Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: (1) there are reference numerals utilizing brackets, see 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(1) which states that numerals should not be utilized with brackets, and (2) these numerals are positioned in the corner of the Figures not referring to any particular portion of the figure, see 200/210/220/230/240 in Figure 1, and also see similar numerals in Figures 5 and 9.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following:
Throughout the claims (and specification) there is reference to a “molding” piece. This piece is not for molding, it is a molded piece and is more appropriately referred to as such. This term should be corrected throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 11,271,345 (“Wimmer”).
Regarding claim 1, Wimmer discloses a connector, comprising:
a molded piece (4/5/6) comprising a front surface (left surfaces of portion 4, Fig. 2a) and a guiding inclined surface (7), the front surface being connected to the guiding inclined surface (see Fig. 2a), the molded piece being flat-shaped (see Fig. 1A - 2A);
a protruding portion (3) disposed on the front surface, wherein the protruding portion protrudes in a direction away from the molded piece (see Fig. 2a);
a plurality of plug terminals (13) retractably (col. 9, ln. 55) protrude from a bottom surface of the molded piece (3 protrudes from a bottom of at least the board of the molded piece 4, see Fig. 2a); and
a cable (2) electrically connected to the plug terminal in the molded piece.
Regarding claim 2, Wimmer discloses wherein the molded piece further comprises a first guiding arc surface (end of 29), and the first guiding arc surface is connected to the front surface (see Fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 3, Wimmer discloses wherein the guiding inclined surface and the first guiding arc surface are respectively located on opposite sides of the protruding portion (Fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 4, Wimmer discloses wherein the molded piece further comprises a second guiding arc surface (end of 29), and the second guiding arc surface and the guiding inclined surface are respectively located on opposite sides of the molded piece (see Fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 11, Wimmer discloses an electrical connection module, comprising:
a wire-end connector (1) comprising:
a molded piece (3/4) comprising a front surface (left front surfaces of 4 in Fig. 2a) and a guiding inclined surface (7), the front surface being connected to the guiding inclined surface (see Fig. 2a);
a protruding portion (6) disposed on the front surface, wherein the protruding portion protrudes in a direction away from the molded piece (see Fig. 2a);
a plug terminal (13) connected to the molded piece; and
a cable (2) electrically connected to the plug terminal in the molded piece; and
a board-end connector (18) comprising:
a printed circuit board (23); and
a frame (37) disposed on the printed circuit board, the frame comprising a stopping wall (27), the stopping wall having a first slot (the space beneath and defined by 27),
wherein the protruding portion is configured to insert into the first slot (portion 29 enters the slot), and the molded piece is configured to rotate relative to the printed circuit board using the protruding portion as a fulcrum to connect the plug terminal to the printed circuit board (see Fig. 2b – 3).
Regarding claim 15, Wimmer discloses wherein the frame (37) further comprises a connecting wall (wall A, see below), a protruding rib (28), and a side wall (wall B, see below), two ends of the connecting wall are respectively connected to the stopping wall (27) and the protruding rib (28), and the side wall (B) is connected to the protruding rib and extends away from the stopping wall (see below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 10 and 12 – 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed connector wherein the molded piece further comprises a first guiding arc surface and a second guiding arc surface, the first guiding arc surface is connected to the front surface, the bottom surface is connected to the first guiding arc surface, and the second guiding arc surface is connected to the bottom surface, wherein the second guiding arc surface is located on a side of the molded piece away from the protruding portion, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed connector further comprising a latch, the latch comprising a snapping plate, a hook, a connecting strap, and a pull handle, wherein the snapping plate is connected to the molded piece, the hook extends away from the molded piece from the snapping plate, the connecting strap is connected to the snapping plate, and the pull handle is connected to the connecting strap, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 12, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed electrical connection module, wherein the frame further comprises a protruding rib, the protruding rib is parallel to the stopping wall, the molded piece further comprises a second guiding arc surface, the second guiding arc surface and the guiding inclined surface are located on opposite sides of the molded piece, and wherein when the molded piece rotates relative to the printed circuit board, the second guiding arc surface contacts the protruding rib, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 13, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed electrical connection module further comprising a latch, the latch comprising a snapping plate, a connecting arm, a pull handle, and a hook, wherein the snapping plate is connected to the molded piece, the connecting arm is connected to the snapping plate, the pull handle is connected to the connecting arm, and the hook is connected to a side of the snapping plate away from the molded piece, wherein the frame further comprises a side wall, and the hook is configured to be engaged with a second slot on the side wall when the plug terminal is connected to the printed circuit board, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Wimmer discloses a connector with an inclined guiding surface, and a first guiding arc surface, but does not disclose the first and second guiding arc surface as required by the claims. Furthermore, Wimmer does not disclose the arc surface which contacts the protruding rim as required by the claims. Feldman and Tseng each disclose connectors having a molded piece, guiding surfaces, and terminals which retractably protrude, and the connector rotates relative to a mating connector. Neither Feldman nor Tseng disclose the arc surfaces or protruding rim as required by the claims, nor disclose a latch with a snapping plate and pull handle as required by the claims. Wu, Zerebilov, and Liu each disclose connectors with latches having straps, but do not disclose terminals which retractably protrude, do not teach how to use the latch members would integrate with connectors which have retractable terminals, and also do not disclose or teach connectors which rotate as required by the claims.
The prior art, when taken alone, or in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831