DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a plurality of battery modules including a cell assembly in which a plurality of battery cells are assembled and a protective cover on which the cell assembly is seated and in which a venting hole is formed” which makes it unclear if the recited cell assembly, protective cover, and venting hole are being defined for each of the battery modules or if only one of each is required. As such, the scope of claim 1 cannot be determined for this reason and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 2-14 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 1.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the plurality of venting holes” where it’s not clear that a plurality of venting holes were previously formed or only a single venting hole and thus the scope of claim 5 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 7 recites “a discharge hole formed in both of the ends of the venting guide member” where it’s unclear which ends of the venting guide member are being referenced as the venting guide member has more than two ends. As such, the scope of claim 7 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 9 recites “a side frame surrounding a side surface of the battery module” where claim 1 from which claim 9 depends defines a plurality of battery modules making it unclear which battery module is being referenced in claim 9. As such, the scope of claim 9 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seo et al (US 2018/0358593A1).
Regarding claim 1 Seo discloses a battery pack, comprising:
a plurality of battery modules ([0032], Fig. 2 see: cell modules 100a, 100b, and 100c) including a cell assembly in which a plurality of battery cells are assembled ([0033] see: each module includes a plurality of pouch-type battery cells) and a protective cover on which the cell assembly is seated ([0033], Figs. 3-4 see: cells are within a main body of each of the modules 100a-c) and in which a venting hole is formed ([0034] Figs. 3-4 see: main body includes first venting holes 101);
a pack case protecting the plurality of battery modules from the outside ([0032] Fig. 2 see: pack structure 120 for protecting modules 100a-c);
a protective sheet disposed to face the venting hole ([0038], Figs. 2-4 see: heat sink 110 (sheet shaped and at least providing thermal protection) facing first venting holes 101); and
a venting guide member having an internal space, and contacting the protective sheet ([0038]-[0041], Figs. 2-4 see: pack tray 121 having passage 115 and contacting heat sink 110),
wherein the venting guide member includes an exhaust portion formed on one surface in contact with the protective sheet ([0038]-[0041], Figs. 2-4 see: pack tray 121 having first plate 121a contacting heat sink 110), and
the gas discharged from the cell assembly moves to the internal space of the venting guide member, passing through the protective sheet and the exhaust portion ([0038]-[0043], Figs. 2-4 see: gas from modules 100a-c passes through third venting holes 110a in heat sink 110, second venting holes 122 in first plate 121a and into passage 115).
Regarding claim 2 Seo discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the protective sheet is disposed to cover the exhaust portion ([0038]-[0043], Figs. 2-4 see: heat sink 110 covers first plate 121a with second venting holes 122).
Regarding claim 3 Seo discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the protective sheet is disposed to cover the venting hole ([0035], [0038]-[0043], Figs. 2-4 see: heat sink 110 covers at least part of first venting hole 101 (long hole)).
Regarding claim 5 Seo discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the plurality of venting holes are formed in the protective cover ([0035], Fig. 4 see: first venting holes 101 formed in main body of modules 100a-c), and at least a portion of the plurality of venting holes are formed on at least a portion of an edge of the protective cover ([0035], Fig. 4 see: first venting holes 101 formed in edges of main body of modules 100a-c).
Regarding claim 6 Seo discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the venting hole has a shape extending in a first direction, and the exhaust portion has a shape extending in the first direction ([0035], [0038]-[0043], Figs. 2-4 see: first venting holes 101 have a long hole shape and second venting holes 122 in first plate 121a have a corresponding elongated shape).
Regarding claim 8 Seo discloses the battery pack of claim 6, wherein the exhaust portion is disposed to correspond the venting hole ([0038]-[0043], Figs. 2-4 see: second venting holes 122 in first plate 121a correspond to first venting holes 101).
Regarding claim 13 Seo discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the venting guide member is disposed below the plurality of battery modules ([0038]-[0041], Figs. 2-4 see: pack tray 121 disposed below modules 100a-c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al (US 2018/0358593A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 13 above, and further in view of Zeng et al (US 2022/0021068).
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 10, Seo discloses the battery pack of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the protective sheet comprises a vulnerable portion formed in a region facing the venting hole, and a hole is formed in the vulnerable portion when the protective sheet is pressed by gas discharged from the cell assembly or wherein the pack case comprises a side frame surrounding a side surface of the battery module, and the venting guide member is coupled to the side frame or wherein the protective sheet comprises a plurality of sheets, and each of the plurality of sheets is disposed to cover each of the plurality of battery modules.
Zeng discloses a battery pack with a protective sheet (thermal management component 13, Fig. 3) comprises a vulnerable portion formed in a region facing the venting hole, and a hole is formed in the vulnerable portion when the protective sheet is pressed by gas discharged from the cell assembly (Zeng, [0141]-[0142], Figs. 7-9, and 12 see: thermal management component 13 includes a bottom avoidance portion 134b with a weakened structure (134d) such as a vulnerable portion that functions as a pressure relief mechanism facing the pressure relief mechanism 213 of battery cells 20) and is also a plurality of sheets, and each of the plurality of sheets is disposed to cover each of the plurality of battery modules (Zeng, [0132], [0141]-[0142], Figs. 7-9, and 12 see: thermal management component 13 comprises first thermally conductive plate 131 and second thermally conductive plate 132 covering the battery cells 20 and forming a flow channel between said plates 131, 132). Zeng also discloses the pack case comprises a side frame surrounding a side surface of the battery module ([0133], Figs. 3 and 7 see: case shell 112 comprises side portions 112b surrounding battery cells 20).
Zeng and Seo are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery pack of Seo in view of Zeng such that the protective sheet of Seo comprises a vulnerable portion formed in a region facing the venting hole, and a hole is formed in the vulnerable portion when the protective sheet is pressed by gas discharged from the cell assembly the protective sheet comprises a vulnerable portion formed in a region facing the venting hole, and a hole is formed in the vulnerable portion when the protective sheet is pressed by gas discharged from the cell assembly as in Zeng (Zeng, [0141]-[0142], Figs. 7-9, and 12 see: thermal management component 13 includes a bottom avoidance portion 134b with a weakened structure (134d) such as a vulnerable portion that functions as a pressure relief mechanism facing the pressure relief mechanism 213 of battery cells 20) and wherein the protective sheet of Seo comprises a plurality of sheets, and each of the plurality of sheets is disposed to cover each of the plurality of battery modules as in Zeng (Zeng, [0132], [0141]-[0142], Figs. 7-9, and 12 see: thermal management component 13 comprises first thermally conductive plate 131 and second thermally conductive plate 132 covering the battery cells 20 and forming a flow channel between said plates 131, 132) to allow the protective sheet (heat sink) of Seo to also function as a pressure actuated relief mechanism as in Zeng (paras [0141]-[0142]) and provide a flow channel for a coolant as in Zeng (Zeng, [0132]).
Further it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery pack of Seo in view of Zeng such that the pack case of Seo comprises a side frame surrounding a side surface of the battery module as in Zeng ([0133], Figs. 3 and 7 see: case shell 112 comprises side portions 112b surrounding battery cells 20) to provide protection to the battery modules.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al (US 2018/0358593A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 13 above, and further in view of Ren et al (US 2022/0123427).
Regarding claim 7 Seo discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the venting guide member comprises a discharge hole formed in the end of the venting guide member ([0017], [0041], [0043], Fig. 2, see: passage 115 extends to the outside of the pack structure), and the gas flowing into the internal space of the venting guide member is discharged externally of the venting guide member through the discharge hole (paras [0017], [0041], [0043]) but does not explicitly disclose the discharge hole formed in both of the ends of the venting guide member.
Ren discloses a battery pack with a discharge hole formed in both of the ends of a venting guide member ([0050], Figs. 1 and 18 see: battery-pack anti-explosion valve 40 at both ends of the exhaust vent and opened to discharge flame, smoke or gas that accumulates in the air passage).
Ren and Seo are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery pack of Seo in view of Ren such that the discharge hole is formed in both of the ends of the venting guide member as in Ren ([0050], Figs. 1 and 18 see: battery-pack anti-explosion valve 40 at both ends of the exhaust vent and opened to discharge flame, smoke or gas that accumulates in the air passage) to provide multiple paths for flame, smoke or gas to be discharged from the air passage.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al (US 2018/0358593A1) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 13 above, and further in view of Yang’651 (US 2022/0320651).
Regarding claim 14 Seo discloses the battery pack of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the pack case comprises a cross frame partitioning a space in which the plurality of battery modules are accommodated.
Yang’651 discloses a pack case comprises a cross frame partitioning a space in which a plurality of battery modules are accommodated ([0115], Figs. 8a-8b and 9-10 see: crossing beams 113a in electrical chamber 11a for accommodating modules formed from battery cells 20).
Yang’651 and Seo are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery pack of Seo in view of Yang’651 such that the pack case of Seo comprises a cross frame partitioning a space in which the plurality of battery modules are accommodated as in Yang’651 ([0115], Figs. 8a-8b and 9-10 see: crossing beams 113a in electrical chamber 11a for accommodating modules formed from battery cells 20) to provide a frame for mounting and securing the battery modules.
Claims 1-6, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang’551 (US 2022/0302551), and further in view of Seo et al (US 2018/0358593A1).
Regarding claim 1 Yang’551 discloses a battery pack, comprising:
a plurality of battery modules (first boxes 11) including a cell assembly in which a plurality of battery cells are assembled ([0098], Figs. 2-4 see: battery cells 20) and a protective cover on which the cell assembly is seated and in which a venting hole is formed ([0109], [0111]-[0112] Figs. 3 and 5-7 first covering 111 of box 11 with pressure relief region 113);
a pack case protecting the plurality of battery modules from the outside ([0098], Figs. 2-4 see: second box 12);
a protective sheet disposed to face the venting hole ([0128], Figs. 8-11 see: isolation component 123); and
a venting guide member having an internal space, and contacting the protective sheet ([0128], Figs. 8-11 see: collection chamber 12b formed below isolation component 123), and
the gas discharged from the cell assembly moves to the internal space of the venting guide member, passing through the protective sheet ([0128]-[0129], Figs. 8-11 see: collection chamber 12b forms an internal space where vented gas from pressure relief regions 113 pass through isolation component 123 into collection chamber 12b) and the exhaust portion.
Yang’551 does not explicitly disclose wherein the venting guide member includes an exhaust portion formed on one surface in contact with the protective sheet that the gas discharged from the cell assembly passes through.
Seo discloses a battery pack with a venting guide member having an internal space, and contacting a protective sheet ([0038]-[0041], Figs. 2-4 see: pack tray 121 having passage 115 and contacting heat sink 110), wherein the venting guide member includes an exhaust portion formed on one surface in contact with the protective sheet ([0038]-[0041], Figs. 2-4 see: pack tray 121 having first plate 121a contacting heat sink 110), and the gas discharged from the cell assembly moves to the internal space of the venting guide member, passing through the protective sheet and the exhaust portion ([0038]-[0043], Figs. 2-4 see: gas from modules 100a-c passes through third venting holes 110a in heat sink 110, second venting holes 122 in first plate 121a and into passage 115).
Yang’551 and Seo are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery pack of Yang’551 in view of Seo such that the venting guide member of Yang’551 comprises an exhaust portion formed on one surface in contact with the protective sheet as in Seo ([0038]-[0041], Figs. 2-4 see: pack tray 121 having first plate 121a contacting heat sink 110), such that the gas discharged from the cell assembly moves to the internal space of the venting guide member, passing through the protective sheet and the exhaust portion as in Seo ([0038]-[0043], Figs. 2-4 see: gas from modules 100a-c passes through third venting holes 110a in heat sink 110, second venting holes 122 in first plate 121a and into passage 115) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known venting guide member structure for its intended use in the known environment of a battery pack to accomplish the entirely expected result of guiding vented gas from battery cells into an internal passage and outside the battery pack if necessary.
Regarding claim 2 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the protective sheet is disposed to cover the exhaust portion (Yang’551, [0128], Figs. 8-11 see: isolation component 123 provided between pressure relief regions 113 and by the modification of Seo would cover the first plate 121a (exhaust portion) of Seo).
Regarding claim 3 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the protective sheet is disposed to cover the venting hole (Yang’551, [0128], Figs. 8-11 see: isolation component 123 covering pressure relief regions 113).
Regarding claim 4 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the protective sheet comprises a vulnerable portion formed in a region facing the venting hole, and a hole is formed in the vulnerable portion when the protective sheet is pressed by gas discharged from the cell assembly (Yang’551, [0135]-[0140], Figs. 10-13 see: isolation component 123 includes second weakened zone 1231 capable of being damaged when the pressure relief region 113 relieves the internal pressure).
Regarding claim 5 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, and Seo discloses wherein the plurality of venting holes are formed in the protective cover ([0035], Fig. 4 see: first venting holes 101 formed in main body of modules 100a-c), and at least a portion of the plurality of venting holes are formed on at least a portion of an edge of the protective cover ([0035], Fig. 4 see: first venting holes 101 formed in edges of main body of modules 100a-c).
Regarding claim 6 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the venting hole has a shape extending in a first direction, and the exhaust portion has a shape extending in the first direction (Yang’551, [0109], [0111]-[0112] Figs. 3 and 5-7 first covering 111 of box 11 with pressure relief region 113 extending in a first direction).
Regarding claim 8 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 6, and Seo discloses wherein the exhaust portion is disposed to correspond the venting hole ([0038]-[0043], Figs. 2-4 see: second venting holes 122 in first plate 121a correspond to first venting holes 101).
Regarding claim 9 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the pack case comprises a side frame surrounding a side surface of the battery module, and the venting guide member is coupled to the side frame (Fig. 8 see: second box 12 includes a side frame portion around first boxes 11 which collection chamber 12b is coupled to).
Regarding claim 10 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the protective sheet comprises a plurality of sheets, and each of the plurality of sheets is disposed to cover each of the plurality of battery modules (Yang’551, [0149], Fig. 14 see: isolation component 123 includes a first thermally conductive plate 1233 and a second thermally conductive plate 1234 covering the first boxes 11).
Regarding claim 11 modified Yang’551 discloses battery pack of claim 1, further comprising:
a cooling plate member disposed to face at least a portion of the plurality of battery modules, and cooling at least a portion of the plurality of battery cells (Yang’551, [0156], [0149] Figs. 3-4 or 14 see: side plate 60 with second flow channels 61 for adjusting the temperature of battery cell 20 or see one of first thermally conductive plate 1233 and second thermally conductive plate 1234 can be considered a cooling plate member and the other the protective sheet).
Regarding claim 12 modified Yang’551 discloses battery pack of claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of battery cells comprises a sealing portion, and at least a portion of the sealing portion are disposed to face the protective sheet (Yang’551, [0103]-[0104], Figs. 3-5 see: each battery cell 20 comprising a surrounding housing 25 that seals the contents and thus has a surface facing the isolation component 123).
Regarding claim 13 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the venting guide member is disposed below the plurality of battery modules (Yang’551, Figs. 8-11 see: collection chamber 12b disposed below first boxes 11).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang’551 (US 2022/0302551) in view of Seo et al (US 2018/0358593A1) as applied to claims 1-6, and 8-13 above, and further in view of Ren et al (US 2022/0123427).
Regarding claim 7 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, and Seo further teaches wherein the venting guide member comprises a discharge hole formed in the end of the venting guide member ([0017], [0041], [0043], Fig. 2, see: passage 115 extends to the outside of the pack structure), and the gas flowing into the internal space of the venting guide member is discharged externally of the venting guide member through the discharge hole (paras [0017], [0041], [0043]) but does not explicitly disclose the discharge hole formed in both of the ends of the venting guide member.
Ren discloses a battery pack with a discharge hole formed in both of the ends of a venting guide member ([0050], Figs. 1 and 18 see: battery-pack anti-explosion valve 40 at both ends of the exhaust vent and opened to discharge flame, smoke or gas that accumulates in the air passage).
Ren and modified Yang’551 are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery pack of Yang’551 in view of Ren such that the discharge hole is formed in both of the ends of the venting guide member as in Ren ([0050], Figs. 1 and 18 see: battery-pack anti-explosion valve 40 at both ends of the exhaust vent and opened to discharge flame, smoke or gas that accumulates in the air passage) to provide multiple paths for flame, smoke or gas to be discharged from the air passage.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang’551 (US 2022/0302551) in view of Seo et al (US 2018/0358593A1) as applied to claims 1-6, and 8-13 above, and further in view of Yang’651 (US 2022/0320651).
Regarding claim 14 modified Yang’551 discloses the battery pack of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the pack case comprises a cross frame partitioning a space in which the plurality of battery modules are accommodated.
Yang’651 discloses a pack case comprises a cross frame partitioning a space in which a plurality of battery modules are accommodated ([0115], Figs. 8a-8b and 9-10 see: crossing beams 113a in electrical chamber 11a for accommodating modules formed from battery cells 20).
Yang’651 and modified Yang’551 are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery pack of Yang’551 in view of Yang’651 such that the pack case of Yang’551 comprises a cross frame partitioning a space in which the plurality of battery modules are accommodated as in Yang’651 ([0115], Figs. 8a-8b and 9-10 see: crossing beams 113a in electrical chamber 11a for accommodating modules formed from battery cells 20) to provide a frame for mounting and securing the battery modules.
Conclusion
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726