DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,597,674 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,469,925 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,355,106 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,116 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,288,894 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,909,014 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim encompasses all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casey (US 2022/0099205 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Casey discloses an apparatus comprising: a cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked (paragraph 2) within an enclosure configured to accommodate the cell stack therein, wherein a rupture portion 100, configured to be rupturable by internal pressure of the enclosure, is disposed on at least one surface of the enclosure (paragraph 56).
Regarding claim 2, Casey discloses that the rupture portion has a rupture groove (tearing edge) formed to be thinner than other portions of the rupture portion (paragraphs 57 & 62).
Regarding claim 3, Casey discloses a blade 140 disposed on the at least one surface of the case, the blade configured to rupture the rupture portion (paragraph 60).
Regarding claim 4, Casey discloses that the rupture portion is configured to be deformed in shape by the internal pressure and to come into contact with the blade 140 (paragraph 60).
Regarding claim 5, Casey discloses a rupture sheet 110 including a first frame 124, and the rupture portion disposed in the first frame; and a cutter including a second frame 130, and the blade disposed in the second frame 130, wherein the cutter is disposed on the outside of the rupture sheet 110, and the blade 140 is disposed in a position corresponding to that of the rupture portion (see Figure 1C).
Regarding claim 6, Casey discloses that the blade 140 includes a plurality of blades, and the plurality of blades are disposed to correspond to one rupture portion (paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 7, Casey discloses that the rupture portion is formed to have a hemispherical shape and protrudes toward the cell stack, and the rupture portion protrudes toward the blade and comes into contact with the blade, when the internal pressure of the case increases (paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 8, Casey discloses that at least a portion of an edge of the blade is disposed to oppose a convex central portion of the rupture portion (paragraph 56).
Regarding claim 9, Casey discloses that the rupture sheet further includes a protruding frame 132 formed to protrude from the first frame 130, and the rupture portion is formed to extend from an end of the protruding frame (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 10, Casey discloses that the blade 140 is disposed to protrude from the second frame toward the rupture portion (see Figure 1C).
Regarding claim 11, Casey discloses that the blade is disposed on the same plane as that of the second frame, and is formed to have a sawtooth shape (paragraph 67).
Regarding claim 12, Casey discloses an apparatus comprising: a cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked (paragraph 2) within an enclosure configured to accommodate the cell stack therein, wherein a rupture portion 100, configured to be deformed by internal pressure of the enclosure (paragraph 56), at least a portion of the rupture portion has a shape of a curved surface recessed toward the internal space of the case (see Figure 1C).
Regarding claim 13, Casey discloses a rupture sheet 110 disposed on at least one side of the cell stack, wherein the rupture portion is distributed throughout the rupture sheet (paragraph 56).
Regarding claim 14, Casey discloses a blade 140 disposed on the at least one surface of the case, the blade configured to rupture the rupture portion (paragraph 60).
Regarding claim 15, Casey discloses that the rupture portion is disposed between the blade and the cell stack (paragraph 56).
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725