DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 08/21/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 10-12, 14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al., (Wang hereafter) (CN116203276A).
With respect to Claim 1, Wang discloses a system comprising: a wavefront-shaping device (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6) configured to project one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6) along an optical path (curved arrowed lines, Figure 6), the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6) comprising one or more light threads (14, Figure 6); wherein each of the one or more light threads (14, Figure 6) is non-diffracting (¶[0029]) and structured along the optical path (curved arrowed lines, Figure 6); and wherein at least one plane (see Figure 6 where 13 crosses) of the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6) is non-parallel to a plane of the wavefront-shaping device (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6).
With respect to Claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein the at least one plane (see Figure 6 where 13 crosses) of the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6) is parallel (the plane where 13 is located is parallel to one or more of the optical paths) to the optical path (curved arrowed lines, Figure 6).
With respect to Claim 3, Wang further discloses wherein each of the one or more light threads (14, Figure 6) is formed from a superposition of non-diffracting beams (10, Figure 6; see also ¶[0029]).
With respect to Claim 7, Wang further discloses wherein the wavefront-shaping device (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6) comprises at least one of: a diffractive optic, a spatial light modulator, a metasurface (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6), or a digital micromirror device.
With respect to Claim 8, Wang further discloses one or more transparent sheets (13, Figure 6); wherein at least one plane (see Figure 6 where 13 crosses) of the one or more transparent sheets (13, Figure 6) is non-parallel (the plane where 13 is located is not parallel to the plane containing the particles in the SPIV) to the plane of the wavefront-shaping device (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6); and wherein the one or more transparent sheets (13, Figure 6) are configured to scatter light from the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6).
With respect to Claim 10, Wang further discloses wherein the wavefront-shaping device (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6) is configured to control at least one of a phase (¶[0026]), an intensity, or polarization of light.
With respect to Claim 11, Wang further discloses wherein each of the one or more light threads (14, Figure 6) comprises light having one or more wavelengths (¶[0020]).
With respect to Claim 12, Wang further discloses wherein each of the one or more light threads (14, Figure 6) comprises light having one or more wavelengths over the visible or invisible spectrum (¶[0020]).
With respect to Claim 14, Wang further discloses wherein a three-dimensional object is spatially reconstructed (¶[0015]) by the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6).
With respect to Claim 17, Wang discloses a method, comprising: projecting, by a wavefront-shaping device (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6), one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6) along an optical path (curved arrowed lines, Figure 6), the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6) comprising one or more light threads (14, Figure 6); wherein each of the one or more light threads (14, Figure 6) is non-diffracting (¶[0029]) and structured along the optical path (curved arrowed lines, Figure 6); and wherein at least one plane (see Figure 6 where 13 crosses) of the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6) is non-parallel to a plane of the wavefront-shaping device (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6).
With respect to Claim 18, Wang further discloses controlling, by the wavefront-shaping device (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6), at least one of a phase (¶[0026]), an intensity, or polarization of light.
With respect to Claim 19, Wang further discloses wherein the at least one plane (see Figure 6 where 13 crosses) of the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6) is parallel (the plane where 13 is located is parallel to one or more of the optical paths) to the optical path (curved arrowed lines, Figure 6).
With respect to Claim 20, Wang further discloses wherein each of the one or more light threads (14, Figure 6) is formed from a superposition of non-diffracting beams (10, Figure 6; see also ¶[0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN116203276A) in view of Nishiwaki (US 2015/0177506A1).
With respect to Claim 4, Wang teaches the system of claim 1 and the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6).
Wang fails to teach wherein the one or more light sheets comprise: a first light sheet; a second light sheet separated from the first light sheet by a first distance; and a third light sheet separated from the second light sheet by a second distance; wherein the first distance and the second distance are equal.
Wang teaches a stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system and Nishiwaki teaches microscope system.
Nishiwaki teaches wherein the one or more light sheets comprise (LL1-LL4, Figure 14) comprise: a first light sheet (LL1, Figure 14); a second light sheet (LL2, Figure 14) separated from the first light sheet (LL1, Figure 14) by a first distance (G, Figure 4); and a third light sheet (LL3, Figure 14) separated from the second light sheet (LL2, Figure 14) by a second distance (G, Figure 4); wherein the first distance and the second distance are equal (G, Figure 4; see also ¶[0094]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wang having the system with the teachings of Nishiwaki having the one or more light sheets for the purpose of generating three-dimensional information at a high speed with a small number of times of illumination, ¶[0044].
With respect to Claim 5, Wang teaches the system of claim 1, the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6), and the plane of the wavefront-shaping device (particles in the SPIV of Figure 6).
Wang fails to teach wherein the one or more light sheets comprise: a first light sheet defined by a first plane; and a second light sheet proximate the first light sheet and defined by a second plane; wherein the first plane and the second plane are perpendicular to the plane of the wavefront-shaping device.
Wang teaches a stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system and Nishiwaki teaches microscope system.
Nishiwaki teaches wherein the one or more light sheets (LL1-LL4, Figure 14) comprise: a first light sheet (LL1, Figure 14) defined by a first plane (plane of LL1, Figure 14); and a second light sheet (LL2, Figure 14) proximate the first light sheet (LL1, Figure 14) and defined by a second plane (plane of LL2, Figure 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wang having the system with the teachings of Nishiwaki having the one or more light sheets comprise: a first light sheet defined by a first plane; and a second light sheet proximate the first light sheet and defined by a second plane and modifying Wang wherein the first plane and the second plane are perpendicular to the plane of the wavefront-shaping device for the purpose of generating three-dimensional information at a high speed with a small number of times of illumination, ¶[0044].
With respect to Claim 6, Wang teaches the system of claim 5.
Wang fails to teach wherein the first plane is non-parallel to the second plane.
Wang teaches a stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system and Nishiwaki teaches microscope system.
Nishiwaki teaches wherein the one or more light sheets (LL1-LL4, Figure 14) comprise a first plane (plane of LL1, Figure 14) and a second plane (plane of LL1, Figure 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wang having the system with the teachings of Nishiwaki having the first plane and the second plane for the purpose of generating three-dimensional information at a high speed with a small number of times of illumination, ¶[0044].
Wang in view of Nishiwaki discloses the claimed invention except for the first plane not parallel to the second plane. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first plane not parallel to the second plane, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to have the first plane not parallel to the second plane for the purpose of the elimination of shadow effects. In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
With respect to Claim 16, Wang teaches the system of claim 1 and the one or more light threads (14, Figure 6).
Wang fails to teach wherein each of the one or more light threads is formed from a superposition of localized beams.
Wang teaches a stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system and Nishiwaki teaches microscope system.
Nishiwaki teaches wherein the one or more light threads (52, Figure 14; see also ¶[0092]) is formed from a superposition of localized beams (beams after 22b, Figure 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wang having the system with the teachings of Nishiwaki having each of the one or more light threads is formed from a superposition of localized beams for the purpose of generating three-dimensional information at a high speed with a small number of times of illumination, ¶[0044].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN116203276A) in view of Estevadeordal et al., (Estevadeordal hereafter) (Estevadeordal, J., Marks, C., Sondergaard, R. et al. Curved laser-sheet for conformal surface flow diagnostics. Exp Fluids 50, 761–768 (2011); https://doi.org/10.1007/s00348-010-0967-0)
With respect to Claim 9, Wang teaches the system of claim 1 and the one or more light sheets (13, Figure 6).
Wang fails to teach wherein at least one of the one or more light sheets is curved.
Wang teaches a stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system and Estevadeordal teaches a curved laser-sheet which can be utilized in the stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system.
Estevadeordal teaches wherein at least one of the one or more light sheets is curved (title, abstract and Figures 1 and 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wang having the system with the teachings of Estevadeordal having one of the one or more light sheets is curved for the purpose of allowing tracking and diagnosis of curved shapes, p. 762, second column, paragraph two.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wang (CN116203276A) in view of Qin (CN213957747U).
With respect to Claim 13, Wang teaches the systems of claim 1.
Wang fails to teach a first light sheet; and a second light sheet separated from the first light sheet by a distance in a range of one wavelength to 10,000 times the wavelength.
Wang teaches a stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system and Qin teaches a filter which can be used in the stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system.
Qin teaches a first light sheet (11, Figure 1); and a second light sheet (12, Figure 1) separated from the first light sheet (11, Figure 1) by a distance (¶[0027], [0029]) in a range of one wavelength to 10,000 times the wavelength (¶[0027]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wang having the system with the teachings of Qin having a first light sheet; and a second light sheet separated from the first light sheet by a distance in a range of one wavelength to 10,000 times the wavelength for the purpose of reducing the cost of the filter, ¶[0008].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wang (CN116203276A) in view of Liu et al., (Liu hereafter) (CN112556990A).
With respect to Claim 15, Wang teaches the systems of claim 1.
Wang fails to teach a first light sheet; a second light sheet separated from the first light sheet by a first distance; and a third light sheet separated from the second light sheet by a second distance; wherein the first distance is different from the second distance.
Wang teaches a stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system and Liu teaches a lens refractive index measuring device which can be used in the stereoscopic particle velocimetry SPIV system.
Liu teaches a first light sheet (10, Figure 2); a second light sheet (17, Figure 2) separated from the first light sheet (10, Figure 2) by a first distance (see annotated Figure 2); and a third light sheet (18, Figure 2) separated from the second light sheet (17, Figure 2) by a second distance (see annotated Figure 2); wherein the first distance is different from the second distance (Figure 2 shows the first distance and second distance are different).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wang having the system with the teachings of Liu having a first light sheet; a second light sheet separated from the first light sheet by a first distance; and a third light sheet separated from the second light sheet by a second distance; wherein the first distance is different from the second distance for the purpose of focusing the light beam, ¶[0008].
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872