DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2022/0381624 (“Young”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,370,459 (“Culbertson”).
Claim 1
Young discloses a food temperature probe, comprising a handle body (handle 312), a probe body (probe body 310), a first pole (contact 135), a first temperature sensing element (Fig. 9B, plurality of temperature sensors 106), a power supply module (charging contact 123), an antenna (antenna 117), and a circuit board (circuit board 115); a second pole being disposed on the probe body (contact 136); wherein an interior of the handle body and an interior of the probe body are communicated to form an accommodating cavity (Fig. 3), the circuit board is disposed in the accommodating cavity, and the first temperature sensing element is disposed in the accommodating cavity at an end thereof away from the handle body (Fig. 3); the first pole, the first temperature sensing element, the power supply module, and the antenna are electrically connected to the circuit board (paragraph [0100]).
Young discloses attaching the handle body and the probe body by coupling, securing, or attachment (paragraph [0129]) but does not appear to explicitly disclose attachment by brazing.
Culbertson discloses joining components of a temperature probe using brazing (col. 7, lns 24-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated attaching by brazing, as disclosed by Culbertson, into the device of Young, such that the handle body and the probe body are connected by brazing, for the purpose of joining with minimal non-uniformities (Culbertson, col. 7, lns 41-52).
Claim 2
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 1, further comprising a transfer piece; wherein the first pole is connected to the handle body via the transfer piece; or, the second pole is connected to the first pole via the transfer piece (Young, Figs. 3 and 7).
Claim 3
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 1, wherein an outer diameter of an end of the probe body facing the handle body is smaller than an inner diameter of an end of the handle body facing the probe body, such that the probe body is inserted into the handle body and is brazed to the handle body; or, an outer diameter of an end of the handle body facing the probe body is smaller than an inner diameter of an end of the probe body facing the handle body, such that the handle body is inserted into the probe body and is brazed to the probe body (Young, Figs. 3 and 5).
Claim 4
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 2, wherein the transfer piece is disposed at an end of the handle body away from the probe body, and the first pole is disposed at an end of the transfer piece away from the handle body; the transfer piece is brazed to the handle body; the first pole is connected to the transfer piece by one or more of laser welding, fusion welding, cold welding, threading with glue, and threading with a sealing ring; the first pole is electrically connected to the circuit board through a first pole extension wire (Young, Figs. 3 and 7).
Claim 5
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 2.
Young discloses attaching handle body and probe body by coupling, securing, or attachment (paragraph [0129]) but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first pole and the transfer piece are connected into a whole by one or more of laser welding, fusion welding, cold welding, threading with glue, and threading with a sealing ring, and disposed at the middle of the handle body; the first pole is electrically connected to the circuit board through a first pole extension wire.
Culbertson discloses joining components of a temperature probe using welding (col. 7, lns 24-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated attaching by welding, as disclosed by Culbertson, into the device of Young, such that the first pole and the transfer piece are connected into a whole by one or more of laser welding, fusion welding, cold welding, threading with glue, and threading with a sealing ring, and disposed at the middle of the handle body; the first pole is electrically connected to the circuit board through a first pole extension wire, for the purpose of joining with minimal non-uniformities (Culbertson, col. 7, lns 41-52).
Claim 6
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 2, further comprising a first insulating ceramic (Young, paragraph [0129]); the probe body is sequentially connected to the transfer piece, the first insulating ceramic (Young, paragraphs [0129-0130]).
Young discloses attaching handle body and probe body by coupling, securing, or attachment (paragraph [0129]) but does not appear to explicitly disclose the first pole at an end of the probe body away from the handle body; the transfer piece is connected to the probe body through one or more of laser welding, fusion welding, cold welding, threading with glue, and threading with a sealing ring; the transfer piece is brazed to the first insulating ceramic, and the first insulating ceramic is brazed to the first pole; the first pole is electrically connected to the circuit board through a first pole extension wire.
Culbertson discloses joining components of a temperature probe using welding (col. 7, lns 24-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated attaching by welding, as disclosed by Culbertson, into the device of Young, such that and the first pole at an end of the probe body away from the handle body; the transfer piece is connected to the probe body through one or more of laser welding, fusion welding, cold welding, threading with glue, and threading with a sealing ring; the transfer piece is brazed to the first insulating ceramic, and the first insulating ceramic is brazed to the first pole; the first pole is electrically connected to the circuit board through a first pole extension wire, for the purpose of joining with minimal non-uniformities (Culbertson, col. 7, lns 41-52).
Claim 9
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 1, further comprising a second temperature sensing element disposed in the accommodating cavity at an end thereof away from the probe body (Young, Fig. 3).
Claim 10
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 1, wherein an end of the probe body away from the handle body gradually tapers towards a direction away from the handle body, to form a pointed tip (Young, Fig. 3, tipped).
Claim 11
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 1, wherein a heat insulation film is disposed on the power supply module (Young, insulation 122).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2022/0381624 (“Young”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,370,459 (“Culbertson”), further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2016/0007411 (“Busche”).
Claim 7
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 1.
Young in view of Culbertson does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the handle body and the probe body are brazed using a glass frit as a filler material.
Busche discloses brazing of temperature probe components using braze foil or glass frit (paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated using a glass frit as a filler material, as disclosed by Busche, into the device of Young in view of Culbertson, for the purpose of providing adhesion of a ceramic material (Busche, paragraph [0060]).
Claim 8
Young in view of Culbertson discloses the food temperature probe according to claim 1.
Young in view of Culbertson discloses wherein the handle body and the probe body are brazed using a ceramic metallization brazing material as a filler material.
Busche discloses brazing of temperature probe components using braze foil or glass frit (paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated using a metallization brazing material as a filler material, as disclosed by Busche, into the device of Young in view of Culbertson, for the purpose of providing adhesion of a ceramic material (Busche, paragraph [0060]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853