Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnault (US 2021/0364040) and in view of Giehl (US 2024/0280144).
As to claim 1, Arnault discloses a grounding brush assembly comprising: a grounding brush including a support and a plurality of conductive fibers fitted inside the support (Fig. 1); and a brush fitting plate connected with the support of the brush and including a plurality of retention tongues configured to retain the support, a radial portion, an annular flange extending from the radial portion and offset radially outwardly from the plurality of retention tongues (Fig. 1), the annular flange having an outer surface defining the outer diameter of the fitting plate (Fig. 1), and at least one local deformation formed on the flange and extending radially inwardly (Fig. 6).
Arnault fails to disclose a plurality of through-openings which each extend through the radial portion and through the flange.
Giehl, however, discloses a plurality of through-openings which each extend through the radial portion and through the flange (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Arnault with a plurality of through-openings which each extend through the radial portion and through the flange, as disclosed by Giehl, to provide cooling to the assembly.
As to claim 2, the combination of Arnault and Giehl discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one local deformation (Fig. 3 of Arnault) is disposed circumferentially between two of the plurality of through-openings (Fig. 2 of Giehl) of the fitting plate.
As to claim 3, the combination of Arnault and Giehl discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one local deformation extends axially from the free end of the flange of the fitting plate (Fig, 6 of Arnault).
As to claim 4, the combination of Arnault and Giehl discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one local deformation is formed on a portion of an axial length of the flange of the fitting plate (Fig, 3 of Arnault).
As to claim 5, the combination of Arnault and Giehl discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one local deformation is formed on an entire axial length of the flange of the fitting plate (Fig, 3 of Arnault).
As to claim 6, the combination of Arnault and Giehl discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one local deformation is axially spaced from a free end of the flange of the fitting plate (Fig, 3 of Arnault).
As to claim 7, the combination of Arnault and Giehl discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the at least one local deformation includes a plurality of local deformations formed on the flange of the fitting plate (Fig. 6 of Arnault), each one of the plurality of local deformations extending radially inwardly (Fig. 6 of Arnault) and the plurality of local deformations being circumferentially spaced apart (Fig. 3 of Arnault).
As to claim 10, the combination of Arnault and Giehl discloses an electric motor comprising: a housing (Para 0024 of Arnault); a shaft (Para 0018 of Arnault); and at least one grounding brush assembly according to claim 1 fitted radially between the housing and the shaft, the conductive fibers of the brush of the grounding brush assembly being in contact with the shaft (Para 0027 of Arnault).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnault, Giehl and in view of Hubert (DE 102019202844).
As to claim 8, the combination of Arnault and Giehl discloses the assembly according to claim 1.
Arnault fails to disclose wherein the plurality of retention tongues of the fitting plate extend from the radial portion of the fitting plate.
Hubert, however, discloses wherein the plurality of retention tongues of the fitting plate extend from the radial portion of the fitting plate (Fig. 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Arnault with the plurality of retention tongues of the fitting plate extend from the radial portion of the fitting plate, as disclosed by Hubert, to reduce manufacturing cost and improve structural integrity.
As to claim 8, the combination of Arnault and Giehl discloses the assembly according to claim 1.
Arnault fails to disclose wherein the radial portion of the fitting plate is supported axially against the support of the brush.
Hubert, however, discloses the radial portion of the fitting plate is supported axially against the support of the brush (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Arnault with the radial portion of the fitting plate is supported axially against the support of the brush, as disclosed by Hubert, to reduce manufacturing cost and improve structural integrity.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visithttps://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834