CTNF 18/607,911 CTNF 88345 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 03/18/2024 . An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In Claim 8, the phrase states “ wherein an amount of expansion of the first lens in the first direction according to a change in temperature or humidity is greater than an amount of expansion of the second lens and the third lens in the first direction ” and ¶[0080] of the Specification states “ Under specific temperature or humidity conditions, the expansion amount of the first lens 100 may be greater than expansion amounts of the second lens 200 and the third lens 300 .” It is unclear as to what would cause the expansion in the second and third lens. Claim 8 would be clearer if amended to state -- wherein under specific temperature or humidity conditions, an amount of expansion of the first lens in the first direction is greater than an amount of expansion of the second lens in the first direction and an amount of expansion of third lens in the first direction --. For examination purposes, the phrase will be interpreted as “ wherein under specific temperature or humidity conditions, an amount of expansion of the first lens in the first direction is greater than an amount of expansion of the second lens in the first direction and an amount of expansion of third lens in the first direction ”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al., (Choi hereafter) (US 2022/0214515 A1), of record . With respect to Claim 1 , Choi discloses a lens assembly (Figure 2) comprising: a first lens (200, Figure 2) comprising an optical portion (area between the flange portions, Figure 2) and a flange portion (see annotated Figure 2) extending from the optical portion (area between the flange portions, Figure 2); a second lens (100, Figure 2) disposed on one side (¶[0049]) of the first lens (200, Figure 2) in an optical axis direction (¶[0054]; see annotated Figure 2); and a third lens (300, Figure 2) disposed on another side (¶[0055]) of the first lens (200, Figure 2) in the optical axis direction (¶[0054]), wherein the flange portion (see annotated Figure 2) comprises a first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) formed in one surface (bottom surface of 200; see annotated Figure 2) and a first protrusion (220, Figure 2) disposed on another surface (upper surface of 200; see annotated Figure 2), wherein the second lens (100, Figure 2) comprises a second protrusion (110, Figure 2) disposed in the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2), wherein the third lens (300, Figure 2) comprises a second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2) in which the first protrusion (220, Figure 2) is disposed, and wherein the second protrusion (110, Figure 2) is spaced apart (see Figure 2) from a portion of an inner surface of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) in a first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2), perpendicular to an optical axis (¶[0054]; see annotated Figure 2), the first protrusion (220, Figure 2) is spaced apart (see Figure 2) from a portion of an inner surface of the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2) in the first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2), and the portion of the inner surface of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) is disposed closer to the optical axis (¶[0054]; see annotated Figure 2) than the portion of the inner surface of the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2). PNG media_image1.png 915 1140 media_image1.png Greyscale With respect to Claim 2, Choi further discloses wherein the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) comprises a first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) and a second inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) spaced apart in the first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2), and wherein the second protrusion (110, Figure 2) is disposed to be spaced apart from the first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2). With respect to Claim 3, Choi further discloses wherein the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2) comprises a first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) and a second inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) spaced apart (see Figure 2) in the first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2), and wherein the first protrusion (220, Figure 2) is disposed to be spaced apart (see Figure 2) from the second inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2). With respect to Claim 4, Choi further discloses wherein the first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) is disposed further inwardly of the second inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2) in the first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2). With respect to Claim 5, Choi further discloses wherein the inner surface of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) comprises a third inner surface (peak/top of the inner surface of the first groove, Figure 2) connecting the first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) and the second inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2), wherein a lower surface of the second protrusion (110, Figure 2) opposes the third inner surface (peak/top of the inner surface of the first groove, Figure 2) of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2), and wherein the lower surface of the second protrusion (110, Figure 2) is spaced apart (see Figure 2) from the third inner surface (peak/top of the inner surface of the first groove, Figure 2) of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) in the optical axis direction (¶[0054]). With respect to Claim 6, Choi further discloses wherein the first protrusion (220, Figure 2) has a tapered shape (see Figure 2) with a width becoming narrower from an object side to an image side (see Figure 2). With respect to Claim 7, Choi further discloses wherein the first protrusion (220, Figure 2) comprises a first outer surface (underside of 110, Figure 2) in contact with the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2), wherein the first outer surface (underside of 110, Figure 2) forms an acute angle with a virtual line parallel (see Figure 2) to the optical axis (¶[0054]; see annotated Figure 2). With respect to Claim 9, Choi further discloses wherein the one surface (bottom surface of 200; see annotated Figure 2) of the flange portion (see annotated Figure 2) is an image-side (see annotated Figure 2) surface, and the other surface of the flange portion (see annotated Figure 2) is an object-side (see annotated Figure 2) surface. With respect to Claim 10, Choi further discloses wherein the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) comprises a first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) and a second inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) opposing the first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2), and wherein the second protrusion (110, Figure 2) is disposed to be spaced apart (see Figure 2) from the first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) in the first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2). With respect to Claim 11, Choi further discloses wherein the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2) comprises a first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) and a second inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) opposing the first inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2), and the first protrusion (220, Figure 2) is disposed to be spaced apart (see Figure 2) from the second inner surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2) in the first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2). With respect to Claim 12, Choi further discloses wherein the first protrusion (220, Figure 2) has a tapered shape (see Figure 2) with a width becoming narrower from an image side to an object side (see annotated Figure 2). With respect to Claim 13, Choi further discloses wherein the first lens (200, Figure 2) comprises an upper first lens (200, Figure 2) and a lower first lens (200, Figure 2) stacked. With respect to Claim 14, Choi discloses a lens assembly comprising: a lens barrel (1, Figure 1); a first lens (200, Figure 2) comprising an optical portion (area between the flange portions, Figure 2) and a flange portion (see annotated Figure 2) extending from the optical portion (area between the flange portions, Figure 2); a second lens (100, Figure 2) disposed on one side (¶[0049]) of the first lens (200, Figure 2) in an optical axis direction (¶[0054]); and a third lens (300, Figure 2) disposed on another side (¶[0055]) of the first lens (200, Figure 2) in the optical axis direction (¶[0054]), wherein the flange portion (see annotated Figure 2) comprises a first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) formed in one surface (bottom surface of 200; see annotated Figure 2) and a first protrusion (220, Figure 2) disposed on another surface (upper surface of 200; see annotated Figure 2), wherein the second lens (100, Figure 2) comprises a second protrusion (110, Figure 2) disposed in the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2), wherein the third lens (300, Figure 2) comprises a second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2) in which the first protrusion (220, Figure 2) is disposed, wherein the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) comprises a first inclined surface (see annotated Figure 2) spaced apart (see Figure 2) from the second protrusion (110, Figure 2) in a first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2), perpendicular to an optical axis (¶[0054]; see annotated Figure 2), wherein the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2) comprises a second inclined surface (see annotated Figure 2) spaced apart (see Figure 2) from the first protrusion (220, Figure 2) in the first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2), and wherein the first inclined surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the first groove (area between 110 and 210; see annotated Figure 2) and the second inclined surface (see annotated Figure 2) of the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2) have inclined directions opposite to each other (see annotated Figure 2) based on a line, parallel to the optical axis (¶[0054]; see annotated Figure 2). With respect to Claim 15, Choi further discloses wherein an outer peripheral surface of the first lens (200, Figure 2) is spaced apart (see Figure 2) from an inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel (1, Figure 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 8, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0214515 A1), of record , as applied to claim s 1 and 15 , above, and further in view of Tadashi et al., (Tadashi hereafter) (JP 2020154122 A) . With respect to Claim 8, Choi teaches, as best understood, the lens assembly of claim 1, the first lens (200, Figure 2) in the first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2), the second lens (100, Figure 2) and the third lens (300, Figure 2) in the first direction (direction perpendicular to the optical axis, see Figure 2). Choi fails to teach wherein an amount of expansion of the first lens in the first direction according to a change in temperature or humidity is greater than an amount of expansion of the second lens and the third lens in the first direction. Choi teaches a camera lens assembly and Tadashi teaches a lens unit. Tadashi teaches wherein an amount of expansion of the first lens (L2, Figure 1, which is made of resin; see ¶[0025]) in the first direction (¶[0043]) according to a change in temperature (coefficient of thermal expansion of glass is smaller than that of resin materials, ¶[0024]) or humidity is greater than an amount of expansion of the second lens (L1, Figure 1, which is made of glass; see ¶[0025]) and the third lens (L5, Figure 1, which is made of glass; see ¶[0025]) in the first direction (¶[0043]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Choi having the lens unit with the teachings of Tadashi having an amount of expansion of the first lens in the first direction according to a change in temperature or humidity is greater than an amount of expansion of the second lens and the third lens in the first direction for the purpose of suppressing the distortion of the lens, ¶[0043]. With respect to Claim 16, Choi teaches the lens assembly of claim 15, the first lens (200, Figure 2) and the lens barrel (1, Figure 1). Choi fails to teach wherein the first lens is configured to expand in the first direction according to a change in temperature or humidity such that the outer peripheral surface of the first lens contacts the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel. Choi teaches a camera lens assembly and Tadashi teaches a lens unit. Tadashi teaches wherein the first lens (L2, Figure 1, which is made of resin; see ¶[0025] is configured to expand in the first direction (¶[0043]) according to a change in temperature (coefficient of thermal expansion of glass is smaller than that of resin materials, ¶[0024]) or humidity such that the outer peripheral surface of the first lens (L2, Figure 1) contacts the inner peripheral surface (contact lens (L2) comes into contact with the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel 10¶[0042]) of the lens barrel (10, Figure 1,. Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Choi having the lens unit with the teachings of Tadashi having the first lens is configured to expand in the first direction according to a change in temperature or humidity such that the outer peripheral surface of the first lens contacts the inner peripheral surface of the lens barrel for the purpose of focusing the image. With respect to Claim 17, Choi teaches the lens assembly of claim 15, the first lens (200, Figure 2), the first protrusion (220, Figure 2), and the second groove (area between 220 and 310; see annotated Figure 2). Choi fails to teach wherein the first lens is configured to expand in the first direction according to a change in temperature or humidity. Choi teaches a camera lens assembly and Tadashi teaches a lens unit. Tadashi teaches wherein the first lens (L2, Figure 1, which is made of resin; see ¶[0025]) in the first direction (¶[0043]) is configured to expand in the first direction according to a change in temperature (coefficient of thermal expansion of glass is smaller than that of resin materials, ¶[0024]) or humidity. Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Choi having the lens unit with the teachings of Tadashi having an amount of expansion of the first lens in the first direction according to a change in temperature or humidity and further modifying Choi such that the first protrusion contacts the second inclined surface of the second groove for the purpose of suppressing the distortion of the lens, ¶[0043]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TAMARA Y WASHINGTON whose telephone number is (571)270-3887. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thur 730-530 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Stephone Allen can be reached at 571-272-2434. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 /STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 8 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 9 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 10 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 11 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 12 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 13 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/607,911 Page 14 Art Unit: 2872