DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 10 it states “a the module is further to control the fan…” it is improper English stating “a the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
5. Claim limitations “means to obtain a sensor data……,” “means to fuse the sensor data……,” and “means to control a fan…..” have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 12-17 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Double Patenting
U.S. application 18/607,810
U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2
Claim 1: An apparatus for a load control system to control a load suspended from a carrier, comprising: a computer processor and a memory; a sensor suite to obtain a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of the load; a module in the memory to fuse the sensor data in a system model to thereby determine an estimated state of the load; a fan; wherein
a the module in the memory is further to control the fan array to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the estimated state of the load; wherein the load control system are configured to be located proximate to the load at a bottom of a suspension cable spanning between the load and the carrier.
Claim 1: An apparatus to control a load, comprising: a computer processor and a memory; a sensor suite, wherein the sensor suite is to obtain a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of the load; a data fusion module in the memory, wherein, when executed by the computer processor, the data fusion module is to determine a state estimate of the load in a coordinate frame based on the sensor data; a thruster; and a decision and control module in the memory, wherein, when executed by the computer processor, the decision and control module is to control the thruster to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the state estimate of the load in the coordinate frame and is to thereby control the load; wherein the thruster is configured to be located at, on, or proximate to the load at a bottom of a suspension cable beneath a carrier.
Claim 3: The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the data fusion module is to determine the state estimate of the load in the coordinate frame based on the sensor data by fusing the sensor data in a system model.
Claim 2: The apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the system model comprises at least one of a nonlinear adaptive model, a fuzzy-tuned proportional, integral, and derivative feedback control model with bidirectional communication, a real-time kinetic algorithm, a deep learning neural network, and a transfer function mode.
Claim 4: The apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the system model comprises at least one of a nonlinear adaptive model, a fuzzy-tuned proportional, integral, and derivative feedback control model with bidirectional communication, a real-time kinetic algorithm, a deep learning neural network, and a transfer function model.
Claim 3: The apparatus according to Claim 2, wherein nonlinear adaptive model comprises an unscented Kalman filter.
Claim 5: The apparatus according to claim 4, wherein nonlinear adaptive model comprises an unscented Kalman filter.
Regarding claim 4: The apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the system model comprises state parameters, wherein the state parameters comprise at least one of a mass of at least the load, a length of the suspension cable, an inertia of at least the load, a movement and rotation of the load control system, a movement and rotation of the load, and a movement and rotation of the carrier.
Claim 6: The apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the system model comprises state parameters, wherein the state parameters comprise at least one of a mass of at least the load, a length of the suspension cable, an inertia of at least the load, a movement and rotation of the load control system, a movement and rotation of the load, and a movement and rotation of the carrier.
Claim 5: The apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the module is to recursively estimate parameters of the system model and wherein the estimated state comprises the recursively estimated state parameters.
Claim 7: The apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the data fusion module is to recursively estimate parameters of the system model and wherein the state estimate comprises the recursively estimated state parameters.
Claim 6: A method performed with a computer processor and a memory, wherein the method comprises: obtaining a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of a load from a sensor suite, wherein the load is suspended beneath a carrier on a suspension cable; fusing the sensor data in a system model and thereby determining an estimated state of the load; and controlling a fan to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the estimated state of the load.
Claim 11: A method performed with a computer processor and a memory, wherein the method comprises: obtaining a plurality of sensor data regarding a position and orientation of a load; fusing the plurality of sensor data in a system model and determining therefrom a state estimate of the load in a coordinate frame; controlling a thruster to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the state estimate of the load in the coordinate frame and thereby controlling the load; wherein the thruster is configured to be located at, on, or proximate to the load at a bottom of a suspension cable beneath the carrier.
Claim 9: The method according to Claim 6, wherein the system model comprises state parameters, wherein the state parameters comprise at least one of a mass of at least the load, a length of the suspension cable, an inertia of at least the load, a movement and rotation of the load control system, a movement and rotation of the load, and a movement and rotation of the carrier.
Claim 12: The method according to claim 11, wherein the system model comprises state parameters, wherein the state parameters comprise at least one of a mass of at least the load, a length of the suspension cable, an inertia of at least the load, a movement and rotation of the load, a movement and rotation of the thruster, and a movement and rotation of the carrier.
Claim 10: The method according to Claim 6, wherein determining the estimated state of the load comprises recursively estimating parameters of the system model.
Claim 13: The method according to claim 11, further comprising recursively estimating parameters of the system model and wherein the state estimate of the load in the coordinate frame comprises the recursively estimated state parameters.
Claim 12: An apparatus comprising: means to obtain a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of a load from a sensor suite, wherein the load is suspended beneath a carrier on a suspension cable;
means to fuse the sensor data in a system model and thereby determine an estimated state of the load; and
means to control a fan to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the estimated state of the load.
Claim 15: An apparatus comprising: means for a data fusion module and a decision and control module in a computer memory; means for a sensor suite, wherein the means for the sensor suite is to obtain a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of a load; means for a computer processor to execute the data fusion module and to thereby determine a state estimate of the load in a coordinate frame based on the sensor data; and means for the computer processor to execute the decision and control module and to thereby control a thruster to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the state estimate of the load in the coordinate frame and to thereby control the load; wherein the thruster is configured to be located at, on, or proximate to the load at a bottom of a suspension cable beneath a carrier.
Claim 16: The apparatus according to claim 15, further comprising means to determine the state estimate of the load in the coordinate frame based on the sensor data by fusing the sensor data in a system model.
Claim 15: The apparatus according to Claim 12, wherein the system model comprises state parameters, wherein the state parameters comprise at least one of a mass of at least the load, a length of the suspension cable, an inertia of at least the load, a movement and rotation of the load control system, a movement and rotation of the load, and a movement and rotation of the carrier.
Claim 17: The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the system model comprises state parameters, wherein the state parameters comprise at least one of a mass of at least the load, a length of the suspension cable, an inertia of at least the load, a movement and rotation of the thruster, a movement and rotation of the load, and a movement and rotation of the carrier.
Claim 16: The apparatus according to Claim 12, wherein to determine the estimated state of the load comprises means to recursively estimate parameters of the system model.
Claim 18: The apparatus according to claim 15, further comprising means for the system model to comprise state parameters, wherein the state parameters comprise at least one of a mass of at least the load, a length of the suspension cable, an inertia of at least the load, a movement and rotation of the thruster, a movement and rotation of the load, and a movement and rotation of the carrier.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of this instant invention are encompassed by the patented claims of U.S. patent 11,932,402 B2.
U.S. application 18/607,810
U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2
Claim 1: An apparatus for a load control system to control a load suspended from a carrier, comprising: a computer processor and a memory; a sensor suite to obtain a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of the load; a module in the memory to fuse the sensor data in a system model to thereby determine an estimated state of the load; a fan; wherein
a the module in the memory is further to control the fan array to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the estimated state of the load; wherein the load control system are configured to be located proximate to the load at a bottom of a suspension cable spanning between the load and the carrier.
Claim 12: An apparatus comprising: means to obtain a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of a load from a sensor suite, wherein the load is suspended beneath a carrier on a suspension cable;
means to fuse the sensor data in a system model and thereby determine an estimated state of the load; and
means to control a fan to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the estimated state of the load.
Claim 1: An apparatus for a load control system to control a load suspended from a carrier, comprising: a computer processor and a memory; a sensor suite to obtain a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of the load control system and/or load; a data fusion module in the memory to determine an estimated state of the load control system and/or load based on the sensor data; a fan array; and a decision and control module in the memory to control the fan array to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load control system and/or load based on the estimated state of the load control system and/or load to control the load suspended from the carrier; wherein the load control system, including the sensor suite, are configured to be located proximate to the load at a bottom of a suspension cable spanning between the load and the carrier.
Claim 5: The apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the module is to recursively estimate parameters of the system model and wherein the estimated state comprises the recursively estimated state parameters.
Claim 16: The apparatus according to Claim 12, wherein to determine the estimated state of the load comprises means to recursively estimate parameters of the system model.
Claim 17: The apparatus according to Claim 16, wherein the estimated state of the load comprises the parameters of the system model.
Claim 3: The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein to determine the estimated state of the load control system and/or load based on the sensor data comprises recursively predicting the estimated state based on a last previously estimated state, the sensor data, a system model, and an estimate of uncertainty of the estimated state.
Claim 2: The apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the system model comprises at least one of a nonlinear adaptive model, a fuzzy-tuned proportional, integral, and derivative feedback control model with bidirectional communication, a real-time kinetic algorithm, a deep learning neural network, and a transfer function mode.
Claim 3: The apparatus according to Claim 2, wherein nonlinear adaptive model comprises an unscented Kalman filter.
Claim 13: The apparatus according to Claim 12, wherein the system model comprises at least one of a nonlinear adaptive model, a fuzzy-tuned proportional, integral, and derivative feedback control model with bidirectional communication, a real-time kinetic algorithm, a deep learning neural network, and a transfer function mode.
Claim 14: The apparatus according to Claim 13, wherein nonlinear adaptive model comprises an unscented Kalman filter.
Claim 4: The apparatus according to claim 3, wherein recursively predicting the estimated physical state based on a last previously estimated physical state, the sensor data, the system model, and the estimate of uncertainty of the estimated physical state comprises processing the last previously estimated physical state, the sensor data, and the estimate of uncertainty of the estimated physical state in the system model with at least one of a non-linear data fusion method, a real-time kinetic algorithm, a Kalman filter, an unscented Kalman filter, a complimentary filter, or a transfer function model.
Claim 6: A method performed with a computer processor and a memory, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of a load from a sensor suite, wherein the load is suspended beneath a carrier on a suspension cable;
fusing the sensor data in a system model and thereby determining an estimated state of the load; and
controlling a fan to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the estimated state of the load.
Claim 8: A computer implemented method to control a load suspended from a carrier, comprising: with a computer processor and memory, obtaining a sensor data from a sensor suite regarding a position and orientation of the load; determining an estimated state of the load based on the sensor data; controlling a fan array to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the estimated state of the load to control the load suspended from the carrier; wherein the computer processor and memory and the sensor suite are configured to be located proximate to the load at a bottom of a suspension cable spanning between the load and the carrier.
Claim 10: The method according to Claim 6, wherein determining the estimated state of the load comprises recursively estimating parameters of the system model.
Claim 11: The method according to Claim 10, wherein the estimated state of the load comprises the parameters of the system model.
Claim 10: The computer implemented method according to claim 8, wherein determining the estimated state of the load control system and/or load based on the sensor data comprises recursively predicting the estimated state based on a last previously estimated state, the sensor data, a system model, and an estimate of uncertainty of the estimated state.
Claim 7: The method according to Claim 6, wherein the system model comprises at least one of a nonlinear adaptive model, a fuzzy-tuned proportional, integral, and derivative feedback control model with bidirectional communication, a real-time kinetic algorithm, a deep learning neural network, and a transfer function mode.
Claim 8: The method according to Claim 7, wherein nonlinear adaptive model comprises an unscented Kalman filter.
Claim 11: The computer implemented method according to claim 10, wherein recursively predicting the estimated physical state based on a last previously estimated physical state, the sensor data, the system model, and the estimate of uncertainty of the estimated physical state comprises processing the last previously estimated physical state, the sensor data, and the estimate of uncertainty of the estimated physical state in the system model with at least one of a non-linear data fusion method, a real-time kinetic algorithm, a Kalman filter, an unscented Kalman filter, a complimentary filter, or a transfer function model.
Claim 9: The method according to Claim 6, wherein the system model comprises state parameters, wherein the state parameters comprise at least one of a mass of at least the load, a length of the suspension cable, an inertia of at least the load, a movement and rotation of the load control system, a movement and rotation of the load, and a movement and rotation of the carrier.
12. The computer implemented method according to claim 10, wherein the system model comprises at least one of mass of SLCS and load, cable length, inertia of SLCS and load, movement and rotation SLCS, movement and rotation of the carrier, and disturbance estimations of wind force, sea state, and relative SLCS and helicopter motion.
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2.
Claims 2, 3, 13, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2.
Claims 5, 16 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2.
Claims 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of this instant invention are encompassed by the patented claims of U.S. patent 11,618,566 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9-12, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Buchmueller (U.S. patent pub. 2017/0197718 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Buchmueller discloses an apparatus for a load control system to control a load suspended from a carrier (abstract and figs. 1a and 1b), comprising:
a computer processor and a memory (fig. 5 and paragraph 0032);
a sensor suite to obtain a sensor data regarding a position and orientation of the load (paragraphs 0030-0031);
a module in the memory to fuse the sensor data in a system model to thereby determine an estimated state of the load (fig. 3a elements 280-283 and paragraphs 0030-0031);
a fan (paragraphs 0011 and 0024, propeller=fan); wherein
a the module in the memory is further to control the fan array to output at least one of a lateral force or torque on the load based on the estimated state of the load (paragraphs 0015, 0031, 0035, and 0037); wherein the
load control system are configured to be located proximate to the load at a bottom of a suspension cable spanning between the load and the carrier (fig. 2 elements 234, 254, 258, and 259 and paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 4: The apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the system model comprises state parameters, wherein the state parameters comprise at least one of a mass of at least the load (paragraphs 0043, 0055, a length of the suspension cable, an inertia of at least the load, a movement and rotation of the load control system, a movement and rotation of the load (paragraph 0029, 0031, and 0037, the sway is movement and rotation), and a movement and rotation of the carrier.
Regarding claim 5: The apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the module is to recursively estimate parameters of the system model and wherein the estimated state comprises the recursively estimated state parameters (paragraphs 0030, 0031, and 0037).
Regarding claim 6: See claim 1.
Regarding claim 9: See claim 4.
Regarding claim 10: See claim 5.
Regarding claim 11: The method according to Claim 10, wherein the estimated state of the load comprises the parameters of the system model (paragraphs 0030, 0031, and 0037).
Regarding claim 12: See claim 1.
Regarding claim 15: See claim 4.
Regarding claim 16: See claim 5.
Regarding claim 17: See claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchmueller (U.S. patent pub. 2017/0197718 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sweeny et al. (WO 2019/055690 A1).
Regarding claim 2: Buchmueller does not teach the feature of “wherein the system model comprises at least one of a nonlinear adaptive model, a fuzzy-tuned proportional, integral, and derivative feedback control model with bidirectional communication, a real-time kinetic algorithm, a deep learning neural network, and a transfer function mode.” Sweeney et al. teaches the feature of “wherein the system model comprises at least one of a nonlinear adaptive model (Sweeney et al.; paragraph 0152, nonlinear algorithm/extended Kalman filter), a fuzzy-tuned proportional, integral, and derivative feedback control model with bidirectional communication, a real-time kinetic algorithm, a deep learning neural network (Sweeny et al.; paragraph 0082), and a transfer function mode. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Sweeny et al. to the disclosure of Buchmueller since they are analogous in the art carrying a payload/items by a unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). One ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Sweeny et al. to the disclosure of Buchmueller to “produce a real-time optimized prediction of the current position and/or orientation based on assumed uncertainties in the observed data” (Sweeny et al.; paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 3: Buchmueller does not teach “wherein nonlinear adaptive model comprises an unscented Kalman filter.” Sweeney teaches the feature of “wherein nonlinear adaptive model comprises an unscented Kalman filter” (Sweeney et al.; paragraph 0152, nonlinear algorithm/extended Kalman filter. A extended Kalman Filter is a unscented Kalman Filter.). See claim 2 for obvious and motivation statements.
Regarding claim 7: See claim 2. Also see claim 2 for obvious and motivation.
Regarding claim 8: See claim 3. Also see claim 2 for obvious and motivation.
Regarding claim 13: See claim 2. Also see claim 2 for obvious and motivation.
Regarding claim 14: See claim 3. Also see claim 2 for obvious and motivation.
Contact Information
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANAND P BHATNAGAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668
March 29, 2026