Applicant’s filing of claims 37-55 on 7/2/24 is acknowledged. Claims 1-36 was canceled. Claims 37-55 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 37-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 37 is an abstract idea because it recites the step, “one or more reagents for carrying out a method for detection of one or more analytes.” This step is an abstract idea because it’s a mental process, a concept performed in the human mind by observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because after the “method for detection” step, then no action is taken, and thus, there is no application, much less a particular practical application. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claim 37 recites a microslit filter with the claimed openings and dimensions which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (see prior art cited below). Thus, claim 37 does not recite significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims all further refine the method steps and were considered, however, the subject matter does not affect the result established above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 37, 39, 43, 46, 47, 49 and 53 are rejected because each claim claims both an apparatus (e.g., kit) and at least one method step of using the kit. See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II).
Claims 38 and 48 are rejected because it claims a process, e.g., “use” in a kit claim, which is an apparatus-type of claim. It is unclear how the “use” step structurally further defines the claimed kit. For examination purposes, the claim language will be given the appropriate weight and interpreted as functional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sajay et al. (“Sajay,” Microfluidic platform for negative enrichment of circulating tumor cells, 2014) in view of Striemer et al. (“Striemer,” US Pub. No. 2016/0199787) and Kadel et al. (“Kadel,” US 6977042).
As to claim 37, Sajay discloses a kit comprising one or more devices (e.g., microfluidic chip in fig. 3) comprising: a microslit filter defining a plurality of openings (e.g., micro slit membrane has precise slits; wherein the microslit filter has a thickness from 50 nm to 25 um (e.g., 10 um thick micro slit membrane in section 2.2); the openings have a width from 0.5 um to 15 um (5.5 um in section 2.2) and a length from 5 um to 100 um (40 um in section 2.2), and the openings have an aspect ratio (width:length) from 1:0.33 to 1:0.002 (because Sajay discloses the width and length within the claimed ranges, Sajay discloses the claimed aspect ratio). Sajay also discloses one or more reagents for carrying out a method for detection of one or more analytes in section 2.3 et seq. because Sajay discloses a 4ml sample assay, which incorporates one or more reagents.
Regarding claim 37, Sajay does not specifically disclose a porosity from 1% to 75%. Striemer discloses a SiN membrane can have a range of pore sizes and porosity. For example, the pores can be from 10 nm to 100 nm, including all values to the nm and ranges therebetween. The pores also can be 10 nm or less or even 1 nm or less. For example, the porosity can be from <1% to 40%, including all integer % values and ranges therebetween. In a particular embodiment, the SiN pore sizes range from approximately 5 nm to 80 nm and the SiN porosity ranges from 1% to 40%. Of course, other pore size and porosity values are possible and these are merely listed as examples (e.g., [0025] et seq.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the claimed porosity because it would be beneficial to manufacture membranes with a porosity that is compatible with a broad range of solutions ([0023] of Striemer).
Regarding claim 37, Sajay does not specifically disclose openings the shape of the openings are cubic prisms or trapezoids. Kadel discloses trapezoidal passages in col. 3, line 61 et al. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have trapezoidal openings because it would be beneficial to manufacture membranes with a particular shape to achieve efficient fluid flow.
As to claims 38-39 and 48-49, because a device would usually contain some form of instructions on how to use the device, it would be obvious to include “instructions for use” with applicant’s device.
As to claims 40-42 and 50-52, see fig. 1 et seq. of Sajay, which discloses micro particle and other particles to that act as capture particles and affinity agents.
As to claims 43 and 53, see PBS in section 2.6 of Sajay.
As to claims 44-45 and 54-55, see automated hematology analyzer in section 2.1.
As to claims 46-47, Sajay discloses a kit comprising one or more devices and one or more reagents for carrying out a method comprising: binding a first ligand on an analyte in a biofluid using a first binding agent, thereby forming an analyte-first binding agent complex; adding capture particles to the biofluid wherein the first binding agent is bound by the capture particles, thereby forming an analyte-first binding agent-capture particle complex; filtering the biofluid having the analyte-first binding agent-capture particle complex; and, optionally, eluting or disassociating any of the analyte-first binding agent-capture particle complex that is retained by a microslit filter. See section 2.1 et seq. of Sajay.
Double Patenting
Claims 37-55 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11931739. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined claims and the patented claims comprise substantially the same subject matter. For example, examined claim 37 and patented claims 1 and 8 comprise a device comprising: a microslit filter defining a plurality of openings; wherein the microslit filter has a thickness from 50 nm to 25 μm; a porosity from 1% to 75% and wherein the openings are cubic prisms or trapezoids; the openings have a width from 0.5 μm to 15 μm and a length from 5 μm to 100 μm; and the openings have an aspect ratio (width:length) from 1:0.33 to 1:200.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
12/13/2025