the prior art may be acute or obtuse.
Additionally, several of the applicant’s dependent claims change the various angles in the elastic portion from acute to obtuse, leading the examiner to believe that the degree of the angles are changeable without major significance to the performance of the collector plate overall. Applicant is reminded that the configuration of a part is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed part was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
With respect to claim 14, Lim discloses the elastic portion (33) is bent at an eleventh inward angle (labeled, uppermost B1) toward a center of the base portion (31) in the radial direction after being bent at the first outward angle (labeled, middle B1) (Fig. 4 – above),
wherein the first outward angle (labeled) is an acute angle (Fig. 4 – above; [0238]), and
wherein the elastic portion (33) is bent at an eleventh outward angle (labeled) toward an outer edge of the base portion (31) after being bent at the eleventh inward angle (labeled) (Fig. 4- above),
wherein the eleventh inward angle (labeled) is an acute angle (Fig. 4), and
wherein the eleventh outward angle (labeled) forms an obtuse angle at a portion of the elastic portion (33) after the eleventh inward angle (labeled) (Fig. 4).
Although it appears in Fig. 4 that the first outward angle and eleventh outward angle (labeled, middle B1) are obtuse angles, it is explicitly stated that “When the first bending part B1 is provided, the angle between the first contact part 33a and the first connection part 33b may be an acute angle due to the first bending part B1,” [0238]). It is also taught that “… at least one bending part B1 may be bent at an obtuse angle so as not to overlap each other when viewed along the longitudinal axis of the battery housing 20,” [0265]). Therefore, it is clear to the examiner that the angles formed at the bent regions of the prior art may be acute or obtuse.
Additionally, several of the applicant’s dependent claims change the various angles in the elastic portion from acute to obtuse, leading the examiner to believe that the degree of the angles are changeable without major significance to the performance of the collector plate overall. Applicant is reminded that the configuration of a part is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed part was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
With respect to claim 15, Lim discloses the elastic portion (33) is bent at an eleventh inward angle (labeled, uppermost B1) toward a center of the base portion (31) in the radial direction after being bent at the first outward angle (labeled, middle B1) (Fig. 4 – above),
wherein the first outward angle (labeled) is an acute angle (Fig. 4 – above; [0238]), and
wherein the elastic portion (33) is bent at an eleventh outward angle (labeled) toward an outer edge of the base portion (31) after being bent at the eleventh inward angle (labeled) (Fig. 4- above),
wherein the eleventh inward angle (labeled) is an obtuse angle (Fig. 4), and
wherein the eleventh outward angle (labeled) forms an obtuse angle at a portion of the elastic portion (33) after the eleventh inward angle (labeled) (Fig. 4).
Although it appears in Fig. 4 that the first outward angle and eleventh outward angle (labeled, middle B1) are obtuse angles and the eleventh inward angle is an acute angle, it is explicitly stated that “When the first bending part B1 is provided, the angle between the first contact part 33a and the first connection part 33b may be an acute angle due to the first bending part B1,” [0238]). It is also taught that “… at least one bending part B1 may be bent at an obtuse angle so as not to overlap each other when viewed along the longitudinal axis of the battery housing 20,” [0265]). Therefore, it is clear to the examiner that the angles formed at the bent regions of the prior art may be acute or obtuse.
Additionally, several of the applicant’s dependent claims change the various angles in the elastic portion from acute to obtuse, leading the examiner to believe that the degree of the angles are changeable without major significance to the performance of the collector plate overall. Applicant is reminded that the configuration of a part is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed part was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. 20240304954).
With respect to claim 16, Lim discloses an elastic portion (33) of a collector plate (30) (Figs. 1 and 11), but does not disclose that the elastic portion has a rib.
Wu discloses a current collector plate (100) and teaches the current collector plate has a rib (13 – reinforcing protrusion) (Fig. 4). Wu further teaches the rib strengthens the structure of the current collector plate (100) ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to include the rib taught by Wu to the current collector plate disclosed by Lim in order to strengthen the structure of the current collector plate.
Conclusion
/J.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727