DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A1-B1-C1, claims 163-165, 167-174, 176-181, 186-187, in the reply filed on 3/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 166, 175, 182-185 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/17/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 163-165, 167-169, 174, 176, 179-181, 186-187 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gross (US 2021/0283397).
Regarding claim 163, Gross discloses the same invention as claimed (Figures 1A and 14C shown above for example), including a prosthetic cardiac valve (abstract), which is configured to be delivered to a native cardiac valve of a patient in a constrained delivery configuration (Figure 4A), and which comprises: a frame (Figures 1A, 4A) which comprises interconnected stent struts arranged to define interconnected stent cells (Figure 1A); a plurality of prosthetic leaflets coupled to the frame to allow blood flow in a downstream direction and inhibit blood flow in an upstream direction when the prosthetic cardiac valve is in an expanded deployment configuration (Figures 1A-B); circuitry which is mechanically coupled to the frame (Paragraph 404); first and second electrodes which are mechanically coupled to the frame (abstract: e.g. cathode, anode; Paragraph 438: e,g, multiple cathodes); a printed circuit board which is shaped so as to define an elongate portion (Paragraph 404; Figure 2: 40) which is branched so as to define a main elongate portion and two or more branched elongate portions branching from the main elongate portion, wherein first and second ones of the branched elongate portions are coupled to the first and second electrodes, respectively (Figure 14C); and at least one electrical lead, which electrically couples the electrodes to the circuitry, and which is integral with the elongate portion of the PCB, and wherein the elongate portion of the PCB is mechanically coupled to some of the interconnected stent struts of the frame (Figure 14C).
Regarding claim 164, Gross discloses more than two branched elongate portions as recited (Figure 14C).
Regarding claim 165, Gross discloses first and second leads as recited (Figure 14C; anode and cathode would require separate leads).
Regarding claims 167-168, Gross discloses electrodes at different angular locations and same axial location as recited (Paragraph 438).
Regarding claim 169, Gross discloses the lead is encased as recited (Paragraphs 404, 411).
Regarding claim 174, Gross discloses upstream electrodes as recited (Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 176, Gross discloses a rectangular cross-section as recited (Figure 5; Paragraph 349).
Regarding claim 179, Gross discloses suturing as recited (Paragraph 420: incorporation by reference to Dagan US 9526637).
Regarding claim 180, Gross discloses an aortic valve as recited (abstract).
Regarding claim 181, Gross discloses circuitry downstream and electrodes upstream as recited (Paragraph 38; Figure 1A).
Regarding claims 186-187, Gross discloses pacing with the electrodes as recited (Paragraph 161).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 173, 177, 178 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 2021/0283397).
Regarding claims 173, 177, 178, Gross does not explicitly disclose thickness ratios as recited. However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Gross discloses the same general conditions of a prosthetic heart valve with struts and electrical components, and it does not appear that the particular thickness ratios yield new or unexpected results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gross to include the particular ratios as recited, since this would have amounted to merely finding the optimum or working ranges by routine experimentation.
Double Patenting
Claims 163-165, 167-174, 176-181, 186-187 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,975,203. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Instant application
Patent
163-165
1
167-169
7-11, 21
170-172
2
173
5, 6
174
22
176
4
177-178
5, 6
179
15
180-181
1
186-187
3
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 170-172 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a terminal disclaimer is filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gross (US 2019/0209302) shows a prosthetic valve pacing system.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792