DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 03/17/24 for application number 18/607,518. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, IDS, Claims, and Certified Copy of Foreign Priority Application.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 15, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, lines 1-3 recite, “The projection system according to claim 1, the electronic device comprises a display interface, and the display interface is adapted to display at least one control pattern, when the at least one control pattern is triggered…” and should instead read, “The projection system according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises a display interface, and the display interface is adapted to display at least one control pattern, and when the at least one control pattern is triggered…” (emphasis added).
Claim 15, line 2 recites, “…at least one control pattern displayed by the display interface to the screen display menu” and should instead read, “at least one control pattern displayed by the display interface to the on-screen display menu.” (emphasis added)
Claim 21, lines 2-3 recite, “store the at least two model information corresponding to the at least two projection devices and the at least two at least one control patterns corresponding to the at least two model information.” (emphasis added) Based upon the context provided in the claim, it appears lines 2-3 should instead read, “store the at least two model information corresponding to the at least two projection devices and the at least two control patterns corresponding to the at least two model information.” (emphasis added) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20, line 2 recites, “at least two of the projection devices and at least two of the adapter devices.” (emphasis added) However, none of the claims on which Claim 20 depends directly nor indirectly provides for two or more of projection devices nor adapter devices. Rather, the only mention of an adapter and a projector appear to be in Claim 1, with none of the intervening claims introducing additional adapters or projectors. As such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 similarly suffers from a similar deficiency as Claim 20, as Claim 21 depends on Claim 20. Further, Claim 21, line 3 recites, “the at least two at least one control patterns corresponding to the at least two model information” (emphasis added) without mention of two model information. Thus, as with Claim 20, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the limitations of Claims 20 and 21 are treated as having adequate support.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 24-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 11, 22, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., US 2020/0310731 A1, in view of Lin et al., US 2022/0179746 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a projection system [system of Fig. 1A] comprising:
an electronic device [control apparatus 100, ,which can be a remote controller 100A and mobile device 100B functioning as a controller for controlling the display device, par 20];
an adapter device connected to the electronic device, and configured to receive a control command output by the electronic device [communicator 220 of display 200 has WIFI module 221 and Bluetooth module 222 to receive signals from remote controller 100A and mobile device 100B, Fig. 1C; par 38]; and
a projection device adapted to be connected to the adapter device [communicator 220 of display 200 has WIFI module 221 and Bluetooth module 222 to receive signals from remote controller 100A and mobile device 100B, Fig. 1C; par 38],
wherein the control circuit is configured to perform a booting operation on the projection device according to the control command in a powered-off state of the projection device, and the control circuit is configured to perform a power-off operation or a running operation on the projection device according to the control command in a booted-up state of the projection device [the WIFI module 207 is capable of triggering the main board 203 to boot after receiving a WIFI wakeup signal transmitted by the mobile device 100B. The WIFI module 207 may correspond to a WIFI module 221 in FIG. 1C; the processor is configured to cause the display device to, while the display device is in a standby mode (i.e. powered-off), receive a wakeup signal broadcasted from a mobile device through a wireless module in the display device; i.e. wake (boot) of the display device 200 via a wakeup signal from the mobile device 100B; in the operating mode, the display device is able to work normally, for example, the display device is capable of interacting with the mobile device and responding the media file playing instruction from the mobile device, par 80, 6, 132].
However, Yang does not explicitly teach a first control circuit and a second control circuit.
In the analogous art of electronic device management, while Lin also discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to perform a booting operation on the projection device according to the control command in a powered-off state of the projection device [first controller is configured to receive a boot code and provides the boot code to enable the electronic apparatus to perform a boot operation, par 6], Yang further teaches a first and second control circuit [first and second controllers, with the first controller configured to receive a boot code and provides the boot code to enable the electronic apparatus to perform a boot operation, par 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yang and Lin before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the two controllers as taught by Lin into the system as disclosed by Yang to provide backup in the event of boot failure [Lin, par 4].
Regarding Claim 2, Yang and Lin disclose the projection system according to Claim 1. Yang further discloses wherein the adapter device is configured to convert a communication protocol of the control command from a first communication protocol into a second communication protocol [communicator 220 (of the display device) can receive signals from control apparatus 100 and convert the signal into appropriate protocols (i.e. convert control signal into WIFI signal, Bluetooth signal, radio frequency signal, etc., par 38].
Regarding Claim 11, Yang and Lin disclose the projection system according to Claim 1. Yang further discloses the electronic device comprises a display interface, and the display interface is adapted to display at least one control pattern, when the at least one control pattern is triggered, the electronic device generates the control command and transmits the control command to the adapter device [the output interface 150 is used for outputting the user instruction received from the user input interface 140 to the display device 200 or outputting an image or voice signal received from the display device 200, par 31].
Regarding Claim 22, Yang discloses an operation method of a projection system [using the system of Fig. 1A]. The remainder of Claim 22 recites limitations similar to those of Claims 1 and 2, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 31, Yang and Lin disclose the operation method according to Claim 22. Claim 31 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 11, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 3 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Lin, and further in view of Xu et al., US 2010/0077079 A1.
Regarding Claim 3, Yang and Lin disclose the projection system according to Claim 2. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach a first switch circuit connected to the adapter device, and configured to receive the control command conforming to the second communication protocol from the adapter device and output the control command.
In the analogous art of signal transmission, Xu teaches a first switch circuit connected to the adapter device, and configured to receive the control command conforming to the second communication protocol from the adapter device and output the control command [first command further instructs switch A 310 to use the second communication protocol to send data traffic it receives from the particular DUT 300 via the particular upstream port 332 over the network 308 to the switch to which the particular host device 302 is coupled 304, par 32].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yang, Lin, and Xu before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the switch circuits for communication protocols as taught by Xu, into the system as disclosed by Yang and Lin, to allow for interoperability of devices [Xu, par 1].
Regarding Claim 23, Yang and Lin disclose the operation method according to Claim 22. Claim 23 recites limitations similar to those of Claim 3, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 12-17 and 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Lin, and further in view of Song et al., US 2015/0081103 A1.
Regarding Claim 12, Yang and Lin disclose the projection system according to Claim 11. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one control pattern comprises one of a screen display menu and a remote control pattern.
In the analogous art of remote system control, Song teaches wherein the at least one control pattern comprises one of a screen display menu and a remote control pattern [a terminal controlling a home appliance including executing an application to control the home appliance, differently configuring a control menu based on a model or a type of the home appliance and displaying the control menu on a screen of a display unit, requesting data from the home appliance through near field communication based on an item selected from the control menu, and analyzing data received in response to the request and displaying information regarding the home appliance, par 18].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yang, Lin, and Song before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the display pattern as taught by Song into the system as disclosed by Yang and Lin, to improve user convenience in managing remotely connected devices [Song, par 160].
Regarding Claim 13, Yang, Lin, and Song disclose the projection system according to Claim 12. Song further teaches wherein the electronic device displays the screen display menu and the remote control pattern according to model information of the projection device [a terminal controlling a home appliance including executing an application to control the home appliance, differently configuring a control menu based on a model or a type of the home appliance and displaying the control menu on a screen of a display unit, requesting data from the home appliance through near field communication based on an item selected from the control menu, and analyzing data received in response to the request and displaying information regarding the home appliance, par 18].
Regarding Claim 14, Yang, Lin, and Song disclose the projection system according to Claim 12. Song further teaches wherein the electronic device comprises an application processor, and the application processor is configured to execute an application program to cause the display interface to display the at least one control pattern [the terminal 20 includes an application to transmit and receive data to and from the home appliance 10 and to control the home appliance 10. The terminal 20 executes the application to display information of the home appliance 10 received through contact with the tag unit of the home appliance; terminal 20 includes memory 220 and a terminal controller 210 (processor), Fig. 3; par 37, 64].
Regarding Claim 15, Yang, Lin, and Song disclose the projection system according to Claim 14. Song further teaches wherein the electronic device switches the at least one control pattern displayed by the display interface to the screen display menu or the remote control pattern through the application program [the terminal 20 includes an application to transmit and receive data to and from the home appliance 10 and to control the home appliance 10. The terminal 20 executes the application to display information of the home appliance 10 received through contact with the tag unit of the home appliance; terminal 20 includes memory 220 and a terminal controller 210 (processor), Fig. 3; par 37, 64].
Regarding Claim 16, Yang, Lin, and Song disclose the projection system according to Claim 14. Song further teaches wherein the electronic device further comprises a storage device, and the storage device is configured to store the application program [the terminal 20 includes an application to transmit and receive data to and from the home appliance 10 and to control the home appliance 10. The terminal 20 executes the application to display information of the home appliance 10 received through contact with the tag unit of the home appliance; terminal 20 includes memory 220 and a terminal controller 210 (processor), Fig. 3; par 37, 64]
Regarding Claim 17, Yang, Lin, and Song disclose the projection system according to Claim 16. Song further teaches wherein the storage device is further configured to store model information of the projection device and the at least one control pattern of the projection device corresponding to the model information [a terminal controlling a home appliance including executing an application to control the home appliance, differently configuring a control menu based on a model or a type of the home appliance and displaying the control menu on a screen of a display unit, requesting data from the home appliance through near field communication based on an item selected from the control menu, and analyzing data received in response to the request and displaying information regarding the home appliance; information obtained from appliance is necessarily stored in storage, par 18].
Regarding Claims 32-37, Yang and Lin disclose the operation method according to Claim 31. Claims 32-37 recite limitations similar to those of Claims 12-17, respectively, and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 18-21 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Lin, and Song, and further in view of Wang et al., US 7,949,708 B2.
Regarding Claim 18, Yang, Lin, and Song disclose the projection system according to Claim 17. However, the combination of references does not explicitly teach wherein when the application program is opened, the electronic device automatically detects whether the projection device is present.
In the analogous art of remote device control, Wang teaches wherein when the application program is opened, the electronic device automatically detects whether the projection device is present [the connection managers on the handheld device 100 and the second device 150 provide similar functionality, including functionality that allows these devices to automatically discover (detect) each other, communicate with each other, and monitor the state of the data connection; connection manager includes software such as connection APIs, channel manager, and host manager, col. 5, ll. 35-39; col. 7, ll. 18-28].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yang, Lin, Song, and Wang before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the automatic detection of devices as taught by Wang, into the system as disclosed by Yang, Lin, and Song, to allow for shared usage of devices [Wang, col. 1, ll. 14-20].
Regarding Claim 19, Yang, Lin, Song, and Wang disclose the projection system according to Claim 18. Wang further teaches wherein when the electronic device detects the presence of the projection device, the electronic device is directly paired with the projection device [the connection managers on the handheld device 100 and the second device 150 provide similar functionality, including functionality that allows these devices to automatically discover (detect) each other, communicate with each other, and monitor the state of the data connection, col. 5, ll. 35-39].
Regarding Claim 20, Yang, Lin, Song, and Wang disclose the projection system according to Claim 18. Yang discloses projection devices connected to adapter devices [communicator 220 of display 200 has WIFI module 221 and Bluetooth module 222 to receive signals from remote controller 100A and mobile device 100B, Fig. 1C; par 38], and Wang further teaches at least two of the target devices and at least two of the adapter devices, wherein the at least two of the target devices are respectively connected to the at least two of the adapter devices, and when the electronic device detects the presence of the at least two target devices, the electronic device displays a list to allow the user to select one of the at least two target devices for pairing [user interface 305 can be used to display a list of handheld devices within communication range of the second device 150. User interface 305 also provides a mechanism that allows a user to select one of the handheld devices to be used as, for example, the local keyboard, mouse or camera for second device 150, col. 5, ll. 53-58].
Regarding Claim 21, Yang, Lin, Song, and Wang disclose the projection system according to Claim 20. Yang discloses a projection device [display 200, Fig. 1A], Song teaches the storage device configured to store the model information corresponding to the device and the control pattern corresponding to the model information [a terminal controlling a home appliance including executing an application to control the home appliance, differently configuring a control menu based on a model or a type of the home appliance and displaying the control menu on a screen of a display unit, requesting data from the home appliance through near field communication based on an item selected from the control menu, and analyzing data received in response to the request and displaying information regarding the home appliance; information obtained from appliance is necessarily stored in storage, par 18], and Wang teaches two target devices [user interface 305 can be used to display a list of handheld devices within communication range of the second device 150. User interface 305 also provides a mechanism that allows a user to select one of the handheld devices to be used as, for example, the local keyboard, mouse or camera for second device 150, col. 5, ll. 53-58].
Regarding Claims 38-41, Yang, Lin, and Song disclose the operation method according to Claim 37. Claims 38-41 recite limitations similar to those of Claims 18-21, and are rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
Applicant is reminded that in amending a response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR §1.111(c).
/Paul Yen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175