DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando et al US20220026401 (hereinafter “Ando”) in view of Yanagibayashi et al US20220356964 (hereinafter “Yanagibayashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Ando discloses a fluid port structure (port-12) that receives injection of a fluid (receives fluid from needle-4), comprising: a tube (pipe-14) having sealability and having a flow path through which the fluid passes (Fig 2, Paragraph 0022-0024); and a cylindrical portion (broad member-28 connected with spacer-40) having a through hole (See Fig 2), which extends in an axial direction in which the fluid flows and through which an upstream end portion of the tube is inserted (See Fig 2), and the tube (tube-14) has a widening portion that widens along a surface of the cylindrical portion in the upstream end portion (See Fig 2 which shows the tube-14 having a widening portion cone shape on the upstream side of the tube).
However, Ando fails to disclose an inner peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion has a tapered surface and the more upstream a position on the tapered surface than a predetermined position in the axial direction, the larger a diameter of the through hole. Yanagibayashi discloses an inner peripheral surface (edge-24) of the cylindrical portion (first member-9) has a tapered surface (Paragraph 0023) and the more upstream a position on the tapered surface than a predetermined position in the axial direction, the larger a diameter of the through hole. (See Figs 1-2, Paragraph 0023, 0027)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Yanagibayashi into Ando for the purpose of increasing a secure connection between the needle and the tube. The modification would allow for reducing size and potential cost for lost fluid during operational use.
Regarding claim 2, Ando discloses the structure according to claim 1.
However, Ando fails to disclose the widening portion of the tube has a cover portion that covers at least part of an upstream end surface of the cylindrical portion. Yanagibayashi discloses the widening portion (dotted circle show at edge-24/38) of the tube (tube-4) has a cover portion (portions-14/22 and 22/32 of figs 1-2) that covers at least part of an upstream end surface of the cylindrical portion (member-9). (See Figs 1-2, Paragraph 0023-0027)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Yanagibayashi into Ando for the purpose of increasing a secure connection between the needle and the tube. The modification would allow for reducing size and potential cost for lost fluid during operational use.
Regarding claim 3, Ando discloses the structure according to claim 1.
However, Ando fails to disclose the tube is formed of a resin material. Yanagibayashi discloses the tube (resin tube-4) is formed of a resin material. (Abstract, Paragraph 0018-0019)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Yanagibayashi into Ando for the purpose of increasing structure integrity. The modification would allow for higher mechanical strength and chemical resistance.
Regarding claim 4, Ando discloses the structure according to claim 3.
However, Ando fails to disclose the tube is formed of polyetheretherketone. Yanagibayashi discloses the tube is formed of polyetheretherketone. (Abstract, Paragraph 0018-0019)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Yanagibayashi into Ando for the purpose of increasing structure integrity. The modification would allow for higher mechanical strength and chemical resistance.
Regarding claim 5, Ando in view of Yanagibayashi discloses the structure according to claim 1.
Furthermore, Ando discloses a casing (housing-34) portion that accommodates the cylindrical portion while drawing a downstream end portion of the tube outwardly. (Fig 2, Paragraph 0022-0029) Regarding claim 6, Ando in view of Yanagibayashi discloses the structure according to claim 5.
Furthermore, Ando discloses a cap (cap-42) that is attached to the casing portion (See Fig 2), and fixes the tube and the cylindrical portion while exposing an inner peripheral surface of the upstream end portion of the tube (opening-32). (Paragraph 0026-0027, 0029, 0031-0033)
Regarding claim 7, Ando discloses a sample supply device (sampler-2) comprising: the fluid port structure according to claim 1 (See Fig 1); and a sampling needle (needle-4) that injects a fluid sample to the flow path while being in contact with the widening portion of the tube in the fluid port structure. (Paragraph 0016-0018, 0022-0029)
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855