DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/3/2026. The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-10 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because of the multiple dependent claims listed in the preambles. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knox et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0310340 A1; hereinafter “Knox”).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 1: a method for improving vision in a subject having an implanted intraocular lens (IOL) (paras. 0131-0137), the method comprising: determining at least one modification to be made to an IOL implanted in a subject to improve the vision of the subject (paras. 0029-0032, 0134-0135, 0175-0179), wherein the IOL has a first index of refraction (paras. 0137, 0219); and based on the determination, applying laser radiation to at least one selected area of the IOL to form, within the IOL, at least one additional layer having a different index of refraction than the first index of refraction and a particular shape within the IOL configured to improve the vision of the subject (Figs. 5-7, 21-22; paras. 0011, 0018, 0094, 0118-0128, 0137, 0213, 0228).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 2: the method of claim 1, wherein the applied laser radiation changes the index of refraction of the at least one selected area from the first refractive index to the different index of refraction in forming the at least one additional layer (Figs. 5-7, 21-22; paras. 0011, 0018, 0094, 0118-0128, 0137, 0213, 0228).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 3: the method of claim 1 or 2, wherein the index of refraction of the at least one additional layer is uniform throughout the respective layer (paras. 0223-0224).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 4: the method of any one of claims 1-3, wherein the at least one additional layer is formed with a series of transitions within the IOL (paras. 0202-0204).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 5: the method of any one of claims 1-4, wherein the at least one additional layer is formed to have a shape defined by portions having different depths within the IOL (Fig. 21; paras. 0129, 0179, 0203).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 6: the method of any one of claims 1-5, wherein the at least one additional layer is formed to have a particular thickness, and wherein, when formed, at least one of the layers has a different thickness than another one of the layers (paras. 0210).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 7: the method of any one of claims 1-6, wherein the applied laser radiation comprises one or more selected optical energies focused in the at least one selected area and one or more selected durations of exposure of the focused optical energy in the at least one selected area, determined at least in part based on the determined at least one modification to be made to the IOL (Figs. 5-7, 21-22; paras. 0011, 0018, 0094, 0118-0128, 0134-0137, 0175-0179, 0213, 0228).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 8: the method of any one of claims 1-7, wherein the at least one additional layer comprises more than two additional layers, each of the more than two additional layers having a respective index of refraction and being formed with a particular shape within the IOL, the more than two additional layers comprising at least two different shapes (Figs. 5-7, 21-22; paras. 0011, 0018, 0094, 0118-0128, 0134-0137, 0175-0179, 0213, 0228).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 9: the method of any one of claims 1-8, wherein the at least one modification to be made to the IOL corresponds to correcting at least one of incorrect IOL power, uncorrected astigmatism, IOL placement error, higher order aberration, spectacle dependence, negative dysphotopsia, peripheral aberrations, and chromatic aberrations (paras. 0005, 0118-0120, 0136, 0210-0212).
Knox discloses the following regarding claim 10: the method of any one of claims 1-9, wherein applying the laser radiation comprises refractive index writing with a plurality of focused laser pulses applied to the at least one selected area of the IOL according to a predetermined pattern, the predetermined pattern being based at least in part on the determined at least one modification to be made to the IOL (abstract; paras. 0055, 0197-0198).
Conclusion
/ANN HU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774