DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents Claims 1-18 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-18 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 and any corresponding dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The claim recites "wherein the data signal that the measurement window are arranged in series.” This limitation is unclear. For the rejections below, the Office will interpret the claim to be “wherein the data signals are arranged in series.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
+_+_+ Claims 1-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Druml - U.S. Pub. 20220065995 +_+_+
As for Claim 1, Druml teaches a LIDAR system configured to output system output signals, each of the system output signals being output during a different output window (¶43|1: “FIG. 2A includes a top diagram and bottom diagram. The top diagram of FIG. 2A shows frequency ramps of a FMCW light beam used for FMCW ranging in one or more embodiments. Additionally, a corresponding wavelength component is shown that changes with the change in frequency of a ramp. The frequency ramps include a forward ramp (up-ramp) portion and a backward ramp (down-ramp) portion. Thus, different frequencies/wavelengths are transmitted at different times.” Further, (¶44|7) “[b]oth the frequency of the FMCW light beam and the deflection angle θ of the MEMS mirror are constantly changing over time. Thus, different frequencies/wavelengths of the FMCW light beam are incident on the MEMS mirror at different transmission times and/or at different deflection angles θ.), and the LIDAR system being configured to receive system return signals, each of the system return signals including light from one of the system output signals that was reflected by an object located outside of the LIDAR system (¶39|1: “The photodetector 15 receives reflective light pulses as the receiving line RL and generates electrical signals in response thereto.”); light combiners, each of the light combiners configured to combine light from the system return signals with light from reference signals so as to generate composite light signals, each of the composite light signals beating at a beat frequency (¶39|3: “The distance of objects can be calculated either via the time difference between sent and received laser pulses or laser frequency chirps [i.e., combined returned and reference signals]. A depth map can plot the distance information.”); an Analog-to-Digital Converter configured to receive data signals that are each beating at the beat frequency of one of the composite signals, the Analog-to-Digital Converter receiving each of the data signals within a different measurement window, each of the measurement windows overlapping multiple of the output windows (¶39|1: “The photodetector 15 receives reflective light pulses as the receiving line RL and generates electrical signals [via ADCs] in response thereto.” Further, (¶53|1) “The length L of the frequency ramps is adjustable by a controller of the FMCW LIDAR system. For example, the system controller 23 can adjust the slope and thus the length L of the ramps according to the scanning frequency of the MEMS mirror. In this way, the length L of the ramps can be synchronized with the MEMS mirror motion. Particularly, the system controller 23 can assign (i.e., map) and synchronize each ramp with a sub-range or segment of the full angular range of the MEMS mirror, as is shown in FIG. 2B.” Further, (¶64|5) “[i]n other words, an up-chirp is paired with a down-chirp from different mirror scans such that they both cover (i.e., overlap with) the same sub-angular range of the full FOV.”)
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Druml teaches wherein each of the system output signals has a different chirp rate and/or a different chirp direction (¶44|7: “Both the frequency of the FMCW light beam and the deflection angle θ of the MEMS mirror are constantly changing over time. Thus, different frequencies/wavelengths of the FMCW light beam are incident on the MEMS mirror at different transmission times and/or at different deflection angles θ.)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 2, Druml teaches wherein the LIDAR system is configured to output different system output signals in series (¶44|7: “Both the frequency of the FMCW light beam and the deflection angle θ of the MEMS mirror are constantly changing over time. Thus, different frequencies/wavelengths of the FMCW light beam are incident on the MEMS mirror at different transmission times and/or at different deflection angles θ.)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 1, Druml teaches [wherein the data signals are arranged in series] (¶44|7: “Both the frequency of the FMCW light beam and the deflection angle θ of the MEMS mirror are constantly changing over time. Thus, different frequencies/wavelengths of the FMCW light beam are incident on the MEMS mirror at different transmission times and/or at different deflection angles θ.)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 1, Druml teaches wherein each of the data signals is beating at the beat frequency of one of the composite signals and the data signal received during each of the measurement windows is beating at the beat frequency of one of the composite signals that carries light from the system output signal that is output during one of the multiple output windows overlapped by the measurement window (¶64|5: “In other words, an up-chirp is paired with a down-chirp from different mirror scans such that they both cover (i.e., overlap with) the same sub-angular range of the full FOV.”)
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 1, Druml teaches wherein each of the data signals is generated from a different one of the system output signals and the measurement window within which each data signals is received overlaps the output window of the system output signal from which the data signal is generated by less than 50% of a duration of the output window of the system output signal (¶53|1: “The length L of the frequency ramps is adjustable by a controller of the FMCW LIDAR system. For example, the system controller 23 can adjust the slope and thus the length L of the ramps according to the scanning frequency of the MEMS mirror. In this way, the length L of the ramps can be synchronized with the MEMS mirror motion. Particularly, the system controller 23 can assign (i.e., map) and synchronize each ramp with a sub-range or segment of the full angular range of the MEMS mirror, as is shown in FIG. 2B.”)
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 1, Druml teaches wherein each of the data signals is generated from a different one of the system output signals and the measurement window within which each data signals is received overlaps the output window of the system output signal from which the data signal is generated by less than 20% of a duration of the output window of the system output signal (¶53|1: “The length L of the frequency ramps is adjustable by a controller of the FMCW LIDAR system. For example, the system controller 23 can adjust the slope and thus the length L of the ramps according to the scanning frequency of the MEMS mirror. In this way, the length L of the ramps can be synchronized with the MEMS mirror motion. Particularly, the system controller 23 can assign (i.e., map) and synchronize each ramp with a sub-range or segment of the full angular range of the MEMS mirror, as is shown in FIG. 2B.”)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 1, Druml teaches wherein the LIDAR system includes a switch that receives the data signals and selects which of the data signals is received by the Analog-to-Digital Converter (¶25|11: “Thus, the system controller 23 includes at least one processor and/or processor circuitry (e.g., comparators, TDCs, ADCs, and digital signal processors (DSPs)) of a signal processing chain for processing data, as well as control circuitry, such as a microcontroller, that is configured to generate control signals.”)
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 8, Druml teaches wherein the Analog-to-Digital Converter receives the data signals from the switch (¶25|11: “Thus, the system controller 23 includes at least one processor and/or processor circuitry (e.g., comparators, TDCs, ADCs, and digital signal processors (DSPs)) of a signal processing chain for processing data, as well as control circuitry, such as a microcontroller, that is configured to generate control signals.”)
As for Claim 15, Druml teaches a LIDAR system configured to output system output signals that each illuminates one of multiple sample regions in a field of view for the LIDAR system, the system output signals including first system output signals that illuminate a first one of the sample regions and second system output signals that illuminate a second one of the sample regions (¶43|1: “FIG. 2A includes a top diagram and bottom diagram. The top diagram of FIG. 2A shows frequency ramps of a FMCW light beam used for FMCW ranging in one or more embodiments. Additionally, a corresponding wavelength component is shown that changes with the change in frequency of a ramp. The frequency ramps include a forward ramp (up-ramp) portion and a backward ramp (down-ramp) portion. Thus, different frequencies/wavelengths are transmitted at different times.” Further, (¶44|7) “[b]oth the frequency of the FMCW light beam and the deflection angle θ of the MEMS mirror are constantly changing over time. Thus, different frequencies/wavelengths of the FMCW light beam are incident on the MEMS mirror at different transmission times and/or at different deflection angles θ.); the LIDAR system configured to receive system return signals that each includes light from one of the system output signals that was reflected by an object located outside of the LIDAR system (¶39|1: “The photodetector 15 receives reflective light pulses as the receiving line RL and generates electrical signals in response thereto.”), the LIDAR system including light combiners that are each configured to combine light from the system return signals with light from reference signals so as to generate composite light signals (¶39|3: “The distance of objects can be calculated either via the time difference between sent and received laser pulses or laser frequency chirps [i.e., combined returned and reference signals]. A depth map can plot the distance information.”), the LIDAR system including a beat signal identifier having an Analog-to-Digital Converter (¶25|11: “Thus, the system controller 23 includes at least one processor and/or processor circuitry (e.g., comparators, TDCs, ADCs, and digital signal processors (DSPs)) of a signal processing chain for processing data, as well as control circuitry, such as a microcontroller, that is configured to generate control signals.”) configured to receive data signals that area each beating at the beat frequency of a different one of the composite signals, the Analog-to-Digital Converter receiving a second one of the data signals between a first one of the data signals and a third one of the data signals, the first data signal beating at the beat frequency of one of the composite signals that includes light from one of the first system output signals, the second data signal beating at the beat frequency of one of the composite signals that includes light from one of the second system output signals, the third data signal beating at the beat frequency of one of the composite signals that includes light from one of the first system output signals (¶45|15: “For example, each frequency ramp of the FMCW light beam may be mapped to a specific angular sub-range and the continuous change of the frequency of a ramp is synchronized with a continuous change of the deflection angle within the angular sub-range. A sensing circuit may be further provided to sense a rotational or deflection position (e.g., the rotation angle θ of the MEMS mirror) in order to provide further feedback information to the controller in order to aid in the synchronization.” That is, the output signals are aligned with [i.e. synchronized with] the respective input signals to detect the various beat frequencies.); and the LIDAR system including a processor configured to calculate a LIDAR data result for each of the sample regions from the beat frequencies, the LIDAR data result for each sample region indicating a radial velocity and/or a distance between the LIDAR system and an object positioned in the sample region (¶39|3: “The distance of objects can be calculated either via the time difference between sent and received laser pulses or laser frequency chirps [i.e., combined returned and reference signals]. A depth map can plot the distance information.”)
(¶45|15: “For example, each frequency ramp of the FMCW light beam may be mapped to a specific angular sub-range and the continuous change of the frequency of a ramp is synchronized with a continuous change of the deflection angle within the angular sub-range. A sensing circuit may be further provided to sense a rotational or deflection position ( e.g., the rotation angle 8 of the MEMS mirror) in order to provide further feedback information to the controller in order to aid in the synchronization.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
+_+_+ Claims 10-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Druml in view of Boloorian et al. - U.S. Pub. 20200333443 +_+_+
As for Claim 10, Druml teaches a LIDAR system configured to generate outgoing LIDAR signals; [..1..] each of the outgoing LIDAR signal having a frequency versus time pattern that periodically repeats in cycles, each cycle including multiple chirp periods, a chirp rate of each outgoing LIDAR signal being constant in each of the chirp periods of the cycle associated with the outgoing LIDAR signal, each of the outgoing LIDAR signals having different chirp rates and/or different chirp directions in different chirp periods of the cycle of the outgoing LIDAR signal (¶53|1) “The length L of the frequency ramps is adjustable by a controller of the FMCW LIDAR system. For example, the system controller 23 can adjust the slope and thus the length L of the ramps [of the multiple chirp periods in multiple directions] according to the scanning frequency of the MEMS mirror. In this way, the length L of the ramps can be synchronized with the MEMS mirror motion. Particularly, the system controller 23 can assign (i.e., map) and synchronize each ramp with a sub-range or segment of the full angular range of the MEMS mirror, as is shown in FIG. 2B.”); the LIDAR system configured to output multiple system output signals, each of the system output signals including light from one of the outgoing LIDAR signals and different system output signals including light from different outgoing LIDAR signals, and a duration for the output of each system output signal being less than or equal to one half of a duration of one or more of the chirp periods in the cycle of the outgoing LIDAR signal that is a source of the light included in the system output signal (¶45|1: “A length L of the frequency ramp is equivalent to an amount of time (i.e., a duration) it takes for the frequency to change from a minimum frequency to a maximum frequency or vice versa. The length L of the forward ramp (up-ramp) portion and the backward ramp portion may be equal. Thus, one triangle wave interval is 2L in duration [i.e., upchirp is one half the duration of chirp period]. It is also to be noted that the length L, and consequently a length of a triangle wave interval, of the frequency ramp is adjustable by a controller of the FMCW LIDAR system. For example, the system controller 23 can adjust the length L of the ramp to cover a certain segment of the full FOY. In this way, the length L of the ramp can be synchronized with the MEMS mirror motion, particularly with an angular subrange of the full range of motion of the MEMS mirror 12 about its scanning axis.”) Druml does not explicitly teach using waveguides to direct LiDAR signals.
But Boloorian teaches [1] the LIDAR system having waveguides that receive the outgoing LIDAR signals such that different outgoing LIDAR signals are guided by different waveguides (¶36|1: “The utility waveguide 12 carries the outgoing LIDAR signal from the modulator 14 to a signal-directing component 18. The signal-directing component 18 can direct the outgoing LIDAR signal to a LIDAR branch 20 and/or a data branch 22. The LIDAR branch outputs LIDAR output signals and receives LIDAR input signals. The data branch processes the LIDAR input signals for the generation of LIDAR data (distance and/or radial velocity between the source of the LIDAR output signal and a reflecting object).”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Druml and Boloorian because using waveguides to direct signals allows for more diverse and compact arrangement of components.
[Examiner Note: PTO-892 references Crouch and Davydenko also teaches a FMCW LiDAR scanning multiple signals in multiple directions via a waveguide.]
As for Claim 11, which depends on Claim 10, Druml teaches wherein a duration of the cycle in the frequency versus time pattern for a first one of the outgoing LIDAR signals is the same as a duration of the cycle in the frequency versus time pattern for a second one of the outgoing LIDAR signals but maxima and minima in the frequency versus time pattern for the second outgoing LIDAR signal occur at different times from the maxima and minima in the frequency versus time pattern for the first outgoing LIDAR signal (¶53|1: “The length L of the frequency ramps is adjustable by a controller of the FMCW LIDAR system. For example, the system controller 23 can adjust the slope and thus the length L of the ramps according to the scanning frequency of the MEMS mirror. In this way, the length L of the ramps can be synchronized with the MEMS mirror motion. Particularly, the system controller 23 can assign (i.e., map) and synchronize each ramp with a sub-range or segment of the full angular range of the MEMS mirror, as is shown in FIG. 2B.”)
As for Claim 12, which depends on Claim 11, Druml teaches wherein the frequency versus time pattern for the second outgoing LIDAR signal has a frequency offset relative to the frequency versus time pattern for the first outgoing LIDAR signal (¶45|15: “For example, each frequency ramp of the FMCW light beam may be mapped to a specific angular sub-range and the continuous change of the frequency of a ramp is synchronized with a continuous change of the deflection angle within the angular sub-range. A sensing circuit may be further provided to sense a rotational or deflection position (e.g., the rotation angle θ of the MEMS mirror) in order to provide further feedback information to the controller in order to aid in the synchronization.” That is, the output signals are aligned with [i.e. synchronized with] the respective input signals to detect the various beat frequencies.)
As for Claim 13, which depends on Claim 10, Boloorian teaches wherein the LIDAR system includes a signal selector configured concurrently receive the outgoing LIDAR signals from the waveguides, the signal selector being configured to select which of the outgoing LIDAR signals received by the signal selector is output from the LIDAR system as the system output signal (¶43|1: “The signal-directing component 18 is configured such that when the signal-directing component 18 directs at least a portion of the incoming LIDAR signal to the comparative waveguide 32, the signal-directing component 18 also directs at least a portion of the outgoing LID AR signal to a reference signal waveguide 36. The portion of the outgoing LIDAR signal received by the reference signal waveguide 36 serves as a reference light signal.”)
As for Claim 14, which depends on Claim 13, Boloorian teaches wherein the signal selector includes multiple amplifiers and each of the amplifiers receives a different one of the outgoing LIDAR signals (¶35|1: “An amplifier 16 is optionally positioned along the utility waveguide 12. Since the power of the outgoing LIDAR signal is distributed among multiple channels, the amplifier 16 may be desirable to provide each of the channels with the desired power level on the utility waveguide 12. Suitable amplifiers include, but are not limited to, semiconductor optical amplifiers (SOAs).”)
As for Claim 16, which depends on Claim 15, Boloorian teaches wherein the LIDAR system is configured to generate outgoing LIDAR signals, the LIDAR system has waveguides that concurrently guide the outgoing LIDAR signals such that different outgoing LIDAR signals are guided by different waveguides, and the first system output signals include light from a first one of the outgoing LIDAR signals and the second system output signals include light from a second one of the outgoing LIDAR signals (¶36|1: “The utility waveguide 12 carries the outgoing LIDAR signal from the modulator 14 to a signal-directing component 18. The signal-directing component 18 can direct the outgoing LIDAR signal to a LIDAR branch 20 and/or a data branch 22. The LIDAR branch outputs LIDAR output signals and receives LIDAR input signals. The data branch processes the LIDAR input signals for the generation of LIDAR data (distance and/or radial velocity between the source of the LIDAR output signal and a reflecting object).”)
As for Claim 17, which depends on Claim 15, Boloorian teaches wherein the LIDAR system includes a signal selector configured to concurrently receive the outgoing LIDAR signals from the waveguides, the signal selector being configured to select which one of the outgoing LIDAR signals received by the signal selector is output from the LIDAR system so as to serve as the system output signal (¶43|1: “The signal-directing component 18 is configured such that when the signal-directing component 18 directs at least a portion of the incoming LIDAR signal to the comparative waveguide 32, the signal-directing component 18 also directs at least a portion of the outgoing LID AR signal to a reference signal waveguide 36. The portion of the outgoing LIDAR signal received by the reference signal waveguide 36 serves as a reference light signal.”)
As for Claim 18, which depends on Claim 17, Boloorian teaches wherein the signal selector includes multiple amplifiers and each of the amplifiers receives a different one of the outgoing LIDAR signals (¶35|1: “An amplifier 16 is optionally positioned along the utility waveguide 12. Since the power of the outgoing LIDAR signal is distributed among multiple channels, the amplifier 16 may be desirable to provide each of the channels with the desired power level on the utility waveguide 12. Suitable amplifiers include, but are not limited to, semiconductor optical amplifiers (SOAs).”)
Conclusion
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645