DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was submitted on:
07/29/2024
Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Regarding all drawings, the size and font of the text is such that it cannot be easily discerned. Please use a size and font of the text so that the words can be read within the drawings. See MPEP § 1.84 “Standards for drawings”:
(3) Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. They should not be placed in the drawing so as to interfere with its comprehension. Therefore, they should not cross or mingle with the lines. They should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces. When necessary, such as indicating a surface or cross section, a reference character may be underlined and a blank space may be left in the hatching or shading where the character occurs so that it appears distinct.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding the specification, paragraph [0007], the phrase “the multiple capillary channels is configured to” should be “the multiple capillary channels are configured to”.
Regarding the specification, paragraph [0030], the paragraph should end with a period punctuation mark.
Regarding the specification, paragraph [0039], the phrase “material of device doesn’t limit to PDMS” should be “material of the device is not limited to PDMS”.
Regarding the specification, paragraph [0057] or pg. 11, lines 9-11, the source code contains integer variables that are not set to integers:
int sensorPin1 = A0;
int sensorPin2 = A1;
int sensorPin3 = A2;
Regarding the specification, paragraph [0057] or pg. 11, lines 12-13, the source code contains integer variables that are not set to the pinout diagram of Fig. 5 of the Drawings:
int PWM1 = 3;
int PWM2 = 5;
The examiner thinks that these two pulse-width-modulation pins are set to pins 2 and 4, respectively in Fig. 5 of the Drawings.
Regarding the specification, paragraph [0057] or pg. 12, lines 1-2, the source code contains commented-out commands:
//R2 = 1023 / sensorVal3 – 1;
//R2= R1 / R2;
It is unclear if these commented out commands are necessary components of the source code.
Regarding the specification, paragraph [0057] or pg. 12, lines 20 and 27, the source code contains the phrases, respectively, “1nd high” and “2st high” which are not standard English.
Regarding the specification, paragraph [0057] or pg. 12, lines 28-35, the source code may not have the intended function because the section containing the following commands is commented-out:
/*
if(temperature > 70){
PWMVal3 = 255;
}
*/
This commented-out section results in commands (in lines 41 and 47), regarding the integer PWMVal3, to be undefined.
Regarding the specification, in paragraph [0057] or pg. 12, in at least line 45, the indentation is incorrect on the beginning of the line. Please indent the source code correctly.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, 11, and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in the last line, the term “time” should be “times”.
Regarding claim 4, in the last line, the term “the flow” should be “flow”.
Regarding claim 6, in lines 1-2, the term “each heating plates” should be “each of the heating plates”.
Regarding claim 6, in line 2, the term “the length” could be “a length”.
Regarding claim 7, in line 2, the term “across droplets” should be “across the droplets”.
Regarding claim 9, in line 1, the term “the device” should be “the device of claim 8”.
Regarding claim 11, in line 1, the term “the number” could be “a number”.
Regarding claim 11, in lines 1-2, the phrase “each with” should be “each of the heating plates with”.
Regarding claim 11, in line 2, insert a serial comma after the term “78℃”.
Regarding claim 13, in line 1, the phrase “each heating plate” should be “ each of the heating plates”.
Regarding claim 13, in line 3, the phrase “the heater” should be “the respective heater”.
Regarding claim 13, in line 3, the phrase “when the thermistor” should be “when the respective thermistor”.
Regarding claim 13, in line 4, the phrase “the heater” should be “the respective heater”.
Regarding claim 14, in line 2, the phrase “the oil-to-sample ratio” should be “an oil-to-sample ratio”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a flow focusing structure” – in claim 1
“a mechanism for adjusting the oil-to-sample ratio to optimize droplet generation efficiency” – claim 14
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1 and 14 are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification as filed shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structures, materials, or acts described in the specification as filed for the following 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) limitations:
“a flow focusing structure to generate droplets from a provided aqueous sample and extract oil” – claim 1: “the channel is in a cross-junction structure, so that the oil shears off the aqueous flow (with sample) at the junction into droplets” (instant specification, paragraph [0031]); and,
“a mechanism for adjusting the oil-to-sample ratio to optimize droplet generation efficiency” – claim 14: “the droplet generation layer includes a mechanism for adjusting the oil-to-sample ratio, optimizing droplet generation efficiency and overall performance” (instant specification, paragraph [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the outlet” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term “the outlet” should be “an outlet”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the opening” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term “the opening” should be “an opening”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the outlet” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term “the outlet” should be “an outlet”.
Regarding claim 14, the term “a mechanism for adjusting the oil-to-sample ratio to optimize droplet generation efficiency” does not have sufficient structure to understand what the limitation is attempting to claim. The only description found in the specification to the knowledge of the examiner is “the droplet generation layer includes a mechanism for adjusting the oil-to-sample ratio, optimizing droplet generation efficiency and overall performance” (instant specification, paragraph [0034]). Therefore, the limitation is to be held indefinite and will be interpreted broadly in lieu of a defined structure under the 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) interpretation as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abate (US 20190330701) (newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Abate discloses a portable, miniaturized microfluidic (paragraph [0005]) droplet-based digital polymerase chain reaction (PCR) device (paragraphs [0480] and [0509]-[0510]), comprising:
a droplet generation layer (Fig. 5; paragraph [0091]) with a flow-focusing channel (annotated Fig. 5) and multiple capillary channels (annotated Fig. 5), wherein the flow-focusing channel has a flow focusing structure (annotated Fig. 5) to generate droplets (annotated Fig. 5) from a provided aqueous sample and extract oil (paragraph [0122] “oil and aqueous phases”), and the multiple capillary channels is configured to perform an oil extraction (paragraphs [0040] and [0055] “water-in-oil-in-water double emulsions”; Fig. 23);
Abate, annotated Fig. 5
Abate, annotated Fig. 23
an incubation layer (paragraphs [0018] “incubated at 37℃”), comprising heating plates (paragraph [0030] “copper blocks”), a microfluidic channel (Figs. 5 and 23) and a container (paragraphs [0147]-[0148] “container” or “containers”) and configured to conduct a PCR thermal cycling program (paragraph [0018]);
a controller (paragraph [0030]); and
a power supplier (paragraph [0233] inherent to “power control”);
wherein the PCR thermal cycling program maintains each of the heating plates at a predefined temperature (paragraph [0234] “at least one zone is maintained at about 65℃ and at least one zone is maintained at about 95℃”), respectively, so as to heat the droplets to different temperatures at different time (paragraph [0234]).
Regarding claim 2, Abate discloses wherein the outlet (annotated Fig. 5, paragraph [0037]) of the flow-focusing channel (annotated Fig. 5) is coincided with the opening of the microfluidic channel (annotated Fig. 5), and the outlet (annotated Fig. 5, paragraph [0037]) of the microfluidic channel (annotated Fig. 5; paragraphs [0184] and [0192]) is connected to the container (paragraphs [0147]-[0148]).
Regarding claim 3, Abate discloses wherein the droplets enter and flow through the microfluidic channel (paragraph [0147]) to the container (paragraph [0148]).
Regarding claim 4, Abate discloses wherein the microfluidic channel (annotated Fig. 5; paragraphs [0184] and [0192]) is positioned on the heating plates (paragraph [0030]), so that the droplets flowed through are heated to the different predefined temperatures throughout the flow (paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 5, Abate discloses wherein the microfluidic channel travels back and forth among the heating plates (Fig. 1; paragraphs [0030] and [0089]).
Abate, Fig. 1
Regarding claim 7, Abate discloses wherein the microfluidic channel is designed with serpentine patterns (paragraphs [0018] and [0502] “snaking channel”).
Regarding the phrase “to enhance thermal homogeneity across droplets during PCR thermal cycling”, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Abate would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the serpentine microfluidic channel.
Regarding claim 8, Abate discloses wherein the droplets completing the PCR thermal cycling program (paragraph [0145] “PCR amplification products”) are stored in the container as a final product (paragraph [0148] “sorted into different containers”).
Regarding claim 9, Abate discloses wherein the device further comprises a fluorescent detecting module (paragraph [0018] “flow cytometry”) to measure a fluorescent intensity of the final product (paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Abate discloses wherein the droplet generation layer comprises a mechanism (paragraph [0050] “T-junction drop maker” … “with ridges”) for adjusting the oil-to-sample ratio to optimize droplet generation efficiency (paragraphs [0050] and [0541]-[0542]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 | 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Abate (US 20190330701) (newly cited).
Regarding claim 6, Abate discloses wherein a duration that the droplets spend on each heating plates (paragraph [0030]) is adjustable by regulating the length, geometry and shape of the microfluidic channel (inherent to the dimensions of the microfluidic channel and intended use or manner of operation of the flow rates of the droplets; Fig. 1; paragraphs [0166] and [0199], as well as [0018] and [0502] “snaking channel”) on the heating plates (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding the limitation “a duration that the droplets spend on each heating plates is adjustable” the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Abate would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the flow rates of the droplets and dimensions of the microfluidic channels in the device of Abate.
In addition, according to MPEP § 2144.04(V)(D), adjustability of a part is not a patentable advance. In addition, the claim limitation is obvious under MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A), which states that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions … [and the claimed device] would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. In addition, the claim limitation is obvious, as the configuration of the claimed shape is a matter of choice, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). In addition, the limitation is obvious as a matter of routine optimization, because the duration of time spent for a droplet over a heating plate is a result-effective variable based on the dimensions of the microchannel and flow of the droplets. The motivation for optimizing this result-effective variable is based on how long the droplet needs to complete each step of polymerase chain reaction. MPEP § 2144.05(II). For all of these additional reasons, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Abate with the dimensions of the microchannels and the flow rates of the droplets in order to govern the duration of time spent for a droplet over a heating plate for the purpose of completing each step of polymerase chain reaction.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Abate (US 20190330701) (newly cited) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Abate (US 20190330701) (newly cited) as applied to claim 1, in view of Link (US 20080003142) (newly cited).
Regarding claim 10, Abate discloses wherein the droplet generation layer (Fig. 5; paragraph [0091]) and the incubation layer (paragraphs [0018] “zones”) are connected in a dock-wise manner (Fig. 1).
Regarding the limitation “are connected in a stack-wise manner or a dock-wise manner”, if it has been deemed that this limitation has not been met by Abate, Link discloses this limitation (Figs. 1 (dock-wise) and 14 (stack-wise); paragraph [0072]).
In the analogous art of microfluidic devices, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Abate with the modular dock-wise connections of Link in order to integrate modules for a droplet-based, high-throughput microfluidic reactor system for the purposes of biological, chemical, or diagnostic applications (Link, paragraph [0072]-[0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abate (US 20190330701) (newly cited) as applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, Abate discloses wherein there are a number of the heating plates, each with the predefined temperature of 65°C and 95°C, respectively (paragraph [0018]); and, the device is incubated at 37℃ (paragraph [0018]).
Abate does not disclose wherein the number of the heating plates is 3, each with the predefined temperature of 50°C, 78°C and 95°C, respectively.
Regarding the term “the number of the heating plates is 3”, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the number of the heating plates to be three in order to incubate the droplets at three different temperatures in different spatial locations according to the steps of PCR, similarly to the Abate’s two heating blocks that alternate the temperature of the droplets between 65℃ and 95℃.
Regarding the limitation “each with the predefined temperature of 50°C, 78°C and 95°C, respectively”, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Abate would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the different heating blocks of modified Abate.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abate (US 20190330701) (newly cited) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Stafford (US 20240118187) (newly cited) (specifically as seen in provisional application US 63415235).
Regarding claim 12, Abate discloses wherein heaters (paragraph [0030] “Peltier heaters under the copper blocks”) are respectively connected to each of the heating plates for temperature maintenance (paragraph [0030] “copper blocks”), wherein there are thermometers for temperature monitoring (paragraph [0030]) and the controller (paragraph [0030]).
Regarding the phrase “wherein each of the heaters is attached with a thermistor for temperature monitoring and electrically connected to the controller”, Abate does not literally disclose this limitation however Stafford discloses this limitation (paragraph [0131]).
In the analogous art of measurement and control of droplet sizes, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Abate with the thermistor and controller of Stafford in order to use a controller to operate the heating elements and to read the current temperature of the heating elements (Stafford, paragraph [0131]) for the purpose of finding treatments to biopsied tissues or biological materials from patients (Stafford, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, Abate discloses heating plates (paragraph [0030] “copper blocks”); and the controller regulates and cycles the temperature (paragraph [0030]).
Stafford discloses wherein each heating plate is attached with a thermistor for temperature monitoring (paragraph [0021] and [0131]).
In the analogous art of measurement and control of droplet sizes, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Abate with the thermistor and controller of Stafford in order to use a controller feedback loop to operate the heating elements and to read the current temperature of the heating elements (Stafford, paragraph [0131]) for the purpose of finding treatments to biopsied tissues or biological materials from patients (Stafford, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding the limitation “and the controller turns off the heater when the thermistor detects a temperature higher than the predefined temperature and turns on the heater when a lower temperature is detected”, Abate does not literally disclose this limitation however, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Abate with the controller feedback loop of Stafford to accomplish this limitation in order to operate the heating elements and to read the current temperature of the heating elements (Stafford, paragraph [0131]) for the purpose of finding treatments to biopsied tissues or biological materials from patients (Stafford, paragraph [0002]).
Additional Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Esmail (US 20150209785) (newly cited) – This invention is an integrated microfluidic system for performing assays.
Wang (US 20160298173) (newly cited) – This invention is a droplet-based microfluidic chip with fluorescent detection.
Conclusion
/N.G.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799