DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 9524298 A1, to Paulson.
Regarding Claim 1, Paulson discloses a rotary die cutting apparatus (see abstract), comprising:
a rotatable die cylinder (combination of 22 and 23), supporting a cutting die (23) configured to cut and/or crease a corrugated article (“corrugated paperboard web 12”, see pg. 12, lines 5-20, disclosing: web, 12, which is cut via blade 24 of die 23, [it is noted that the claim requires the article to be either cut or creased, in the alternative; thus if either of these functions is performed, this limitation is met]);
a rotatable anvil cylinder (slotted roller assembly 34) positioned in proximity to the first cylinder (fig. 4) to compress and permit cutting (page 12, 30-40) of said corrugated article (pg 1, 1-20 and page 12, 30-40) when the corrugated article passes between the die and anvil cylinders (pg 7, 10-30);
a pivot arm (52) on which the anvil cylinder is mounted (fig 4) and configured for pivotal movement to thereby move the die cylinder mounted thereon relative to the die cylinder (page 14, line 15-40); and
a displacement actuator (combination of parts 60 and 61) operatively connected to the pivot arm to control the pivotal movement of the pivot arm (page 14, line 20-40).
Regarding Claim 4, in Paulson the displacement actuator (61 and 60) is pivotably mounted on a base (57).
Regarding Claim 6, in Paulson the device comprises first and second stanchions (beams 10 and 11) on opposite ends of the die and anvil cylinders (fig 1).
Regarding Claim 7, in Paulson the pivot arm 52 has a first end region pivotally connected to the displacement actuator (via cam link 57); the pivot arm has a second end region (at 53) connected to and pivotal relative to the first stanchion (operatively connected to the beam 10 via cutter head 31, fig. 4); and the second cylinder 33 is mounted to the pivot arm between the first end and the second end (See-fig 4).
Regarding Claim 8, in Paulson the die cylinder 23 has a die cylinder width and opposite ends rotatably supported by the first and second stations (tool holders 16, see second par under “Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments” section), respectively, and wherein the anvil cylinder 34 has a first end rotatably supported by the pivot arm (pivot arm 52 on the left in fig 4), and a second end rotatable supported by a second pivot arm (pivot arm 52 on the right in fig 4, and as described in 6th par. under “Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments” section, where it is stated that “Each roller 35 is rotatably mounted on its stub shaft 51 which is, in turn, rotatably supported in the free end of one of a pair of spaced support arms 52. The opposite ends of the support arms 52 are attached to a common support arm pivot 53”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of USPGPUB 20170232632, to Warll.
Regarding Claim 2, Paulson lacks the rotatable die cylinder includes at least one cutting die 24.
Paulson lacks the anvil cylinder including at least one cover.
Warll discloses an anvil and die cylinder web cutter in the same field of endeavor as the anvil and die cylinder web cutter of the present invention and of Paulson and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include the anvil cylinder 104 thereof including at least one cover (200) on the anvil cylinder (see par 0029) in order to prevent the blades of the knives from hitting the hard surface of the anvil cylinder, causing damage to the blades, and to protect the surface of the anvil cylinder from scratches, par. 0004.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by having the anvil cylinder include at least one cover in order to prevent the blades of the knives from hitting the hard surface of the anvil cylinder, causing damage to the blades, and to protect the surface of the anvil cylinder from scratches, as taught by Warll.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of USPGPUB 20020066348, Esenther.
Regarding Claim 3, Paulson lacks the displacement actuator comprising a jack screw servo attached to an end portion of the pivot arm.
Esenther discloses an anvil and die cylinder web cutter in the same field of endeavor as the anvil and die cylinder web cutter of the present invention and of Paulson and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include an adjustment assembly for adjusting the spacing between the cutting and anvil cylinder thereon, par 0026, and to have the adjustment/displacement actuator 44/46 comprise a jack screw servo 44, par 0026 attached to an end portion of the adjustment assembly (par 0026), in order to independently, selectively adjust for varying the cutting gap or clearance between the respective pairs of knife blades of the counter-rotating knife assemblies, par 0027.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by having the displacement actuator comprise a jack screw servo attached to an end portion of the actuator thereof, (which in Paulson is a pivot arm) in order to independently, selectively adjust for varying the cutting gap or clearance between the respective pairs of knife blades of the counter-rotating knife assemblies, as taught in Esenther.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of USPN 8500121, Paulson, hereafter “Paulson 121”.
Regarding Claim 5, Paulson lacks the device comprising the pivot arm having first and second pivot plates on opposites sides of and pivotally connected to a connecting portion of the displacement actuator.
Paulson 121 discloses a height adjustable rotary cutter assembly, in the same field of endeavor as the height adjustable rotary cutter assembly of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a pivot arm assembly (pair of arms 35) comprises first and second pivot plates 35 on opposites sides of and pivotally connected to a connecting portion of a displacement actuator 31, in order to adjust the force applied to the shingled sheets pulled through the cylinders (col. 2, 40-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by having the displacement actuator comprise the pivot arm having first and second pivot plates on opposites sides of and pivotally connected to a connecting portion of the displacement actuator, in order to adjust the force applied to the sheets being processed between the cylinders of Paulson as taught by Paulson 121. (In making the above modification the actuator as applied to Paulson would control the cutting cylinders of Paulson since said cylinders in Paulson perform cutting of the corrugated board).
Claims 9-12, 20-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson in view of USPGPUB 20200315860 Sato.
Regarding Claim 9, Paulson discloses all the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Paulson lacks the rotary die cutting apparatus further comprising a feedback loop for monitoring motor torque and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation.
Sato discloses a rotary cutting die 1 and anvil cylinder 2 assembly in the same field of endeavor as the rotary cutting die and anvil cylinder assembly of the present invention, and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include the device further comprising a feedback loop (combination of sensing of sensor 52 and adjustment by controller 61, par’s 0052-0059) for monitoring die pressure (Par. 0052) and controlling a displacement actuator 42 to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder 1 and the anvil cylinder 2 during operation and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation (par 0052), in order to have the contact between the cylinders be stable (par 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by including the rotary die cutting apparatus further comprising a feedback loop for monitoring motor torque and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation, in order to have the contact between the cylinders be stable as taught by Sato.
Regarding Claim 10, Paulson discloses a method of operating a rotary die cutting apparatus, (“slitting apparatus”, figs 6-10) comprising: providing the rotary die cutting apparatus (abstract), the rotary die cutting apparatus comprising: a rotatable die cylinder (combination of 22 and 23) including a cutting die (23);
a rotatable anvil cylinder (slotted roller assembly 34) positioned in proximity to the die cylinder (fig 3) to compress and permit cutting and/or creasing of a corrugated article when the corrugated article passes between the cylinders (“corrugated paperboard web 12”, see pg. 12, lines 5-20, disclosing: web, 12, which is cut via blade 24, [it is noted that the claim requires the article to be either cut or creased, in the alternative; thus if either of these functions is performed, this limitation is met]);
a pivot arm (52) on which the anvil cylinder is mounted and configured for pivotal movement to thereby move the anvil cylinder mounted thereon relative to the die cylinder (page 14, line 15-40); and
a displacement actuator (combination of parts 60 and 61) operatively connected to the pivot arm to control the pivotal movement of the pivot arm (page 14, line 20-40); and
passing a corrugated article between the die and anvil cylinders to cause the die cylinder to cut and/or crease the corrugated article (page 14, line 20-40).
Paulson lacks: a feedback loop for monitoring die pressure and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation
Sato discloses a rotary cutting die 1 and anvil cylinder 2 assembly in the same field of endeavor as the rotary cutting die and anvil cylinder assembly of the present invention, and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include the device further comprising a feedback loop (combination of sensing of sensor 52 and adjustment by controller 61, par’s 0052-0059) for monitoring die pressure (Par. 0052) and controlling a displacement actuator 42 to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder 1 and the anvil cylinder 2 during operation and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation (par 0052), in order to have the contact between the cylinders be stable (par 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by including a feedback loop for monitoring die pressure and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation in order to have the contact between the cylinders be stable as taught by Sato.
Regarding Claim 11, in modifying Paulson as above the step of controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation comprises controlling cutting die penetration into the corrugated article already being cut by Paulson (since the modification includes said adjustment to cut into a workpiece stably).
Regarding Claim 12, in modifying Paulson the step of controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation comprises controlling cutting die penetration through the corrugated article already cut in Paulson (since the modification includes said adjustment to cut into a workpiece stably).
Regarding Claims 20 and 24, Paulson discloses: rotary die cutting apparatus ((“slitting apparatus”, figs 6-10) for cutting or creasing corrugated articles (“corrugated paperboard web 12”, see pg. 12, lines 5-20, disclosing: web, 12, which is cut via blade 24, [it is noted that the claim requires the article to be either cut or creased, in the alternative; thus if either of these functions is performed, this limitation is met]) comprising:
a rotating die cylinder (combination of 22 and 23) having a die cylinder width between opposite ends (width shown in fig 7, from left to right of part 23) supported by a first frame member (supported in part by frame part 57) and a second frame member (supported in part by frame part 52); said rotating die cylinder (22 and 23) being configured to press a cutting die (23) with die pressure for cutting or creasing into a corrugated sheet (“corrugated paperboard web 12”, see pg. 12, lines 5-20, disclosing: web, 12, which is cut via blade 24, [it is noted that the claim requires the article to be either cut or creased, in the alternative; thus if either of these functions is performed, this limitation is met]) passing in a corrugated sheet passing direction (pg. 12, lines 5-20);
a rotating anvil cylinder (slotted roller assembly 34) having an anvil cylinder width between opposite ends (width shown in fig 7, from left to right of part 34) supported between said first frame member (frame part 57) and said second frame member (frame part 52);
said rotating anvil cylinder being configured to support said corrugated sheet when passing in a corrugated sheet passing direction (pg. 12, lines 5-20);
a pivot arm (52) supported by said first frame member (fig 6-7) and supporting a first end of said anvil cylinder mounted thereon (fig 7), said pivot arm being configured for pivotal movement to thereby move the anvil cylinder end mounted thereon relative to the first frame member (page 14, line 15-4) and the die cylinder (page 14, line 15-4);
a displacement actuator (combination of parts 60 and 61) operatively connected to the pivot arm (e.g., 130) to control pivotal movement of the pivot arm (page 14, line 20-40).
Paulson lacks: the apparatus being a deflection reducing apparatus and including a feedback loop for monitoring die pressure while cutting said corrugated sheet and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation (Claim 20), and wherein said a feedback loop controlling the displacement actuator is responsive to feedback from motor torque, a load cell, a pressure gauge or a strain gauge on said pivot arm (Claim 24).
Sato discloses a rotary cutting die 1 and anvil cylinder 2 assembly in the same field of endeavor as the rotary cutting die and anvil cylinder assembly of the present invention, and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include the device further comprising a feedback loop (combination of sensing of sensor 52 and adjustment by controller 61, par’s 0052-0059) for monitoring die pressure (Par. 0052) and controlling a displacement actuator 42 to maintain relatively uniform (and thus deflection reducing) spacing between the die cylinder 1 and the anvil cylinder 2 during operation and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation (par 0052), (Claim 21), and wherein said a feedback loop controlling the displacement actuator is responsive to feedback from motor torque, a load cell, a pressure gauge or a strain gauge on said pivot arm (Claim 24) in order to have the contact between the cylinders be stable (par 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by including a feedback loop for monitoring die pressure and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation of cutting the sheet and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation, (Claim 20), and wherein said a feedback loop controlling the displacement actuator is responsive to feedback from motor torque, a load cell, a pressure gauge or a strain gauge on said pivot arm (Claim 24), in order to have the contact between the cylinders be stable as taught by Sato.
Regarding Claim 21, in Paulson, the rotary die cutting deflection reducing apparatus for cutting or creasing corrugated articles of claim 20, further comprises: a second pivot arm (e.g., 57) supported by said second frame member (fig 1) and supporting a second end of said anvil cylinder mounted thereon (operatively supporting, fig. 1), said second pivot arm being configured for pivotal movement to thereby move the second anvil cylinder end mounted thereon relative to the second frame member and the die cylinder (pg. 13, lines 5-25); a second displacement actuator (e.g., 61) operatively connected to the second pivot arm to control pivotal movement of the second pivot arm (pg. 13, lines 5-25);
Also, in modifying the Paulson device as above, in view of Sato, an artisan making such a modification would also be motivated to include wherein said feedback loop monitoring die pressure to also control the second displacement actuator of Paulson in order to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during the cutting or creasing operation, which is the goal of the modification in view of Sato as noted above.
Regarding Claim 23, in Paulson: The rotary die cutting deflection reducing apparatus for cutting or creasing corrugated articles of claim 20, includes wherein said displacement actuator (60 and 61) operatively connected to the pivot arm to control pivotal movement of the pivot arm, comprises a telescope jack (see fig 7, since the part 61 telescopes).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson in view of Sato, as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Esenther and in view of USPGPUB 20050001872, Ahne.
Regarding Claim 13, Paulson lacks:
Feature I: the displacement actuator comprises/ing a jack screw servo attached to an end portion of the pivot arm, and
Feature II: the step of controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation comprises controlling cutting die penetration into said corrugated article by actuation of said jack screw servo while monitoring servo motor torque.
Regarding Feature I: Esenther discloses an anvil and die cylinder web cutter in the same field of endeavor as the anvil and die cylinder web cutter of the present invention and of Paulson and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include an adjustment assembly for adjusting the spacing between the cutting and anvil cylinder thereon, par 0026, in a similar manner as the rotary arm of Paulson raises and lowers the rotary cutting part; and that in such an assembly it is known to include the adjustment/displacement actuator 44/46 comprising a jack screw servo 44, par 0026 attached to an end portion of the adjustment assembly (par 0026), in order to independently, selectively adjust for varying the cutting gap or clearance between the respective pairs of knife blades of the counter-rotating knife assemblies, par 0027.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by having the displacement actuator comprise a jack screw servo attached to an end portion of the actuator thereof, (which in Paulson is a pivot arm) in order to independently, selectively adjust for varying the cutting gap or clearance between the respective pairs of knife blades of the counter-rotating knife assemblies, as taught in Esenther.
Regarding Feature II: Ahne discloses an cylinder controlled web cutter in the same field of endeavor as the cylinder controlled web cutter of the present invention and of Paulson and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include an adjustment assembly for the cylinders with a use of a servo motor and discloses that in using this servomotor it is known to monitoring servo motor torque in order to monitor and adjust the cutting/perforation force of the cylinder (par 0097).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by including monitoring servo motor torque during the step of controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation comprises controlling cutting die penetration into said corrugated article by actuation of said jack screw servo (which is already part of Paulson as modified above) in order to monitor and adjust the cutting/perforation force of the cylinder, as taught by Ahne.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson in view of Sato, as applied to Claim 10 above, and in view of Warll.
Regarding Claim 14, Paulson lacks the anvil cylinder including at least one cover (and thus lacks wherein the step of controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation comprises reducing problems caused by wear and tear on a cover or blanket on said anvil cylinder).
Warll discloses an anvil and die cylinder web cutter in the same field of endeavor as the anvil and die cylinder web cutter of the present invention and of Paulson and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include the anvil cylinder 104 thereof including at least one cover (200) on the anvil cylinder (see par 0029), in order to prevent the blades of the knives from hitting the hard surface of the anvil cylinder, causing damage to the blades, and to protect the surface of the anvil cylinder from scratches, par. 0004, and Warll also discloses that in providing the cover on the cylinder it is known to control the spacing between the cylinders to reduce problems caused by wear and tear on a cover or blanket on said anvil cylinder, see par 0005-0007.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by having the anvil cylinder include at least one cover in order to prevent the blades of the knives from hitting the hard surface of the anvil cylinder, causing damage to the blades, and to protect the surface of the anvil cylinder from scratches, as taught by Warll; and in providing the cover on the cylinder to control the spacing between the cylinders to reduce problems caused by wear and tear on a cover or blanket on said anvil cylinder, as also taught by Warll.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulson in view of Sato, as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Esenther.
Regarding Claim 22, Paulson lacks the rotary die cutting deflection reducing apparatus for cutting or creasing corrugated articles of claim 20, also includes wherein said displacement actuator is operatively connected to the pivot arm 130 to control pivotal movement of the pivot arm, comprises a jack screw servo.
Esenther discloses an anvil and die cylinder web cutter in the same field of endeavor as the anvil and die cylinder web cutter of the present invention and of Paulson and discloses that in such an assembly it is known to include an adjustment assembly for adjusting the spacing between the cutting and anvil cylinder thereon, par 0026, in a similar manner as the rotary arm of Paulson raises and lowers the rotary cutting part; and that in such an assembly it is known to include the adjustment/displacement actuator 44/46 comprising a jack screw servo 44, par 0026 attached to an end portion of the adjustment assembly (par 0026), in order to independently, selectively adjust for varying the cutting gap or clearance between the respective pairs of knife blades of the counter-rotating knife assemblies, par 0027.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paulson by having the displacement actuator comprise a jack screw servo attached to an end portion of the actuator thereof, (which in Paulson is a pivot arm) in order to independently, selectively adjust for varying the cutting gap or clearance between the respective pairs of knife blades of the counter-rotating knife assemblies, as taught in Esenther.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4-6-26, have been fully considered and they are partially persuasive and partly not persuasive.
With regard to the drawing and claim objections, applicant has amended claims 3 and 13 to replace “ball jack screw” with “jack screw servo” which is clearly illustrated in the drawing figures (including especially FIG 4), thus rendering the drawing and claim objections moot.
With regard to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC §112: Claims 3 and 13 were rejected under 35 USC §112(A) as failing to comply with the written description requirement and 35 USC §112(B) as being indefinite. In response, Applicant has amended the claims to more clearly point out the invention and has amended the specification to improve clarity and more clearly describe the invention as illustrated in the drawing figures. Specifically, the claims have been amended to replace “ball jack screw” with “jack screw servo” (as illustrated in FIG 4) and the specification is now also amended accordingly. The amendments to the specification are for clarity purposes and do not add new matter. Also, applicant notes that regarding the terms of a displacement actuator (e.g., 140, as best seen in FIG 4) and a “ball jack screw attached to the end of a pivot arm” or elsewhere as a “jack screw servo”, that while the nomenclature in the specification is inconsistent, that mechanical designers, engineers and technicians understand the meanings and how to make and use the invention. According to applicant, “Many such actuators are offered by commercial vendors, as shown in online catalogue offerings which describe and illustrate well known third party servo controlled ball jack screw mechanisms. It is respectfully submitted that jack screw servo mechanisms including those with ball screw jack internals, are well known and commercially available products.” This is found persuasive. As such, the 35 USC 112 rejections are removed/rescinded.
With regard to the prior art Rejections of Claims 1, 4 and 6-8, under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues that Paulson WO`298 describes and illustrates a paper or paperboard web plunge slitting apparatus (also see Figs. 9 and 12) of the type utilizing a thin high speed rotary plunge slitting blade 24 extending entirely through the web and into a slotted surface (angled rollers 34, or non-rotating pivoting plate 72) on the opposite side of the web, so, according to applicant,
“:Paulson teaches a plunge cutting pizza cutter-like blade 24 which always passes entirely through the web and into an adjustable blade receiving slot in a stationary or rotating supporting surface. Paulson does not teach or suggest an apparatus or method for cutting and/or creasing (i.e., not plunge cutting or cutting entirely through) a corrugated article and does not teach or suggest an apparatus or method for cutting or creasing a corrugated article in a direction that is transverse to the direction of the path of the moving corrugated article. Paulson also does not teach or suggest an apparatus or method for employing a feedback loop to control pressure between a die roller and an anvil roller, sensing die pressure, since Paulson focuses on maintaining a plunge slitting process where the plunge slitting blade must be received within a narrow slot in a slotted supporting surface (i.e., angled rollers 34, or not rotating pivoting plate 72). ”
This is not found persuasive. As noted in the rejection above, the claim requires the article to be either cut or creased, in the alternative; thus if either of these functions is performed, this limitation is met. In Paulson, the corrugated web is being cut, and thus that limitation is met. Also, as to the requirement of cutting in a transverse direction, the claims do not mention nor require transverse cutting. As such, the rejection of Claims 1-9 over Paulson is maintained.
With regard to Claims 10-24, Applicant has amended these claims to require a feedback loop for monitoring die pressure and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation; passing an a corrugated article between the die and anvil cylinders to cause the die cylinder and/or the second cylinder to cut and/or crease the corrugated article while monitoring die pressure; and controlling the displacement actuator to maintain relatively uniform spacing between the die cylinder and the anvil cylinder during operation. As such the rejections of these claims as posited in the last action no longer apply to these claims as amended. However, upon updating the search a new rejection is made over Paulson in view of Sato.
Applicant’s arguments as to the modifications in view of Claims 5 and 15 over Paulson in view of US Patent 8500121 to Paulson (Hereinafter Paulson `121”), been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Paulson `121 describes and illustrates an apparatus for pinching or nipping sheets coming from a corrugator which has made sheets to be stacked, and so none of the components are cutting or creasing anything. ….In Paulson `121 the pinching or nipping is controlled by an actuator arrangement which includes a pneumatic or air cylinder 34, but nothing in Paulson `121 describes where or how a die for cutting and/or scoring is to be supported on either nip roll, or which nip roll might serve an anvil cylinder.” Applicant further argues that: “Combing Paulson WO`298 and Paulson `121 would not result in something which teaches the apparatus or method of the present invention because if someone placed the plunge slit cutter of Paulson WO`298 into either of the nip rolls of Paulson `121, the result would be something that might pinch or nip a corrugated sheet and make an elongated plunge cut slit in the sheet before stacking, but doing so would require one of the nip rolls to include a slot to receive the plunge cutter.”. This is not found persuasive. As noted in the rejection of Claim 5 above, Paulson is being modified to have the displacement actuator comprise the pivot arm having first and second pivot plates on opposites sides of and pivotally connected to a connecting portion of the displacement actuator, in order to adjust the force applied to the sheets being processed between the cylinders of Paulson as taught by Paulson 121. In making the above modification the actuator as applied to Paulson would control the cutting cylinders of Paulson since said cylinders in Paulson perform cutting of the corrugated board.
The arguments as to Schwamberger and Gorl have been found persuasive and the applicable claims are now rejected over Esenther and Ahne, as noted above.
Conclusion
USPNs / USPGPUBs 20170232632 20020184985 4736660 4656905 and 20230073751 disclose state of the art Rotary die cutters, thus each include elements of the invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724