DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to an Amendment/Request for Reconsideration-After Non-Final Rejection filed 4/2/2026.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 13, 15-16, 18, and 20 have been amended. No claims have been added. No claims have been cancelled. Thus claims 1-20 have been examined.
The IDS sent 2/27/2026, 4/14/2026, and 5/26/2026 have been considered.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Louzoun (Louzoun et al., US 2003/0163654 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Louzoun teaches A method, (Louzoun [Abstract] discloses the invention concepts are directed to a method, system, and apparatus.) comprising: receiving, from a controller and at a bank controller different from the controller (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0011]-[0017] and most notable [0011] that discloses logic block 102 may be a memory controller and thus may be a bank controller different from controller 102) a command to access a volatile memory device that is coupled with the controller, (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0011] discloses memory devices 104 may be DRAM devices that are examples of volatile memory devices connected to logic block 102 which may be a memory controller.) the volatile memory device comprising a channel coupled with a set of banks comprising a first bank and a second bank, (Louzoun [0003] discloses the DRAM devices receive read and write commands via a memory bus coupled to a processor and schedules them to a plurality of banks per Louzoun [0013]. Thus there may be a channel/bus ash shown in Fig. 1 connected to a first and second bank based on a queueing scheme.)
wherein the channel comprises a set of control channels; (Per para [0068] of the instant application a control channel may be a means for transmitting a sequence of commands to a bank. Louzoun [0013] discloses the scheduler 108 schedules a plurality of banks thus there are a plurality of sequence of commands scheduled for the plurality of banks over the memory bus of Fig. 1.)
determining which bank of the set of banks is available to perform the command (Louzoun [0017] discloses the scheduler within logic 102 determines which bank of a plurality of banks is to perform the command. Louzoun [0022] discloses this may be based on if the bank is currently available.)
based at least in part on a type of the command and respective operation types associated with the set of banks; (Louzoun [0018]-[0019] discloses the scheduling may be based on the type of command to schedule such as a read or write command as well as which banks have a request for a read command, the type of the previous command transmitted via the memory bus, thus based on the types associated with the set of banks.)
selecting, via the bank controller, the first bank of the volatile memory device to perform the command based at least in part on determining which bank of the set of banks is available; (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0011]-[00017] discloses logic 102 (the bank controller) may schedule the bank based on if the bank is currently available. Examiner, where the bank scheduled may be the first bank.)
assigning, via the bank controller, the command to the first bank of the volatile memory device based at least in part on selecting the first bank; (Louzoun [0013] discloses the scheduler with the logic 102 (i.e. bank controller) generates commands to the memory device which would include the command to the first bank based on its scheduling algorithm that selects the first bank to be scheduled next.)
determining, via the bank controller, a sequence of commands communicated over the set of control channels based on the command assigned to the first bank and one or more other commands assigned to the second bank associated with the channel (Louzoun [0003] discloses the DRAM devices receive read and write commands via a memory bus coupled to a processor or a memory control and schedules them to a plurality of banks per Louzoun [0013]. Thus there may be a first and second bank that commands are assigned to.)
wherein determining the sequence of commands is based on respective types of the one or more other commands; (Louzoun [0015] discloses the schedule receives status information including which banks have a request for a write command and which banks have requests for read commands, thus determines the sequence based on the respective types of the one or more commands.)
and accessing, via the bank controller, the first(Louzoun [0013] discloses the scheduler with the memory controller 102 generates commands to the memory device which would include the command to the first bank based on its scheduling algorithm that selects the first bank to be scheduled next.)
Regarding claim 2, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Louzoun further teaches further comprising: receiving, from the controller, an indication to prioritize the command over other commands, wherein assigning the command is based on receiving the indication. (Louzoun [0021] teaches the status information received from the controller by the scheduler may include priority information to allow for faster execution that could be for a write command to reset the memory device. The write command to reset the memory device is a command sent based on an indication to prioritize the command over other commands received from the controller as status information.)
Regarding claim 4, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 2 above. Louzoun further teaches wherein selecting the first (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0014] discloses the scheduler receives status information that may indicate a priority write command to per Louzoun [0021] may include priority information for certain types of commands to allow for faster execution that and could be a write command to reset the memory device based on a request by the processor. Thus the priority write to reset the memory device will be scheduled at the first bank by the scheduler based on the priority indication.)
Regarding claim 5, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Louzoun further teaches further comprising: initiating a media management operation for the volatile memory device based on accessing the first bank. (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0014] discloses the scheduler receives status information that may indicate a priority write command to per [0021] reset the memory device to allow for faster execution. The priority write to reset the memory device is an example of a media management operation for the volatile memory device.)
Regarding claim 11, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Louzoun further teaches further comprising: identifying a first performance parameter of the first bank and a second performance parameter of the second bank, wherein assigning the command to the first bank is based on the first performance parameter and the second performance parameter. (Louzoun Fig. 2 steps 204 and 206 and [0022]-[0023] discloses the system determines what mode the memory banks are in (read or write mode) to avoid a bank turn-around when scheduling memory requests. Thus the current mode of each bank (including a first and second bank) is an example of a performance parameter for each bank that is used to schedule/assign a command to the first bank based on the performance parameters.)
Regarding claim 12, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 1 above. Louzoun further teaches wherein determining the sequence of commands further comprises: determining a priority of the command and a duration of pendency of the command, wherein determining the sequence of commands is based on the priority and the duration of pendency. (Consistent with paragraph [0079] of the instant application a means for determining a duration of pendency of the command is determining any element that affects the duration of the command or the time frame that the command may wait to execute (the duration of its pendency. Louzoun [0022] discloses that the commands can be sent to a memory device/bank based on the command type currently executing at the memory bank. The type of command currently executing at the memory bank is an example of a duration of pendency of the command since the type of command currently executing affects how long the command must wait to execute if it is to execute a bus turnaround. Louzoun [0021] teaches sending commands is based on a priority commands. Thus, determining the sequence of commands to send to the memory devices is based on the command priorities as well as the duration of pendency.)
Regarding claim 15, Louzoun teaches An apparatus, (Louzoun [Abstract] discloses the invention concepts are directed to a method, system, and apparatus.) comprising: a first die; (consistent with para [0021] of the instant application a die may be a chip. Louzoun [0011] discloses logic block 102 may be a chipset, thus a plurality of chips that control the memory devices and there may be a first chip.)
one or more controllers associated with the first die; (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0011]-[0017] that discloses with logic block 102 that makes up the chipset and may be a memory controller.) an interface block coupled with the first die, (Louzoun [0011]-[0017] discloses Logic block 102 that is an example of an interface block coupled with the first die) the interface block comprising one or more bank controllers; (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0011]-[0017] that discloses controller 106 that is a component of the chipset) a second die; (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0011]-[0017] that discloses logic 102 that may be a chipset, thus there may be a plurality of chips, therefore there may be a second die/chip.)
and a volatile memory device coupled with the second die, (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0011]-[]0017] that discloses memory devices 104 that are coupled with the logic 102 that make up a chipset, including a second die.) the volatile memory device comprising: a first bank of memory cells; a second bank of memory cells; (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0011] that discloses there are a plurality of banks and [0001] discloses the memory devices may be composed of memory cell arrays, thus there may be a first bank of memory cells and a second bank of memory cells.) and a first channel coupled with the first bank and the second bank, (Louzoun [0003] discloses the DRAM devices receive read and write commands via a memory bus coupled to a processor or a memory control and schedules them to a plurality of banks per Louzoun [0013]. Thus there may be a first and second bank connected via the memory bus/channel of Fig. 1.)
wherein the first channel comprises a set of control channels, ((Per para [0068] of the instant application a control channel may be a means for transmitting a sequence of commands to a bank. Louzoun [0013] discloses the scheduler 108 schedules a plurality of banks thus there are a plurality of sequence of commands scheduled for the plurality of banks over the memory bus of Fig. 1.)
the interface block being configured to schedule access operations for the first bank and the second bank of the volatile memory device (Louzoun [0017] discloses the scheduler within logic 102 determines which bank of a plurality of banks is to perform the command, including for a first and second bank.) based on commands received from the one or more controllers, (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0011]-[0017] discloses the scheduler within logic 102 schedules the memory based on information from controller 106.)
wherein the interface block is further configured to: determine which bank of a set of banks is available to perform the commands (Louzoun [0017] discloses the scheduler within logic 102 determines which bank of a plurality of banks is to perform the command. Louzoun [0022] discloses this may be based on if the bank is currently available.) based at least in part on a type of command and respective operation types associated with the set of banks; (Louzoun [0018]-[0019] discloses the scheduling may be based on the type of command to schedule such as a read or write command as well as which banks have a request for a read command, the type of the previous command transmitted via the memory bus, thus based on the types associated with the set of banks.)
select the first bank of the volatile memory device to perform the commands; (Louzoun may schedule the bank based on if the bank is currently available, where the bank scheduled may be the first bank.)
and access the first bank and the second bank of the volatile memory device via the one or more bank controllers. (Louzoun [0003] discloses the SDRAMS memory devices receive read and write commands via a memory bus coupled to a processor or a memory control and schedules them to a plurality of banks per Louzoun [0013]. Thus there may be a first and second bank accessed by the logic 102.)
Regarding claim 16, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 15 above. Louzoun further teaches wherein the interface block is further configured to: assign a command of the commands received from the one or more controllers to the first bank of the volatile memory device; (Louzoun [0013] discloses the scheduler with the memory controller 102 (the interface block) generates commands to the memory device which would include the command to the first bank based on its scheduling algorithm that selects the first bank to be scheduled next based on information from controller 106.)
and receive, from the one or more controllers, an indication to prioritize the command over other commands. (Louzoun [0021] teaches the status information received from the controller by the scheduler may include priority information to allow for faster execution that could be for a write command to reset the memory device. The write command to reset the memory device is a command sent based on an indication to prioritize the command over other commands received from the controller as status information.)
Regarding claim 17, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 15 above. Louzoun further teaches wherein the interface block is further configured to: initiate a media management operation for the volatile memory device. (Louzoun Fig. 1 and [0014] discloses the scheduler within the logic 102 receives status information that may indicate a priority write command to per [0021] reset the memory device to allow for faster execution. The priority write to reset the memory device is an example of a media management operation for the volatile memory device.)
Regarding claim 18, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 15 above. Louzoun further teaches wherein the interface block is further configured to: identify a first performance parameter of the first bank and a second performance parameter of the second bank. (Louzoun Fig. 2 steps 204 and 206 and [0022]-[0023] discloses the system determines what mode the memory banks are in (read or write mode) to avoid a bank turn-around when scheduling memory requests. Thus the current mode of each bank (including a first and second bank) is an example of a performance parameter for each bank that is used to schedule/assign a command to the first bank based on the performance parameters.)
Regarding claim 19, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 15 above. Louzoun further teaches wherein the interface block is further configured to: determine a priority of a command received from the one or more controllers and a duration of pendency of the command. (Consistent with paragraph [0079] of the instant application a means for determining a duration of pendency of the command is determining any element that affects the duration of the command or the time frame that the command may wait to execute (the duration of its pendency). Louzoun [0022] discloses that the commands can be sent to a memory device/bank based on the command type currently executing at the memory bank. The type of command currently executing at the memory bank is an example of a duration of pendency of the command since the type of command currently executing affects how long the command must wait to execute if it is to execute a bus turnaround. Louzoun [0021] teaches sending commands is based on a priority commands. Thus, determining the sequence of commands to send to the memory devices is based on the command priorities as well as the duration of pendency.)
Regarding claim 20, Louzoun teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to: (Louzoun Claim 28 discloses the inventive concepts may be implemented using a storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a computing platform.)
The remainder of claim 20 recite limitations described in claim 1 above and thus is rejected based on the teaching and rationale of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louzoun (Louzoun et al., US 2003/0163654 A1) as detailed in claim 2 and further in view of Williams (Williams et al., US 7,035,908 B1)
Regarding claim 3, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 2 above. However Louzoun does not explicitly teach further comprising: inserting the command at a front of a queue associated with the first bank based on receiving the indication, wherein determining the sequence of commands is based on inserting the command at the front of the queue.
Williams, of a similar field of endeavor, further teaches further comprising: inserting the command at a front of a queue associated with the first bank based on receiving the indication, wherein determining the sequence of commands is based on inserting the command at the front of the queue. (Louzoun [0017] discloses the logic 102 may use a bank based queueing schedule to determine the specific bank to receive a command. Louzoun [0021] discloses the system may schedule a priority write command to reset the memory device. Williams teaches a message circuit that pass messages within a memory architecture. Williams [Summary of the invention] and column 3, lines 49-55 taches that a system may maintain a queue for command processing where the commands at the front of the queue are for urgent messages and the rest of the queue is for normal processing. Urgent (i.e. priority) commands are placed at the front of the FIFO queue if there is no other urgent messages pending.)
Louzoun and Williams are in a similar field of endeavor as both relate to computer implemented solutions. Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of a single queue containing both normal and priority requests in a single queue as taught by Williams into the solution of Louzoun. Thus combining prior art elements according to known methods (using a single queue with priority commands placed at the front of the queue as taught by Williams into the solution of Louzoun that maintains a queue and with priority commands) to yield predictable results; (Simplify the hardware/circuitry for implementing a memory FIFO to provide orderly command passing between multiple system components while maintaining high priority and normal priority commands. See Williams column 4 lines 31-48.)
Claims 6-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louzoun (Louzoun et al., US 2003/0163654 A1) as detailed in claim 1 and 5 above and further in view of Oh (OH, US 2023/0326511 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 5 above. However, Louzoun does not explicitly teach wherein initiating the media management operation further comprises: detecting a possibility of one or more errors caused by a row hammer event based on accessing the first bank; and initiating a row hammer mitigation operation based on detecting the possibility.
Oh, of a similar field of endeavor, further teaches wherein initiating the media management operation further comprises: detecting a possibility of one or more errors caused by a row hammer event based on accessing the first bank; and initiating a row hammer mitigation operation based on detecting the possibility. (Examiner notes that, consistent with para [0049] of the instant application, a media management operation may be a row hammer mitigation, refresh, error control, or repair operation. Oh [Abstract] discloses a memory device that includes a row hammer management circuity and a refresh control circuit. The row hammer management circuit tracks what cell rows have been intensively accessed, and issues refresh operations on the adjoining rows to reduce the effects of the row hammer operations and would do so for the volatile memory devices of the solution of Hall in view of Akamatsu. See also Hall Fig. 1 and supporting para [0015] that disclose the first and second memory devices of Hall may be volatile memory devices.)
Louzoun and Oh are all in a similar field of endeavor as all relate to computer implemented solutions. Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed data of the claimed invention to incorporate the row hammer / refresh control circuitry of Oh into the solution of Louzoun, thus combining prior art elements according to known methods (the row hammer mitigation of Oh using row/column decoders into the solution of Louzoun that schedules memory commands including memory management commands to a memory) to yield predictable results; (a memory controller that schedules memory access commands and results in fewer errors in the memory access requests caused by row hammer threats that are known to create memory access errors when responding to access requests.)
The motivation to incorporate Oh into the solution of Louzoun for claims 7-10 are the same as set forth in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 7, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 5 above. However, Louzoun does not explicitly teach wherein initiating the media management operation further comprises: initiating a refresh operation for the first bank based on accessing the first bank.
Oh, of a similar field of endeavor, further discloses wherein initiating the media management operation further comprises: initiating a refresh operation for the first bank based on accessing the first bank. Oh [Abstract] and [0006] discloses a memory device that includes a row hammer management circuity and a refresh control circuit. The row hammer management circuit tracks what cell rows have been intensively accessed, and issues refresh operations on the adjoining rows to reduce the effects of the row hammer operations. The refresh operation is an example of a media management operation initiated for adjoining rows of the memory device which are rows within the same memory bank in the solution of Louzoun that would be a volatile memory bank per Louzoun [0011] that disclose the first and second memory devices may be DRAM memory devices which are examples of volatile memory devices.)
The motivation to combine Oh into Louzoun is the same as set forth in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 8, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 5 above. However, Louzoun does not explicitly teach wherein initiating the media management operation further comprises: initiating a repair operation to repair a row, a column, or a through-silicon via of the first bank based on accessing the first bank.
Oh, of a similar field of endeavor, further discloses wherein initiating the media management operation further comprises: initiating a repair operation to repair a row, a column, or a through-silicon via of the first bank based on accessing the first bank. (Oh [Abstract], [0006], and [0239] discloses a memory device that includes a row hammer management circuity and a refresh control circuit. The row hammer management circuit tracks what cell rows have been intensively accessed, and issues refresh operations on the adjoining rows to reduce the effects of the row hammer operations. The refresh operation is an example of a media management operation initiated to repair voltage degradation/fluctuations in adjoining rows of the memory device that degrade quickly and are repaired via a refresh where the adjoining rows are rows within the same memory bank that in the solution of Louzoun that are volatile banks per Louzoun [0011] that disclose the first and second memory devices may be DRAM memory devices which are examples of volatile memory devices.)
The motivation to combine Oh into Louzoun is the same as set forth in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 9, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 5 above. However, Louzoun does not explicitly teach wherein initiating the media management operation further comprises: initiating an error control operation for the first bank based on accessing the first bank.
Oh, of a similar field of endeavor, further discloses wherein initiating the media management operation further comprises: initiating an error control operation for the first bank based on accessing the first bank. (Examiner notes that repairing degraded voltages is an example of providing an error control operation as it reduces errors in adjoining rows to a row experience an unusually high level of activity that degrades the adjoining cell voltages. Oh [Abstract], [0006], and [0239] discloses a memory device that includes a row hammer management circuity and a refresh control circuit. The row hammer management circuit tracks what cell rows have been intensively accessed, and issues refresh operations on the adjoining rows to reduce the effects of the row hammer operations. The refresh operation is an example of a media management operation initiated to repair voltage degradation/fluctuations in adjoining rows of the memory device that degrade quickly and are repaired via a refresh where the adjoining rows are rows within the same memory bank that in the solution of Louzoun that are volatile banks per Louzoun [0011] that disclose the first and second memory devices may be DRAM memory devices which are examples of volatile memory devices.)
The motivation to combine Oh into Louzoun is the same as set forth in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 10, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 5 above. However, Louzoun does not explicitly teach
wherein the media management operation is initiated without receiving instructions from the controller.
Oh, of a similar field of endeavor, further discloses wherein the media management operation is initiated without receiving instructions from the controller. (Oh [Abstract], [0006], and [0239] discloses the media management operation of a refresh operation is triggered by the row hammer management circuit and the refresh control circuit. Oh Fig. 1 and supporting para [0054] and [0057] discloses that the row hammer management circuit 500 is contained within the Semiconductor Memory Device 200 containing DRAM memory that is an example of the DRAM memory of Louzoun.)
The motivation to combine Oh into Louzoun is the same as set forth in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 13, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Louzoun [0001] teaches the memory cell array is arranged as a matrix of rows and columns. But does not explicitly teach wherein determining the sequence of commands further comprises: determining a first sequence of commands for the first bank including row commands and columns commands associated with the first sequence of commands; and determining a second sequence of commands for the second bank including row commands and column commands associated with the second sequence of commands, wherein the sequence of commands communicated over the set of control channels of the channel are based on the row commands and the column commands associated with the first sequence of commands and the row commands and the column commands associated with the second sequence of commands.
Oh, of a similar field of endeavor, further teaches wherein determining the sequence of commands further comprises: determining a first sequence of commands for the first bank including row commands and columns commands associated with the first sequence of commands; (Louzoun [0013] discloses the schedule schedules commands to a plurality of banks, thus to a first bank that may be to a memory array arranged as a matrix of rows and columns. Oh Fig. 3 and [0074]-[0079] discloses this is performed by issuing commands to row decoders and column address requests from the controller. Thus the scheduling of Louzoun first bank would be performed by a sequent of row commands and column commands associated with the first bank of Louzoun).
and determining a second sequence of commands for the second bank including row commands and column commands associated with the second sequence of commands, (Louzoun [0013] discloses the schedule schedules commands to a plurality of banks, thus to a second bank that may be to a memory array arranged as a matrix of rows and columns. Oh Fig. 3 and [0074]-[0079] discloses this is performed by issuing commands to row decoders and column address requests from the controller. Thus the scheduling of Louzoun first bank would be performed by a sequent of row commands and column commands associated with the second bank of Louzoun).
wherein the sequence of commands communicated over the set of control channels of the channel are based on the row commands and the column commands associated with the first sequence of commands and the row commands and the column commands associated with the second sequence of commands. (Louzoun [0013] discloses the schedule schedules commands to a plurality of banks, thus to first and second banks that may be to a memory array arranged as a matrix of rows and columns. Oh Fig. 3 and [0074]-[0079] discloses this is performed by issuing commands to row decoders and column address requests from the controller to the respective bank.)
The motivation to combine Oh into Louzoun is the same as set forth in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 14, Louzoun teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Louzoun [0001] teaches the memory cell array is arranged as a matrix of rows and columns. But does not explicitly teach further comprising: determining whether a column command or a row command or both are to be communicated over the set of control channels of the channel as part of performing the command, wherein determining the sequence of commands is based on determining whether the column command or the row command or both are to be communicated.
Louzoun in view of Oz further teaches further comprising: determining whether a column command or a row command or both are to be communicated over the set of control channels of the channel as part of performing the command, wherein determining the sequence of commands is based on determining whether the column command or the row command or both are to be communicated. Louzoun [0013] discloses the schedule schedules commands to a plurality of banks, thus to first and second banks that may be to a memory array arranged as a matrix of rows and columns. Oh Fig. 3 and [0074]-[0079] and [0094] discloses this is performed by issuing commands to row decoders and column address requests from the controller to the respective bank by a command decoder 211 that processes commands.)
The motivation to combine Oh into Louzoun is the same as set forth in claim 6 above.
Response to Remarks
Examiner thanks applicant for their claim amendments and remarks of 4/2/2026. They have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks that Hall, Akamatsu, Williams, and Oh do not teach or suggest all of the features of the amended independent claims 1, 15, and 20. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration and in response to the claims as amended, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Louzoun (Louzoun et al., US 2003/0163654 A1) and previously cited Williams and Oh as detailed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANICE M. GIROUARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138