DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed January February March April May June July August September October November December 1234567890, 2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Status
Claim 11 is cancelled.
Claims 21-29 are newly added.
Claims 1-10 and 12-29 are pending.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-10, 12, and 21-29 are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Failure to further limit a previous claim
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 29 recites the limitation “The coating of claim 1, comprising the degradation control layer comprising a blend of a durable hydrophobic polymer and a biodegradable hydrolytic polymer, a hydrophobic layer and a drug layer,” while claim 1 recites the limitation “comprising the degradation control layer consisting of a blend of a durable hydrophobic polymer and a biodegradable hydrolytic polymer.” Emphasis by the Examiner. Since the “comprising” language set forth in claim 29 allows other elements and the “consisting of” language of parent claim 1 is closed, claim 29 improperly broadens claim 1 and does not further limit the claim as required under 35 U.S.C. 112(d).
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Obviousness Rejection
1) Claims 1-10, 12, 21-24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacetti (US 7,645,504).
Note that this rejection has been necessarily recast in view of applicant’s amendment dated 7/29/2026.
Pacetti teaches coatings for implantable medical devices including a layer comprising a hydrophobic polymer and a layer comprising a hydrophilic polymer, reading on a “hydrolytic polymer” (Abstract). Pacetti teaches the hydrolytic polymer may be hyaluronic acid, poly(L-lactic acid), polycaprolactone, poly(lactide-co-glycolide), poly(hydroxybutyrate-co-valerate ), poly(glycolic acid), or poly(D,L-lactic acid) (col 2: 56-60; col 8: 51-65). This teaching reads on claims 1 and 3.
Pacetti teaches the hydrophobic polymer poly(ethylene-co-vinyl alcohol), poly(vinyl acetate), poly(ethylene-co-vinyl acetate), poly(vinyl acetals), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(ethyl methacrylate), poly(n-propyl methacrylate), poly(iso-propyl methacrylate), poly(n-butyl methacrylate), poly( ethyl methacrylate-co-n-butyl methacrylate), poly(iso-butyl methacrylate), poly(methyl acrylate), poly( ethyl acrylate), poly(n-propyl acrylate), poly(iso-propyl acrylate), poly(n-butyl acrylate), poly(iso-butyl acrylate), poly(vinyl chloride), poly(vinyl fluoride), hexamethylene-1,6-diisocyanate-butanediol-co-polydimethylsiloxane, poly (vinylidene chloride), poly(vinylidene fluoride), poly(hexafluoropropene), poly(hexafluoropropene-co-vinylidene fluoride), poly( ethylene-co-hexafluoropropene), and polytetrafluoroethylene (col 2: 36-56). This teaching reads on claims 1 and 2.
For claim 4, Pacetti teaches the degradation layer can be about 2 microns (2,000 nm) (col 12: 53-54), within the claimed range. Because the claimed range overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
For claim 5, Pacetti teaches the hydrophobic polymer and the hydrophilic (hydrolytic) polymer have a mass ratio between about 49:1 and about 19:1 (col 15, claim 1), overlapping the claimed range.
For claim 6, Pacetti teaches the coating can comprise a drug layer or reservoir (col 2: 23-27, referring to Fig. 1).
For claims 7 and 8, Pacetti teaches the drug may be an immunosuppressant such as fluorouracil, doxorubicin, sirolimus (rapamycin), tacrolimus, EVEROLIMUS®, or dexamethasone (col 9: 29 and 53-59).
For claims 9 and 10, routine optimization of Pacetti's medical device coating would have led to the claimed range of a thickness and concentration of the drug since Pacetti teaches, for example, a concentration of immunosuppressant drug (EVEROLIMUS® or 40-O-(2-hydroxy)ethyl-rapamycin) of about 0.5% to about 5% in a coating, and the person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the amount of drug in the coating to achieve the desired immunosuppressive effect.
For claim 12, Pacetti teaches the coating can comprise a topcoat layer comprising a hydrophobic polymer (col 4:1-4, referring to Fig. 1).
For claims 21 and 22, Pacetti teaches the hydrophobic polymer and the hydrophilic (hydrolytic) polymer have a mass ratio between about 49:1 and about 19:1 (col 15, claim 1), overlapping the claimed range.
For claim 23, Pacetti teaches a “method for medicating stents involves the use of a polymeric carrier coated onto the surface of a stent. A solution which includes a solvent, a polymer dissolved in the solvent, and a therapeutic substance dispersed in the blend is applied to the stent. The solvent is allowed to evaporate, leaving on the stent surface a coating of the polymer and the therapeutic substance impregnated in the polymer (col 1: 56-63).
For claim 24, Pacetti teaches the reservoir layer comprising the drug can comprise a hydrophobic polymer blended with a hydrophilic polymer such as hyaluronic acid or chitosan (col 4: 1-9 and col 2: 58-60).
For claims 26 and 27, routine optimization of Pacetti's drug coating would have led to the claimed ratio of drug to drug carrier (claim 26) or the thickness of the hydrophobic drug layer (claim 27) since Pacetti teaches, for example, a concentration of immunosuppressant drug (EVEROLIMUS® or 40-O-(2-hydroxy)ethyl-rapamycin) of about 0.5% to about 5% in a poly(ethylene-co-vinyl alcohol) coating (Example 5), and the person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the amount of drug in the coating to achieve the desired immunosuppressive effect.
For clam 28, Pacetti teaches the reservoir layer comprises a hydrophobic polymer (col 4: 1-2), and further teaches hydrophobic polymers include poly(vinylidene fluoride) (col 2: 53), styrene-butadiene-styrene triblock copolymers (col 5: 30), polyurethanes (col 8: 65), poly(methyl methacrylate) (col 16: 10), and poly(butyl methacrylate (col 16: 6).
The examiner acknowledges that some picking and choosing was used to arrive at the instantly claimed methods in view of Pacetti. However, the claimed combination of components, including the degradation layer consisting of a blend of a hydrophobic polymer and a hydrolytic polymer in the claimed amounts, is taught as known and used for coating a medical device. Further, Pacetti teaches a drug layer and a covering layer as shown in Fig. 1. It would have therefore been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the claimed combination of ingredients as a coating of a medical device, with a reasonable expectation of success that the coating would provide the desired characteristics such as controlled release of an efficacious amount of an immunosuppressive drug treatment, as taught by Pacetti.
2) Claims 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacetti (cited above), in view of Chen (US 8,852,620).
The teachings of Pacetti are discussed above.
Pacetti does not teach a drug carrier comprising a polymer such as polylactic acid.
Chen teaches the missing element of Pacetti.
Chen teaches medical devices having coatings comprising drug solubility, gradient-containing polymers and at least one drug (Abstract). Chen teaches the polymer can comprise two individual monomers, and one monomer may be lactide (col 3: 34; col 4: 45). Chen teaches the drug may be sirolimus (rapamycin), tacrolimus (FK506), or everolimus (col 6: 15-17).
For claim 29, Pacetti teaches a coating comprising a degradation control layer comprising or consisting of a blend of a hydrophobic polymer and a biodegradable hydrolytic polymer; a hydrophobic layer and a drug layer, as shown in Fig. 1.
In Fig. 1, the layers of the coating are described by Pacetti as follows: the stent 1 can include an optional primer layer 2; a drug-polymer layer 3 ( also referred to as "reservoir" or "reservoir layer") 3; an optional topcoat layer 4; and a finishing coat layer 5. The drug-polymer layer 3 serves as a reservoir for the sustained release of the drug, and the reservoir layer 3 and/or the topcoat layer 4 of the stent coating can include a hydrophobic polymer, described above. The degradation layer of Fig. 1 consists of a blend of hydrophobic polymer a hydrolytic polymer, as described above, in the claimed ratio. The drug layer comprises a drug and a claimed carrier such as a polymer comprising polylactic acid, as taught by Chen.
The skilled artisan would have expected success in utilizing Chen's polylactide in Pacetti's scaffold coating because Pacetti teaches a coating that contains a drug in a pharmaceutical carrier and Chen teaches that a polymer comprising lactide as a subunit is useful for a drug releasing coating of a medical device such as stent (col 4: 7-18).
Examiner’s Reply to Attorney Arguments dated 7/29/2026
1. Rejection of claims 1-5 and 12 over Ding
The applicant argues that Ding does not teach the newly added limitation to claim 1 of a control layer consisting of a blend of polymers.
The Examiner acknowledges the arguments presented, but does not consider them persuasive. In view of the newly added amendment to claim 1, applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
2. Rejection of claims 6-11 over Ding and Sun
The applicant argues that Sun does not remedy the deficiencies of Ding in view of the newly added amendment to claim 1.
The Examiner acknowledges the arguments presented, but does not consider them persuasive. In view of the newly added amendment to claim 1, applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612