DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments filed 4/13/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant’s IDS have been considered. There is no claim to foreign priority.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
More specifically, applicant argues (regarding independent claims 1, 9 and 16), “Brown offers no further statements regarding the use of "decoders" for any purpose whatsoever. Instead, in the following paragraph 0036, Brown offers considerable details regarding use of a GPT model for the machine learning model 104, and in the next paragraph 0037, Brown offers considerable details regarding use of a diffusion model for the machine learning model 104 (and also makes passing reference to employing both a GPT model and a diffusion model).”
Accordingly, the ordinarily-skilled person who reads the entirety of Brown will find no details whatsoever regarding the use of a decoder-based model, and especially no enabling details regarding the use of a decoder-based model.”
However, the Examiner does not concur with the applicant’s arguments, wherein Brown explicitly provides a preponderance of evidence and disclosure towards his language models, the types of models, and the models being used for specific tasks/roles. The Examiner notes, Brown teaches in the previously cited paragraphs [0004, 00035-0039, 0093-0098, 0105, 0018]-his prompt, decoder, role/task-specific learning model, and generated response, his generated recommendations, technical reports, and services to be performed among a plurality of recommendations). The applicant has erred by mentioning that the decoding is found in two paragraphs, as if that is the comprehensive and only reference to the decoding models, by completely omitting the teachings of the rest of the disclosure (i.e. paragraph [00xx]-a prompt to…machine learning models… including encoder/decoder models, paragraph [0xxx]-the models having role-specific and task based fine-tuned parameters in order to generate an output, as applied to the encoder model, decoder model, etc.). It is important to note that Brown explicitly details “the model system 260 causes a function to perform a calculation based on the sensor data (e.g., regarding an item of equipment identified by the prompt from the application session 308), and can cause a given language model 268 to generate the completion (or a candidate output, such as where role-specific models are implemented) as text data that includes the result.” The Examiner further notes that Brown teaches in the cited sections, these particular models include the aforementioned models, i.e., the encoder/decoder model (ibid-his language model system including the models described in paragraphs [0004, 0035], and Fig. 2 item 268, which include the encoder/decoder. Therefore, in paragraph [0105], wherein the models are described as one or more role-specific models, representative of “particular tasks” associated with generating accurate completions, wherein the neural networks, which as described above include a decoder, and specifically describes prompts input into any of the various machine learning model architectures, or combinations thereof, in order to generate a response therefrom. The Examiner notes, Brown clearly teaches a task-specific model (his role-specific models), as his machine learning encoder/decoder model, which he clearly mentions, and illustrates this model system in conjunction with the cited paragraphs, in Fig. 3 items 260, 264, 268, 360, and deeply discusses the language models roles, with respect to the above-described machine learning models. This is deemed sufficient in teaching the applicant’s claimed limitations, wherein it is not necessary for Brown to state in a single sentence, a task-specific decoder, which applications 2020/0334334, 2023/0020886, 2023/0281400, 2022/0147713, 2025/0061291, and many others (see PTO-892), teach verbatim, as it is not a novel claimed element, and will not advance prosecution, should the applicant continue with this line of arguments. It is the teaching, as a whole, the preponderance of evidence towards multiple machine learning models, that include a decoder, that also include, with respect to the model, role-specific language modeling in order to generate the output (in this instance to decode, the prompt, with respect to the particular task at hand, as described), and deliver the output. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments and remaining arguments which are based on the above arguments are deemed non-persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (Brown, US 2024/0377792).
As per claim 1, Brown teaches a method to facilitate building a knowledge-retrieval augmented Large Language Model pipeline to automate maintenance, repair, and overhaul recommendations for parts of an apparatus, comprising:
by a control circuit (paragraph [0032, 0144]-as his control circuit):
receiving as input a textual description of an issue pertaining to at least part of the apparatus (paragraph [0136]-his input prompt, such as text, indicative of condition, error, etc. of the equipment/apparatus);
accessing at least one data store and retrieving, as a function, at least in part, of information that corresponds to the input, a plurality of knowledge documents (ibid-paragraph [0097, 0100, 0077, 0078, 0046]-his retrieval augmented generation (RAG), and data from a data repository which includes a plurality of knowledge documents);
generating, as a function, at least in part, of both the input and the plurality of knowledge documents, a language generation prompt (ibid-see above RAG discussion, paragraph [0097, 0093-0098]-his prompt, including retrieved data from the repository, user input and generated prompt); and
outputting the language generation prompt to a task-specific decoder that generates, as a function, at least in part, of the language generation prompt, at least one candidate recommendation to address the issue that pertains to at least part of the apparatus (ibid-see his RAG discussion, Figs. 3-8, paragraphs [0004, 00035-0039, 0093-0098, 0105, 0018]-his prompt, decoder, role/task-specific learning model, and generated response, his generated recommendations, technical reports, and services to be performed among a plurality of recommendations), which at least one candidate recommendation is output to at least one human reviewer who reviews the at least one candidate recommendation as a function, at least in part, of at least part of the plurality of knowledge documents and who provides a corresponding human-validated recommendation to address the issue that pertains to at least part of the apparatus (ibid, see also paragraph [0024, 0118]-his output to the service technician, or human experts, from the generative model, wherein the human evaluates/validates the data/documentation, recommendation, via feedback, which is used to update the learning model);
wherein the task-specific decoder is re-trained, at least in part, using the corresponding human-validation recommendation coupled with the corresponding textual description input (ibid-see his updating the trained model, based on the human recommendation/validation information as discussed).
As per claims 4, 11 and 17, Brown teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the control circuit comprises, at least in part, a part of a retrieval augmented generation model (ibid- paragraph [0097, 0100, 0077, 0078, 0046]-his retrieval augmented generation (RAG)).
As per claims 5, 12 and 18, Brown teaches the method of claim 4 wherein outputting the language generation prompt to the task-specific decoder comprises outputting the language generation prompt and at least some of the plurality of knowledge documents to the task-specific decoder (ibid-paragraph [0097, 0100, 0077, 0078, 0046]-his retrieval augmented generation (RAG), and data from a data repository which includes a plurality of knowledge documents, ibid-see his RAG discussion, the generated prompt, which comprises the data repository documents are send to the role/task-specific model to generate the recommendations, see also Figs. 3-8, paragraphs [0004, 00035-0039, 0093-0098, 0105, 0018]-his prompt, decoder, role/task-specific learning model, and generated response, his generated recommendations, technical reports, and services to be performed among a plurality of recommendations).
As per claims 8 and 15, Brown teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising:
extracting semantic context information from, at least in part, the input, to provide extracted semantic context information (ibid-see claim 1, input discussion, see also paragraph [0025]-his “extracting semantic information” and corresponding causal and semantic associations, as the extracted semantic context information from the input); and
wherein accessing the at least one data store and retrieving, as a function, at least in part, of the information that corresponds to the input, a plurality of knowledge documents comprises accessing the at least one data store and retrieving, as a function, at least in part, of the extracted semantic context information, the plurality of knowledge documents (ibid-see claim 1, input, knowledge documents and recommendations discussion, see also paragraphs [0025, 0097]-his target semantic concepts, from inputs, used to retrieve the documents form the data repository, together used as prompt to the language model).
As per claim 9, claim 9 sets forth limitations similar to claim 1 and is thus rejected under similar reasons and rationale, wherein Brown teaches a method to facilitate building a knowledge-retrieval augmented Large Language Model pipeline to automate maintenance, repair, and overhaul recommendations for parts of an apparatus, comprising:
by a control circuit (ibid-see claim 1, corresponding and similar limitation):
receiving as input a textual description of an issue pertaining to at least part of the apparatus (ibid);
accessing at least one data store and retrieving, as a function, at least in part, of information that corresponds to the input, a plurality of knowledge documents (ibid);
generating, as a function, at least in part, of both the input and the plurality of knowledge documents, a language generation prompt (ibid); and
outputting the language generation prompt to a task-specific decoder that generates, as a function, at least in part, of the language generation prompt, at least one candidate recommendation to address the issue that pertains to at least part of the apparatus (ibid);
by a human reviewer (ibid-see claim 1, human reviewer):
accessing the at least one candidate recommendation and reviewing the at least one candidate recommendation as a function, at least in part, of at least part of the plurality of knowledge documents (ibid-see claim 1, corresponding and similar limitation);
providing a corresponding human-validated recommendation to address the issue that pertains to at least part of the apparatus (ibid-see claim 1, corresponding and similar limitation); and
re-training the task-specific decoder, at least in part, using the corresponding human-validation recommendation coupled with the corresponding textual description input (ibid).
As per claim 16, claim 16 sets forth limitations similar to claim 1 and is thus rejected under similar reasons and rationale, wherein the apparatus is deemed to embody the method, such that Brown teaches an apparatus to facilitate building a knowledge-retrieval augmented Large Language Model pipeline to automate maintenance, repair, and overhaul recommendations for parts of an apparatus, comprising (Figs. 1, paragraph [0144]): a control circuit configured to (ibid-see claim 1, corresponding and similar limitation):
receive as input a textual description of an issue pertaining to at least part of the apparatus (ibid-see claim 1, corresponding and similar limitation); access at least one data store and retrieving, as a function, at least in part, of information that corresponds to the input, a plurality of knowledge documents (ibid);
generate, as a function, at least in part, of both the input and the plurality of knowledge documents, a language generation prompt (ibid);
output the language generation prompt (ibid); and
a task-specific decoder configured to receive the language generation prompt and to responsively generate (ibid), as a function, at least in part, of the language generation prompt, at least one candidate recommendation to address the issue that pertains to at least part of the apparatus, which at least one candidate recommendation is output to at least one human reviewer who reviews the at least one candidate recommendation as a function, at least in part, of at least part of the plurality of knowledge documents and who provides a corresponding human-validated recommendation to address the issue that pertains to at least part of the apparatus (ibid);
wherein the task-specific decoder is re-trained, at least in part, using the corresponding human-validation recommendation coupled with the corresponding textual description input (ibid).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meyers et al. (Meyers, US 2018/0126489).
As per claims 2 and 10, Brown teaches the method of claim 1, but lacks teaching that which Meyers teaches, wherein the apparatus comprises a jet turbine engine (paragraph [0024-0026]-his jet turbine engine).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the linguistics art, before the effective filing date of the invention, as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (computer implemented techniques and algorithms combining processes and steps in natural language processing), in view of the teachings of Brown and Meyers to combine the prior art element of a textual prompt input, with respect to servicing equipment as taught by Brown with jet components, as equipment, such as a jet turbine engine, as taught by Meyers as each element performs the same function as it does separately, as the combination would yield predictable results, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US. -- 82 USPQ2nd 1385 (2007), wherein the predictable result would be generating recommendations for equipment, that requires maintenance, repair or modification (see Brown, claim 1, maintenance, repair, servicing and recommendations with respect to equipment issues, and Meyers, paragraphs [0003, 0004]-his jet requiring maintenance, repair or modification).
As per claim 3, Brown with Meyers make obvious the method of claim 2, wherein Meyers further teaches that which Brown lacks, wherein the parts of the apparatus include at least some of a compressor, a heat exchanger, a turbine, and an exhaust nozzle (paragraph [0024-0026]-his compressor, heat exchanger, turbine and exhaust nozzle). The Examiner notes, the claims are similarly motivated and combined, wherein the additional parts of the apparatus are also included as parts requiring maintenance (the Examiner notes, the motivation and combination would also apply to any other parts, assembly or equipment-broadly defined as the necessary items for a particular purpose, see claim 2, combination and motivation).
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mukherjee et al. (Mukherjee, US 2024/0354436).
As per claims 6, 13 and 19, Brown teaches the method of claim 5, but lack teaching that which Mukherjee teaches, wherein outputting at least some of the plurality of knowledge documents to the task-specific decoder comprises outputting the at least some of the plurality of knowledge documents without having specified any length limits (paragraph [0007, 0008, 0013]-his LLMs, and large set of documents wherein the prompts to the LLM, based on the knowledge documents are “without being constrained by a size limit”, and corresponding output generated).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the linguistics art, before the effective filing date of the invention, as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (computer implemented techniques and algorithms combining processes and steps in natural language processing), in view of the teachings of Brown and Mukherjee to combine the prior art element of a textual prompt input and RAG, having corresponding source documents used to generate an output by the task-specific decoder, as taught by Brown with not specifying the length of the documents being output and presented to the user, as taught by Mukherjee as each element performs the same function as it does separately, as the combination would yield predictable results, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US. -- 82 USPQ2nd 1385 (2007), wherein the predictable result would be generating an output using a large language model that is not constrained by size limits, thus retrieving results that are “more relevant” and with “similarity” (see Brown, claim 1, maintenance, repair, servicing and recommendations with respect to equipment issues, and Mukherjee-similarity discussion).
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Massie et al. (Massie, US 2025/027581).
As per claims 7, 14 and 20, Brown teaches the method of claim 5 wherein outputting at least some of the plurality of knowledge documents to the task-specific decoder comprises [outputting the at least some of the plurality of knowledge documents each as a single large language model knowledge item] (ibid-see claim 1, outputting discussion).
Massie teaches that which Brown lacks, outputting the at least some of the plurality of knowledge documents each as a single large language model knowledge item (paragraph [0081, 0037]-his document, from his knowledge base of documents, as a single document vector, as the single large language model knowledge item, see his LLM, receiving the single language model knowledge item, and utilizing the item in generating a response, paragraphs [0081-0088]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the linguistics art, before the effective filing date of the invention, as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (computer implemented techniques and algorithms combining processes and steps in natural language processing), in view of the teachings of Brown and Massie to combine the prior art element of a textual prompt input and RAG, having corresponding source documents used to generate an output by the task-specific decoder, as taught by Brown with utilizing knowledge documents as a prompt, wherein the documents are input into a LLM as a single large language knowledge item as taught by Massie as each element performs the same function as it does separately, as the combination would yield predictable results, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US. -- 82 USPQ2nd 1385 (2007), wherein the predictable result would be generating an output using a single large language model item that is not constrained by size limits, by reducing the entire document to a single item, vector, thus retrieving improved results and responses (see Brown, claim 1, maintenance, repair, servicing and recommendations with respect to equipment issues, and ibid, Massie- improved response discussion).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAMONT M SPOONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657
6/18/2026