Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/9/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues the prior art fails to teach or suggest “determining…a change in state information of a communication channel…” However, McAlister discloses the features in at least ¶ 16-19 and ¶ 56-61 which describe the primary host machine detecting a change in state of the communication channel between replication machines.
Applicant’s further arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,968,080. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent contains all the elements of the instant applicant and/or the equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 20110099420 to MacDonald McAlister in view of US 20220066883 to Wang in view of US 10,855,754 to Mercier, in view of US 11,025,483 to Hashmi.
Regarding claim 1,
MacDonald McAlister teaches a method comprising:
determining, by a primary host machine included in a cloud service provider infrastructure, a change in a state information of a communication channel established between the primary host machine and a customer premise equipment that is included in a customer on- premise network (fig. 4, communication channel between customer equipment 402 and cloud-based endpoint 410/426; ¶ 16-19, 56-61, primary host machine detects change in state, determines replication chain and replicates information to backup host),
identifying, by the primary host machine, a replication chain for the communication channel, the replication chain including the primary host machine and one or more backup host machines (¶ 16-19, 56-61, primary host machine detects change in state, determines replication chain and replicates information to backup host), wherein the primary host machine is a head of the replication chain, and one of the one or more backup host machines is a tail host machine of the replication chain (see fig. 4, primary and secondary replication machines).
MacDonald McAlister fails to teach but Wang teaches:
responsive to determining that the state information is to be replicated in a safe mode, causing by the primary host machine: suspending processing of a packet, communicating the change in the state information to the one or more backup host machines, receiving an acknowledgement indicating that the one or more backup host machines have replicated the state information, and responsive to receiving the acknowledgment, resuming the processing of the packet (¶ 70, 81, fig. 6, determining change of state data is to be performed via safe replication mechanism, e.g. waiting for confirmation of changes; suspension of packet transmission until acknowledgement of successful replication to backup machine is received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Wang. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Wang would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating enhanced data transfer operations including failure and recover (Wang, ¶ 70, 81, 12-13).
MacDonald McAlister fails to teach but teaches: receiving, from the tail host machine, an acknowledgement (col. 37:30-57, tail node acknowledgement). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of . The motivation to do so is that the teachings of would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating dynamic chain replication (Mercier, col. 35:47-67, col. 36:1-30).
MacDonald McAlister fails to teach but Hashmi teaches:
wherein the change in state information of the communication channel includes cryptographic information used to encrypt/decrypt data transmitted via the communication channel (col. 5:1-34, data for re-negotiation of security association including keys, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Hashmi. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Hashmi would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating fault tolerance (Hashmi, col. 5:1-34).
Regarding claim 2, 14,
MacDonald McAlister teaches:
wherein the primary host machine is a head of the replication chain, a first backup host machine of the one or more backup host machines is a successor host machine of the primary host machine in the replication chain, and a second backup host machine of the one or more backup host machines is a tail host machine of the replication chain (fig. 3, fig. 4, ¶ 16-19, 56-61,).
Regarding claim 3, 15,
MacDonald McAlister teaches:
wherein the customer premise equipment in the customer on-premise network is a first endpoint of the communication channel and the primary host machine included in the replication chain is a second endpoint of the communication channel (fig. 3, fig. 4, ¶ 16-19, 56-61).
Regarding claim 4, 16,
MacDonald McAlister teaches:
detecting, by the primary host machine, a failover of the communication channel; and responsive to detecting the failover, moving the second endpoint of the communication channel from the primary host machine to first backup host machine of the one or more backup host machines (¶ 16-19, 56-61, fig. 4, detection of failure followed by failover to secondary host machine, secondary host machine takes over).
Regarding claim 5, 17,
MacDonald McAlister fails to teach but Wang teaches:
upon determining that the replication of the change in the state information is not to be performed in the safe mode: communicating, by the primary host machine, the change in the state information to the one or more backup host machines; and processing the packet by the primary host machine (¶ 70, 81, asynchronous replication). Motivation to include Wang is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 7, 18,
MacDonald McAlister fails to teach but Wang teaches:
wherein the primary host machine receives the acknowledgement indicating that the one or more backup host machines have replicated the state information from the second backup host machine of the one or more backup host machines (¶ 70, 81, fig. 6, acknowledgement of successful replication to backup machine is received). Motivation to include Wang is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 9,
MacDonald McAlister teaches:
wherein determining the change in the state information of the communication channel further comprises: detecting, by the primary host machine, an event triggering the change in the state information of the communication channel; and analyzing, by the primary host machine, the packet associated with the event to determine the change in the state information (¶ 17, determination of state change, e.g., read or write event).
Regarding claim 10,
MacDonald McAlister teaches:
wherein the event triggering the change in the state information is at least one of: receiving the packet at the primary host machine; receiving a change in encryption or decryption information for a connection for the communication channel; and receiving a change in Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) state information for the connection (¶ abstract, ¶ 16-17, 49, packet reception).
Regarding claim 11,
MacDonald McAlister teaches:
wherein the primary host machine identifies the replication chain by querying a disk backed storage system (¶ 38, primary host machine acts as proxy for monitoring component to perform tasks on behalf of the control plane component; ¶ 45-46, querying to identify replication chain).
Regarding claim 12,
MacDonald McAlister fails to teach but Hashmi teaches:
wherein the state information of the communication channel comprises at least one of a sequence number, Internet Key Exchange (IKE) state information, and Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) state information, and wherein the communication channel is an Internet Protocol Security (IPSec) tunnel (col. 5:1-45, key exchange info, IPSec tunnel).
Claims 13 and 20 are addressed by similar rationale as claim 1.
Claims 8, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacDonald McAlister, Wang, Mercier, and Hashmi in view of US 20200301943 to Robinson.
Regarding claim 8, 19,
MacDonald McAlister fails to teach but Robinson teaches:
wherein the step of determining that the replication of the change in the state information is to be performed in the safe mode further comprises: determining, by the primary host machine, that a downtime for the primary host machine is scheduled within a threshold time-interval (¶ 8, 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Robinson. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Robinson would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating the implementation of controlled failover/replication operations (Robinson, ¶ 8, 67).
CONCLUSION
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445