Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the elected species in the reply filed on 09/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the pending claims of the instant application do not present a serious search burden. Applicant’s arguments are found to be persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“come-off prevention means” in claim 6.
“means configured to” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the shaft" in line 5. How does the “shaft” in line 5 relate to the “drive shaft” in line 1? Are there two different shafts being claimed? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "The jig" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 is rejected because it is a dependent of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bohne (US3485388A).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Bohne discloses a jig (1; Figures 1-2b) for suspending a heavy object (C, R), comprising: a body block (4); and a drive shaft (2) having a lock (10) on an upper end thereof and an inner-diameter clamp mechanism (6-8, 14, 16, 28) on a lower end thereof and slidably inserted through the body block (4), wherein when the inner-diameter clamp mechanism (6-8, 14, 16, 28) is inserted into a longitudinal hole (hollow center of core C; Figure 2a) formed on the heavy object (C, R) to be suspended and then the lock (10) is lifted (“when a hanging weight of the heavy object (C, R) is applied to the drive shaft (2) in an axial direction of the drive shaft (2)” claim 1), a diameter of the inner-diameter clamp mechanism (6-8, 14, 16, 28) is increased in the hole (Figure 2b) and the jig (1) is firmly fixed to the heavy object (C, R).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohne in view of Asai (US20210339351A1).
Regarding claim 9, Bohne discloses the above jig and further teaches wherein the inner-diameter clamp mechanism (6-8, 14, 16, 28) comprises: a first tapered surface (top tapered surface of 16) formed on a head (14, 16) on a front end of the drive shaft (2); a second tapered surface (55) formed on a shaft cylinder (28) that is fitted to a bottom surface of the body block (4) and into which the drive shaft (2) is slidably inserted; a plurality of movable pieces (6-8) that have inclined end surfaces (70, 71) slidingly in contact with the first tapered surface (top tapered surface of 16) and the second tapered surface (55) and are disposed between the first tapered surface (top tapered surface of 16) and the second tapered surface (55), but fails to teach a ring holding the movable pieces.
Asai teaches a similar jig and further teaches a ring (29; Figure 13) holding the movable pieces (28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the jig of Bohne to include the ring as taught by Asai in order to keep the movable pieces aligned with each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing wherein the slide block fitted into a hollow formed in the body block so as to pass through the body block in an up-down direction, wherein a concave portion having a parabolic sectional shape is formed on a side surface of the slide block, wherein a through hole into which the drive shaft is movably inserted is formed in a central portion of the concave portion, wherein an action member having a curved slide contact surface corresponding to the concave portion is disposed in the concave portion, wherein the drive shaft is inserted through the action member.
Hirano (JP2009256093A), is the closest prior art, teaches a jig for suspending a heavy object, comprising: a body block (2; Figure 9); a slide block (11a) having a lock (11) on a top surface thereof, and a drive shaft (3) having an inner-diameter clamp mechanism (4, 5) on a front end thereof and inserted into the body block from a side surface of the body block so as to penetrate the slide block, wherein when the inner-diameter clamp mechanism is inserted into a hole of the heavy object (21; Figure 5) to be suspended and then the lock is lifted, a diameter of the inner-diameter clamp mechanism is increased in the hole of the heavy object, but fails to teach the slide block fitted into a hollow formed in the body block so as to pass through the body block in an up-down direction, wherein a concave portion having a parabolic sectional shape is formed on a side surface of the slide block, wherein a through hole into which the drive shaft is movably inserted is formed in a central portion of the concave portion, wherein an action member having a curved slide contact surface corresponding to the concave portion is disposed in the concave portion, wherein the drive shaft is inserted through the action member.
Claims 3-7 are allowable because they are dependents of claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/HENRIX SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3654