DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lou et al. (US 2021/0348663 A1).
Re claim 1, Lou et al. disclose a caliper brake (10) comprising: a brake disc ([0052]) configured to rotate together with a wheel; an inner brake pad (60) positioned to an inner side of the brake disc; an outer brake pad (62) positioned to an outer side of the brake disc; a first pressing member (24) configured to press the inner brake pad toward the brake disc; a housing including a finger portion (42) configured to press the outer brake pad toward the brake disc with a reaction force caused by a pressing force from the first pressing member; a second pressing member (24’) neighboring the first pressing member and configured to operate independently from the first pressing member to press the inner brake pad toward the brake disc; and a third pressing member (24’’) being opposite to the second pressing member with the brake disc interposed therebetween and configured to operate independently from the first pressing member to press the outer brake pad toward the brake disc wherein the housing includes a first cylinder (22) in which the first pressing member moves back and forth, a second cylinder (22’) in which the second pressing member moves back and forth, and a third cylinder (22”) in which the third pressing member moves back and forth. (Fig. 2)
Re claim 2, Lou et al. disclose wherein the first pressing member (24) presses a larger area than the second pressing member (24’). See Fig. 2 including finger 42.
Re claim 3, Lou et al. disclose wherein the first pressing member (24) presses a center portion of the inner brake pad (60). (Fig. 2)
Re claim 4, Lou et al. disclose wherein the second pressing member (24’) is biased in one direction with respect to the first pressing member. (Fig. 4a)
Re claim 5, Lou et al. disclose wherein the second pressing member (24’) presses a same area as the third pressing member (24”).
Re claim 6, Lou et al. disclose wherein the second pressing member (24’) is coaxial with the third pressing member (24”).
Re claim 8, Lou et al. disclose further comprising a controller (“ECU”) configured to control operations of the first pressing member, the second pressing member, and the third pressing member. ([0025])
Re claim 9, Lou et al. disclose wherein the inner brake pad (60) includes a first inner brake pad and a second inner brake pad that is separated from the first inner brake pad, and the outer brake pad (62) includes a first outer brake pad and a second outer brake pad that is separated from the first outer brake pad. (Fig. 2)
Re claim 10, Lou et al. disclose wherein the first inner brake pad (left portion of 60) is pressed toward the brake disc by the first pressing member (24), and the second inner brake pad (right portion of 60) is pressed toward the brake disc by the second pressing member (24’). (Fig. 2)
Re claim 11, Lou et al. disclose wherein the first outer brake pad (left portion of 62) is pressed toward the brake disc by the finger portion, and the second outer brake pad (right portion of 62) is pressed toward the brake disc by the third pressing member (25”). (Fig. 2)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lou et al. lacks “a housing including a finger portion configured to press the outer brake pad toward the brake disc with a reaction force caused by a pressing force from the first pressing member”. The housing 12 includes a “finger portion” 42 that is configured to press the outer pad 62 with a reaction force from the first pressing member 24. This is illustrated in Figure 2 and paragraph [0052]).
Additionally, Applicant argues that Lou et al. does not disclose “a housing including a first cylinder (22) in which the first pressing member moves back and forth, a second cylinder (22’) in which the second pressing member moves back and forth, and a third cylinder (22”) in which the third pressing member moves back and forth.” Lou et al. clearly disclose a housing 12 including cylinders 22, 22’ and 22’’ for pressing members 24, 24’ and 24’’.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It appears that Applicant is attacking the assembly of the individual components within the system. However, Applicant’s arguments are more specific than the claim language. Lou et al. teaches a brake assembly 10 which includes the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWAugust 19, 2026