DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1A and 1B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to because Figure 2 has faint lines that make the structure difficult to see. See 37 CFR 1.84(I). PDF filing guidelines can be found at:
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/efs-web-pdf-guidelines
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Romanetto et al. (US 11,535,056 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Romanetto et al. discloses a flanged inner ring (20) of a wheel hub unit (10), the flanged inner ring comprising:
a flange (22) extending transverse to a central axis (X) of symmetry and comprising a plurality of fixing holes (23) for attaching a wheel (Column 2 / Lines 41-42); and
a continuous tubular body (51) projecting axially from the flange and having a plurality of polygonal recesses (58; each 58 is recessed from the outer circumferential surface of 51).
Regarding claim 2, Romanetto et al. discloses that each one of the polygonal recesses correspond to a flange surface area (52) between a separate pair of adjacent fixing holes.
Regarding claim 3, Romanetto et al. discloses that the tubular body has an axial end (the end of 51 that directly attaches to 22) integrally formed with the flange and an opposing, free axial end (56), the polygonal recesses being formed at a junction between the tubular body and the flange (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Romanetto et al. discloses that the flange is **[configured to retain a wheel rim to a wheel hub]**.
Regarding claim 6, Romanetto et al. discloses that the wheel hub unit comprises an outer ring (30).
Regarding claim 7, Romanetto et al. discloses that the plurality of polygonal recesses in the flanged inner ring are provided to reduce weight of the wheel hub unit (Column 3 / Lines 47-56).
Regarding claim 8, Romanetto et al. discloses that the plurality of polygonal recesses in the flanged inner ring are configured to improve water drainage from the wheel hub unit (Column 3 / Lines 39-46).
Regarding claim 9, Romanetto et al. discloses a wheel hub unit (10) comprising:
a flanged inner ring (20) having a central axis (X) and including a flange (22) extending transverse to the central axis, the flange having a plurality of fixing holes (23) for attaching a wheel (Column 2 / Lines 41-42) and being spaced circumferentially about the central axis, and
a continuous tubular body (51) projecting axially from the flange and having a plurality of polygonal recesses (58; each 58 is recessed from the outer circumferential surface of 51) spaced circumferentially about the central axis.
Regarding claim 10, Romanetto et al. discloses that each one of the polygonal recesses is formed in a flange surface area (52) located circumferentially between a separate pair of adjacent fixing holes.
Regarding claim 11, Romanetto et al. discloses that the tubular body has an axial end (the end of 51 that directly attaches to 22) integrally formed with the flange and an opposing, free axial end (56), the polygonal recesses being formed at a junction between the tubular body and the flange (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Romanetto et al. discloses that the flange is **[configured to retain a wheel rim to a wheel hub]**.
Regarding claim 14, Romanetto et al. discloses that the wheel hub unit further comprises an outer ring (30) disposed about the flanged inner ring.
Regarding claim 15, Romanetto et al. discloses that the plurality of polygonal recesses in the flanged inner ring are provided to reduce weight of the wheel hub unit (Column 3 / Lines 47-56).
Regarding claim 16, Romanetto et al. discloses that the plurality of polygonal recesses in the flanged inner ring are configured to improve water drainage from the wheel hub unit (Column 3 / Lines 39-46).
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Albl et al. (US 11,904,632 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Albl et al. discloses a flanged inner ring of a wheel hub unit (10), the flanged inner ring comprising:
a flange (14) extending transverse to a central axis (20) of symmetry and comprising a plurality of fixing holes (16) for attaching a wheel (a wheel is disclosed in Column 8 / Line 27); and
a continuous tubular body (24) projecting axially from the flange and having a plurality of polygonal recesses (46; each 46 is recessed from the outer circumferential surface of 24).
Regarding claim 2, Albl et al. discloses that each one of the polygonal recesses correspond to a flange surface area (see Figure 1) between a separate pair of adjacent fixing holes.
Regarding claim 3, Albl et al. discloses that the tubular body has an axial end (the end of 24 that directly attaches to 14) integrally formed with the flange and an opposing, free axial end (32), the polygonal recesses being formed at a junction between the tubular body and the flange (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Albl et al. discloses that the flange is **[configured to retain a wheel rim to a wheel hub]**.
Regarding claim 7, Albl et al. discloses that the plurality of polygonal recesses in the flanged inner ring are**[ provided to reduce weight of the wheel hub unit]**.
Regarding claim 8, Albl et al. discloses that the plurality of polygonal recesses in the flanged inner ring are **[configured to improve water drainage from the wheel hub unit]**.
Regarding claim 9, Albl et al. discloses a wheel hub unit (10) comprising:
a flanged inner ring (see Figure 1) having a central axis (20) and including a flange (14) extending transverse to the central axis, the flange having a plurality of fixing holes (16) for attaching a wheel (a wheel is disclosed in Column 8 / Line 27) and being spaced circumferentially about the central axis, and
a continuous tubular body (24) projecting axially from the flange and having a plurality of polygonal recesses (46; each 46 is recessed from the outer circumferential surface of 24) spaced circumferentially about the central axis.
Regarding claim 10, Albl et al. discloses that each one of the polygonal recesses is formed in a flange surface area (see Figure 1) located circumferentially between a separate pair of adjacent fixing holes.
Regarding claim 11, Albl et al. discloses that the tubular body has an axial end (the end of 24 that directly attaches to 14) integrally formed with the flange and an opposing, free axial end (32), the polygonal recesses being formed at a junction between the tubular body and the flange (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Albl et al. discloses that the flange is **[configured to retain a wheel rim to a wheel hub]**.
Regarding claim 15, Albl et al. discloses that the plurality of polygonal recesses in the flanged inner ring are **[provided to reduce weight of the wheel hub unit]**.
Regarding claim 16, Albl et al. discloses that the plurality of polygonal recesses in the flanged inner ring are **[configured to improve water drainage from the wheel hub unit]**.
**The above statements in brackets are instances of intended use and functional language. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, see MPEP 2114. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romanetto et al. (US 11,535,056 B2).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Romanetto et al. discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that the plurality of polygonal recesses are formed in a forging process.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the plurality of polygonal recesses may be made by any known method of manufacture which achieves the desired operational characteristics.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of forming the plurality of polygonal recesses and make the plurality of polygonal recesses in a forging process, the plurality of polygonal recesses may be made by any known manufacturing method which is suitable to the desired operational characteristics of the part being made. Further, the patentability of the device does not depend on its method of manufacture.
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albl et al. (US 11,904,632 B2).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Albl et al. discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that the plurality of polygonal recesses are formed in a forging process.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the plurality of polygonal recesses may be made by any known method of manufacture which achieves the desired operational characteristics.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of forming the plurality of polygonal recesses and make the plurality of polygonal recesses in a forging process, the plurality of polygonal recesses may be made by any known manufacturing method which is suitable to the desired operational characteristics of the part being made. Further, the patentability of the device does not depend on its method of manufacture.
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Niebling et al. (US 9,676,232 B2) discloses a wheel hub that has a flange with a plurality of holes, a tubular body that projects along an axial centerline of the wheel hub, and the tubular body has a plurality of through openings.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617