DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed May 28, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Seereddy (US 2022/0325462 cited in IDS).
Seereddy is directed towards a removable agitator where figures 5-7 teach internal collar 190 may define one or more secondary slots 192 to receive the connector tabs 172. Specifically, each secondary slot 192 may define an L-shaped path having a vertical leg and a horizontal leg along which the connector tab 172 may slide. The vertical leg of the secondary slot 192 may be axially open to permit the connector tab 172 while the horizontal leg of the secondary slot 192 may be closed (e.g., at a distal end from the vertical leg) to restrict or delimit the permitted rotation of connector bar 164 within internal collar 190. Thus, attachment of connector bar 164 to impeller base 120 may require vertically inserting a connector tab 172 into a secondary slot 192, sliding connector tab 172 vertically downward, then rotating connector bar 164 about the rotation axis A and along the horizontal leg.[0049]
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Andrejczuk modified by Seereddy fails to teach or suggest the lateral coupling axis has a transverse component (336 lock portion) that extends generally transverse to the axis of rotation and an axial component (332 channel) that extends generally parallel to the axis of rotation.
Claim 6 is dependent upon claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, 16-18 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrejczuk (US 2021/0062382 cited in IDS), and in further view of Seereddy (US 2022/0325462 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Andrejczuk figures 1 and 10 teach a laundry washing machine, comprising:
a housing (14 cabinet);
a wash tub (34 tub) disposed within the housing;
an impeller base (120, 320 impeller) disposed within the wash tub and configured to rotate about an axis of rotation, the impeller base including a base coupler (322 second connector).[0112-118,0170]
Andrejczuk teaches a removable agitator (150, 350 agitator) including an agitator coupler (352 first connector) configured to removably couple with the base coupler.
However Andrejczuk is silent to the agitator coupler configured to removably couple with the base coupler through movement along a lateral coupling axis that intersects the axis of rotation and to thereby removably secure the removable agitator to the impeller base.
Seereddy is directed towards a removable agitator where figures 5-7 teach internal collar 190 may define one or more secondary slots 192 to receive the connector tabs 172. Specifically, each secondary slot 192 may define an L-shaped path having a vertical leg and a horizontal leg along which the connector tab 172 may slide. The vertical leg of the secondary slot 192 may be axially open to permit the connector tab 172 while the horizontal leg of the secondary slot 192 may be closed (e.g., at a distal end from the vertical leg) to restrict or delimit the permitted rotation of connector bar 164 within internal collar 190. Thus, attachment of connector bar 164 to impeller base 120 may require vertically inserting a connector tab 172 into a secondary slot 192, sliding connector tab 172 vertically downward, then rotating connector bar 164 about the rotation axis A and along the horizontal leg.[0049]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide an agitator coupling assembly as taught in Seereddy so that a user could have greater flexibility, particularly with regard to the type of agitation element that is used for any given washing operation or wash cycle. Therefore, it would be advantageous to provide a washing machine appliance or assembly wherein an agitation element (or portions thereof) could be readily removed between discrete washing operations or wash cycles (e.g., by a user without the use of any tools).[0004]
Regarding claim 2, Seereddy figure 7 teaches secondary slot 192 may define an L-shaped path having a vertical leg and a horizontal leg thereby suggesting the lateral coupling axis is generally transverse to the axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 3, Seereddy figure 7 is silent to the lateral coupling axis forms a predetermined acute angle with a radial direction that is generally transverse to the axis of rotation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the lateral coupling axis forming a predetermined acute angle with a radial direction that is generally transverse to the axis of rotation as a change in shape is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed coupling axis was significant.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 4, one having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to provide the predetermined acute angle is between about 15 degrees and about 45 degrees through routine experimentation.(MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for the base coupler and the agitator coupler form a T-slot coupling arrangement as a change in shape is an obvious modification obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed slot coupling arrangement was significant.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 8, Andrejczuk figure 19 teaches the base coupler (722 second connector) includes pair of projections (736 lock portion) defining a void (732 channel) that includes an axial portion extending axially between the pair of projections and a transverse portion disposed at an impeller base facing end of the base coupler, and wherein the agitator coupler (752 first connector) includes a pair of channels sized and configured to receive the pair of projections of the base coupler.[0191-0193]
Andrejczuk is silent to the pair of projections defining a T-shaped void.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide lock portion 736 such they define a T-shaped void as a change in shape is an obvious modification obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed void arrangement was significant.(MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 9, Andrejczuk figure 19 teaches each of the pair of projections (736 lock portion) is L-shaped in cross-section, and wherein each of the pair of channels includes at least one guide ramp (759 pin, 756 pin) configured to align a respective projection of the pair of projections within the respective channel.
Regarding claim 10, Andrejczuk teaches impeller 1320 can be provided with a cover similar to any of those described with respect to the impellers 120, 220 of FIGS. 5 and 9. Either of the impeller 1320 or the agitator 1350, or both, can be provided with a locking mechanism thereby suggesting having a cap including a cap coupler, the cap coupler including a pair of channels sized and configured substantially similar to the pair of channels of the agitator coupler to engage the base coupler when the removable agitator is disconnected from the impeller base to be an obvious modification.[0226]
Regarding claim 11, Andrejczuk figure 84 teaches agitator cap 5572 that is configured to function as an accessories holder for receiving a variety of different accessories or add-on features thereby suggesting the removable agitator includes a storage coupler disposed at an opposite end from the agitator coupler, the storage coupler including a pair of projections sized and configured substantially similar to the pair of projections of the base coupler to engage the cap coupler when the cap is removably secured to the removable agitator to be an obvious medication for storing the impeller cover.[0300]
Regarding claim 12, Andrejczuk figure 28 teaches an embodiment where agitator 1250 is coupled to the impeller 1220 to form the clothes mover 1200 using a locking latch connection mechanism. The second connector 1222 includes at least one channel 1232, which can be provided as a retaining rib, configured to engage with and receive a portion of at least one locking latch 1259 carried by the first connector 1252. The second connector 1222 optionally includes a biasing element, such as at least one spring (not shown), which can be the same as the spring 228 of FIG. 6 and operating in a manner similar to that described above with respect to the first and second connectors 252, 222 of FIG. 6, within the socket 1226 which is compressed within the socket 1226 when the agitator 1250 is coupled with the impeller 1220 thereby suggesting the cap further includes a locking mechanism including a release actuator configured to pivot about a pivot axis and operably coupled to a latch that is biased to a locking position by at least one spring, wherein the base coupler includes a catch that engages the latch of the of the locking mechanism when the cap is secured to the impeller base to restrict removal of the cap from the impeller base along the lateral coupling axis, and wherein actuation of the release actuator disengages the latch from the catch to permit removal of the cap from the impeller base along the lateral coupling axis to be an obvious modification as Andrejczuk teaches the impeller can be provided with a cover similar to any of those described with respect to the impellers. [0219][0226]
Regarding claim 13, Andrejczuk figure 28 teaches agitator 1250 is coupled to the impeller 1220 to form the clothes mover 1200 using a locking latch connection mechanism. The second connector 1222 includes at least one channel 1232, which can be provided as a retaining rib, configured to engage with and receive a portion of at least one locking latch 1259 carried by the first connector 1252. The second connector 1222 optionally includes a biasing element, such as at least one spring (not shown), which can be the same as the spring 228 of FIG. 6 and operating in a manner similar to that described above with respect to the first and second connectors 252, 222 of FIG. 6, within the socket 1226 which is compressed within the socket 1226 when the agitator 1250 is coupled with the impeller 1220 thereby suggesting the removable agitator further includes a locking mechanism including a release actuator operably coupled to a latch that is biased to a locking position by at least one spring, wherein the base coupler includes a catch that engages the latch of the of the locking mechanism when the removable agitator is secured to the impeller base to restrict removal of the removable agitator from the impeller base along the lateral coupling axis, and wherein actuation of the release actuator disengages the latch from the catch to permit removal of the removable agitator from the impeller base along the lateral coupling axis.[0219]
Regarding claim 16, Andrejczuk figure 67 teaches an embodiment where agitator 3950 and the impeller 3920, and more specifically the first connector 3952 and the second connector 3922 can include at least one complementary shape, profile, surface, feature, etc. so as to facilitate easy alignment of the agitator 3950 with the impeller 3920 and easy insertion of the agitator 3950 into the socket 3926 during coupling thereby reading on a connecting structure arranged on the impeller base and the removable agitator and configured to allow the impeller base and the removable agitator to move along the lateral coupling axis between connected and disconnected states. Figure 67 further teaches a positioning structure (3926 socket) arranged on the impeller base and the removable agitator to limit the position of the impeller base and the removable agitator in the connected state.[0279]
Regarding claim 17, Andrejczuk figure 67 suggests a width of the connecting structure changes monotonically along the lateral coupling axis and increases with an increase of axial height of the connecting structure as the first and second connectors 3952, 3922 are illustrated herein as having complementary hexagonal shape profiles.[0279] .
Regarding claim 18, Andrejczuk figure 67 teaches first connector 3952 and the second connector 3922 can include at least one complementary shape, profile, surface, feature, etc. so as to facilitate easy alignment of the agitator 3950 with the impeller 3920 and easy insertion of the agitator 3950 into the socket 3926 during coupling. In this example, both the first and second connectors 3952, 3922 have a shape that is complementary to one another about the entire peripheries thereby suggesting the connecting structure includes a mortise and tenon structure arranged at an axial end of the removable agitator and an axial end of the impeller base, wherein at least a portion of the positioning structure is located in the mortise and tenon structure.[0279]
Regarding claim 27, Andrejczuk figure 67 teaches an embodiment where agitator 3950 and the impeller 3920, and more specifically the first connector 3952 and the second connector 3922 can include at least one complementary shape, profile, surface, feature, etc. so as to facilitate easy alignment of the agitator 3950 with the impeller 3920 and easy insertion of the agitator 3950 into the socket 3926 during coupling thereby reading a connecting structure arranged on the impeller base and the removable agitator and configured to allow relative movement between the impeller base and the removable agitator to move in a radial direction that is generally transverse to the axial direction between connected and disconnected states; and a positioning structure (3926 socket) arranged on the impeller base and the removable agitator to limit the radial position of the impeller base and the removable agitator in the connected state.[0279]
Regarding claim 28, Andrejczuk figure 10 teaches a connecting structure arranged on the impeller base and the removable agitator (assembly of 332 channel, 336 lock portion, 3566 pin when assembled) and configured to allow the impeller base (320 impeller) and the removable agitator (350 agitator) to move in a first direction between connected and disconnected states, wherein the first direction forms a predetermined angle with a radial direction that is generally transverse to the axial direction; and a positioning structure (326 socket) arranged on the impeller base and the removable agitator to limit the position of the impeller base and the removable agitator in the connected state.[0169-170]
Andrejczuk figure 10 is silent the first direction forms a predetermined acute angle with a radial direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have the first direction forms a predetermined acute angle with a radial direction as a change in shape is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed coupling axis was significant.(MPEP 2144.04)
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrejczuk (US 2021/0062382 cited in IDS) and Seereddy (US 2022/0325462 cited in IDS), as applied to claim 13, and in further view of Davis (US 2022/0290351 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 14, Andrejczuk is silent to the locking mechanism further includes a rocker arm configured to pivot about a first pivot axis, wherein the removable agitator is configured to pivot about a second pivot axis and is operably coupled to a first end of the rocker arm, and wherein the latch is operably coupled to a second end of the rocker arm such that actuation of the release actuator pivots the rocker arm about the first pivot axis to disengage the latch from the catch.
Davis is directed towards a washing machine appliance having a removable agitator where figures 5-6 and 10 teach connector bar 164 may be provided to selectively restrict movement of extended post 130 relative to impeller base 120. As shown, connector bar 164 may be disposed generally along the rotation axis A between a lower end 168 and an upper end 166. When extended post 130 is attached to impeller base 120, connector bar 164 may be received within an interior cavity 138 defined by base body 132. For instance, an attachment piston 140 may be movably (e.g., slidably or pivotally) received within interior cavity 138. During use, attachment piston 140 may be disposed radially inward from mating collar 160. Generally, attachment piston 140 may move axially between a locked position (e.g., FIGS. 4 and 10) and an unlocked position (e.g., FIG. 5), as will be described in greater detail below. When assembled such that extended post 130 is attached to impeller base 120 (e.g., in the locked position), lower end 168 may be disposed proximal to the impeller base 120 while upper end 166 is disposed above lower end 168, distal to impeller base 120.[0044]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a latching configuration as taught in Davis so that a the agitation element could be easily removed between discrete washing operations or wash cycles (e.g., by a user without the use of any tools).[0004]
Regarding claim 15, Andrejczuk figure 28 teaches the release actuator comprises a depressible release button (1257 lock button) accessible from a sidewall of the removable agitator.[0020]
Conclusion
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711