Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12, 13 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Amendments to the claims were further searched and additional prior art is applied to the amended claims as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 10, 13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koh et al. (US PG Pub 202100235802) in view of Schwartz et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0022065).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Koh et al. discloses a method and electronic device for estimating a height of a human (Koh steps 108 and 126 in figure 1A), the electronic device comprising: a processor configured to:
obtain an image including at least a part of a representation of the human and reference information (steps 104 and paragraph 98);
input the image to a first neural network (steps 181 and 182 of figure 1D) and obtain as output from the first neural network first information, the first information related to a plurality of keypoints in the body of the human (paragraph 150);
input the image to obtain second information, the second information related to the reference information (reference information in paragraph 98); and
estimate the height of the human based on the first information and the second information (figure 11 steps 1108-1112 imaged data is compared to input data to verify height information); and
an output unit configured to output the estimated height (figure 16 outputs Height information on a phone).
Although Koh fails to specifically disclose that the reference information is feed into a second neural network wherein the second neural network is configured to segment the reference information from the image and output pixel to metric ratio information based on the segmented reference information. However, in the same field of endeavor Schwartz (paragraph 67 uses Model_A to segment a reference object that is then used to calibrate (or use a known ratio) and determine other object sizes (i.e. length or height) see paragraphs 68 and 70). Since both systems use reference objects found in the image to determine other objects in the image dimensions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the learning systems of Schwartz into Koh’s system to allow for known sized object to be used as a known pixel to metric ratio since the ratio of height and width will allow for plane detection and known dimensional relationships which makes for simpler calculations into human height,
As for claim 2 Koh discloses an electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the second information is information linking the reference information with physical distance information (Koh paragraph 98 reference data is used to link ground truth information figure 2).
As for claims 3 and 16 Koh discloses an electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first neural network is configured to segment the at least part of the representation of the human into a plurality of body parts, and to predict the plurality of keypoints in the body of the human based on the plurality of body parts (step 204).
As for claim 4, Koh disclose an electronic device according to claim 3, wherein the information related to the plurality of keypoints comprises coordinate information about at least part of the plurality of keypoints. Koh uses 2D and 3D models which have coordinates for each body part.
As for claim 5 Schwartz and Koh disclose an electronic device according to a wherein a keypoint corresponds to one of a list comprising face, shoulder, hip, knee, ankle and heel. Schwartz figures 3-5.
Regarding claim 6. Koh discloses an electronic device according to claim 3, wherein the first neural network is configured to identify a predefined number of keypoints, and if at least one keypoint is not identified by the first neural network with at least 50% of detection confidence and at least 50% of visibility, the processor is configured to generate a notification indicating that the height cannot be estimated, and the output unit is configured to output the notification. Koh teaches that confidence is used in figures 1A steps 114 and 124, see paragraphs 101-109.
Regarding claim 9 Koh discloses an electronic device according to claim 1 wherein the reference information includes an object of a known predetermined size, such as an object of the size of a credit card, see Koh paragraph 98. Also see Schwartz paragraphs 67 and 68.
Regarding claim 10, Koh discloses an electronic device according to claim 9, wherein the second neural network is configured to find contours of the object, recognize the object, and obtain the predetermined size of the object, and wherein the second information comprises information related to the physical size of the object. (Koh para 98 and 150)
Regarding claim 13, both Koh and Schwartz disclose electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising an image capturing unit configured to capture the image. (cameras)
Claim(s) 7, 8, 12 and 17 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koh et al. in view of Schwartz et al. as applied to claims above, and further in view of Fedyukov et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0049811).
As shown above the combination of Koh et al in view of Schwartz et al teach the system and methods of claims above. However, the combination fails to teach the specifics of the following claims.
Regarding claim 7, Fedyukov discloses an electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first neural network is a convolutional neural network for human pose estimation implemented with a BlazePose neural network, for which the prediction of the keypoints has been parametrized using mediapipe pose estimation application program interface, and wherein an output of the BlazePose/mediapipe pose solution application interface is passed through a Broyden, Fletcher, Goldfarb, and Shanno, BFGS, optimization algorithm. Paragraph 348
Since all three systems are trainable network used to calculate human pose and size measurements, they are considered all in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the BFGS optimization as taught by Fedyukov into the systems of Koh and Schwartz to improve pose estimation. One of ordinary skill would use other training/learning algorithms available depending on cost and accessibility.
Regarding claim 8, Fedyukov discloses an electronic device according to claim 3 wherein the processor is further configured to use the first information to compute Euclidean distances between coordinates of the at least part of the plurality of keypoints on the image to calculate a pixel length of the representation of the human in the image. See Paragraph 139.
Regarding claim 12, Fedyukov discloses an electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the second neural network is formed from a convolutional neural network U-Net with EfficientNet-b0 backbone.
Since all three systems are trainable network used to calculate human pose and size measurements, they are considered all in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine well known U-Net optimization as taught by Fedyukov into the systems of Koh and Schwartz to improve pose estimation. One of ordinary skill would use other training/learning algorithms available depending on cost and accessibility.
Regarding claim 17, see paragraphs 552, 674-675 of Fedyukov for the specific of claimed servers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482