DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, including claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 17 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A claim to the velocity of the projectile would require details of the firearm and the cartridge including the amount of powder, connection means, etc. The currently claimed details are insufficient to allow for such a velocity requirement to be properly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0041175 by Fellows et al (Fellows).
Regarding claim 1, Fellows discloses a munition comprising a projectile and a sabot-ogive of at least two segments (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 2, Fellows further discloses wherein the sabot-ogive comprises a sabot and an ogive produced as a single piece made of an at least two joined segments encasing the projectile (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 3, Fellows further discloses wherein the segments are produced as a single part (See Figures, clearly illustrated, and Paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 4, Fellows further discloses wherein the segments are produced as individual parts to be joined (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 5, Fellows further discloses wherein the projectile is a part of a cartridge for an about 0.50 sub caliber firearm (See at least Paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 6, Fellows further discloses wherein the ogive of the sabot-ogive, radius range is about 0.3 caliber to about < 30 caliber (See Figures, clearly illustrated and at least Paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 7, Fellows further discloses wherein the sabot of the sabot-ogive, has about a minimum diameter equivalent to the lands and a maximum diameter equivalent to a diameter of the rifling in the barrel of a firearm (See at least Paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 8, Fellows further discloses wherein the ogive of the sabot-ogive, length is about a difference between the cartridge length from the front end of the cartridge to the base end of the cartridge and a case length from the mouth of the case to the base of the case (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 9, Fellows further discloses wherein the projectile comprises a single piece (216, See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 10, Fellows further discloses wherein the projectile has zero to at least 2 fins (222, See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 11, Fellows further discloses wherein the sabot-ogive has zero to at least 2 internal grooves (250, See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 13, Fellows further discloses wherein the projectile has an at least 1 external gas ring (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fellows in view of U.S. Patent 4,297,687 issued to Garrett (Garrett).
Regarding claim 12, Fellows does not disclose wherein the sabot-ogive segments are joined to encase the projectile by a wire, a band or a snap-fit.
Garrett, a related prior art reference, discloses wherein the sabot-ogive segments are joined to encase the projectile by a wire, a band or a snap-fit (28 or 52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted teachings of Fellows with the noted teachings of Garrett. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would have been to keep the assembled projectile and sabot together during loading as taught by Garrett.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fellows.
Regarding claim 14, Fellows, as best understood in light of the section 112 rejection above, discloses the claimed invention except for the weight and velocity of the projectile. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the weight of the projectile less than 100 grams and the discharge velocity range be between 2500 feet per second and 7000 feet per second, since applicant has not disclosed that the weight or velocity ranges solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with different weights and velocities.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 Form for a listing of applicable prior art references.
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641