DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matthew R. Archibald (Archibald) US 20230142053 A1.
As per claim 1 Archibald disclose;
A liquid cooling unit (Fig. 1-11 item 100 “CDU”), comprising:
a cabinet (fig. 1 and 4 item 102) that defines an accommodation space, the cabinet comprising a first surface facing a first direction (along door 110) and a second surface facing a second direction (at perpendicular to direction of door 110), the first surface being formed with a first opening (behind door 110) so that a first servicing direction of the liquid cooling unit is formed in the first direction (by opening door), the second surface neighboring to the first surface and formed with a second opening (fig. 4 and para 0015 shows a second opening after removing side panels) so that a second servicing direction of the liquid cooling unit is formed in the second direction, whereby the heat dissipation assembly being serviceable in the first servicing direction and the second servicing direction (Fig. 1 and 4); and
a heat dissipation assembly (Fig. 13 assembly with heat exchanger item 142) arranged in the accommodation space (Fig. 11).
As per claim 11 Archibald disclose;
wherein the cabinet is of a rectangular parallelepiped shape (Fig. 1 and 4) and comprises a long-edge side, a short-edge side, and a height side mutually perpendicular to one another (Fig. 1 and 4), the first servicing direction of the liquid cooling unit corresponding to the long-edge side of the cabinet, the second servicing direction of the liquid cooling unit corresponding to the short-edge side of the cabinet. (Fig.1 and 4)
As per claim 14 Archibald disclose;
wherein the cabinet (Fig. 1-4 item 102) comprises a plurality of upright columns arranged (Fig. 4 shows columns at four corners of cabinet) to space from each other and cross beams connected between adjacent ones of the upright columns (Fig. 4 shows horizontal beam between columns), the first opening and the second opening being respectively formed between corresponding ones of the upright columns and the cross beams. (Fig. 4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Archibald in view of Tatsuya Takahashi (Takahashi) US 6,182,742 B1.
As per claim 2 Archibald disclose;
wherein the heat dissipation assembly (fig. 11 and fig. 13) comprises a first circulation system and a second circulation system (Fig. 11 and 13 shows pumps 182a and 182b), the second circulation system comprising at least two water pumps (Fig. 7 and 13 item 182a and 182b) which are arranged adjacent to the first surface (Fig. 5 close to item 110) so as to be serviceable in the first servicing direction (fig. 5).
Archibald disclose cooling unit but do not mention well-known alternative of cooling unit with compressors.
the first circulation system comprising at least two compressors which are arranged adjacent to the second surface so as to be serviceable in the second servicing direction.
However in analogues art Takahashi, disclose, cooling system without compressor (in fig. 1) and disclose well-known alternative- the first circulation system comprising at least two compressors (Fig. 2 items 3510A and 3520B).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Takahashi to the device of Archibald would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for incorporating compressor into cooling unit to implement cooling unit as per cooling unit with compressor base on environmental requirements..
Takahashi don’t show assembly details of cooling unit, e.g.
compressors are arranged adjacent to the second surface so as to be serviceable in the second servicing direction.
However Archibald teaches arranging pumps arranged adjacent to the first surface so as to be serviceable in the first servicing direction.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Archibald, to arrange compressors adjacent to the second surface so as to be serviceable in the second servicing direction same as pumps are arranged to easily service compressors. Further It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange components for easy service, since it was known in the art that to arrange components for easy removal or providing space for servicing.
Regarding claims 3 and 4 Archibald and Takahashi disclose;
the heat dissipation assembly further comprises an electric control component which is rotatably mounted to a lower portion of the cabinet .( Archibald fig. 4 item 112 control panel)
wherein the electric control component is rotatably connected by a hinge to the cabinet and is arranged distant from the second surface. (fig. 4 item 112 mounted on door)
Motivation to combine remains same as claim 2.
Regarding claims 5 Archibald and Takahashi disclose;
the second circulation system is a water cooling system (Fig. 4) which comprises a plurality of water pumps (182a and 182b); and the heat exchanger (Fig. 15) But do not teach well-known in the art cooling unit with compressor
wherein the heat dissipation assembly comprises a compressor; a first circulation system, a second circulation system, and a heat exchanger; the first circulation system is a condensing system which comprises a blower, a condenser, and wherein the heat dissipation assembly comprises a compressor; comprises a condensing channel and a water cooling channel, the condensing channel being connected with the first circulation system, the water cooling channel being connected with the second circulation system.
However in analogues art Takahashi disclose, cooling system having first and second circulation systems, wherein the heat dissipation assembly comprises (Fig. 5) a first circulation system, a second circulation system (Fig. 5), and a heat exchanger (3520); the first circulation system is a condensing system which comprises a blower (3540A), a condenser (3530A), and a compressor (3510A); the second circulation system is a water cooling system which comprises a plurality of water pumps (3110A); and the heat exchanger comprises a condensing channel (3530) and a water cooling channel (3520), the condensing channel being connected with the first circulation system (having compressor 3510) , the water cooling channel (through 3520A and 3110A) being connected with the second circulation system (Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Takahashi to the device of Archibald would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for incorporating compressor into cooling unit to implement cooling unit as per cooling unit with compressor base on environmental requirements.
Regarding claim 8 Archibald and Takahashi disclose;
wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a pipeline assembly which comprises a pipeline connection port, the pipeline connection port being arranged at a bottom of the cabinet and adjacent to the second surface. (Fig. 1 and Para 0070)
Claim(s) 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Archibald in view of MARK M. BAILEY (BAILEY) US 2021/0068306 A1.
As per claims 18 and 19 Archibald disclose;
Liquid cooling unit, but do not teach
An energy storage container, comprising a container casing, wherein the container casing is of a rectangular parallelepiped shape and comprises two side surfaces perpendicular to a widthwise direction thereof, and two end surfaces perpendicular to a lengthwise direction thereof, the first surface of the liquid cooling unit facing one of the end surfaces of the container casing, the second surface of the liquid cooling unit facing one of the side surfaces of the container casing.
wherein the two liquid cooling units are arranged side by side horizontally along an end surface of the container casing, the two liquid cooling units being arranged in mirror symmetry.
However in analogues art BAILEY disclose, An energy storage container, (Fig. 6 and 7 item 700) comprising a container casing (Fig. 7), wherein the container casing is of a rectangular parallelepiped shape (Fig. 7 item 700 rectangular parallelepiped shape shown) and comprises two side surfaces perpendicular to a widthwise direction thereof (Fig. 7), and two end surfaces perpendicular to a lengthwise direction thereof (Fig. 7), the first surface of the air cooling unit (item 704) facing one of the end surfaces of the container casing (Fig. 7), the second surface of the liquid cooling unit facing one of the side surfaces of the container casing (fig. 7).
wherein the two cooling units (704a and 704b) are arranged side by side horizontally along an end surface of the container casing (Fig. 7), the two cooling units being arranged in mirror symmetry (Fig. 7).
BAILEY teaches arranging air cooling unit, attached to the container, it would have been obvious to replace air cooling unit with liquid cooling unit based on cooling requirements.
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by BAILEY to the device of Archibald would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for incorporating cooling unit with container type data center.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1- Prior art CN 205793925 U WANG HAO, HAO Fig. 1 disclose liquid cooling unit, with serviceable opening for the assembly.
2-US 20120134107 Yonghui Peng, Peng disclose container data center (Fig. 1 and 2) with cooling unit 132
3- US 8537536 B1 Paul F. Rembach, Rembach disclose container type data center (Fig. 1 and 6) with cooling unit (72).
/MUKUNDBHAI G PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835