DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0145392, filed on 10/27/2023.
Claim Interpretation
To establish the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections below, Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) has been applied to specific terms in the claims to make clear on the record that the scope of the claims as drafted is broader than the applicant's intended invention.
"Plurality of films" / "First plurality": BRI is applied to equate Sohma's molded resin frame components (24a, 24b) and Nonoyama's monolithic resin frame (30) to a "plurality of films".
"Slit cut in the first film": A slit cut in only a single layer of a multi-layer laminated structure is structurally identical to a blind slot or bottomed recess. Therefore, BRI is applied such that Nonoyama's disclosure of "bottomed recesses" (37) formed on the anode-facing side and separate "bottomed recesses" (37) formed on the cathode-facing side directly reads upon a first slit cut in a first film and a second slit cut in a second film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohma (US20130157175A1 – see IDS) in view of Nonoyama (US20190379066A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sohma discloses a unit cell for a fuel cell, comprising:
an anode separator (first separator 14);
a cathode separator (second separator 16);
a frame (resin frame member 24) disposed between the anode separator and the cathode separator [pars. 0021-0023,0028-0029; Figs. 1-3], the frame comprising:
a plurality of films laminated together (first resin frame component 24a and second resin frame component 24b joined together) [pars. 0029,0031,0046,0051-0052; Figs. 2,3],
a through hole disposed in a central portion of the frame (central opening defined by recess 26 and inner peripheral portions 32a,32b) [pars. 0030,0046; Figs. 2,3], and
a manifold hole disposed in an edge portion of the frame, wherein the manifold hole is configured to allow a fluid to flow therethrough (oxidant communicating holes 36a,36b, and fuel gas communicating holes 40a,40b) [pars. 0035-0036; Figs. 1,4]; and
a membrane electrode assembly and a pair of gas diffusion layers coupled to first and second sides of the membrane electrode assembly, respectively, wherein the membrane electrode assembly and the pair of gas diffusion layers are disposed in the through hole in the frame (MEA structure 28, first gas diffusion layer 20b, and second gas diffusion layer 22b housed in recess 26) [pars. 0023-0027,0030,0048-0052; Figs. 2,3].
Sohma fails to disclose a slit disposed in a first plurality of the plurality of films, the slit extending from the manifold hole toward the through hole and cut to define a fluid flow path. However, Nonoyama, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a slit extending from the manifold hole toward the through hole and cut to define a fluid flow path (resin frame-side flow path portions 69 formed by frame-side recesses 37, which are bottomed recesses or slits locally recessing the surface of the resin frame 30 to route exhaust gas to the manifold portions 52,54) [pars. 0049-0051,0087; Figs. 2,6A,6B]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Sohma by incorporating the slit extending from the manifold hole toward the through hole as taught by Nonoyama in order to cleanly route and smoothly distribute reactant gas between the manifold and the active area while preventing the fluid inlet from being blocked due to component misalignment.
Regarding Claim 2, Sohma discloses a seating surface in the through hole of the frame extending from a film of the plurality of films toward the through hole along an edge of the through hole (bottom surface of recess 26 extending inwardly to form a shelf) [pars. 0023-0027,0030-0031,0048-0049; Figs. 2,3], wherein the membrane electrode assembly is disposed on the seating surface (MEA structure 28 is seated on the shelf/recess 26) [pars. 0023-0027,0030-0031,0048-0049; Figs. 2,3].
Regarding Claim 3, Sohma discloses wherein a first gas diffusion layer of the pair of gas diffusion layers coupled to the first side of the membrane electrode assembly is seated on the seating surface together with the membrane electrode assembly (first gas diffusion layer 20b and MEA 28 are seated on the recess/shelf 26) [pars. 0023-0027,0030-0031,0048-0049; Figs. 2,3], and a second gas diffusion layer of the pair of gas diffusion layers coupled to the second side of the membrane electrode assembly is smaller in size than the membrane electrode assembly and is disposed in the through hole in a state of not being seated on the seating surface (second gas diffusion layer 22b is smaller than MEA 28 and is disposed floating within the opening without seating on the shelf) [pars. 0023-0027,0030-0031,0048-0049; Figs. 2,3].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Sohma discloses wherein the slit comprises a plurality of slits disposed in parallel and spaced apart from each other along an edge of the manifold hole (plurality of parallel flow paths 66 configured by the resin frame-side flow path portions 69 arranged side-by-side along the manifold portions 52,54) [Nonoyama – pars. 0051-0052,0061; Figs. 2,4A,6A].
Regarding Claim 5, Sohma discloses a unit cell for a fuel cell, comprising:
an anode separator (first separator 14);
a cathode separator (second separator 16);
a frame (resin frame member 24) disposed between the anode separator and the cathode separator [pars. 0021-0023,0028-0029; Figs. 1-3], the frame comprising:
a plurality of films laminated together (first resin frame component 24a and second resin frame component 24b joined together) [pars. 0029,0031,0046,0051-0052; Figs. 2,3],
a through hole disposed in a central portion of the frame (central opening defined by recess 26 and inner peripheral portions 32a,32b) [pars. 0030,0046; Figs. 2,3],
a manifold hole disposed in an edge portion of the frame, wherein the manifold hole is configured to allow a fluid to flow therethrough (oxidant communicating holes 36a,36b, and fuel gas communicating holes 40a,40b) [pars. 0035-0036; Figs. 1,4]; and
a membrane electrode assembly and a pair of gas diffusion layers coupled to first and second sides of the membrane electrode assembly, respectively, wherein the membrane electrode assembly and the pair of gas diffusion layers are disposed in the through hole in the frame (MEA structure 28, first gas diffusion layer 20b, and second gas diffusion layer 22b housed in recess 26) [pars. 0023-0027,0030,0048-0052; Figs. 2,3].
Sohma fails to disclose a first slit disposed in a first film of the plurality of films, the first slit extending from the manifold hole toward the through hole and cut to define a fluid flow path; and a second slit disposed in a different area than the first slit and in a second film of the plurality of films different from the first film of the plurality of films. However, Nonoyama, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a first slit extending from the manifold hole toward the through hole and cut to define a fluid flow path, and a second slit disposed in a different area than the first slit (frame-side recesses 37 provided on the anode side and frame-side recesses 37 provided on the cathode side) [pars. 0049-0051,0085; Figs. 2,6A,6B]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Sohma by incorporating the first and second slits as taught by Nonoyama in order to cleanly route fuel gas and oxidant gas independently on opposing sides of the frame assembly.
Regarding Claim 6, Sohma fails to disclose wherein the first slit and the second slit extend from different manifold holes. Nonoyama discloses wherein the first slit and the second slit extend from different manifold holes (the anode-side recesses 37 extend from the fuel exhaust manifold 52 and the cathode-side recesses 37 extend from the oxidant exhaust manifold 54) [pars. 0049-0051; Figs. 2,6A]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Sohma by having the first and second slits extend from different manifold holes as taught by Nonoyama in order to independently route fuel and oxidant gases to their respective distinct manifolds.
Regarding Claim 7, Sohma discloses wherein the first film of the plurality of films is disposed on a first side of the frame in contact with an inner side of the anode separator, and the second film of the plurality of films is disposed on a second side of the frame in contact with an inner side of the cathode separator (the first resin frame component 24a is positioned on the anode side in direct contact with separator 14, and the second resin frame component 24b is positioned on the cathode side in direct contact with the second separator 16) [pars. 0046-48; Figs. 2,3].
Regarding Claim 8, Sohma discloses a pair of gaskets respectively disposed on an outer side of each of the anode separator and the cathode separator (first seal member 60/protruding seal 60a and second seal member 62/protruding seal 62a) disposed on the outer surfaces of the first separator 14 and second separator 16) [pars. 0042-44; Figs. 2,5]. Sohma fails to disclose wherein the first slit and the second slit extend from the manifold hole of the frame to a point located posterior to a corresponding point where each gasket of the pair of gaskets is disposed. However, Nonoyama discloses a pair of gaskets respectively disposed on an outer side of each of the anode separator and the cathode separator (seal member 15 disposed between adjacent cells on the outer sides of the separators) [pars. 0022,0090; Figs. 1,6A], wherein the first slit and the second slit extend from the manifold hole of the frame to a point located posterior to a corresponding point where each gasket of the pair of gaskets is disposed (the resin frame-side flow path portions 69 extend to intersect with and pass under the seal member 15 to reach the manifold) [par. 0090; Fig. 6A]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Sohma by arranging the slits to extend posterior to the gaskets as taught by Nonoyama in order to ensure fluid communication between the active area and the manifold without compromising the external cell seal.
Regarding Claim 9, Sohma discloses wherein the first film is coupled to the second film by surface adherence (the first resin frame component 24a and the second resin frame component 24b are joined together via an adhesive layer 30 providing surface adherence) [pars. 0046,0051-0052; Fig. 3].
Regarding Claim 11, Sohma fails to disclose forming portions disposed on the anode separator and the cathode separator at points corresponding to the first slit and the second slit, respectively, such that the forming portions together with each of the first slit and the second slit define the fluid flow paths. However, Nonoyama discloses forming portions disposed on the anode separator and the cathode separator at points corresponding to the first slit and the second slit, respectively, such that the forming portions together with each of the first slit and the second slit define the fluid flow paths (separator-side recesses 47 are disposed on the separators at points corresponding to the frame-side recesses 37 such that the space between the separator-side recess 47 and frame-side recess 37 opposed to each other defines the linkage flow path 67) [par. 0088; Fig. 6B]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Sohma by providing forming portions on the separators aligned with the frame slits as taught by Nonoyama in order to increase the cross-sectional flow area and reduce pressure drop for the entering reactant gases.
Regarding Claim 12, Sohma fails to disclose a width direction length of the forming portions being equal to a width direction length of the first slit and the second slit. However, Nonoyama discloses a width direction length of the forming portions being equal to a width direction length of the first slit and the second slit (the separator-side recesses 47 and frame-side recesses 37 are provided with respective widths to form the flow path) [pars. 0088-0091; Figs. 6A,6B]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Sohma by sizing the width direction lengths of the forming portions and slits to be equal as taught by Nonoyama in order to smoothly match channel dimensions and optimize fluid distribution.
Regarding Claim 13, both Sohma and Nonoyama fail to explicitly disclose a width direction length of the forming portions being different from a width direction length of the first slit and the second slit. However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify the fluid flow paths of Sohma in view of Nonoyama by sizing the width direction lengths of the forming portions and the slits to be different from each other as a well-known, routine engineering design choice to size mating fluid channel halves with different widths in order to accommodate manufacturing and assembly misalignment tolerances thereby preventing the formation of flow-obstructing steps or to intentionally throttle fluid flow restriction to achieve a desired distribution profile.
Regarding Claim 14, Sohma fails to disclose wherein the first slit is provided in plural and spaced apart from each other in parallel, the second slit is provided in plural and spaced apart from each other in parallel, the anode separator has a plurality of the forming portions at points corresponding to the first slits, and the cathode separator has a plurality of the forming portions at points corresponding to the second slits. However, Nonoyama discloses wherein the first slit is provided in plural and spaced apart from each other in parallel, the second slit is provided in plural and spaced apart from each other in parallel (plurality of parallel flow paths 66 configured by the resin frame-side flow path portions 69) [pars. 0051-0052; Figs. 4A,6A], the anode separator has a plurality of the forming portions at points corresponding to the first slits, and the cathode separator has a plurality of the forming portions at points corresponding to the second slits (plurality of separator-side recesses corresponding to the plurality of frame-side recesses) [pars. 0051-0052; Figs. 4A,6A]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Sohma by providing a plurality of parallel slits and corresponding forming portions as taught by Nonoyama in order to uniformly distribute reactant gases across the entire active area of the cell.
Regarding Claim 15, Sohma fails to disclose wherein width direction lengths of the forming portions are equal to each other. However, Nonoyama discloses wherein width direction lengths of the forming portions are equal to each other (the plurality of separator-side flow paths 68 are formed with uniform/desired widths) [pars. 0051-0052; Figs. 4A,6A]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Sohma by configuring the width direction lengths of the plural forming portions to be equal as taught by Nonoyama in order to ensure equal pressure and flow across the parallel flow paths.
Regarding Claim 16, both Sohma and Nonoyama fail to explicitly disclose wherein width direction lengths of the forming portions are different from each other. However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to further modify the plurality of forming portions of Sohma such that the width direction lengths of the forming portions are different from each other as a well-known routine engineering design choice to vary the widths of parallel fluid flow channels along the length of a manifold in order to balance fluid pressure drops, optimize uniform fluid flow distribution, or compensate for reactant depletion across different regions of the fuel cell active area.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Sohma fails to explicitly disclose wherein the forming portions respectively protrude toward an outer side of the anode separator and an outer side of the cathode separator that do not face the frame. However, Nonoyama discloses forming the flow paths by pressing and bending thin metal base plates in the thickness direction to explicitly prove both concavity on the inner side and convexity on the outer side [par. 0048]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify Sohma by utilizing press-formed metal separators to create the recesses as taught by Nonoyama in order to provide cost-effective, mass producible fluid flow paths that result in forming portions that respectively protrude via the provided convexity toward an outer side of the anode separator and an outer side of the cathode separator that do not fact the frame.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Sohma discloses wherein reaction surfaces are respectively disposed in a central portion of an inner side of each of the anode separator and the cathode separator facing the frame, the manifold hole through is disposed at each edge portion [], and the forming portions extend from the manifold hole of each of the anode separator and the cathode separator toward the reaction surface [pars. 0032,0042,0046,0051; Fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 19, Sohma discloses a pair of gaskets respectively disposed on an outer side of each of the anode separator and the cathode separator (first seal member 60 and second seal member 62) disposed on the outer surfaces of the first separator 14 and second separator 16) [pars. 0042-44; Figs. 2,5], but fails to teach wherein the forming portions extend from the manifold hole of each of the anode separator and the cathode separator only to points where the gaskets are disposed. However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to modify the fluid flow path of Sohma, as modified by Nonoyama, by configuring the forming portions on the separators to extend from the manifold hole and terminate only at the points where the gaskets are disposed, which is a well-known routine engineering design choice to reverse or alternate which component provides the recess on the manifold side of the seal versus the active-area side of the seal. Terminating the separator’s forming portion at the gasket proved the predictable benefit of maintaining a flat, continuous surface on the separator to properly seat the gasket, while allowing the fluid to transition into the frame slit to safely pass under the sealing interface without leakage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 is allowable over the prior art of record. Claim 10 depends from Claim 7 and further limits the frame such that "the first film comprises a plurality of first film layers laminated together and the second film comprises a plurality of second film layers laminated together, the first slit is cut in an outermost film layer of the plurality of first film layers on an outer side in contact with the anode separator, and the second slit is cut in an outermost film layer of the plurality of second film layers on an outer side in contact with the cathode separator."
The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious this specific sub-laminate multi-layer structural configuration. While the prior art (e.g., Nonoyama) discloses forming recesses on the anode and cathode sides of a monolithic resin frame, and references such as Sohma disclose joining two thick frame components together, no reference teaches or suggests forming the anode-side and cathode-side frame components out of respective pluralities of laminated film layers, nor do they teach precisely cutting the slits strictly into the outermost film layers of those respective sub-laminates.
Absent impermissible hindsight, a person of ordinary skill in the art would lack teaching, suggestion, or motivation to construct a frame from at least four discrete film layers (two anode-side layers and two cathode-side layers) and intentionally isolate the fluid slits solely within the outermost layers contacting the separators. This unique arrangement elegantly utilizes specific discrete film layers to define the depth of the fluid path without requiring 3D machining or molding.
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751