Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 7-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spound et al. (4,046,421) in view of Shimosawa, Milberg et al. and Miller.
Regarding claim 1, Spound et al. discloses a multifunctional combined sofa, wherein the combined sofa is formed by any combination of several sofa modules (figures 13a-13c shows a fan shape and figure 10 shows a square shape), the sofa modules comprise a fan-shaped seat (306, figures 13a-13c), a connecting seat (302), and a rectangular stool (302, figure 9), wherein the several sofa modules are combinable by being placed adjacent to each other relying on dimensional matching without any mechanical connection (figures 12-13).
However, Spound et al. fail to disclose a lower portion of a fan-shaped backrest of the fan-shaped seat is fixed to a rear edge of a fan-shaped base, the fan-shaped base is fitted with a fan-shaped cushion, an outward central angle of a front circular arc edge to a center of the fan-shaped seat cushion is 45 degrees, a bottom of the fan-shaped backrest and a bottom of the fan-shaped base share a plane, and support legs are disposed at four corners of the plane.
Instead, Shimosawa discloses a lower portion of a fan-shaped backrest 26 of the fan-shaped seat 24 is fixed to a rear edge of a fan-shaped base 28, the fan-shaped base is fitted with a fan-shaped cushion (see figure 3 where the cushion can be seen), an outward central angle of a front circular arc edge (see figure 4) to a center of the fan-shaped seat cushion is 45 degrees, a bottom of the fan-shaped backrest and a bottom of the fan-shaped base share a plane, and support legs 30 are disposed at four corners of the plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Shimosawa and use fan shape with legs in the invention of Spound et al. in order to reduce cost while protecting the base
However, Spound et al. fails to disclose the left seat comprises a rectangular backrest, a lower portion of the rectangular backrest is fixed to a rear edge of a rectangular base, and an upper surface of the rectangular base is fitted with a rectangular cushion; and an armrest abuts against and is fixed to left side walls of the rectangular backrest and the rectangular base, a bottom of the armrest, a bottom of the rectangular backrest, and a bottom of the rectangular base share a plane, and support legs are disposed at four corners of the plan, wherein the right seat comprises a rectangular backrest, a lower portion of the rectangular backrest is fixed to a rear edge of the rectangular base, and an upper surface of the rectangular base is fitted with a rectangular cushion; and an armrest abuts against and is fixed to right side walls of the rectangular backrest and the rectangular base, a bottom of the armrest, a bottom of the rectangular backrest, and a bottom of the rectangular base share a plane, and support legs are disposed at four corners of the plane.
Millberg et al. disclose the left seat comprises a rectangular backrest 1120a/b, a lower portion of the rectangular backrest is fixed to a rear edge of a rectangular base 1121a/b, and an upper surface of the rectangular base is fitted with a rectangular cushion 730 (applies to all setups); and an armrest a 1110a/b abuts against and is fixed to left side walls of the rectangular backrest and the rectangular base, a bottom of the armrest, a bottom of the rectangular backrest, and a bottom of the rectangular base share a plane, and support legs 1600 are disposed at four corners of the plan, wherein the right seat 1120a/b comprises a rectangular backrest 1121a/b, a lower portion of the rectangular backrest is fixed to a rear edge of the rectangular base, and an upper surface of the rectangular base is fitted with a rectangular cushion 730; and an armrest 1110a/b abuts against and is fixed to right side walls of the rectangular backrest and the rectangular base, a bottom of the armrest, a bottom of the rectangular backrest, and a bottom of the rectangular base share a plane, and support legs 1600 are disposed at four corners of the plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Millberg et al. and include right and left seat in the invention of Spound et al. because it is compact and efficient way to seat additional users.
Furthermore, Spound et al. fails to disclose a rectangular backrest, a lower portion of the rectangular backrest is fixed to a rear edge of a rectangular base, and an upper surface of the rectangular base is fitted with a rectangular cushion; and an armrest abuts against and is fixed to left side walls of the rectangular backrest and the rectangular base, an armrest abuts against and is fixed to right side walls of the rectangular backrest and the rectangular base, a bottom of the armrest, a bottom of the armrest, a bottom of the rectangular backrest, and a bottom of the rectangular base share a plane, and support legs are disposed at four corners of the plane.
Millberg et al. disclose the single seat comprises a rectangular backrest 726, a lower portion of the rectangular backrest is fixed to a rear edge of a rectangular base 722, and an upper surface of the rectangular base is fitted with a rectangular cushion 730; and an armrest 710a abuts against and is fixed to left side walls of the rectangular backrest and the rectangular base, an armrest 710b abuts against and is fixed to right side walls of the rectangular backrest and the rectangular base, a bottom of the armrest, a bottom of the armrest, a bottom of the rectangular backrest, and a bottom of the rectangular base share a plane, and support legs 1600 are disposed at four corners of the plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Millberg et al. include single seat in the invention of Spound et al. because it is compact and efficient way to seat additional users.
Spound et al. also fail to disclose an anti-skid gasket is mounted at a bottom of the support leg.
Miller discloses an anti-skid gasket 160 is mounted at a bottom of the support leg.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Miller and use the anti skid material in the legs of Spound et al. for the purpose of preventing any damages and injuries.
Regarding claim 2, Spound et al. discloses in figures 3 and 4 a cross-section of the fan-shaped cushion (figure 3) is fan-shaped, and is formed by encircling of a left side edge, the front circular arc edge, a right side edge, and a rear circular arc edge; and one end of the left side edge and one end of the right side edge are respectively connected to two ends of the circular arc edge, the other end of the left side edge and the other end of the right side edge are respectively connected to two ends of the circular arc edge, and a length of the left side edge is equal to a length of the right side edge (figures 3 and 4 of Spound et al. are identical to figure 1 of the applicant’s invention).
Regarding claim 3, Spound et al. discloses in figure 5 a lower portion of a rectangular backrest of the connecting seat is fixed to a rear edge of a rectangular base, an upper surface of the rectangular base is fitted with a rectangular cushion, the rectangular backrest and the rectangular base share a plane, and support legs are disposed at four corners of the plane (figure 5 discloses a square shape of the figures 1-4 which contains all the elements of the seat back, bottom, base, cushion and casters).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spound et al. in view of Shimosawa, Milberg et al. and Miller, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Altemimei (11,633,046).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Altemimei discloses the rectangular stool 72 comprises a rectangular cushion 68, the rectangular cushion is fitted with an upper surface of a rectangular base 10, and support legs 20 are disposed at four corners of a lower surface of the rectangular base, wherein a cross-section of the rectangular cushion is rectangular.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Altemimei and use the rectangular stool in the invention of Spound et al. because it is compact and efficient.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spound et al. in view of Shimosawa, Milberg et al. and Miller, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kotowicz (2,344,093).
Regarding claim 9, Kotowicz discloses the support leg 13 is an oblique quadrangular prism.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kotowicz and use prism shaped legs in the invention of Spound et al. because it is simple and cost effective.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636