DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/607800 filed 3/18/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the implied phrase “Disclosed is” should be deleted from line 1. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Note: there is a list of references cited in the specification on page 3, (KR 102581047; KR 1020200024410 and KR 101872286) and it is unclear as to if applicant is intending for these references to be considered by examiner and if so, the listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“a cryptocurrency mining device (generic placeholder) configured to mine cryptocurrency…….(function) ” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 8 recites the limitation "the plurality of slots" in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to claims 6 and 7 from which this claim depends from, not reciting (introducing) the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20220027793 (with machine translation) in view of Oyama et al 20190299809. As to claim 1, KR discloses a cryptocurrency mining system for an electric vehicle comprising: a vehicle-driving purpose battery (13) configured to store therein power for driving an electric vehicle; a motor (11) configured to rotate wheels of the vehicle using power stored in the vehicle-driving purpose battery; an electric generator (12) configured to generate power; a cryptocurrency-mining purpose battery (13) configured to store therein the power generated by the electric generator; and a cryptocurrency mining device (110) configured to mine cryptocurrency using the power stored in the cryptocurrency-mining purpose battery. However, KR doesn’t disclose the generator generating power using rotational force of the wheels as recited.
Oyama discloses an electric vehicle comprising: a vehicle-driving purpose battery (B1) configured to store therein power for driving an electric vehicle; a motor (Mr) configured to rotate wheels of the vehicle using power stored in the vehicle-driving purpose battery; an electric generator (Mf, [0057], described as motor generator) configured to generate power using a rotational force of the wheels (Wf); an accessory and motor-generator purpose battery (B2) configured to store therein the power generated by the electric generator; and a device (H, Mf) configured to use the power stored in the accessory and motor-generator purpose battery.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the KR generator configured to generate power using rotational force of the wheels in view of Oyama to enhance energy efficiency by capturing wasted energy which potentially improves vehicle performance and sustainability by providing an additional means for generating power.
As to claim 2, KR in view of Oyama discloses wherein the cryptocurrency mining system further comprises: a first inverter (14 in KR and 3r in Oyama) configured to convert direct current power of the vehicle-driving purpose battery into alternating current power to be supplied to the motor; and a second inverter (3f in Oyama) configured to convert direct current power of the accessory and motor-generator purpose battery into alternating current power to be supplied to the devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 3 in combination with the limitations exactly as written in claim 1)…….. “wherein the electric generator is removed from or coupled to a drive shaft of the wheel, wherein the cryptocurrency mining system for the electric vehicle further comprises a controller configured to generate a control command to remove or couple the electric generator from or to the drive shaft, based on a rotation speed of the wheel or the drive shaft, wherein the controller is configured to remove the electric generator from the drive shaft when the electric vehicle is not traveling.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-PCT/KR2024/001058 written opinion (corresponding to the present invention) has been considered and the examiner agrees with the prior art cited as meeting the limitations of at least claims 1 and 2 of the present invention.
-JP 2022066127 (abstract; Figure 1); KR 102430614 (Figure 2); and Uysal 20220407727 (Figure 1B) all disclose that it is well known in the art to provide a vehicle with a currency mining system operated by a battery and generator.
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 September 17, 2026